like those found at the swimming pool?
should this be implemented at bus stops so that those who's ez-link have no money and only have big notes dun have to lugi ![]()
Originally posted by Chris1988:like those found at the swimming pool?
should this be implemented at bus stops so that those who's ez-link have no money and only have big notes dun have to lugi
Agree on that. That time I witnessed a Jap family boarding 9190B on 133 and they had no coins, just a $10 note. BC asked father to go change coins... so paiseh for the man especially when he had to ask elderly for coins. Too bad I was at the interchange waiting for another bus, else I'd have helped him.
P.S.: I knew he was Jap because he was talking to an old lady beside him when they were both waiting for 133. =D
Actually, many many many years back (i think its in 1995), there are money changing machines in Yishun Int. The machine was as big as a avm at mrt stations. However, no idea what happened to the machines, proberbally someone found the usage too low and decided to remove it?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Probably bus drivers could take the initiative to have some coins on hand for them while on duty. Sometimes I do keep a few $1 coins and some shillings with me so I can assist them when the need arises. The cost of installing such machines are prohibitive.
some BCs used to do that until passengers mistook them as pocketing the bus fare instead and complained to the companies.
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Actually, many many many years back (i think its in 1995), there are money changing machines in Yishun Int. The machine was as big as a avm at mrt stations. However, no idea what happened to the machines, proberbally someone found the usage too low and decided to remove it?
Actually, many many years before 1995, there were coin changing machines at every bus interchange. They were introduced in the mid 80s when all the bus services become One-Man-Operated and paying the exact fare was required. The machines were red and they were about the size of a vending machine. You put your note at the top and KA-CHING!, the loose coins will fall into a metal bowl below. Initially it accepted $1 or $5 notes. Later, $2 notes were also accepted and a slot was also added for $1 coins. With the introduction of the magnetic farecard in the 1990s, most people don't need to change coins anymore and the machines fade away.
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:
Actually, many many years before 1995, there were coin changing machines at every bus interchange. They were introduced in the mid 80s when all the bus services become One-Man-Operated and paying the exact fare was required. The machines were red and they were about the size of a vending machine. You put your note at the top and KA-CHING!, the loose coins will fall into a metal bowl below. Initially it accepted $1 or $5 notes. Later, $2 notes were also accepted and a slot was also added for $1 coins. With the introduction of the magnetic farecard in the 1990s, most people don't need to change coins anymore and the machines fade away.
I see, thanks for the info! I wasent even born then... ![]()
oh man why did they remove the machines ![]()
To my humble understanding, it may also be due to the fact that stallholders treating it as free changing service, as opposed to changing at the bank with a charge! Care to share?
Originally posted by MBHawke:To my humble understanding, it may also be due to the fact that stallholders treating it as free changing service, as opposed to changing at the bank with a charge! Care to share?
Maybe, bank charges quite a lot, s*** to the stall holders lah if that was the real rationale of removing the machines
i saw in recent newspaper articles that the authorities are trying to implement a common cashcard that can be used for transport fares, food, ERP, convenience stores, etc etc.
By then, the STB, travel agencies, airports, checkpoints etc can publicise widely of this cashcard to create awareness for tourists and visitors. Top-up facilities should be made accessible islandwide. Bt then, money change machine would become redundant.
the problem is that coins are so bulky to bring around, but almost all vending machines only accept coins. come on, who carries so much coins with them all the time.
so i shall pose a qsn here.
on avg, how much in coins(the value) do you carry along with you?
the most $2 - $3 worth of coins??
but there is always spare ezlink cards in my wallet..
i have 4 spare ezlinks.. but only 2 activated.. and btw, im not being kia su hor..
Did remembered those machines... Actually if CBD in particular Orchard Rd bus stops has them it would be good
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Probably bus drivers could take the initiative to have some coins on hand for them while on duty. Sometimes I do keep a few $1 coins and some shillings with me so I can assist them when the need arises. The cost of installing such machines are prohibitive.
The Bus inspector do this. They offer change for customer who do not paid enough fare.