This morning, there was a bus accident in Woodlands Bus Interchange. The bus driver lost control of the bus when he was going to do a right turn to exit the bus interchange. The bus driver was driving bus service no 169 and i heard from my friend that the bus driver was a china national.
Can anyone verify my story?
I suggest for this thread to be moved to the bus forum.
car accident nia..big deal meh
so indirectly you've got something against china national being bus drivers..
Originally posted by QX179R:so indirectly you've got something against china national being bus drivers..
he jus said that the driver may be a china national. nothing biased about that.
Originally posted by y33bas:This morning, there was a bus accident in Woodlands Bus Interchange. The bus driver lost control of the bus when he was going to do a right turn to exit the bus interchange. The bus driver was driving bus service no 169 and i heard from my friend that the bus driver was a china national.
Can anyone verify my story?
You may not know what is a rego. etc. But I believe you know weather it is an articulated bus or normal bus since you saw it.
Very hard to update data.
1. no rego
2. No make( Rigid or bendies)
3. Timeframe, morning could well means 0530-1100, or AM shift
A lot of RP students shud hav seen that...
Originally posted by ismail:A lot of RP students shud hav seen that...
Not necessary... Year 2s and 3s generally do not have any lessons on every Wednesday. I am not aware of the accident that has happened 2 Wednesdays back..
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Very hard to update data.
1. no rego
2. No make( Rigid or bendies)
3. Timeframe, morning could well means 0530-1100, or AM shift
TIB919, at about 9.30am
thanks!
Not the 1st time that accident happened in Woodlands interchange. Seems that buses always tend to turn at high speed from my experience. I guess its time to have some humps build before the turns.
Originally posted by sBs_boy:Not the 1st time that accident happened in Woodlands interchange. Seems that buses always tend to turn at high speed from my experience. I guess its time to have some humps build before the turns.
yeah. I think there was a habit (TIB1049L aka someone fav bus) tio accident at Woodlands Int. Remember seeing it at Businfohub article
Speed control
If I ever saw 1 Sv 169 bendy chionging just for a short dist of road inside AMK Int I dun see why there wun be accidents involving SMRT buses in e Int
for goodness sake... speed limit inside is 15kph!
Well, buses never keep to their 15kph speed limit in WRI. Like for 1222C for example, it just turns madly out of the interchange and just chiongs with the engine screaming into the interchange, ignoring any hump along the way (so imagine people at the arcticulator portion flying up in the air)
Originally posted by sbst275:Speed control
If I ever saw 1 Sv 169 bendy chionging just for a short dist of road inside AMK Int I dun see why there wun be accidents involving SMRT buses in e Int
for goodness sake... speed limit inside is 15kph!
WRI is SMRT heaven... they literally ignore the speed limit and rush out of the interchange.
169 buses are very chiong-able. I think because tight schedules.
Originally posted by SBS594D:
yeah. I think there was a habit (TIB1049L aka someone fav bus) tio accident at Woodlands Int. Remember seeing it at Businfohub article
Yeah , Still remember that when it serve Svc 912 that time ...
Originally posted by sBs_boy:Not the 1st time that accident happened in Woodlands interchange. Seems that buses always tend to turn at high speed from my experience. I guess its time to have some humps build before the turns.
build hump... the bc slam straight into them. better not.
I guess you want busted axles. Not good on a bendy, but worse on a DD.
I find the entrances and exits of WRI and the 2 respective junctions are poorly designed. I've taken few bendys which skidded upon turning out towards the exit (lucky did not crash) and also buses with new drivers who tried to beat the wrong traffic light.
I think most of you realise the exits are.. right lane to go straight and left lane to turn left (via zebra crossing) and right (via traffic light). Either way, vehicles from each direction were seemingly ready to make a dash past the traffic light. I think there are too many turns (the one into WRI extremely misleading) available for one junction.
I think what's most common are car owners driving their vehicles into WRI. Some were so lost that they circled the interchange couple of times or ended up at parking bay.
I wonder how the design came about in the first place.
Originally posted by Oceane:
WRI is SMRT heaven... they literally ignore the speed limit and rush out of the interchange.169 buses are very chiong-able. I think because tight schedules.
SMRT BUS DRIVER BASHED UP AT AMK INTERCHANGE
"... Mr Ho said he felt well enough to finish the 50-minute journey from Ang Mo Kio bus interchange to Woodlands bus interchange.
'I didn't think it was so serious. We run on a tight schedule and all I could think of was to hurry for the next service..."
Originally posted by off_service:I think most of you realise the exits are.. right lane to go straight and left lane to turn left (via zebra crossing) and right (via traffic light). Either way, vehicles from each direction were seemingly ready to make a dash past the traffic light. I think there are too many turns (the one into WRI extremely misleading) available for one junction.
I wonder how the design came about in the first place.
Sometimes there a bendy waiting to turn right & block those buses going straight out from WRI.
The traffic light at that junction also very confusing...![]()
Originally posted by Oceane:
WRI is SMRT heaven... they literally ignore the speed limit and rush out of the interchange.169 buses are very chiong-able. I think because tight schedules.
no excuses abt tight schedule which ends up with e lives of passengers at stake... no accident fine and well... if there's langa how?
I'm not blaming e drivers, it's e mgmt ppl...
Originally posted by Raraken:I guess you want busted axles. Not good on a bendy, but worse on a DD.
If they go slow, will this problem exist ? Answer is no. I guess, you should ask youself again of what is the primary objective of having a hump installed along the roads. Since people cant obey simple rules being set in place and people are actually getting hurt. In the long run, it does help the people by installing humps near the curve before the exit before more people are hurt due to irresponsible drivers or people actually do get killed. This is the problem for SIngapore. Problem is alrdy there but dont want to solve it. Must wait till people get killed or seriously injured, then we have a group of people trying to argue their way through in a room finding ways to fix the problem which has already been surfaced loooooong time ago.