Here's a couple of rather simple questions I thought up:
1. Excluding the Mercedes OC500LE buses, which bus, among all of SMRT's buses that carry a full complement of orange LED displays, can be considered the odd one out? List three factors.
2. Even after factoring in the OC500LE buses, this particular bus is still the odd one out. Why? List the two factors.
Hint: the answers for both questions overlap each other.
1. I am the only BRBP trunk svc that have perm and cameo MErz only??
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Here's a couple of rather simple questions I thought up:
1. Excluding the Mercedes OC500LE buses, which bus, among all of SMRT's buses that carry a full complement of orange LED displays, can be considered the odd one out? List three factors.
2. Even after factoring in the OC500LE buses, this particular bus is still the odd one out. Why? List the two factors.
1. TIB1034D. Three Words And Two Symbols: Hanover + Articulated + Font
2. Two Words And A Symbol: Hanover + Articulated
See if you can get what I'm meaning... ![]()
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Here's a couple of rather simple questions I thought up:
SMb1H? only OC to have ad and small side and rear EDS?
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
SBS9378Cah, thought of another question. What 2 types of side destos does Svc 198 use?
i think only the font is verdana and the most commonly seen de hor?
Originally posted by SBS8033D:i think only the font is verdana and the most commonly seen de hor?
verdana with 2 bus interchange names? the commonly seen u mean w/o interchange names?
no
Font:Verdana and i think it's Arial.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:no
Font:Verdana and i think it's Arial.
tried using ms word, verdana shld be the ones without int names while arial is the opposite.
Verdana is the ones which appeared on svc 72 the most(B9TLs)
Arial is the old one, long-lived till today.
Another question, something like JaSoNhSu92's.
Now many fonts can appear on svc 72's side desto?
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Verdana is the ones which appeared on svc 72 the most(B9TLs)
Arial is the old one, long-lived till today.
Another question, something like JaSoNhSu92's.
Now many fonts can appear on svc 72's side desto?
2 la so easy. common for all svcs with DD.
and, not only front destos got verdana font, even rear desto also hav, like 198 lor.
Originally posted by SBS1984E:1. TIB1034D. Three Words And Two Symbols: Hanover + Articulated + Font
2. Two Words And A Symbol: Hanover + Articulated
See if you can get what I'm meaning...
I don't really get the part about words and symbols, but you are mostly right: TIB 1034D is the odd one out in both cases because it is the only bendy bus with orange LEDs, and the only one using a Hanover display. I don't really count in fonts though, though I will accept that answer for bonus points; for question 2 though, you also have to count in fonts since TIB 1034D is still the only bus carrying orange LEDs with that font (unless I'm getting something wrong here). .
There's yet another factor that sets TIB 1034D apart from the other buses with orange LEDs. Here's a hint: apart from TIB 1034D and the Mercedes OC500LE buses, there's only four buses in SMRT's fleet (as far as I know) that carry orange LEDs, and all four have something in common that is not too obvious until you look closely at some numbers together...
Originally posted by bus555:
SMb1H? only OC to have ad and small side and rear EDS?
Wrong. Size doesn't really matter here. And besides, I'm more of thinking of the front LED display.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Wrong. Size doesn't really matter here. And besides, I'm more of thinking of the front LED display.
Orh...
the only OCs that does not have it number EDS change to the right?
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:I don't really get the part about words and symbols, but you are mostly right: TIB 1034D is the odd one out in both cases because it is the only bendy bus with orange LEDs, and the only one using a Hanover display. I don't really count in fonts though, though I will accept that answer for bonus points; for question 2 though, you also have to count in fonts since TIB 1034D is still the only bus carrying orange LEDs with that font (unless I'm getting something wrong here). .
There's yet another factor that sets TIB 1034D apart from the other buses with orange LEDs. Here's a hint: apart from TIB 1034D and the Mercedes OC500LE buses, there's only four buses in SMRT's fleet (as far as I know) that carry orange LEDs, and all four have something in common that is not too obvious until you look closely at some numbers together...
Orh... I know liao...
The current Rego of Buses using Orange EDS (Non- OC) all BUT TIB1034D have the format TIB ABA X Where A and B are intergers and A and B may be the the same interger.
-But- Thats going to change if that DAF gets Orange EDS too... LOL.
Originally posted by SBS1985C:Orh... I know liao...
The current Rego of Buses using Orange EDS (Non- OC) all BUT TIB1034D have the format TIB ABA X Where A and B are intergers and A and B may be the the same interger.
-But- Thats going to change if that DAF gets Orange EDS too... LOL.
You got it right!
