wtf? ![]()
surely, this has been getting out of hand....well u see, if the hamtams keep going on towards the bus captains, slowly the BC would quit & there will be lesser BC. Seriously, i dunno why nowadays ppl treat the BC like tools when they not happy wib them.....take my last Thursday for example, i boarded Sv 160 as i need to go to JB for shopping, 1 moron just becauze of not giving enough bus fare, nearly hamtam the BC. Luckly, got 1 nice malay guy help him to pay the remaining bus fare.....
BC = bus captian
what is the job scope of bus driver?
define properly bus driver job scope?
bus driver job is to operate the machine which is the bus.
drive passenger from point to point.
arrive & depart bus stop on time
ensure passenger safety during / while passenger on board.
why BC like to KPO bus inspector job scope?
BC want to be bus inspector?
no wonder occasionally kena bashed....
Originally posted by zaxis:BC = bus captian
Sorry to burst your bubble. One of the duties of a BC is to ensure that passengers pay the correct fare. No less. Apart from whatever work you mentioned, this falls under his job scope too.
imagine he just drives and drives and let everyone board without paying fares! ![]()
on 2nd thoughts, its true....sorry guys for siding the bad guys T.T
then they should employ more bus inspector, if they justify the cost require of inspector.
so far any bus inspector beening hit by passenger?why only bus captain?
if any BC encounter any accident, will the BI stay behind assist the BC?
what i witnes is another group of BI in white, will appear the accident sceen.
for SBStransit, there is another group dress in green , i was told they are BS.
so the picture is , why only those BC become victim? not BI nor BS?
getting BC to ensure passenger to pay correct fare on not correct.
there are many occassion, when people ask the BC, how much to put to go certain desination, the BC did n�t �r�vide c�rrect �nswer.
his concentration should be the traffic condition in front of him,
inspector some how like to kbkp about students' ez-link pass...
especially if somone paste some cute cute pixs to cover their place at ez-link ![]()
�ctu�lly �ur Ezlink is we �urch�se & �ut ��ney int� � c�rd �r�vide by tr�nsit link �te ltd.
wh�t h�s ��wer �r �uth�rity �ther th�n tr�nsitlink �te ltd &�y self t� s�y �ny decisi�n �n �y c�rd.
us�ge �f �y c�rd is between �gree�ent �f tr�nsitlink &�ublic tr�ns��rt ��er�t�rs.
d�y�u think k��iti�� will st�� �e buying �y c�ffee if i use s��e�ne student ezlink c�rd t� t�� �n the ezlink unit?
bus captains seems to be bashed up over student's ez-link cards, cash fare and driving slowly most of the time....how do we prevent that???
Originally posted by zaxis:then they should employ more bus inspector, if they justify the cost require of inspector.
there are many occassion, when people ask the BC, how much to put to go certain desination, the BC did n�t �r�vide c�rrect �nswer.
Please stop your irritating nonsense here without finding out what are the job scope of bus captains. What you are saying, reflect how much you don't know about YOUR country of trasnportation. Disgrace to Singaporeans. And those people with green or white uniform are from SBS Transit. Know your stuff before bullshitting in bus forum.
Originally posted by zaxis:�ctu�lly �ur Ezlink is we �urch�se & �ut ��ney int� � c�rd �r�vide by tr�nsit link �te ltd.
wh�t h�s ��wer �r �uth�rity �ther th�n tr�nsitlink �te ltd &�y self t� s�y �ny decisi�n �n �y c�rd.
us�ge �f �y c�rd is between �gree�ent �f tr�nsitlink &�ublic tr�ns��rt ��er�t�rs.
d�y�u think k��iti�� will st�� �e buying �y c�ffee if i use s��e�ne student ezlink c�rd t� t�� �n the ezlink unit?
transitlink is by SBS Transit + SMRT...so it is still themselves in the end.
what you said is true about Kopitiam not stopping you to buy coffee because it is CASH involved.
but you are looking at bus fares as in, theres different types of fares offered such as
-student
-senior citizens
-adult
-tetiary concession
that explains why they are so strict in this....for e.g, some parents might even use their child's ez-link card to get a cheaper fare. etc etc.
