knn... might as well walk home if i'm hanging out ard town area at night...at most will take 1h30min
Originally posted by rx7Savanna:from $3.00 to $3.50 for both EZ-link and Cash.
Saw the poster at Yishun Interchange.
Let's switch over to SBST Niteowl?
let's switch to personal transport.
How about motorcycle? A cheap scooter measures cheaper than public transport on the long run. And of course don't mention the unlimited mobility you have with it if you're able to take in account the risks on a motorcycle.
$3.50 vs 50% taxi surcharge
which is cheaper?
Originally posted by MS:
let's switch to personal transport.How about motorcycle? A cheap scooter measures cheaper than public transport on the long run. And of course don't mention the unlimited mobility you have with it if you're able to take in account the risks on a motorcycle.
We need to get some facts right here:
1. Many members here are younger than legal age to drive.
2. Night bus services are made to cater (mostly) to those who went clubbing.
3. Reminder from police, "If you drink, don't drive. Go public".
Originally posted by off_service:We need to get some facts right here:
1. Many members here are younger than legal age to drive.2. Night bus services are made to cater (mostly) to those who went clubbing.
3. Reminder from police, "If you drink, don't drive. Go public".
Then I think it is better to get a licence when you hit the legal age. The public transport cannot be a solution as your permanent transportation. Many people who have relied on public transport and switched to personal transport have all come to one conclusion that they will give up public transport for a personal transport but never the other way round unless the costs were out of their reach.
And of course unless you're intending to drink then the bus/taxi is always the only resort you can turn to.
Originally posted by MS:
Then I think it is better to get a licence when you hit the legal age. The public transport cannot be a solution as your permanent transportation. Many people who have relied on public transport and switched to personal transport have all come to one conclusion that they will give up public transport for a personal transport but never the other way round unless the costs were out of their reach.
With no disrespect to you but have you thought of this scenario? If more of us switch to personal transport, the heavier the traffic will be especially in town areas. Furthermore, Singapore is just an island and public transports are made convenient for all of us Singaporeans. They are already encouraging us to take the public transport instread of driving to town area to make the traffic situation worsen. I don't see anything wrong why we should continue to rely on the public transport. We can not only save money but enjoy our bus rides as well.
It's nice to own your car or motorcycle but with rising fuel and maintainance to consider, I rather use this extra money for holidays.
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:With no disrespect to you but have you thought of this scenario? If more of us switch to personal transport, the heavier the traffic will be especially in town areas. Furthermore, Singapore is just an island and public transports are made convenient for all of us Singaporeans. They are already encouraging us to take the public transport instread of driving to town area to make the traffic situation worsen. I don't see anything wrong why we should continue to rely on the public transport. We can not only save money but enjoy our bus rides as well.
It's nice to own your car or motorcycle but with rising fuel and maintainance to consider, I rather use this extra money for holidays.
pls pls, no arguement.. U can PM him if u want to continue.
eh... i think some ppl ��清楚状况........
public trpt shd be for the masses... as affordable as possible
personal trpt is luxury... oni for those who can afford it
but in SG, the situation is not so
personal trpt becomes more and more affordable
but public trpt more and more expensive
but there is still this gap in the middle
those tt can't afford personal trpt but oso feeling the pressure of rising costs of public trpt
then how?
and why like tt? wat the kuku minister of trpt doing?
Originally posted by FireIce:eh... i think some ppl ��清楚状况........
public trpt shd be for the masses... as affordable as possible
personal trpt is luxury... oni for those who can afford it
but in SG, the situation is not so
personal trpt becomes more and more affordable
but public trpt more and more expensive
but there is still this gap in the middle
those tt can't afford personal trpt but oso feeling the pressure of rising costs of public trpt
then how?
and why like tt? wat the kuku minister of trpt doing?
That was what the government decided last time. Public for masses, private as luxury. During the economic boom in the mid 1990s, one COE can cost up to $100,000. But when the bidding system was changed to an open system, the COE dropped drastically by almost 10 folds to $10,000 or sometimes even below.
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:With no disrespect to you but have you thought of this scenario? If more of us switch to personal transport, the heavier the traffic will be especially in town areas. Furthermore, Singapore is just an island and public transports are made convenient for all of us Singaporeans. They are already encouraging us to take the public transport instread of driving to town area to make the traffic situation worsen. I don't see anything wrong why we should continue to rely on the public transport. We can not only save money but enjoy our bus rides as well.
Agree with you. I'm very sick of private vehicles hogging roads and cutting lanes like no one's business. I hope the "true" dedicated bus lane comes into play soon to at least provide really smooth rides at places like Orchard.
Can't understand why some car owners think the road is theirs just because they paid road tax. Every vehicle does, even public buses!
Originally posted by off_service:Agree with you. I'm very sick of private vehicles hogging roads and cutting lanes like no one's business. I hope the "true" dedicated bus lane comes into play soon to at least provide really smooth rides at places like Orchard.
Can't understand why some car owners think the road is theirs just because they paid road tax. Every vehicle does, even public buses!
Yup, agreed.
