http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/357242/1/.html
Peak hour directional service between AMK Depot and Shenton Way via 13 MRT stations along NS-EW Line.
4 trips per direction
learning from HK operators liao.. Special Peak Hr svs...
http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/STIStory_253128.html
i also forsee that another new svc to duplicate the mrt line east west line coming soon ... remember the training buses seen along that route for the past month :) ...
Good move !
SO what would the route be like? And I guess it would serve NYP students (I think) to Bishan and Toa Payoh without taking the MRT lol?
Good move....but we are too fast to know about it, sbs website do not have it.![]()
1st Service introduced in the year(basic)
Originally posted by bus555:SO what would the route be like? And I guess it would serve NYP students (I think) to Bishan and Toa Payoh without taking the MRT lol?
I believe it will serve the stations from YCK downwards all the way to Marina Bay. 13 stations altogether.
But is Marina Bay close to Palmer Road?
Originally posted by Oceane:I believe it will serve the stations from YCK downwards all the way to Marina Bay. 13 stations altogether.
Tg Pagar replaces Marina Bay's 13th station
Originally posted by Oceane:I believe it will serve the stations from YCK downwards all the way to Marina Bay. 13 stations altogether.
Quite far, plamer road is near to Shenton Way terminal
Looks like Sv 140 managed to relive aft all these years
I suspect this move is a show by LTA to show that they are in control of the bus planning in singapore wef 2010 and they are good and able to do so. Intro by LTA not SBST somemore
So i guess it would be like this?:
AMDEP
Ang Mo Kio St 64/62
Ang Mo Kio Ave 9/6/8 <- passes Yio Chu Kang and Ang Mo Kio MRT stn
Bishan Rd <- passes Bishan MRt stn
Braddell Rd
Toa Payoh Lor 1 <- passes Braddell MRt stn
Jln toa Payoh
Thomson Rd <- passes Novena MRt stn
Newton Rd
Scotts Rd <- Passes Newton MRt stn
Orchard Rd+
Bras basah Rd+ <- passes douby ghaut MRT stn
esplanade Dr
Collyer Quay* <- passes Raffles Place MRt stn
Raffles Quay*
Shenton Way*
Shenton Way Term
*Return route uses Anson Rd & Robinson Rd. <- passes Tanjong Pagar MRT stn
+Retuen route uses Stamford Rd, Orchard Rd, Penang Rd & Orchard Turn <- passes City Hall MRt stn (for Stamford Rd) & Somerset MRt stn (for Penang Rd)
And I guess it would used Scania K230UB right lol
Originally posted by sbst275:
Tg Pagar replaces Marina Bay's 13th station
Oh ok... was wondering why would a bus go past a station thats not even in the way to Palmer Road. Hehe.
Originally posted by bus555:
So i guess it would be like this?:
AMDEP
Ang Mo Kio St 64/62
Ang Mo Kio Ave 9/6/8
Bishan Rd
Braddell Rd
Toa Payoh Lor 1
Jln toa Payoh
Thomson Rd
Newton Rd
Scotts Rd
Orchard Rd+
Bras basah Rd+
Esplanade Dr
Collyer Quay*
Raffles Quay*
Shenton Way*
Shenton Way Term
*Return route uses Anson Rd & Robinson Rd.
+Retuen route uses Stamford Rd, Orchard Rd, Penang Rd & Orchard Turn
And I guess it would used Scania K230UB right lol
I think not so using KUB, because it is a peak route and a Shenton way route, may use dm3500, B9 to impress the crowd working there
confirm should be merc one lol , since got many sp merc running around ..
s - shift ? or x'over ...
New Basic Bus Service 128 To Ply Along Section Of NSEW Line And More Premium Buses Introduced
1. Minister for Transport and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr Raymond Lim, announced on 30 January 2008 that new basic bus services will be allowed to ply along sections of mature rail lines with persistent heavy passenger loading. This is to provide commuters using these lines with more public transport alternatives. The Public Transport Council (PTC) has approved SBST's Service 128 to ply along the southbound section of the North-South-East-West Line from 7 July 2008.
2. Minister Lim had also announced on 30 January 2008 that the number of premium buses would be expanded from 42 to 72. LTA is pleased to announce that as of 30 June 2008, 76 premium buses are already in operation, surpassing the original target of 72.
3. The introduction of these bus services underscores LTA's commitment to provide more choices for commuters, including drivers who decide to switch to public transport.
New Basic Bus Service Duplicating Sections Of MRT Lines With Persistent Heavy Passenger Loading
4. Currently, the southbound section of the North-South-East-West Line (NSEW) from Bishan to Newton MRT stations faces persistent heavy passenger loading. With limited scope to expand rail capacity during peak periods quickly, the PTC has approved an application by SBST to operate a new basic bus service 128 between Ang Mo Kio Depot and Shenton Way Terminal. This service will commence operation on 7 July 2008. The route will cover 13 MRT stations along the NSEW and will stop at selected bus stops in-between MRT stations along its route. Please refer to Annex A for details of the bus route and stopping points.
