i feel that nowadays most buses the seats r very near to each other and its squeezy when i sit in the seats in the buses, especially SBS buses, dunno y the seats r so close to each other.
i stil like old buses, hoping to board on 1 of them when i m waiting for a bus...big and comfortable seat...n the special feeling when i board these old buses which i dun get it when i board newer buses like SMRT's long bus or SBS single/double decked buses.
I stil like the bus without air-con...the natural wind blowing into my face...so comfortable...
Time changed badly, travelling changed badly too. I think the best fleet of buses are those in the late 1990s and early 2000s.
You can still head down to the eastern part of Singapore to catch the NAC single decker buses on certain bus services, catch it while you can before end of this year.
Alternatively, you can also head down to the western part of Singapore if you want to go for NAC double deckers.
Originally posted by TIB1018B:You can still head down to the eastern part of Singapore to catch the NAC single decker buses on certain bus services, catch it while you can before end of this year.
Alternatively, you can also head down to the western part of Singapore if you want to go for NAC double deckers.
Yes. Catch the NAC Scania N113CRBs on 35 (100% NAC fleet for 35). You have until 2011 to catch the NAC DD VO2x on Jurong Industrial Service.
i think now the best bus i ever sit are Jurong Industrial Service buses, non air-con and double decker
yeah, time has changed and buses have changed, even prices of bus fare have changed...change sososososso much le
i stil miss the old days
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
Yes. Catch the NAC Scania N113CRBs on 35 (100% NAC fleet for 35). You have until 2011 to catch the NAC DD VO2x on Jurong Industrial Service.
Another gd deal is sv 6 (Pasir Ris - Loyang Cres) ![]()
Originally posted by vivienlee:
Another gd deal is sv 6 (Pasir Ris - Loyang Cres)
32! a journey in a NAC bus for over an hour man... damn shiok
Originally posted by JJxJJ:32! a journey in a NAC bus for over an hour man... damn shiok
It is the only service that enters the CBD left with NAC buses. 32 passes through City Hall etc. Maybe SBST wants to show the tourists that they do not need to go to heartland areas to find old buses? Good.
You try sit Non-aircon during the afternoon...see is wind or hot air. ![]()
imagine SBST try to be funny put VO2x on 161/168.
take it at night and ply through the expressways, particularly where there is just trees all around. it'll be colder than aircon!!
Originally posted by Y_Shun:You try sit Non-aircon during the afternoon...see is wind or hot air.
VO2x sit at upper deck is windy one..
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
It is the only service that enters the CBD left with NAC buses. 32 passes through City Hall etc. Maybe SBST wants to show the tourists that they do not need to go to heartland areas to find old buses? Good.
Service 186 also have NAC buses too entering into Shenton Way and Upp Cross St, haha. ![]()
Just last Friday service 186 got 2 NAC cameos, SBS3613M and SBS3614K.
Originally posted by sinicker:imagine SBST try to be funny put VO2x on 161/168.
take it at night and ply through the expressways, particularly where there is just trees all around. it'll be colder than aircon!!
If only service 175 (LCK - Upp Bt Timah) is still under SBST, maybe got chance that this service uses NAC double deckers to ply along Lim Chu Kang road.
I also prefer old buses. More comfortable and stable. The new buses are lousy...narrow passageway, raised platform that is dangerous to the elderly etc. Just wrote a feedback to SBS, suggesting to them to improve the interior layout of the new buses. Let's wait for their rely.
Originally posted by dave101:I also prefer old buses. More comfortable and stable. The new buses are lousy...narrow passageway, raised platform that is dangerous to the elderly etc. Just wrote a feedback to SBS, suggesting to them to improve the interior layout of the new buses. Let's wait for their rely.
raise the floor at the back is no choice.. cos of the engine, gearbox, drive axle parts, etc etc. older high floor buses got no prob cos the floor already lifted up so it seem quite flat
Originally posted by dave101:I also prefer old buses. More comfortable and stable. The new buses are lousy...narrow passageway, raised platform that is dangerous to the elderly etc. Just wrote a feedback to SBS, suggesting to them to improve the interior layout of the new buses. Let's wait for their rely.
they want wheelchair friendly ones mah..so low floor.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:
raise the floor at the back is no choice.. cos of the engine, gearbox, drive axle parts, etc etc. older high floor buses got no prob cos the floor already lifted up so it seem quite flat
What about our Dennis Tridents and VSOs who are fully flat low floor?
Originally posted by Y_Shun:You try sit Non-aircon during the afternoon...see is wind or hot air.
Just tried that today,SBS7226X - 74.
Sometimes hot air, sometimes wind ![]()
Originally posted by SBS7484P:
The problem can be solved in 2 ways. Both ways however, involves the use of a drop centre axle. This reduces axle space penetration into the pax compartment. Now heres the differences among the 2 ways:
1st way : You can use a horizontal piston-ed engine, like the O405, the O500LE and B10BLE and B10M alike. This reduces engine space compartment needed for vertical engines, therefore permitting a lower floor. With a special layout of the chassis, the combination can be made into a low floor bus , not low entry.
2nd way : Even with a vertical engine, you can still make the bus low floor, just place the engine in a transverse position, like the CRBs, B10TLs.
Originally posted by TIB1018B:
If only service 175 (LCK - Upp Bt Timah) is still under SBST, maybe got chance that this service uses NAC double deckers to ply along Lim Chu Kang road.
How to turn at LCK road end???Quite risky.
Vo2x quite cool, seat space was damm big, about 350mm max which was good as compared to some other models
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:How to turn at LCK road end???Quite risky.
Then how abt sv 82 tat had VO3x doing a u-turn at Punggol Rd End ![]()
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:The problem can be solved in 2 ways. Both ways however, involves the use of a drop centre axle. This reduces axle space penetration into the pax compartment. Now heres the differences among the 2 ways:
1st way : You can use a horizontal piston-ed engine, like the O405, the O500LE and B10BLE and B10M alike. This reduces engine space compartment needed for vertical engines, therefore permitting a lower floor. With a special layout of the chassis, the combination can be made into a low floor bus , not low entry.
2nd way : Even with a vertical engine, you can still make the bus low floor, just place the engine in a transverse position, like the CRBs, B10TLs.
fyi, B10M cannot be low-floor due to the mid-mounted engine, which resulted in the high high bodywork and floorboard.
Originally posted by vivienlee:
Then how abt sv 82 tat had VO3x doing a u-turn at Punggol Rd End
Ok lah, but safty first mah, remember Sheng Siong truck went into water