Payment system
It is not like singapore one, you take the bus, you pay the fare towards the end of the journey even you take it only one stop, the fare would drop along the route. Normal buses, KMB, Frst bus, City bus and some minibus follow this rule. Others had their own fare system and enqurie it with the bc.
Tickets
Tickets would be given if you pay by cash
E-payment
There is something like our ezlink card called the octopus card in the country, could be used in MTR, buses and various other means such as paying of car park. It could be brought at MTR stations. Buy it if you want a good quality joyride or you need a lot of cash. Do not that you tap one on boarding and do not need to tap while alighting, as the fare was one shot.
Interchanges
They are anywhere, if you want to count them, it is over 300, you need to spot buses at roadside with the plate stating terminus, it is a terminal. Interchanges are just a few terminus together and they are also like road side parking, bc seldom chat with each other. The one thing you should remember: You can cross in Bus park.
Companies
KMB: The largest bus service operator, buses are newer such as B9TL are the second morden in line.
Citybus and first bus: They operate on Hong Kong Island and had generally older buses such as lo3x but newer buses could still be spotted, they are under the same head and could share buses.
Portray KMB as SBS and First bus and Citybus as TIBS and CSS in past tense.
Hope that it helps and if you need anymore data, pls reply
Hong Kong buses on general are simply amazing (besides the simply too underpowered Darts/Dart SLFs and B6LEs). Usually you would find Dennis Dragons, Leyland and Volvo Olympians (of which some of the Volvos use Cummins), Tridents, B10TLs, 24.310, Neoplan Centroliner. There are a handful of SDs, Darts, NL262, NL263 (Discovery Bay, New Lantao, Yellow Bus), NL273s (New Lantao Bus).
There are several companies operating in HK:
Kowloon Motor Bus (Largest company with subsidary Long Win Bus, not very useful for tourists) (mainly Kowloon, New Territories)
Citybus and sister company (mainly Hong Kong but also operates the Kowloon Airbus routes)
New World First Bus (mainly Hong Kong and Tseung Kwan O in NT)
New Lantao Bus (mainly Lantau)
Routes come in variations:
Suffix:
A-F: Different deviations of the route
P: Peak Hour special service
S: Special Service/Peak hour special service (if P is used)
X: Express variant
R: Recreational route (usually)
Prefix:
A: Airport routes
E: Airport routes that serve Tung Chung
X: Asia World Expo routes
N: Night route
S: Airport routes from Tung Chung
Hong Kong buses operate on a step fare basis (which existed in the old days of SBS), ie, the fare you pay is for the whole distance to the terminus, regradless of where you are alighting. The fare will be displayed at the front of the bus (somewhere around the Octopus card reader and coin box), with the bigger words for full paying passengers and smaller words for the concession holders. Using an Octopus card is recommended as it saves time and money (on the MTR, and on bus-bus discounts), and can also be used for food, parking etc)
Avoid taking cross harbour routes if possible as they are generally more expensive than taking the Star Ferry. The MTR is also more expensive than the bus, although most of the time quicker. Cross harbour routes are usually operated by two operators (KMB and either NWFB/CTB). Avoid the train (Airport Express) from the Airport and instead check with your travel agent for any free hotel transfer, if not, take the bus to the city or the cheapest way, take a bus to Tung Chung and transfer to the Tung Chung Line.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Citybus and first bus: They operate on Hong Kong Island and had generally older buses such as lo3x but newer buses could still be spotted, they are under the same head and could share buses.
Got new bus liao, Enviro 500s for Citybus and NWFB.
Some of their Tridents are old. 10-11 years old already.
eh... payment isn't really totally of full fare
There's interchange scheme for card users... as well as fare band charges tat means aft some bus stops, e fares goes lower and lower towards e terminal...
Ah............
I have taken some bus video and upload to youtube
Euro 4 Dennis Trident E500 (MTR BUS)
http://hk.youtube.com/watch?v=NwlebawjqbM
Dennis Trident ALX500 10.3M (KMB BUS)
http://hk.youtube.com/watch?v=4kCUxGQRa4c
Euro 3 Dennis Trident E500 (KMB BUS) in urban area
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:what i like abt HK is majority are double-decker buses; so prob got more chance of getting a seat?
is it true the BCs there are used to bus fans taking photos of their buses and do they generally allow interior bus photography?
and any shops selling bus models in HK and how to go there?
hmmm… got bus tickets if pay by cash, i intend to buy all the bus tickets with different fares for keeping liao!
80M sells bus models in hk - http://www.80mbusmodel.com/menu-6.html for the locations
They dont issue tickets for paying by cash
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:what i like abt HK is majority are double-decker buses; so prob got more chance of getting a seat?
Hard to say, during peak hours buses can be packed, and there goes your chance of getting a seat.
However, if you don't mind seating on one of those (mostly) older buses with 3+2 seating (or 2+2 for provate (note: not public minibus) Coasters or Rosas), which include KMB's older Dragons, older Olympians and some of the Kwoon Chong/New Lantao Bus B7Rs and Isuzus. On those buses seats are usually aplenty but uncomfortable.
is it true the BCs there are used to bus fans taking photos of their buses and do they generally allow interior bus photography?
and any shops selling bus models in HK and how to go there?
hmmm… got bus tickets if pay by cash, i intend to buy all the bus tickets with different fares for keeping liao!
Usually if you don't take photo of the driver and disturb other passenger , they will not stop you taking photos.
Originally posted by sbst275:eh... payment isn't really totally of full fare
There's interchange scheme for card users... as well as fare band charges tat means aft some bus stops, e fares goes lower and lower towards e terminal...