However do note that some buses also like hogging non-bus lanes. An example is Orchard area whereby bus stops are split up into two and buses have to go out into lanes meant for private cars, sometimes causing near accidents/jams.
Originally posted by Oceane:
Yup, agreed.However do note that some buses also like hogging non-bus lanes. An example is Orchard area whereby bus stops are split up into two and buses have to go out into lanes meant for private cars, sometimes causing near accidents/jams.
You are encouraging the LTA to build 2 bus lanes on such roads lol. Even North Bridge Rd where there are 2 bus stops split, and Ang Mo Kio Ave 3.
Originally posted by jayh272416:
You are encouraging the LTA to build 2 bus lanes on such roads lol. Even North Bridge Rd where there are 2 bus stops split, and Ang Mo Kio Ave 3.
No. As much as people on the buses complain that private vehicles are hogging their lanes, people on the cars complain that buses are not sticking to theirs.
It's mutual.
You are encouraging the LTA to build 2 bus lanes on such roads lol.
I don't see any word or phrase in the post which suggests that.
No. As much as people on the buses complain that private vehicles are hogging their lanes, people on the cars complain that buses are not sticking to theirs.It's mutual.
Not true. It is law that car is not supposed to be on the bus lane, but since when did the government say that buses are not supposed to be on the other lanes?
Originally posted by Superbus:I don't see any word or phrase in the post which suggests that.
buses have to go out onto lanes meant for private cars -> Build more bus lanes such that the buses do not go out onto lanes meant for private cars -> have 2 bus lanes
Not true. It is law that car is not supposed to be on the bus lane, but since when did the government say that buses are not supposed to be on the other lanes?
That is why, BCs are abusing the fact that they will not be pressed down if they hog other lanes, giving private car users the impression that BCs are out to bully them.
You have a valid point, now here's my solution. Make a second lane along those double-stop routes. Then can implement the law that buses must stick to their lanes unless turning.
Not possible. Double stops are mostly found along city areas whereby traffic volume is extremely high. To have another lane for buses, it would bring traffic jams if all cars abide to the bus lane rules, that is. Do note that most roads along CBD area are 3-4 lanes on average, if 2 lanes are given for buses, that only leaves 1-2 lanes for cars and other private vehicles. Massive jams would occur.
Oh. If that's the case, then we just have to listen to those car drivers complain about the buses cutting in, because there's no other way that the buses can get past the bus stop to stop at the next one.
Have to wait. =( Thats the disadvantage of having dual bus stops.
I certainly hope that I am over-sensitive. But those who have responded to my posts seems to take things very personal.
Personal transports are able to offer the mobility which public transport can never give. Drive to the Mcdonald's 2km away with sweatless effort at 2am on a Sunday Morning. Appear in the Changi Warehouse at 9am and spend the next 2 hours checking the products and having company lunch with your boss at 12pm at Raffles Marina. Driving/riding up to Malacca on a Saturday in less than 3 hours from the time you leave your house. Have lunch over there and shop around before coming back home before sun down. Not forgetting to enjoy the drive.
Indeed, personal transports are always tagged along with 'luxury'. Considering the costs involved, in Singapore, personal transports are not meant for everybody. (but not true for small motorcycles. I calculated before that small motorcycles spend lesser than public transport if you span them over a 10 year period. And do not forget the greatly enhanced mobility you will have.)
Statistics have shown that the approximate car to people population in Singapore is 1:9 while Germany is 1:3
Instead of giving yourself only the choice of public transports, why don't you render yourself capable of making choices. You can opt to drive today or when you don't feel like it, you can take a bus. Because you become financially capable and owns the necessary licence to own a personal transport.
About affecting the road congestion, you should take note that the current public transport stronghold is already struggling to meet the demands of the public. You wouldn't want 50% of personal transport owners to join in the squeeze with you during peak periods.
Try asking those who're operating on personal transports as all started off with public transport. Given the opportunity again, will they physically forsake their personal transports for public transports
again. Even with increasing operating costs of personal transports, the stats shown from onemotoring only shows an increase in personal transport rather than decline.
Please take my posts with respect as I am merely stating a point of view missed out by most people. There's no intention to humiliate anyone no matter what. I respect bus fans as much as I hope bus fans will reciprocate the goodwill gesture.
Thanks.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
pls pls, no arguement.. U can PM him if u want to continue.
Chickenlittle: Are you following the thread at all? Please wake up and have a look at the posts not only by me but others as well. I suggest to you not to embarass yourself next time. Best of all, stay out of it.
MS:
It's your postings that's why you get this kind of replies.
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:
Chickenlittle: Are you following the thread at all? Please wake up and have a look at the posts not only by me but others as well. I suggest to you not to embarass yourself next time. Best of all, stay out of it.
MS:It's your postings that's why you get this kind of replies.
So you are playing boss here?My foot.So what if other people also say so? Are u creating an arguement ground here? I dun think there are any flaming required. What MS said is quite true, I had been taking public transport since young. You would find it frustrated when buses are frequently late or overcrowded but nothing are done or improvement is minimum. This is similar to train. I do understand that congestion during the peak hour are getting worst. I do not drive during the peak hours. I own a red plate car now, so I dun think it would really cause great congestion.