Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:Walao i thot MK4 DM3500 just created in 2000?
Lifespan havent even expired?
Volvo MK4 DM3500 buses were first introduced in 1997. Some of the fleets were registered much later in Dec 2000 due to the fact that SBS extended the lifespan of the older fleets of buses (LAs, MB0305s etc) from 12 years to 15 years.
Anyway those Volvo MK4 DM3500 buses will eventually go to another bus service once the lifespan of the Scania N113CRBs expire.
Originally posted by SBS997A:We will not know the batch 3 as it maybe a SD or a DD. Maybe will be a K270UD. well we only can wait and see or ask SBST to post here xD
they are K230's. scania website states the 230hp buses.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:
they are K230's. scania website states the 230hp buses.
confirm K230UB
yeah. if 270hp buses then maybe got hope they're K270. if not 230 means die die K230. anyway sbst not interested in powerful buses.. maybe cuz the B7R was too power for them ![]()
the new buses arent commuter-friendly. the steps are a hazard.
Originally posted by dragg:the new buses arent commuter-friendly. the steps are a hazard.
What the heck do you all want then? You asked for WAB buses, you get them!![]()
Originally posted by SBS997A:And i think you leave out some few things :D
Take from http://www.scania.com.sg/buses/city_buses/
K 230 UB 4X2 CHASSIS
230 Engine: 9-litre inline 5. Euro 4
Peak outputs: 230 hp (169 kW) at 1800 r/min and 1050 Nm between 1100 and 1500 r/min.
Fuel injection: Scania PDE (high-pressure injection)
Gearbox: ZF 5-speed fully automatic transmission
Suspension: Full-air with electronic control
Standard equipment includes: Disc brakes, Gearbox integrated retarder, Twin alternators, Cruise controlFor the Batch 1 they have cruise control and for the batch 2 SBST nicely take it away xD
I thought the K230UBs were fitted with the ZF6?
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:I thought the K230UBs were fitted with the ZF6?
I clearly remember hearing a super low-pitch 6 gear when they run on the e-way.
Originally posted by Oceane:
It should be ZF6.
I do recall some confusion here because the initial info received was that they would be fitted with the ZF5.....but as it turned out they were fitted with the ZF6 instead.
Incidentally I believe it was the same site.![]()
Originally posted by Oceane:
Well, i think it's due to speed limiter. The 6th gear was meant to keep the bus at low rev, so that BCs dun speed. All K2s i ridden could reach 6th but those introduced in August have a small problem; they all can't reach 6th gear on the express way. (from my personal observation)
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
Well, i think it's due to speed limiter. The 6th gear was meant to keep the bus at low rev, so that BCs dun speed. All K2s i ridden could reach 6th but those introduced in August have a small problem; they all can't reach 6th gear on the express way. (from my personal observation)
When you switch gear there is always a sudden drop in RPM.
As long as the speed is low, the RPM will be low.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:yeah. if 270hp buses then maybe got hope they're K270. if not 230 means die die K230. anyway sbst not interested in powerful buses.. maybe cuz the B7R was too power for them
I think just get one good for starting torque can le
frankly speaking, how fast can you go here in S'pore? in no time it's either bus stop or traffic junction ![]()
Originally posted by dragg:the new buses arent commuter-friendly. the steps are a hazard.
bo pian
front being low for easier wheechair access
rear being higher cos of engine
Originally posted by sbst275:
I think just get one good for starting torque can lefrankly speaking, how fast can you go here in S'pore? in no time it's either bus stop or traffic junction
well, the KUBs are what u get for this. haha. well the specs on the webby already show, 1100-1500rpm theve got the full load of torque, and that isnt a very wide range by far. BC downshift hoping to get more power will find the bus juz revving and vibrating but nothing much moves. :P
Originally posted by ngjy22:Our Scania K230UB only had slight difference.
Batch 1 - Low Bumper, no seat behind BC
Batch 2 - Bumper not as low as batch 1, a seat is added behind BC.
Batch 3 [future] - Euro 5 engine. I wonder will there be any difference on the bodywork and interior configuration.Talking about interior configuration, SBS2695H, don't start a flame war on this, thank you.
Batch 1 and batch 2/3 door closing sensors are different too.
Originally posted by sbst275:
$147m / 400 = $367,500$147m and 400 buses are alrdy given
Eh I believe the base order has a higher price than the options, it seems to the case that SBST is fully excercising all its options.
Originally posted by choww:Batch 1 and batch 2/3 door closing sensors are different too.

SBS8332R to SBS8337C (except SBS8334K) registered today !!!
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
yes!
Batch 1
interesting hahah. 2 questions. isnt that SBS8281B? i thought only the latest batch have that sensor?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
yes!
Batch 1
Batch 3
OK, maybe I'm blind or maybe I really need to get some sleep, but I don't see any door closing sensors or differences...
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:OK, maybe I'm blind or maybe I really need to get some sleep, but I don't see any door closing sensors or differences...
I was just thinking...who knows if Scania were to offer SBST an irresistible deal, we may see K310UDs on our roads early next decade. Our dear Leylands needs replacement by then...
*wishful thinking*
Originally posted by Superbus:I was just thinking...who knows if Scania were to offer SBST an irresistible deal, we may see K310UDs on our roads early next decade. Our dear Leylands needs replacement by then...
*wishful thinking*
Do Gemilang offer DD bodyworks?
OT - the last Leyland Olympian 3X is with SBST, there's a possiblity foreign bus fans may buy the last Leyland chassis for preservation?