5. SBST's service 128 will have 4 trips each during the morning and evening peak hours. SBST will increase the number of trips in the peak periods if demand for the service is high.
6. More of such services would be
implemented along other heavily loaded sections of mature rail lines in future,
if conditions require it.
More Premium Bus Services
In addition to this new basic bus service, 76 premium bus services now offer commuters direct connections from residential areas, such as Holland, Bukit Timah, Aljunied and Woodlands to the Shenton Way, Robinson Road, Suntec City and Orchard Road areas. For more information on the premium bus services available, please refer to http://www.lta.gov.sg/ public_transport/ pt_premium.htm.
7. "We are pleased with the response to the scheme with operators surpassing the targeted number of services and very healthy growth in ridership. LTA will continue to work together with the operators to ensure that more of such services are available, so as to give commuters more choices and viable alternatives to cars, especially during the peak hours. Members of the public who would like to suggest new routes for premium bus services can do so through the LTA website and we will encourage operators to consider them", said Mr Yam Ah Mee, Chief Executive, Land Transport Authority.
8. Premium bus services were
introduced as niche market bus services, catering to commuters who are prepared
to pay higher fares for a more direct and comfortable journey. Premium services
provide a closer substitute to private transport. These services also catervices also cater to
the group of current public transport commuters who desire a higher level of
service. This scheme was revised on 1 February 2007 as part of the on-going
effort by the government to make public transport a choice mode.
Premium Bus Aggregator
9. The public is encouraged to suggest
their preferred Origin-Destination points to be served by premium bus services
at http://www.lta.gov.sg/public_transport/pbs/pbs_info.htm. LTA will share the information with the operators for them to consider providing
PBS. - LTA
http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Latest%2BNews.html
says it will end at TG Pagar MRT. not Shenton Way Terminal
SBS Transit Introduces New Bus Service 128
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:I think not so using KUB, because it is a peak route and a Shenton way route, may use dm3500, B9 to impress the crowd working there
Or maybe O405 will be deployed.
Wahahah...
AM: Ang Mo Kio Ave 6, Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 (Skips NYP & Opp Former NTUC FP bus stop), Bishan Rd (Bishan MRT & Opp RI bus stop only), Lor 6 Toa Payoh, Lor 1 Toa Payoh, Lor 2 Toa Payoh, Thomson Rd (Novena Church/ MRT only), Newton Rd, Scotts Rd, Orchard Rd, Bras Basah Rd, Nicoll Highway, Esplanade Dr, Coller Quay, Raffles Quay & Shenton Way
PM: Anson Rd, Robinson Rd, Fullerton Rd, Esplanade Dr, Stamford Rd, Orchard Rd, Penang Rd, Somerset Rd, Orchard Turn (Opp NAC & Opp Orchard MRT bus stop), Scotts Rd, Newton Rd, Thomson Rd (Opp Novena Church/ MRT only), Lor 2 Toa Payoh, Lor 1 Toa Payoh, Lor 6 Toa Payoh, Bishan Rd (RI & Opp Bishan MRT bus stop), Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 (Skips Former NTUC FP & Opp NYP bus stop), Ang Mo Kio Ave 6 (Opp YCK MRT/ Alighting Only)
OMG! I knew it! The route that I written are right! just only I forgot to indicated Tpy lor 2 & Nicoll highway haha!
Originally posted by bus555:SO what would the route be like? And I guess it would serve NYP students (I think) to Bishan and Toa Payoh without taking the MRT lol?
Which NYP students goes home from school to their home in bishan or toa payoh at 8am?
Originally posted by service_238:
Which NYP students goes home from school to their home in bishan or toa payoh at 8am?
yeah that the prob. I though no skipped sia AND ONLY svc 72 is the only svc tat passes the door-step of NYP :(
edit: should've written to LTA or SBSt about it =.=.=.=.=.=.=.=.=.
edit again: 8AM!!!! wow didnt know NYP start lesson at midnight lol
I feel that the bus takes too long. Even getting from TP, the nearest housing estate, to orchard takes 20 mins. This only takes less than 10 mins by train, assuming you can get onto one. But I guess the demand is there from those who are sick of the crowded trains.
Originally posted by bus555:yeah that the prob. I though no skipped sia AND ONLY svc 72 is the only svc tat passes the door-step of NYP :(
edit: should've written to LTA or SBSt about it =.=.=.=.=.=.=.=.=.
edit again: 8AM!!!! wow didnt know NYP start lesson at midnight lol
your post has bewildered and confused me and i think a few other users too.
so what is your point, may we know?
you want it to stop at the nyp bus stop??