Originally posted by TIB433S:For me, well for SBS Transit, i can't really say what buses to joyride because I haven't been exposed to alot of SBST buses.
As for SMRT, i would probably recommend these few buses, sorry if these buses are already mentioned, because all except TIB1049L's replies are pages way back. Amd im sorry if I sound like telling some story, but i just want to recommend these buses.TIB425R and TIB426M have power, and has special turbo. Both have great aircon and they are probably a good 61 joyride.
TIB442R has power, good aircon, is very clean and still maintains the change of gear from 0-1-2. (: But don't take the bus when the white-haired SL is driving, he jerks the bus all the time.
TIB471G and TIB472D are speedsters of 700! Very fast buses, and they were fast too under WLDEP.
TIB481C has that new-ish smell and runs like an airplane, the transmission is also quite unique.
TIB515P has that AMDEP-ish sound though she is from KJDEP. Transmission is very unique! And don't be fooled when this bus is slow, actually she can go quite fast, depending on who's the driver...
TIB567P has a unique pickup and bell. The brake sound has some higher-pitched sound at the end if you listen carefully.
TIB577K has power and still maintains that AMDEP transmission.
TIB588D, like what TIB1049L said, has a special transmission, but also can speed and she fairs the hills quite well on 173!
TIB595H also is quite good, and has speed. Though at points the bus may be weak.
TIB602X has freezing aircon, special turbo and also has that constipated pickup.
TIB668G also is quite a fast scania, still remember this bus speeding on Mandai Avenue while she was WLDEP 171. But she vibrates violently, a true OSIM...
Hmm TIB668G not really that vibrative anymore. Its very fast tho. One of my fav. Another favourite for L113CRL 75 perm is TIB671X.
Here are the list of buses that can chiong 70km/h and above and been there done that :
Mercedes Benz O405
TIB446E, TIB474Z, TIB502B, TIB505T, TIB510C, TIB541M and a few others, cant rmbr that well.
Scania L113CRL
TIB671X, TIB834T, TIB835R, TIB839E(my favourite), TIB840A, TIB848D.
DAF
TIB691M, TIB694E, TIB704K, TIB706E(good bus, or is TIB708A? Cant rmbr), TIB712L, TIB714G,
Nissan Diesel aka UD
TIB370P, TIB371L, TIB372J, TIB374D, TIB375B(this bus reach 95km/h on Kranji road),TIB1251T, TIB1252R, TIB1253M, TIB1254K (both 1253 and 1254 has reached 90km/h at least on Kranji road before)
And some other buses which i could really remember.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Hmm TIB668G not really that vibrative anymore. Its very fast tho. One of my fav. Another favourite for L113CRL 75 perm is TIB671X.
Here are the list of buses that can chiong 70km/h and above and been there done that :
Mercedes Benz O405
TIB446E, TIB474Z, TIB502B, TIB505T, TIB510C, TIB541M and a few others, cant rmbr that well.
Scania L113CRL
TIB671X, TIB834T, TIB835R, TIB839E(my favourite), TIB840A, TIB848D.
DAF
TIB691M, TIB694E, TIB704K, TIB706E(good bus, or is TIB708A? Cant rmbr), TIB712L, TIB714G,
Nissan Diesel aka UD
TIB370P, TIB371L, TIB372J, TIB374D, TIB375B(this bus reach 95km/h on Kranji road),TIB1251T, TIB1252R, TIB1253M, TIB1254K (both 1253 and 1254 has reached 90km/h at least on Kranji road before)
And some other buses which i could really remember.
more like Woodlands Road lar. Kranji Road is way too narrow.
anyway i would recommend TIB499C (sped over 80+km/h on BKE, quite low noise level), TIB511A (sped over 80+km/h on TPE), TIB642E (slow acceleration, but can speed, but when at high speed, produce quite an amount of noise...), TIB661A (no problem speeding)
Originally posted by gorby107:
I am being biased again
Will recommend on those HGDEP VO3X
Batch 2:
SBS9498P
SBS9508U
SBS9595S
Batch 3:
SBS9627J
SBS9652K (especially when it does full acceleration)
SBS9657Y
SBS9658U
SBS9660L
SBS9662G
etc....
SBS9508U got bad air-con xD but then got good power :D:D
Originally posted by Roderick a.k.a Guai Kia:-.-"gear change faster ,de bus go faster leh...aiyoh..i told you how many times le?de faste de gear changed,de faster it can go...i feel like saying,what i'm not suppose to say i sgf...voith change gear slower resulting,pick up slower..vo2x,dunno why so powerful,i think your info is wrong.. zf can go faster den voith,people scold you,you still nv learn de ,haiz...
It does not mean that have more gear mean can run faster
Voith have much high rpm then ZF
ZF have better pickup then Voith
Originally posted by nenepokey:more like Woodlands Road lar. Kranji Road is way too narrow.
anyway i would recommend TIB499C (sped over 80+km/h on BKE, quite low noise level), TIB511A (sped over 80+km/h on TPE), TIB642E (slow acceleration, but can speed, but when at high speed, produce quite an amount of noise...), TIB661A (no problem speeding)
Funny thing as a fact, once leaving the checkpoint on the non-diverted route, all the way to Kranji MRT (cannot run on a 90 degrees turn), and then after Kranji MRT all the way to Bt Panjang, the BC can run at 60-80 km/h, with sections hitting to 90 plus if the bus can do it mechanically.
To a China or seasoned s178 BC, no road is too narrow for them. I mean trips at 2200 and after. Daytime different because of more cars on the roads.
