Same here. It's kinda quiet and no vibrations mostly
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:But all ELBOs i took recently chiong leh.
The fastest was on 178, when it sped at around 70-80km/h at kranji. Driven by china SL. I can say when ELBOs chiong, its more shiok than a merc. At least its quieter than a merc. Merc's hub reductor axle sound can be quite annoying sometimes.
I like ELBOs for these reasons :
Very steady acceleration. Got a very powerful engine.
Somehow its very quiet when chionging on expressways/ smooth roads, altho when going over bumps its another story. That time i took it on 966 when going to work at around 6am+. Anyone who is sitting down is sound asleep.
Its braking is very smooth as well. Try taking TIB839E. Its really smooth.
usually ELBOs are for free massage, and at times, free sauna. Scania suspension worse than that of merc. take a merc and scania on 961 and compare the difference when travelling towards Geylang Lor 1, along Woodlands Rd
scania suspension was never good. lol
take the sbst n113 for example. after 20 or so yrs of svc the suspension still as unyielding as ever. compare that to mark two where in their last 5 years or so they didnt achieve merc like suspension but at least the suspension gone soft.
if e suspensions r not good, maybe use softer seats?
in my preference, smrt merc's suspension seems to be the most comfy for me.. followed by sbst's merc.. then mk4 volvo.. worse off is nissans.. leaf springs! noisy and uncomfy..

Originally posted by manjieass:
This was on 852 yesterday...
Originally posted by Oceane:
This was on 852 yesterday...
i took this pic on 30/07/08..
Originally posted by manjieass:in my preference, smrt merc's suspension seems to be the most comfy for me.. followed by sbst's merc.. then mk4 volvo.. worse off is nissans.. leaf springs! noisy and uncomfy..
I would say the Lances have the worst suspension, especially so since it has air suspension, which is supposed to be more comfortable. Nissans ranked second from the bottom since it has leaf springs (steel) suspension.
That said, i've yet to encounter any Nissans that has loose axles or whatsoever that generates those kind of irritating cling and clanks when moving. Therefore at least it should score better than the lances. I've taken before a Lance on 853 whereby the entire axle suspension produces those irritating knocking sounds for the entire journey.
What is the technician doing to the A/C?
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:I would say the Lances have the worst suspension, especially so since it has air suspension, which is supposed to be more comfortable. Nissans ranked second from the bottom since it has leaf springs (steel) suspension.
That said, i've yet to encounter any Nissans that has loose axles or whatsoever that generates those kind of irritating cling and clanks when moving. Therefore at least it should score better than the lances. I've taken before a Lance on 853 whereby the entire axle suspension produces those irritating knocking sounds for the entire journey.
Well, Dennis Lance and Hino Suspension is similar. It was too hard. When, it goes through a bump. You can feel how hard it is. Anyway, why Dennis Lance sometimes loves to give out air, i thought that was turbo lag at one moment but seems to come from some air tank or something.
for 'manjieass' pic of 1255, I wonder how the mechanics can remove the aircon till I can see the hole on the roof. It was really weird. What if the UD have no roof aircon?
Softest suspension is ofcourse the MBO405. The suspension is soft but sometimes, I can feel the body making contact with the wheels when I sit on the seat above the wheel well. Volvo B10M MK-IV is ok but when one person board the bus, how come the suspension can be soft till I can feel the bus move when I'm sitting at the back. Example is SBS2696E.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
for 'manjieass' pic of 1255, I wonder how the mechanics can remove the aircon till I can see the hole on the roof. It was really weird. What if the UD have no roof aircon?
Perhaps you can take the SMRT bus models with undercarriage aircon as reference.
Anything with a way in will have a way out, even if it means dismantling the whole roof. Engineers and designers are not there for nothing.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:I would say the Lances have the worst suspension, especially so since it has air suspension, which is supposed to be more comfortable. Nissans ranked second from the bottom since it has leaf springs (steel) suspension.
Same, the lances has really horrible suspension, although there's a few exceptions e.g tib939 which has slightly better suspension. Although Nissans has leaf springs, the soft seats compensates for hard suspension. smrt's o405 has good suspensions, but i would prefer the b10ble. It feels so comfy when it passes through the slope on Jurong town hall rd.
Anyway, back on topic. Will surely miss the nissans, although i dislike to take it during peak hours on 852, its a total different experience during non peak hours where the driver seldom stop to drop off or pick up passengers.
Your logic is totally screwed. May I know where is the aircon filter placed?
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Same, the lances has really horrible suspension, although there's a few exceptions e.g tib939 which has slightly better suspension. Although Nissans has leaf springs, the soft seats compensates for hard suspension. smrt's o405 has good suspensions, but i would prefer the b10ble. It feels so comfy when it passes through the slope on Jurong town hall rd.
Anyway, back on topic. Will surely miss the nissans, although i dislike to take it during peak hours on 852, its a total different experience during non peak hours where the driver seldom stop to drop off or pick up passengers.
I think the UD is the best in terms of engine noise. But must say again that the sounds coming from other components like suspension or others made it not the most quitest bus around. The most quitest one i think is SBS8030L but in SMRT, I think the Hinos and the Lance stood a good chance, along with the DAF and Scania.
Why those models with bad suspension is so quiet?![]()
I think the UD is the best in terms of engine noise.
I didn't know noise is good for us.
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Same, the lances has really horrible suspension, although there's a few exceptions e.g tib939 which has slightly better suspension. Although Nissans has leaf springs, the soft seats compensates for hard suspension. smrt's o405 has good suspensions, but i would prefer the b10ble. It feels so comfy when it passes through the slope on Jurong town hall rd.
Especially along Sembawang Road with alot of bumps. But generally speaking, older English buses seems to have stiff suspension... Think LOs and Dennis Tridents.
Originally posted by TIB537B:
What is the technician doing to the A/C?
i think change a new one..
anyone took 1255 lately pls confirm..
wa lao.. don 'snoob' me with this kind of question leh.. no hole how to put air con??
There r 4 types of aircons:
1. Located on the roof (SBST Volvo SDs)
2. Located at e back, facing e rear (DDs)
3. Underfloor (SMRT bendies)
4. Underfloor but uses separate engine to operate (Some Pte. Hire Buses)
Well, Dennis Lance and Hino Suspension is similar. It was too hard. When, it goes through a bump. You can feel how hard it is. Anyway, why Dennis Lance sometimes loves to give out air, i thought that was turbo lag at one moment but seems to come from some air tank or something.
Its from teh air compressor. Altho some Lances have funny sounds like what you had mentioned, particularly is TIB1013P and TIB1008E. FYI, turbo lag doesn't give out air sounds. Listen to the LO3x, which has the most obvious turbo lag problem. Listen how slow the turbo comes on (it has a shrilling sound). Otherwise you can take TIB844P and listen to its turbo system .TIB844P got turbo silencer problem, a some sort of valve or smth (cant rmbr its proper name) is broken/missing.
they are cleaning the aircon of 766 rite?
Woodland depot.Hmm it seem that i know that guy...
Info from the SMRT customer relations department that the new Merc OC500LEs will be out somewhere in September, to replace all the old Nissan UD buses which are to be phased out by end of this year.
Originally posted by carbikebus:
Woodland depot.Hmm it seem that i know that guy...
you mean you know the technician?