Reaction to new bus service 128
Commuters living in the North seem to be giving SBS Transit's new basic bus service 128 service to the Central Business District a miss, preferring to take the train.
The new bus service which started this morning runs, parallel to half the North-South MRT line providing residents in the North with an alternative means of public transport to get to work.
The service will have 4 trips each during the morning and evening peak hours.
There were only 6 commuters travelling from Yio Chu Kang to the city area on one of the four morning peak hour trips.
Most took the bus for its novelty.
Among them was student Tan (not real name), a self confessed 'bus enthusiast'.
"I like to try out new services and joy ride and understand the demand of the service."
Another commuter was Zi Yun.
"This bus reaches my office, i just wanna try if it's faster or the same time as the train."
By bus however, the length of the route takes almost thrice the time compared to the train.
The MRT takes an estimated 26 minutes from Ang Mo Kio to Shenton Way while the bus service takes 74.
Both modes of transport cost $1.39.
Ultimately, while most commuters might value their time over comfort, some are willing to compromise.
"If it's slightly longer and i can sit down then i'm still fine la but if it's maybe fifteen minutes more, i'll still prefer to take the train"
"If i'm not in the rush of time i'll take the bus and since the train along north south line is usually packed i will prefer to take the bus as it promise me a seat. - 938Live
Originally posted by QX179R:Reaction to new bus service 128
Commuters living in the North seem to be giving SBS Transit's new basic bus service 128 service to the Central Business District a miss, preferring to take the train.
The new bus service which started this morning runs, parallel to half the North-South MRT line providing residents in the North with an alternative means of public transport to get to work.
There were only 6 commuters travelling from Yio Chu Kang to the city area on one of the four morning peak hour trips.
Among them was student Ho Kok Pern, a self confessed 'bus enthusiast'.
"I like to try out new services and joy ride and understand the demand of the service."
"This bus reaches my office, i just wanna try if it's faster or the same time as the train."
By bus however, the length of the route takes almost thrice the time compared to the train.
The MRT takes an estimated 26 minutes from Ang Mo Kio to Shenton Way while the bus service takes 74.
Ultimately, while most commuters might value their time over comfort, some are willing to compromise.
"If it's slightly longer and i can sit down then i'm still fine la but if it's maybe fifteen minutes more, i'll still prefer to take the train"
"If i'm not in the rush of time i'll take the bus and since the train along north south line is usually packed i will prefer to take the bus as it promise me a seat. - 938Live
It will not work......LTA is going the wrong way by interpreting consumer wishes wrongly.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
It will not work......LTA is going the wrong way by interpreting consumer wishes wrongly.
it's not total duplication
it's a bit of say from Yishun to Orchard... via Thomson Rd or sort...
Newspapers reported not many took the first trip today, mainly SBST Staff, news reporters, bus fans(all being referred as testing service)...
Originally posted by sbst275:
it's not total duplicationit's a bit of say from Yishun to Orchard... via Thomson Rd or sort...
It still won't work.
First Day ma.. Of course like that..
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
It still won't work.
it might..
dun forget during MRT rationalisation, places like Upp Thomson also got badly telok... Sv 163 shortened off from CBD area leaving only 167
Originally posted by service_238:
The 4 xover S128 buses DO NOT go to 130 and 24.Its rather easy to guess actually. There's only one type of service which facillitates easy supplementary trips than others..
130 isnt getting any e-tt update for Monday but CT8 and CT18 does...
dunno who is the one who said so, according to one of the BCs i asked last week. he told me they are related to the am feeders as some of the am feeders were getting time revisions. at first i was thinking that all will be crossing to 265 and 268 but it turns out 262 and 269 were involved.
Guess this svc is gonna stick on K230UB? I mean the WHOLE k230ub leh? anyway, if possible, MErz, volvo Mark IV or maybe B9tl (WAB) cameo on 128 XD?
Originally posted by bus555:Guess this svc is gonna stick on K230UB? I mean the WHOLE k230ub leh? anyway, if possible, MErz, volvo Mark IV or maybe B9tl (WAB) cameo on 128 XD?
its possible. theres destos.