Indeed, TIB 484U, TIB 565U, TIB 595H, and TIB 666L are (with the exception of TIB 1034D) the only SMRT buses that were retrofitted with LED displays (i.e. installed later on during the life of the bus, instead of having it new); their registration numbers, coincidentally, all share this property of being three-digit numbers that begins and ends in the same digit (additionally, TIB 666L also has the same middle digit).
Though that could easily change if other buses start getting retrofitted with orange LED displays too...
Originally posted by bus555:
Orh...the only OCs that does not have it number EDS change to the right?
Again, wrong.
Give the exact model codes for the following batches of Olympians/Super Olympians/B9TLs
1) SBS5396B
2) SBS3550K to SBS3551A, SBS6907X to SBS6999E and SBS7113M to SBS7197X
3) SBS9000S to SBS9199C
4) SBS9200G to SBS9300B, SBS9301Z to SBS9400X (2 distinct batches with same model code)
5) SBS7198T to SBS7297R
6) SBS9401T to SBS9600K, SBS9601H to SBS9670H (2 distinct batches with same model code)
7) SBS9800A to SBS9849K, SBS9888Y (demo) and SBS9889U
8) SBS7300P (prototype batch (chassis)) to SBS7499A
Explain the codes if possible.
7) Volvo B10TL
B: Bus chassis.
10: 10 liter capacity engine.
T: Transverse engine placement.
L: Low floor.
8) Volvo B9TL
9: 9 liter capacity engine.
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:7) Volvo B10TL
10: 10 liter capacity engine.
8) Volvo B9TL
9: 9 liter capacity engine.
Eh just need a bit more, something behind the codes.
7 is a voith B9TL right?
8 is a ZF B9TL right?
Originally posted by Scania:Give the exact model codes for the following batches of Olympians/Super Olympians/B9TLs
1) SBS5396B
2) SBS3550K to SBS3551A, SBS6907X to SBS6999E and SBS7113M to SBS7197X
3) SBS9000S to SBS9199C
4) SBS9200G to SBS9300B, SBS9301Z to SBS9400X (2 distinct batches with same model code)
5) SBS7198T to SBS7297R
6) SBS9401T to SBS9600K, SBS9601H to SBS9670H (2 distinct batches with same model code)
7) SBS9800A to SBS9849K, SBS9888Y (demo) and SBS9889U
8) SBS7300P (prototype batch (chassis)) to SBS7499AExplain the codes if possible.
3. LO3X
Leyland Oylimpian 3 Axle
4. Vo3X Batch 1 and 2
Volvo Oylimpian 3 Axle
5. VO2x
Volvo Oylimpian 2 axle -nac
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:3. LO3X
Leyland Oylimpian 3 Axle
4. Vo3X Batch 1 and 2
Volvo Oylimpian 3 Axle
5. VO2x
Volvo Oylimpian 2 axle -nac
Thats not even model codes
Originally posted by Scania:The answers are
SBS5396B- B45/TL11/2R
Where B45 is the initial model code by Leyland for its Olympians, SBS5396B is also one of the few Olympian prototypes to be produced. TL11 means its using a Leyland TL11 engine while 2R means its a 2 axle right hand drive bus. It is believed that it is in preservation in the UK now.SBS3550K to SBS3571A, SBS6907X to SBS 6999E and SBS7113M to SBS7197X- ONTL11/2R
Where ON is the Leyland code for OlympiansSBS9000S to SBS9199C – ON3R56C18Z4
Where 3 R means its a 3 axle right hand drive bus, 56 is the production run code, C1 means its using a 10 litre Cummins Engine (LT10) and Z4 means its using a 4 speed ZF gearbox. The presence of the 8 is still unknown to me.SBS9200G to SBS9300B, SBS9301Z to SBS9400E – YN3RV18Z4
Where YN is the Volvo code for its Olympians, V1 means its using a 10 litres (rounded up, its actually a 9.6 litres engine) Volvo engine. Volvo seemed to have kept the 8 in the code.SBS7198T to SBS7297R – YN2RV18V3.
V3 means its using a 3 speed Voith.SBS9401T to SBS9600K, SBS9601H to SBS9670H – OLY-7200
Volvo changed the code for Olympians to simply OLY. 7200 means it has a 7.2m wheelbase.SBS9800A to SBS9849K, SBS9888Y, SBS9889U – B10TL-7300
Its partly explained by TIB1224Y above. 7300 means its has a 7.3m wheelbaseSBS7300P to SBS7449U, SBS7450P to SBS7499U – B9TL-7220.
7220 means it has a 7.22m wheelbase.
oh gosh...these are a lil' cheem...cheemology