Originally posted by gUnZ_Boi:oh no! 900 scania model. kee siao liao... should ve buy dennis trident (i think i got the name right) though since hk and london have sia
SBST have 20 units of Dennis Tridents IIIs, though not WABs.
I'm quite ok with the Scanias, except for two dislikes
1) Vibrations. Some units of the scanias have alot of vibrations. :X
2) OMG the horror of Gemilang bodywork on 900 buses.
SBS8517A
SBS8518Y
SBS8519U
SBS8520P
SBS8521L
SBS8522J
Total: 6 buses
Registered on 12 December 2008
SBS8513K
SBS8515E
SBS8516C
SBS8525B
SBS8526Z
SBS8527X
SBS8528T
SBS8529R
Total: 8 buses
Registered on 18 December 2008
SBS8523G & SBS8530K onwards are all not registered yet.
No. of Scania K230UB registered as at 18 December 2008: 471
Originally posted by TIB537B:
SBST have 20 units of Dennis Tridents IIIs, though not WABs.I'm quite ok with the Scanias, except for two dislikes
1) Vibrations. Some units of the scanias have alot of vibrations. :X
2) OMG the horror of Gemilang bodywork on 900 buses.
SBST tridents give me the heebee-geebees.![]()
airy news.......rapid penang maybe buying KUBs for their fleet next yr.
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:airy news.......rapid penang maybe buying KUBs for their fleet next yr.
This is disaster for the bus industry.and will they also be using the same old boring gemilang body again?
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:last night i had a dream.......seeing new EUR5 KUBs with regos 8600 - 8999 [400u]
That would be 399 units. There's still 8888 remember.
Originally posted by ak4711:That would be 399 units. There's still 8888 remember.
no offence but im talking about euro 5, not euro 4. the next new order is KUB euro 5. 8888 is a euro 4 KUB.
Originally posted by Merczrox:
This is disaster for the bus industry.and will they also be using the same old boring gemilang body again?
hmmmmmmmmmmmm..........KUB yes, gemilang bdwk....not sure.
RapidKL already has some buses with Gemilang bodies.
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:no offence but im talking about euro 5, not euro 4. the next new order is KUB euro 5. 8888 is a euro 4 KUB.
But it is still 399 units with Euro 5 =.=
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
RapidKL already has some buses with Gemilang bodies.
Yes.i know that.anyway we are talking about the new kubs rapid penang is going to buy as scaniaB7RLE mentioned.
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:no offence but im talking about euro 5, not euro 4. the next new order is KUB euro 5. 8888 is a euro 4 KUB.
Eh really ah?the next 400 order of kubs are going to be euro 5?
yeah....
I don't see the problem in taking Gemilang-bodied buses...
fret not. i believe theirs will look even nicer.
Originally posted by xFireHeaveNx:SBS8517A
SBS8518Y
SBS8519U
SBS8520P
SBS8521L
SBS8522J
Total: 6 buses
Registered on 12 December 2008SBS8513K
SBS8515E
SBS8516C
SBS8525B
SBS8526Z
SBS8527X
SBS8528T
SBS8529R
Total: 8 buses
Registered on 18 December 2008
SBS8523G & SBS8530K onwards are all not registered yet.No. of Scania K230UB registered as at 18 December 2008: 471
come on come on, finish it by this year.. haha.
Aluminium coaches drive Gemilang's rapid growth
By Sim Bak Heng
Published: 2008/11/24
COACH builder Gemilang Coachwork Sdn Bhd's investment in aluminium technology is paying off handsomely as orders for their lighter and more durable coaches are rising. It more than tripled revenue to RM100 million in the financial year to October 31 2008, from RM30 million a year ago.
Its impressive growth was due to a factory expansion completed in April this year, and the increasing need for fuel-saving coaches by bus companies.
Aluminium-made coaches are lighter by between half and one tonne each than conventional coaches, which weigh 10 tonnes each. They are also more durable as they are rust-proof and can go longer distance.
Gemilang managing director Pang Chong Yong said the firm imported the Australian technology, the first and only one in the country, in early 1990s and fine-tuned the technology with a UK-based firm.
"We linked up with Alusuisse Aluminium of Switzerland in 2000 and became the first and only licence holder of their aluminium technology in coach-building in the Far East. "They supply us with the technology and material while we design and build our coaches," he told Business Times in an interview.
Singapore makes up 80 per cent Gemilang's market while the rest comes from Malaysia and Hong Kong. Plans are afoot to penetrate Taiwan and China.
According to Pang, the company is keen to supply buses to RapidKL, the state-owned bus operator, which currently sources its vehicles from China.
Gemilang started in 1989 by building bus chassis in Bandar Baru Uda in Johor Baru. It shifted to Seelong in Senai five years later and started making factory, school and tour buses. Since then, it decided to specialise in bus body development and has its own design team to make coaches ranging from single deck to one-and-a-half deck coaches.
Prior to the regional economic downturn in 1997, the company built coaches solely for the local market but poor demand forced it to look overseas. It clinched a RM25 million deal with Perth-based Bus & Coach International Pte Ltd in 1999 to build 120 buses, and this earned the firm a reputation for being the first local bus builder to win a contract to build coaches for the Aussie market.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
Singapore makes up 80 per cent Gemilang's market while the rest comes from Malaysia and Hong Kong. Plans are afoot to penetrate Taiwan and China.
Originally posted by Oceane:New to AMDEP
SBS 8506G
SBS 8507D
SBS 8508B
SBS 8509Z
SBS 8512M
8510/8511/8515/8516 all posted to AMDEP as well.
Service 235 will be using 1 new Scania bus w.e.f next week.
- Toa Payoh Int
just wondering.....any chance of BN KUBs entering svc 292 on 5th jan 2009. seems like some 292's BC drive on svc 18's KUB. hehe.
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:just wondering.....any chance of BN KUBs entering svc 292 on 5th jan 2009. seems like some 292's BC drive on svc 18's KUB. hehe.
Lolx? Ur chance will at next 2 to 3 yrs ltr and sbs3713h and sbs3714e still around leh
Originally posted by AEW5001:fret not. i believe theirs will look even nicer.
Yes.sometimes,i feel jealous when i see the Rapid Kl buses.especially with those small lights at the lower part sides of the body and those 2 lights at the front top of the bus,they look fantastic.thats why the Rapid Kl buses all look so nice with this features.they also look so cool like trcuks.how nice would it be,if SBST and SMRT buses could also have this features.at least SBS8030L and the Nissans have those 2 lights at the top front which makes them look so cool at night when those 2 lights are turned on.but sadly,the Nissans are going off and that feature now can only stay on SBS8030L unless if SBST or SMRT buys more buses with those features which likely wont happen.
our DD's have those lights mah.
SBS 8030 L FTW. <3
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:just wondering.....any chance of BN KUBs entering svc 292 on 5th jan 2009. seems like some 292's BC drive on svc 18's KUB. hehe.
Nonononono.how many times will u ask that question.i know u want kubs badly on 292.but that wont happen now.understand?i know u cant wait.but u have to wait.u want all svcs to get kub immediately?and u still seem so impatient and unhappy about 292 not getting kubs.there are already so many svcs with kubs.u can go take those svcs what.what else u want?and it dosent mean that if 292's BCs drive svc 18's kubs means that 292 will get kub.dont jump to the conclusion.just be patient and wait.if u cant wait and if u are still unhappy,thats ur problem.groan and whine all u want.but 292 wont get kubs for now as someone mentioned before.get that in ur head.