Originally posted by FireIce:the NOW card is the most kns design ever
if it's even "designed" in the first place
and looks sooooo plastic
and why the phark got the word "platinum" on it?
a plat debit card + ezlink + nets?
dun sound right deh
my fren tried swiping but cannot
this card like got many problems leh
Yah man. I was like wtf when I got it in the mail. I just got the letter saying nets activated a week ago. I've been using it as a visa and ezlink and atm card in the meantime. No problems leh. ![]()
I terminated my NOW card within a month of activation.
At first I didn't want to use their ezlink function, but then guys don't separate their cards from their wallets, so putting the card in caused error going thru the mrt gates.
so I went to activate it. costed 13 bucks for the ezlink function. spent 1 week waiting for the giro link function to activate. everything set liao, suddenly one day while travelling, go in MRT okay, come out say card error.
Station control say Card faulty. Call UOB ask them now what? they say send me the replacement card. I ask if need to redo the activation, pay the 13 bucks etc.. they say no need. promised me everything will be settled.
within a week receive a replacement card. it's a brand new card. checking it with transitlink office say it's not giro link nothing.. and ask me to pay 13 bucks for the activation of ez link function again.
I call back UOB complain, they say check and call back. when they call back say I have to redo the whole process again. I asked what about the fking promise? they just reemphasize need to redo everything again. I straight away tell them I want to terminate it.
few reasons.
1. I don't want to spend another 13 bucks to settle for a obvious card fault and not to my error.
2. I don't want to waste my time repeating the activation process and get a chance at getting another card fault.
3. empty promises by UOB.
4. I don't want to be forced to charge 200 bucks each month to the stupid card just to get the card fees waived. (first year free. subsequent min $2400 a year if not charge $18 bucks service charge.)
sorry for the wall of text..
I'm going to cancel it eventually simply because its fugly. ![]()
each top-up got transaction fee oso
bo hua lah
Originally posted by FireIce:each top-up got transaction fee oso
bo hua lah
ya lo.. fking UOB.. if only they design it like the MINI visa or what..
clever them.. force terminate the nice free cards and launch such a stupid card.
diao
finally we go the
:octopus card" way
10 years after Hong Kong launched their all access transport smart card (aptly named Octopus card because of its many functions just like the octopus has many legs ) we Singaporeans fianlly go the same way. Our card shuld have the same features as theirs, can buy almost anything at almost anywhere, including famed 7-eleven purchasing, i. They say is cashcard inside so i guess shd be ok with meeting that.
Hong kong has no ERP so cannot compare. but whats good is ERP can now be paid in this new card. yipee. i mean i shd prob throw away my defunct cash card. lol
defintiely hope to see the ez link logo at Supermarket check out counters..
then again with the cashcard function, NUS students shd soon be tapping away at photocopier machines photocpying stuffs. lol
ZYX
It seems that singapore is lacking in technology for years.....however, need to pay again for the new card...sianzzzz....all bus need to change technology....sad for KUB...
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:It seems that singapore is lacking in technology for years.....however, need to pay again for the new card...sianzzzz....all bus need to change technology....sad for KUB...
Our buses are not really lacking actually. There are countries that have older buses than us.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
Our buses are not really lacking actually. There are countries that have older buses than us.
i meant technology not buses
Originally posted by ZYX2005:diao
finally we go the
10 years after Hong Kong launched their all access transport smart card (aptly named Octopus card because of its many functions just like the octopus has many legs ) we Singaporeans fianlly go the same way. Our card shuld have the same features as theirs, can buy almost anything at almost anywhere, including famed 7-eleven purchasing, i. They say is cashcard inside so i guess shd be ok with meeting that.
Hong kong has no ERP so cannot compare. but whats good is ERP can now be paid in this new card. yipee. i mean i shd prob throw away my defunct cash card. lol
then again with the cashcard function, NUS students shd soon be tapping away at photocopier machines photocpying stuffs. lol
ZYX
yes. finally cepas is up. but i wonder will QB bother to buy new card readers all over again to support this new card? after all, merchant take-up rate for ezlink cards is slow, with only McD and 7-11 being the anchors.
I miss the farecards. no need to pay addition $5.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:diao
finally we go the
ZYX
The Octopus card does not have "many functions" per-se. It is a card with one chip, just like any other contactless card. In fact, the Octopus card and the Ezlink card uses the same Sony FeliCa chip.
What gives the Octopus card greater usage rates is its abiility to rope in other merchants and various payment points to adopt the card reader, something which can also be done with the EzLink card. If Singapore starts introducing EzLink card readers in all commercial stores, vending machines, IU units etc, the result would be exactly the same.
It is a no-brainer really, on why Singapore still dosent have a single cashless-card system. We just can't make up our minds and settle on one system, and the high credit-card usage is obviously not going to go away either. Hopefully this will be a step in the right direction to finally marry most of these functions together...
Originally posted by skeujin:my new UOB debit card is already n ezlink, debit card n ATM...
but dam stupid cause got no nets....so i still got to carry around my old card.
dunno which stupid cb brain at UOB thought of this new combination.
the NOW card no nets meh??
Originally posted by manjieass:the NOW card no nets meh??