You never see me post, I say that fares would go down when fare stage progresses
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:You never see me post, I say that fares would go down when fare stage progresses
Fares would also go down when there is interchange scheme, for example first trip is via Lion Rock Tunnel change to another route which also via Lion Rock Tunnel will have a HK$3.5 discount when using octopus card
Originally posted by Basiling:
Fares would also go down when there is interchange scheme, for example first trip is via Lion Rock Tunnel change to another route which also via Lion Rock Tunnel will have a HK$3.5 discount when using octopus card
Ok, you are correct, thanks for your info
Originally posted by Scania:
Hard to say, during peak hours buses can be packed, and there goes your chance of getting a seat.However, if you don't mind seating on one of those (mostly) older buses with 3+2 seating (or 2+2 for provate (note: not public minibus) Coasters or Rosas), which include KMB's older Dragons, older Olympians and some of the Kwoon Chong/New Lantao Bus B7Rs and Isuzus. On those buses seats are usually aplenty but uncomfortable.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
wah... the 3+2 seating seats must be very small la? or the aisle very narrow? how about more info on HK double-deck trams? i only tried Melbourne's trams so far. i guess double-decker trams must be very interesting leh?
3+2 seats are quite tight indeed, but seldom will u see all the seats full. Heres a picture from gakei.com: http://www.gakei.com/ala/al201.jpg
I've never taken Melbourne's trams, but the double deck trams in hk are one of a kind i would say, although it is non airconditioned (no heaters for winter, nor cooling for summers), the air is still quite breathable compared to a lower deck of a nac dd (very hot). It is a good way of getting from one part of hong kong island to another, and great for sleeping too if u are riding for quite a distance. The ride itself is quite rocky when the trams gets up to speed, or when making thru a curved track, which i believe most newer and modern systems are more stable and smooth. Nonetheless, its nothing to complain about, as it only cost HK$2 for a ride (thats less than 40 singapore cents).
The trams are in fact my primary form of transport in hk when i am there and not rushing for time. Try the ferries when u are there too, great way to get across the harbor without breaking the bank.
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:3+2 seats are quite tight indeed, but seldom will u see all the seats full. Heres a picture from gakei.com: http://www.gakei.com/ala/al201.jpg
I've never taken Melbourne's trams, but the double deck trams in hk are one of a kind i would say, although it is non airconditioned (no heaters for winter, nor cooling for summers), the air is still quite breathable compared to a lower deck of a nac dd (very hot). It is a good way of getting from one part of hong kong island to another, and great for sleeping too if u are riding for quite a distance. The ride itself is quite rocky when the trams gets up to speed, or when making thru a curved track, which i believe most newer and modern systems are more stable and smooth. Nonetheless, its nothing to complain about, as it only cost HK$2 for a ride (thats less than 40 singapore cents).
The trams are in fact my primary form of transport in hk when i am there and not rushing for time. Try the ferries when u are there too, great way to get across the harbor without breaking the bank.
Star Ferry just cost $2.2 (for upper deck), lower deck think $1.7, very cheap...
Also, when going to the Peak, take 15C to the peak tram terminus. They previously used DM6 (Non Aircon open top Dennis Condor), however, they had a bus change to DA66 (Aircon Open top Dennis Condor), which also meant that the trip now costs $4.0 (70c) instead of $3.2 previously.
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:It is a good way of getting from one part of hong kong island to another, and great for sleeping too if u are riding for quite a distance. The ride itself is quite rocky when the trams gets up to speed, or when making thru a curved track, which i believe most newer and modern systems are more stable and smooth. Nonetheless, its nothing to complain about, as it only cost HK$2 for a ride (thats less than 40 singapore cents).
The trade off of the cheap fares is that the trams are extremely slow! Even the buses that ply on the same road as the trams are faster! The only times when you'll experience the trams going at speed is at night, especially the Shau Kei Wan area. ![]()
In the daytime, you'll just be held up by cars, traffic lights, tram stops and other trams right in front of you.
confirm no more ticket if pay by cash lah.. i never receive any ticket lor...
are there any ex-sbs or tibs buses sold to HK?
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:are there any ex-sbs or tibs buses sold to HK?
Ex-SBS buses... Yep.. there were... A number of Leyland Atlantean AN 68 (w/ Walter Alexander L-Type bodywork) were sold to Citybus (the company in blue, yellow and red livery) and deployed as part of Network 26. And of course, those buses have already gone to heaven, and there is a handful of them being used as sound barrier for a depot of Citybus.
Originally posted by SBS9816E:Ex-SBS buses... Yep.. there were... A number of Leyland Atlantean AN 68 (w/ Walter Alexander L-Type bodywork) were sold to Citybus (the company in blue, yellow and red livery) and deployed as part of Network 26. And of course, those buses have already gone to heaven, and there is a handful of them being used as sound barrier for a depot of Citybus.
More like the barrier for the trains.
Originally posted by stooper:The trade off of the cheap fares is that the trams are extremely slow! Even the buses that ply on the same road as the trams are faster! The only times when you'll experience the trams going at speed is at night, especially the Shau Kei Wan area.
In the daytime, you'll just be held up by cars, traffic lights, tram stops and other trams right in front of you.
You cant blame them..
Trams cant overtake each other. Cant imagine if they did that.
are those minibuses operate as Premium svc or just normal svc but with low pax demand thats why they deploy minibuses?
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:are those minibuses operate as Premium svc or just normal svc but with low pax demand thats why they deploy minibuses?
U meant the red and green minibus? Minibuses are alternative forms of transport for those who want flexibility compared to the buses. Green minibus have a fixed route, while red minibus do not have a fixed route but have a fixed destination.
Basically u can ask the driver to stop along its route for the green minibuses and for the red minibuses if u are going somewhere near but not along the way, u can request.
Fares are slightly cheaper than the normal buses, and most of the time, it is faster than the normal buses too.