Seen a lot of pple standing on DD 2nd deck, what are your views???
But always at peak service, a lot of pple go 2nd floor and stand like 1st floor and bc did not care and the bus sometime top heavy and like want to fall
well, if they want to stand at the upper deck then its at their own risk if anything were to happen..
~ deleted ~
SBST should do someything about this.
many time the indicater still show there are seats available when you read the meter,
when you walk all the way up, cannot even find empty seats.
who to blame?
the meter reading problem or the people walk all the way up problem?
some people dun wan go up then the bus just go off with many stranded at the bus stops.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:But always at peak service, a lot of pple go 2nd floor and stand like 1st floor and bc did not care and the bus sometime top heavy and like want to fall
That is exactly why standing is not allowed on the upper deck. Overloading on the upper deck may cause the the bus to topple. Although most BCs would pretend not to see, there was one occasion I encountered where the BC came upstairs and told the standees to come down.
if you're tall, standing at the upper deck will be very uncomfortable..
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:But always at peak service, a lot of pple go 2nd floor and stand like 1st floor and bc did not care and the bus sometime top heavy and like want to fall
Few days back, i boarded a Service 168 DD during evening peak from WRI, and I stand on the steps between 1st and 2nd floor from Jln Kayu till IKEA Tampines just to wait for a place to sit.. =P
I've seen 88 DDs full with pax with no standees on 2nd floor, bus turns right at ninety degrees. The whole of the left axles sink down and the body almost touches the floor. Bus tilts to the left at around 25 degrees.
Imagine if there were standees.
The reason why they don't allow standees on 2nd floor is because the CG of the bus increases and if the BC makes a sharp turn, chances are the DD may overturn due to the large tilt on the body.
so is bendy still safer?
Originally posted by zaxis:many time the indicater still show there are seats available when you read the meter
Lol. The indicator can be sabotaged one. I tried it yesterday on my 196 and manaed to give a reading of 52 when I was the only one up there. I restored it back to normal lah of course.
Originally posted by nenepokey:so is bendy still safer?
Not really, if you count retardation on the Voith which poses a hazard to the elderly standees.
Originally posted by Oceane:
Not really, if you count retardation on the Voith which poses a hazard to the elderly standees.
and then we come to the point on y ppl dun want to give up seats, discounting those with babies in hand or pregnant..
maybe ppl stand on upper floor of double deckers in hope that some1 up there would alight and they can get the seat?
even though it is dangerous because the bus may topple when it turns, many still stand because the lower floor is fulled with people and they dun wan squeeze with people =)
Originally posted by zaxis:many time the indicater still show there are seats available when you read the meter,
when you walk all the way up, cannot even find empty seats.
who to blame?
the meter reading problem or the people walk all the way up problem?
some meters are switched off/ spoilt.
Lo3x buses dont have these metres.
A lot of services have people standing on the upper deck of the DDs during peak hours, especially those super high-demand ones like 12 and 88..
I agree....But they can deploy additional buses like Service 74..During peak hours, about 4 buses can be seen.. I also see that service 74's fleet is that 2 buses will be full & the next one almost full & last one not so full....
You should take a look at this lol
Originally posted by QX179R:if you're tall, standing at the upper deck will be very uncomfortable..
I am tall sia. When go up on Vo3X/lo3x and Dt maybe need bend my head a-bit. but for B9TL. no need leh, just right lol
Originally posted by bus555:You should take a look at this lol
wtf.. later the bus turn it flip over
Originally posted by jayh272416:
Lol. The indicator can be sabotaged one. I tried it yesterday on my 196 and manaed to give a reading of 52 when I was the only one up there. I restored it back to normal lah of course.
Lolx... This one ah... Can play around with it de... When you go up and going to reach the 2nd level, just make sure that only 1 of your legs go through the sensor, and the no. of seats available won't deduct one...