If BC were not to care about correct fare from passengers, why would i need to put a fare of $1.80? I might as well tell the BC that i paying for $1.80 and i put $0.55? OR might as well i go up the bus free, requesting for a $1.80 ticket? Soon, there will no passenger paying for fare and everyone is getting free ride. Just because of your thinkings that BC's job is to drive, think of a larger picture.
If i could paste photos on children EZ-Link card, why Transitlink need children or students to put passport size photo down there? Why you guys need to put other photos down there? Is it your face too ugly to be seen?
I assume many BC will talk to you nicely that you did not put the correct fare. By telling you nicely, should you talk back to him nicely than to shout at him? Driving 8hrs or more daily is not as easy as you think. Try think if you were be in school sitting for 2hrs in class, will you fidget around? BC just lie on the steering wheel for merely 10secs and got a complain. Or you all need a robot to drive buses? Or you all are too pampered with what you all have?
Think about it yourself.
Seriously, I agree
Bus Captains sure have not an easy job, if BC job is to drive ONLY....letting BI doing all the bus fare jobs. TOTALLY NONSENCE. Like some ppl said that only let the BI do the job, ok lets take it to a point of view. If there are no BI on the bus, just let the passangers take free rides, might as well SBS transit close down.
Originally posted by zaxis:then they should employ more bus inspector, if they justify the cost require of inspector.
Please define the magnitude of having "more bus inspector".
Is it 1 per bus, 2 per bus, 3 per bus or what?
Even if you say, 4 per bus. SBS Transit has over 3000 buses on the road while SMRT Corp. has around 800. 3800 divided by 4 requires 950 bus inspectors on the roads, inspecting every bus for the full day. Then you need to multiply by 2 so that the working hours are halved, making it more reasonable. So both transport operators have to employ close to 2000 bus inspectors in total just to ensure the safety of their BCs?
Plus, with the crazy rise in inflation costs these days, its a no wonder why people refuse to recognize price hikes. Look at all the strikes going around the world and you get what I mean. Increasing bus fare not due to increase in oil cost but because they need to protect their BCs from stupid people that have no common sense to pay for a simple bus ride, the transport operators are literally suiciding.
And if you think that BCs don't provide the correct answer when you ask them, then you go do your homework before taking the bus. It's much more simple.
think better go back to like last time, got bus conductors to issue ticket on board.but then the bus fare will definitely increase more..
public buses is suppose to be public in the first place.... and since they always say wan to encourage ppl to take bus and not drive car... why dun just make it free... ppl just pay wat they think it's worth..... like what our dear mr mah just said.... if it's case of wrong pricing.. then it's not going to work anyway.....and where is the competition?? same goes for water, electricity, etc... knn...
u wanna take a look at a list of bus captains' job scope before u start jumping to conclusions that ensuring pax to pay the right amount fare is not their job? if u pay the correct fare or not use an invalid ezlink card, i believe e above would not happen.
for more info of their job scope: http://impact-sg.jobstreet.com/jobs/jobdesc.asp?type=0&eid=9191&jid=1889341&did=796&its=0&src=8&itn= [include the = sign]
and u tink dey so xian kong eat finish liao nth do wanna anyhow retain ppl card? to tell e truth, i gt my ezlink card confiscated too. though i feel unhappy and angry too at tat time, i mean who wun? but come to think of it, it's my fault oso. so.. i'm not trying to side wif bus captain or wad.
and ur kopi any age can buy n drink. ez link different, gt pri sec, tertiary, adult, senior citizen, cannot be associated wif ur kopi.
thanks.
