LEFT to rot! That’s what is happening to more than 1,000 buses that served Klang Valley residents - worth RM500 million when purchased 14 years ago.
Considering the continuing saga of thousands of people who wait daily for buses that are always late, one wonders how this situation could have come about.
These RapidKL vehicles have been dumped in Batang Kali and in Sungai Buaya, Rawang.
The Malay Mail investigation into this wasteful affair was prompted by complaints from city commuters on shortage of buses, or having to wait very long for a bus.
These buses were inherited from Intrakota and Parkmay by Syarikat Prasarana Negara Bhd, which owns commuter service provider RapidKL.
The reason for the buses, bought from Italy at RM500,000 each, to be “stored” in the two places by SPNB could not be ascertained.
It is learnt that the buses were sent there about two years ago. They could not be “cannibalised for spare parts” because the buses RapidKL now uses are of a different make.
But to say that all the buses could no longer be used does not make sense.
“The lifespan of a bus can be more than 15 years, depending on its maintenance. Since Intrakota was established in 1994, the buses could well have been roadworthy when they were dumped at the two sites two years ago,” said a source familiar with the issue.
The Intrakota buses were built by Iveco of Italy, while the present batch in use are mostly Mercedes-Benz, priced at RM350,000 or even lower as they were purchased in bulk.
RapidKL was set up in 2004 as a merger of Putra LRT, Star LRT, Intrakota and City Liner in an effort to give the Klang Valley an integrated transport system.
The company then decided to purchase brand new buses for easy maintenance.
A check at the Sungai Buaya site revealed there were about 800 buses parked on what used to be a football field.
Located close to a housing area, the buses are watched over by a lone guard, who stations himself in a cabin, and is aided by several stray dogs.
The buses, many of them showing signs of decay inside and outside, are parked on a hilltop and hidden by trees and shrubs.
At Antara Gapi in Batang Kali, the 200-odd buses are parked in an open space by the main road, also guarded by a lone security guard.
It is learnt that the buses will be disposed of by tender, a process that is expected to take several months. The buses will either be sold as scrap or to Third World countries that can “rehabilitate” them.
Both RapidKL and SPNB were not available for comment.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quoted from Malay Mail. As posted on KTMRFC Forums.
I really think this is a stupid decision to leave the buses in the open and exposed to the elements for more than 2 years.
Someone at North Bridge Rd can consider buying the whole lot over. Now then we can have a 5mins freq. :P
maybe our transport provider may want to purchase then refurbish all these buses.
adds more fun for those at "your own deployment fleet" thread.
can put all these buses on S354!
Are those the Iveco Turbocity (do correct me if im wrong about the model) ?
Yeap. They are the Turbocities.
Why not SBST and/or SMRT purchase these buses from them ? i find it really wasteful to leave the bus just like that...
Originally posted by azharjj:Why not SBST and/or SMRT purchase these buses from them ? i find it really wasteful to leave the bus just like that...
Do remember the LTA ruling with regards to new buses being registered.
If SMRT's 50 nissans and SBST's 350 MK2s/N113CRBs r also left to rot in this kind of situation in Lor Halus as well ![]()
Rapid KL should have sold the buses to other rural parts of Malaysia instead of dumping them, at least these buses are still very useful compared to those run-down NAC buses which is still operating on intertown shuttle services in Malaysia till today. I suppose the villagers living down there will benefit from it.
Selling the buses is one thing. Finding a buyer is another.
Personally, I don't think RapidKL would want to dump these buses if they can find a buyer.
Originally posted by Superbus:Selling the buses is one thing. Finding a buyer is another.
Personally, I don't think RapidKL would want to dump these buses if they can find a buyer.
The pschology of a traditional Malaysian bus company (especially those Chinese ones) is:
If the OFs, Hinos and goodness knows what in Malaysia are running, why replace them when they are working fine. They are cheap to maintain, have longer usuable lifespan and not a lot of people in the kampungs or small towns are complaining about them.
Particularly when those Turbocities they dumped are probably the worst of their batch
Question is, are there SL252s or O.405s inside?
I agree with Superbus. I mean, as much as you would like to sell, there's nothing much you can do if there's no one to buy. It is sad but scrapping might be the best option in view of the high price in scrap metal.
Maybe the problem for the TurboCity is the availibilty of spares and they are not as widespread in Malaysia as MAN. Some ex-Cityliner/Intrakota MANs have been sold to Central Pahang and Town Bus of Melaka. There could be some MANs in the lot but they might stand a better chance of being sold. As for O405, I don't think Intrakota/Cityliner have any. The only ones I've seen are from Transitlink JB.