Well, the bus service demand is not there yet. But people would soon know that taking 128 is more faster than what it would take to take a Service 70 bus. I waited outside Apex Tower for the 1st PM trip and a Service 70 VSO pass by, 5 mins before the 1st trip came. A SBST official was there to check out the 1st PM trip down.
I rode till YMCA and there, I waited for the second trip. A few bus enthusiasts were on it. I took the route till the ending point at YCK MRT. The SAME SERVICE 70 VSO was just coming into YCK Int. I hope people would realise this service. There comes the truth; after Jubilee AMK, the bus fans had the whole bus to themselves (except an SBST official noting the passenger density in and out of the bus.) till YCK.
But overall, it duplicated part of Sv 162 route till Novena.
--edited--
Seldom see news reporter take so long portion for a new service...![]()
Actually, i feel that 128 shld have a limited stop service instead of stopping long every single MRT station. Perhaps some of the stops along 128 with services to shenton way/ city could be skipped totally to improve the journey time, 1h15mins from yck to shenton way is really not attractive compared to the trains. Alternatively, have a 128A and 128B that serves alternate stations to speed up the journey.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
Well, the bus service demand is not there yet. But people would soon know that taking 128 is more faster than what it would take to take a Service 70 bus. I waited outside Apex Tower for the 1st PM trip and a Service 70 VSO pass by, 5 mins before the 1st trip came. A SBST official was there to check out the 1st PM trip down.
I rode till YMCA and there, I waited for the second trip. A few bus enthusiasts were on it. I took the route till the ending point at YCK MRT. The SAME SERVICE 70 VSO was just coming into YCK Int. I hope people would realise this service. There comes the truth; after Jubilee AMK, the bus fans had the whole bus to themselves (except an SBST official noting the passenger density in and out of the bus.) till YCK.
But, about the bus enthusiast that kena interview, I had to keep it confidential as I know who is that person and I don't want to start anymore conflict.
I think practically everyone knows who's Kok Pern.
Originally posted by bus555:Guess this svc is gonna stick on K230UB? I mean the WHOLE k230ub leh? anyway, if possible, MErz, volvo Mark IV or maybe B9tl (WAB) cameo on 128 XD?
what do u mean by "the Whole K230ub?"? got half one?
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
--edited--
based on your timing, it seem like Sv 70 is only 17 mins slower? despite having to stop at more stops, fetch more passengers and going a longer trip?
the Sin Ming reporter mention that the last morning trip took 66 mins despite only 6 paxs board /alight throughout the whole journey, excluding SBST staff and two reporters. Imagine, if there are more paxs boarding/alighting? the journey time should be more than 74 mins..
Probably because 128 passes by more congested roads during peak hours. And service 70 can chiong at Nicoll Highway and at YCK Rd between ST electronics and AMK Ave 5.
Originally posted by lemon1974:based on your timing, it seem like Sv 70 is only 17 mins slower? despite having to stop at more stops, fetch more passengers and going a longer trip?
the Sin Ming reporter mention that the last morning trip took 66 mins despite only 6 paxs board /alight throughout the whole journey, excluding SBST staff and two reporters. Imagine, if there are more paxs boarding/alighting? the journey time should be more than 74 mins..
SBS8459J [First bus] only took 57mins. +17 seen on DDU at Shenton Way
There won't be Superbuses on S128 so soon, unless the demand is high when more people are familiar with this route.
Originally posted by lemon1974:based on your timing, it seem like Sv 70 is only 17 mins slower? despite having to stop at more stops, fetch more passengers and going a longer trip?
Though S128 seem more direct, but the time taken for both services differs slightly.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:First Day ma.. Of course like that..
I would be willing to gamble it won't work.
me too in the long run, since there alr r premium buses that r even faster. i rather 128 call at NYP, even if im from SP.
Originally posted by AEW5001:me too in the long run, since there alr r premium buses that r even faster. i rather 128 call at NYP, even if im from SP.
I can tell you that majority of them will still take the mrt even it ply past nyp.
let me repeat.
in the first place. this service is not catered to NYP students. NYP students are not dismissed betwen 0718-0754 hours and mostly do not report to school between 1931-2007 hours