Afterall, BC are doing their jobs and they have the right to stop people if passengers didn't paid the right amount of fare or used an invalid EZ link card....and for those horny bastards who still thinks that the BC does not have any rights to do this, "Fuck you"
so i pay correct adult fare
should i need to wait for that stupid BC using stopping time reasoning with that poor student? can that clever BC drive the bus first? instate of stop there reasoning with the poor student, the bus is crowded. everyone rushing.
johor bahru public bus driver they are very strict with bus fare, reason they are paid basic salary , additional from total fare collected, they has a piece of cake aka comminsion .
how come SMRT has so few bus inspector? why so many sbstransit BC creating problem?
how come no passenger hit sbstransit bus inspector yet?
problem should do fish bone chart on BC.
they mostly is the root cause of problem.
they are not train " on topic such as effective communication" or may be they turn down U grad application, so can i say they education not enough?
no proper education or low education communicating to lower end student (mostly exam result no good, require retain or stay back or re take exam)
Originally posted by zaxis:so i pay correct adult fare
should i need to wait for that stupid BC using stopping time reasoning with that poor student? can that clever BC drive the bus first? instate of stop there reasoning with the poor student, the bus is crowded. everyone rushing.
johor bahru public bus driver they are very strict with bus fare, reason they are paid basic salary , additional from total fare collected, they has a piece of cake aka comminsion .
how come SMRT has so few bus inspector? why so many sbstransit BC creating problem?
they are not train " on topic such as effective communication" or may be they turn down U grad application, so can i say they education not enough?
no proper education or low education communicating to lower end student (mostly exam result no good, require retain or stay back or re take exam)
if u do not already noe, sbst has alr got their own system of making sure tat bus captains will not be late by the point system. if they r late to reach e inter w/o valid reasons dey would be awarded demerit points n this would thus affect their bonus at e end of e yr. so let's not look at e money part. wad u've just said is onli a minority of bus captains tat r stopping e bus dere jus to reason it out wif e passenger hu pay insufficient fare or using an invalid card to board.
yes i agree too it's indeed frustrating to see such bus captains doing so, stopping e bus just becuz of a passenger.
however, i do not feel tat it's is fair to assault these drivers whom u say r lowly educated. so can i say tat u hav prejudice for these sbs drivers just becuz they have minimum educational qualifications. spare a thought for them. if e bus captains hu gt assualted was ur father, how would u feel?
in e 1st place, resorting to violence is an offence. secondly, it's these "lowly educated" people who r here to keep our singapore bus service running. imagine if there were not enuf bus captains, we would nid to wait for a long time for one bus due to e fact tat dere r not enuf drivers to operate on tat particular svc, buses would den be crowded n yes we would not gt to our destinations in time and den ppl will complain. i believe e bus captains hav already been trained to deal wif such unprecedented situations. and instead of pushing e blame to e bc, how bout thinking of e person hu gt reasoned by the bc? it takes two hands to clap. if a student uses a valid card, no reason for tis to happen, ur bus will not stop dere n delay e rest of our time.
Don't be such an obstinate person. You jolly well know that drivers have a schedule. And they have a demerit system for being late. So they basically risk themselves to this demerit system just to ensure that people pay the right amounts of money, so that the company gets the profits that they deserve.
You have many loopholes in your post. Firstly, if someone's card has a problem and he has to pay cash, the BC is right to question him. Now the question is, why isn't anyone standing out to help the "student"? If the passengers got to waste time for the BC to finish handling the matter, why does anyone not take the initiative to help?
BCs are not the root cause of problems. The passengers are. If everyone pays the exact amounts, tops up his card in time and does not do anything funny to his card, why would any sane BC stop him? If everyone abides the rules onboard the bus, will the BC stop anyone? The only reason why BC got to stop the bus and do all this sort of stuff is because of irresponsible passengers that try to cheat the fare system.
And so what if their education is no good. You depend on them to travel. That's a cold hard bloody fact you got to accept. If they are not around, you walk. Or you crawl. And you know what makes BCs vulnerable to assaults? Its people who have been influenced with violence. Something not happy, WHAM.
And judging by your post, if the BCs didn't get enough education, so did you.
If you have a high level of education, you will be able to see the big picture. You can't even understand the situation of Singapore transportation, fancy showing us how much you don't like about our transportation? Don't contradict youself down here.
So what they are trained on effective communication? How many passenger willing to reply back to BC nicely? Vulgarities are commonly used on BCs. By telling passengers to pay correct fare, they got scolded? And without telling them to pay correct fare, the management scold them. So what should they do? Quit the job and let everyone buy a car to transport themselves? Or get free rides?
And for your information, quite a lot HIGH LEVEL educated people are working as BC. Let's hope i wont board your bus someday and you shall know how difficult it is to be a BC.