As for 'why replace them when they are working fine?', this reminds me of a particular Chinese bus company in Melaka. I believe this company enjoys a big profit from running a cross-border service which seems to be always full of people. But they are among the last when it comes to new buses. Their express buses are much to be desired. They may have 1 or 2 new buses now but it came eons after other companies have upgraded theirs. Their old express buses are put into service for their domestic routes and they will continue to run for another 10 years (maybe more) or until the bus collapses, whichever comes first.
lol. Malaysia boleh lah. 1000 buses left to chemical reaction with water and oxygen. When they can be put on service. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?
There's also a related article in the Newpaper yesterday ![]()
http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,165485,00.html
what? All the ex Cityliner MAN in Kl no longer in service?!!!
what abbout the Scania citybus of rapidKL ex Cityliner also? are they gone too?
WHAT?!
All Iveco turbocity gone form KL roads?! Even after they fit them with new EDS n did minor refurbishment?!!!
all this not make sense
meanwhile...
i do believe this Town Bus of melaka also has a ex-Intrakota Merc. but the Merc is on Blue line sightseeing route.
ZYX
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:I agree with Superbus. I mean, as much as you would like to sell, there's nothing much you can do if there's no one to buy. It is sad but scrapping might be the best option in view of the high price in scrap metal.
Maybe the problem for the TurboCity is the availibilty of spares and they are not as widespread in Malaysia as MAN. Some ex-Cityliner/Intrakota MANs have been sold to Central Pahang and Town Bus of Melaka. There could be some MANs in the lot but they might stand a better chance of being sold. As for O405, I don't think Intrakota/Cityliner have any. The only ones I've seen are from Transitlink JB.
As for 'why replace them when they are working fine?', this reminds me of a particular Chinese bus company in Melaka. I believe this company enjoys a big profit from running a cross-border service which seems to be always full of people. But they are among the last when it comes to new buses. Their express buses are much to be desired. They may have 1 or 2 new buses now but it came eons after other companies have upgraded theirs. Their old express buses are put into service for their domestic routes and they will continue to run for another 10 years (maybe more) or until the bus collapses, whichever comes first.
I think its a lie they can't cannibalise the parts. i'm sure its doable. run the (what?) 700 ITC there n have 100 are cannibalised bus used for spare parts pool lah. 9assuming them 800 bbuses are ITC...)
same for the dear MANs. they (were) are lovely.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:what? All the ex Cityliner MAN in Kl no longer in service?!!!
WHAT?!
All Iveco turbocity gone form KL roads?! Even after they fit them with new EDS n did minor refurbishment?!!!all this not make sense
meanwhile...
i do believe this Town Bus of melaka also has a ex-Intrakota Merc. but the Merc is on Blue line sightseeing route.ZYX
Not all Ivecos are dumped. Many are still in working as Tempatan or "Local/Feeder" services.
In fact, on my recent trip to KL on Labour Day, I got the rare chance to witness the first 'unveiling' of a refurbished Turbocity, one of the only 5 units re-fitted with the Dong Feng front. 'Chio' combo worrr!
So now the RapidKL now take action of these 1000 Turbocities that was dump at the depot or whatsoever?
Originally posted by ZYX2005:
My source in KL says that the Scania was ex-IntraKota, not Cityliner. May now be resting at Batang Kali Junkyard.
He also said that the 5 Turbocities re-fitted with the Dong Feng front, was also re-fitted with the Dong Feng rear. Most shocking is, the engine has been changed to that of a Chinese engine.
wth. a total waste of good engine. the iveco engine was dumped?
Some of the ex-intrakota Optare Metrorider was sold to private owners in different livery.
Off topic:Where con i find local airplane forums/pictures?
Originally posted by Superbus:My source in KL says that the Scania was ex-IntraKota, not Cityliner. May now be resting at Batang Kali Junkyard.
He also said that the 5 Turbocities re-fitted with the Dong Feng front, was also re-fitted with the Dong Feng rear. Most shocking is, the engine has been changed to that of a Chinese engine.
bomer. i liked those Scania l93CRl thhings. reminds me of mark 2 Zf sound when i took it...
Originally posted by carbikebus:Some of the ex-intrakota Optare Metrorider was sold to private owners in different livery.
Off topic:Where con i find local airplane forums/pictures?
wow must look out for that.
Off topic: took one ex Intrakkota > rapidKl MAn citybus on Paranoma Melaka svc. Bus co is PMCT.
bodywork is Hicom. interior the air-con duct n seat were refurb. prev seat i recall shd be SMRT style frabric vogesitze. now the bus has headrest seats.
the air-con duct was replaced too. but the beige theme was kept making interior feel like a Singapore CSS UD. even the grip poles were replaced with more modern styles.
Bus had a ticketing machine with tapping reader. look suspiciuosly like a Wayfarer. lol
ZYX