I'm not sure if this is alright to post it here or better at train forum, but anyway, it's always easier to change bus route than MRT tracks.
I live in the western part, so more familiar with the bus services there.
1. Bukit Ho Swee is near to Tiong Bahru MRT, but no bus service to Tiong Bahru
2. HDB blocks along Hoy Fatt road near to Red Hill MRT, but both services, 63 and 139 does not go to Red Hill MRT
3. Mei Ling street area next to Queenstown MRT, the only bus service 64 goes to Red Hill
4. Tanglin Halt, near to Commonwealth, but service 61 only goes to future Holland MRT station.
Does "near to MRT" mean no bus service to MRT?
not everyone wants to walk, especially when raining. I think the bus companies should do a better job in integration, what are your opinions? and do you have more such examples?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Some “Central Stops”, coined during the days of Townlink, are pretty far out.
hmm...yeah. like at AMK. pax want to change to 265 hav to walk such a big distance along Ave 8 to get to the first bus stop opposite leh...
Originally posted by icky:I'm not sure if this is alright to post it here or better at train forum, but anyway, it's always easier to change bus route than MRT tracks.
2. HDB blocks along Hoy Fatt road near to Red Hill MRT, but both services, 63 and 139 does not go to Red Hill MRT
3. Mei Ling street area next to Queenstown MRT, the only bus service 64 goes to Red Hill
4. Tanglin Halt, near to Commonwealth, but service 61 only goes to future Holland MRT station.
not everyone wants to walk, especially when raining. I think the bus companies should do a better job in integration, what are your opinions? and do you have more such examples?
Can post at two forum at first
My comments
1. Maybe a new route: Bukit Merah Int- Tiong Baharu- Bukit HoSwee and returned at same route.
2. Can take 63 to other MRT station mah, or try a new route: Redhill MRT- Hoy Fatt (SBS- Dennis Dart 2XA/P 1X Peak Hour)
3. Can walk if you have staminia, quite short a distance mah
4. Agree, but beware, after CCL was opened, 61 may be rerouted
Originally posted by icky:I'm not sure if this is alright to post it here or better at train forum, but anyway, it's always easier to change bus route than MRT tracks.
I see that someone lives in Bukit Merah/Queensway area.
For the first one, just walk lah, isn't too far in.
One classic example is the Jln eunos bus stop, no proper direction signs and shelter, you have to walk through the market to the MRT or for 154.
lol. My house don't even have a MRT line. I will have to take a bus to the MRT station even after CCL is built.
In addition, my house don't have a shelter to the nearest bus stop.
For your info, I stay at Serangoon North Ave 1.
A long term solution that I recommend to you is that bring along an umbrella whenever you go in case of rainy days. And if you are tired of walking, you can always take a cab.
Originally posted by tanjun:
lol. My house don't even have a MRT line. I will have to take a bus to the MRT station even after CCL is built.
In addition, my house don't have a shelter to the nearest bus stop.
For your info, I stay at Serangoon North Ave 1.
A long term solution that I recommend to you is that bring along an umbrella whenever you go in case of rainy days. And if you are tired of walking, you can always take a cab.
For shelter thing, can e-mail LTA, maybe something may be done,
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:For shelter thing, can e-mail LTA, maybe something may be done,
Thx for the info. I have sent several feedbacks to the Residents Committee about this matter. I myself admit that it is rather not feastible to build the shelter to the bus stop because in that case, the shelter built will have to be long.
If all of us need to have bus routes that cater just nice for us, I think SBST and SMRT would be in deep trouble trying to think of new routes everywhere? And how many services you want along redhill? Singaporeans just don't seem to appreciate things.
Having new bus, people complain EDS problems, seats too little.
Having old bus, people complain they earn so much money and do not want to invest in new bus.
In a situation whereby SBST and SMRT need to cater the needs of each and everyone of us. You think it is possible?
Originally posted by Simple_boi:Having new bus, people complain EDS problems, seats too little.
Having old bus, people complain they earn so much money and do not want to invest in new bus.
In a situation whereby SBST and SMRT need to cater the needs of each and everyone of us. You think it is possible?
Then they should buy new buses that have enough seats and with Volgren bodywork.
Originally posted by Simple_boi:If all of us need to have bus routes that cater just nice for us, I think SBST and SMRT would be in deep trouble trying to think of new routes everywhere? And how many services you want along redhill? Singaporeans just don't seem to appreciate things.
Having new bus, people complain EDS problems, seats too little.
I think what SBST and SMRT have to learn from Hong Kong bus system is that the bus route must be dedicated to certain area. e.g. 61 is just for bukit batok, pasir panjang/telok blangah, then eunos, so u can detour around bb, then take PIE/AYE to telok blangah, not to cater the need for all bukit batok, toh yi, holland village, tanglin halt, alex village, etc...; so for tanglin halt, u can make service 195 go to tanglin halt first, then go commonwealth estate, that's fair. But doing this means passengers must know how to transfer, and the bus fare should be charged by the number of zones, not the number of stages, heard government was going to implement this, but no news after that.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
Then they should buy new buses that have enough seats and with Volgren bodywork.
That's your own opinion. Buses have been maximising seats, however, they want to extend bus rides not for just us, and also handicaps. If there are many seats, no place for handicap, wouldn't it be of jus a normal bus without the aim of letting handicap persons to board it?
Originally posted by icky:I think what SBST and SMRT have to learn from Hong Kong bus system is that the bus route must be dedicated to certain area. e.g. 61 is just for bukit batok, pasir panjang/telok blangah, then eunos, so u can detour around bb, then take PIE/AYE to telok blangah, not to cater the need for all bukit batok, toh yi, holland village, tanglin halt, alex village, etc...; so for tanglin halt, u can make service 195 go to tanglin halt first, then go commonwealth estate, that's fair. But doing this means passengers must know how to transfer, and the bus fare should be charged by the number of zones, not the number of stages, heard government was going to implement this, but no news after that.
If you know how and where to transfer bus, there would not be a need to open up this topic. I have no problem with our transport network in Singapore at all.
Originally posted by Simple_boi:If you know how and where to transfer bus, there would not be a need to open up this topic. I have no problem with our transport network in Singapore at all.
oh... come on... compared to year 1998/99, u know how slow the buses are nowadays
I believe you need to do some research on buses before typing your words here. Bus fans in bus forum know exactly how transport operators have improved their service in terms of frequency, etc. If you think it is getting worse, i think you need to check it out on your eyes cause you didn't even observe anything at all before having a conclusion.
Originally posted by Simple_boi:I believe you need to do some research on buses before typing your words here. Bus fans in bus forum know exactly how transport operators have improved their service in terms of frequency, etc. If you think it is getting worse, i think you need to check it out on your eyes cause you didn't even observe anything at all before having a conclusion.
so then what have u observed
A obvious answer is to refurbish the old bus. Example Lo3x.
Bus engine: Change to VSO/B9TL one
Seats: Change to K230UB one
Front Desto: Change to LAWO eds
Rear destos: maintain
Bus stopping: Change to new one.
Seats at right side of the bottom salon(3 front-facing, TV mobile): Removed and put WAB space
Steps: Removed to become a ramp
I hope this suggestion would drown the Sg pple comment about buses.
Expensive sia
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:A obvious answer is to refurbish the old bus. Example Lo3x.
Bus engine: Change to VSO/B9TL one
Seats: Change to K230UB one
Front Desto: Change to LAWO eds
Rear destos: maintain
Bus stopping: Change to new one.
Seats at right side of the bottom salon(3 front-facing, TV mobile): Removed and put WAB space
Steps: Removed to become a ramp
I hope this suggestion would drown the Sg pple comment about buses.
Expensive sia
Not possible , in fact , the LO3x are not even low floor , and the fact that new buses have to be Euro 4-5 onwards...
I think it's more issue of how integrated is it... are there sheltered walkways to e 'central stops' and issue of connectivity
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
design one for us... with 12m length, 2.55m width & height constraints + WAB requirement + wat you said of totally flat buses all e way
Originally posted by icky:I think what SBST and SMRT have to learn from Hong Kong bus system is that the bus route must be dedicated to certain area. e.g. 61 is just for bukit batok, pasir panjang/telok blangah, then eunos, so u can detour around bb, then take PIE/AYE to telok blangah, not to cater the need for all bukit batok, toh yi, holland village, tanglin halt, alex village, etc...; so for tanglin halt, u can make service 195 go to tanglin halt first, then go commonwealth estate, that's fair. But doing this means passengers must know how to transfer, and the bus fare should be charged by the number of zones, not the number of stages, heard government was going to implement this, but no news after that.
Have you researched on how different is the town layout between Singapore and Hong Kong? You cant simply move a method of doing things from one country to another without considering the differences.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HTVwa3UyKE&NR=1
For those who say our local trains are problematic should take a look at thei video.
I was talking with my German colleague who spoke of the superiority of our local train networks. I was surprised at how impressed he was with our local public transport standards. He commented that we should be glad that our public transports have our current standard and not like those with EU labour unions who sometimes abuses their rights.
Have a good laugh with this London Underground song.
Originally posted by nenepokey:hmm...yeah. like at AMK. pax want to change to 265 hav to walk such a big distance along Ave 8 to get to the first bus stop opposite leh...
I believe this is definitely a site constraint. Bus stops to be near to AMK Int would be too near to the traffic junctions. I myself find it far last time, but once used to it I find it ok.
Originally posted by MS:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HTVwa3UyKE&NR=1
For those who say our local trains are problematic should take a look at thei video.
I was talking with my German colleague who spoke of the superiority of our local train networks. I was surprised at how impressed he was with our local public transport standards. He commented that we should be glad that our public transports have our current standard and not like those with EU labour unions who sometimes abuses their rights.
Have a good laugh with this London Underground song.
But when there's no "abuses" of "their rights", I'm highly impressed by the frequency of the buses in London and Manchester, as well as London Tube. Imagine at Manchester, there's this road dubbed "the busiest" in UK. There's practically buses flying past every 5 minutes almost throughout the day!
But then again, like what some said, as places are planned differently, we can't expect the same everywhere. But of course, as much as our public transport seem impressive, there is definitely room for improvement.
I guess the weather also plays a part. It's more comfortable to walk when the humidity is low. That is why many locals hate to walk under the hot sun. Humidity is an issue here. Practices, tolerance and perceptions can sometimes make alot of difference. Perhaps culture shock would be a good solution here. Lol!!
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Have you researched on how different is the town layout between Singapore and Hong Kong? You cant simply move a method of doing things from one country to another without considering the differences.
I do understand that the difference between town structures in HK and in Singapore, I lived there for one year, HK towns are more of a point structure, so from one town to the other, u dont expect people to board/alight along the road, but this is obviously the opposite side of the case in singapore. On the other hand, their bus fare system encourages people to always take the bus whose destination is in your own town to avoid paying unnecessary fares. This fare system might not be practical to singapore bus system, but it is better to have an idea about local or express service to save passenger's time. U see, new york subway system uses a lot of express services to cut down the travel time, why not in Singapore?