I would recommend, well not very useful anyways cause its a obviously a bus with an obvious positive rating: SBS997A.
Reason? Smooth engine performance. Not talking about the special points because its a special bus... ![]()
Originally posted by SBS997A:It does not mean that have more gear mean can run faster
Voith have much high rpm then ZF
ZF have better pickup then Voith
The last sentence was precisely what I was trying to say is not a necessarily true generalisation.....
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
The last sentence was precisely what I was trying to say is not a necessarily true generalisation.....
Ya la but still Engine power come 1st :D
i recommended SBS997A bus :D hehe
If we're gonna talk gears here, why not let's share some views?
As far as I can tell, Voith's 1st gear is usually the close equivalent of ZF's 1st 2 gears.
Hence the way both gearboxes function differently lie greatly in this initial stage.
As far as I understand, ZF locks-up either in 1st or 2nd but has the flexibility to actually do this in other gears as well. This itself is a great advantage already for quick response at higher speeds.
Voith on the other hand, appears to lock-up as the bus transits from 1st to 2nd. This feature does not appear at any other times. This should explain why most Voith buses often down-shift to 1st at relatively higher speeds so that the lock-up can disconnect and the torque converter will give it the boost.
Thus said, Voith buses tend to be slow on the uptake at the beginning since the initial stage has only 1 gear to work with, moreover locking-up as it transits to 2nd typically means power loss at the ending stages of the 1st gear at high rpm. So in this phase, Voith is at a disadvantage. However once it transits to 2nd and lock-up effects, things work differently. Because the engine has been running at high rpm as it transits, the turbo-boost from the engine tends to be higher and peak torque output is achieved faster. This is why Voith usually gives the feeling of steadily increasing acceleration, and most Voith buses stay at 2nd for rather short periods of time.
ZF on the other hand usually locks-up early on, so while avoiding power loss at the beginning stages, is therefore not necessarily superior to Voith in the mid-range performance.
It is also not necessarily true that Voiths are ultimately slower than ZFs on highways, compare a 4 speed voith MKIV and a 4 speed ZF MKIV and you'll know that the latter is actually faster. But of course! The latter is a 3 speed Voith with additional overdrive. So who says voith will always be slower?
Thus said, all this rubbish comes from a biased voith fan so please feel free to correct all the wrong areas and teach me to LOVE ZF.![]()
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
Friend....how does changing gears faster enable the bus to go faster? Then how do you explain times when the bus down-shifts when you jam the pedal?Voith is slower than ZF? I'm not sure. The best comparison I can get would be between the B9TLs, the ZF/Voith MKIIIs and MKIIs, the 0405Gs. Guess what? The results tend to be ambiguous.
Even talks about more gears = less stress on engine may not hold true at low speeds. It simply depends on how you tune the gearbox and the pedal. Obviously the main difference lies in the top speed.
you can compare by taking voith merz and zf merz...zf merz have got faster pick-up...but w3e is even faster=P
Originally posted by SBS997A:SBS9508U got bad air-con xD but then got good power :D:D
over all..if zf have faster pick-up,den over-take voith le lor..i'm not saying voith is lousy or what,i just feel tt zf is more suitable for sg...quick pick-up,accelaration are quite fast though..
Originally posted by SBS997A:
Ya la but still Engine power come 1st :D
hehe..997A is good,but de back suspension abit sot sot le..
It is to a relieve, that in fact 997A does not have that 'grong-grong' sound when something goes lose in the undercarriage...
I did not notice anything bad the previous time I took it a few days back. Will notice again the next time.
But overall its a smooth bus. :D
A lot of black smoke from 997 in the initial stages....at least when I took it last time.
Originally posted by sbs&tibs:
"Good" job for recommending that horrible bus.
thank you=D
997A still got that NEW NEW smell xD
SBS8356Y
I could say it was the best KUB i ever rode (maybe besides 8033).
Great aircon, much needed for a hot day like today. And the ZF transmission was just music to my ears; the howls were so clear and distinct. The ride was also very smooth without any jerks.
All this may be due to the fact that it is new. Just my few cents worth.
Originally posted by SBS997A:SBS9508U got bad air-con xD but then got good power :D:D
hmm. last friday i tried this bus. aircon is a so-so, but acceleration is 超棒!
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Funny thing as a fact, once leaving the checkpoint on the non-diverted route, all the way to Kranji MRT (cannot run on a 90 degrees turn), and then after Kranji MRT all the way to Bt Panjang, the BC can run at 60-80 km/h, with sections hitting to 90 plus if the bus can do it mechanically.
To a China or seasoned s178 BC, no road is too narrow for them. I mean trips at 2200 and after. Daytime different because of more cars on the roads.
I would recommend, well not very useful anyways cause its a obviously a bus with an obvious positive rating: SBS997A.
Reason? Smooth engine performance. Not talking about the special points because its a special bus...
If you're looking for a S171 bus that does not have speed limiter, TIB 507M is all yours. ![]()
Downslope + SL trying to overtake S138 Mercedes at Mandai (and therefore stepping hard on the accelerator), hit 89km/h (with the speedometer needle almost touching 90).
Funny thing is that they lock most of the S171 buses with speed limiter, or not those dee-dee-dee sounds. Then the journey times stretches. =.="
But good thing is that AMDEP tuned quite a fair number of the S171 buses to hit higher RPM before changing the gear (ZF), so that they can accelerate faster.
sbs2745y (BNDEP 18) Aircon veri gd at Morning and Afternoon, Night dun know and it engine sound dun sound like MK4 DM3500
Originally posted by Oceane:If you're looking for a S171 bus that does not have speed limiter, TIB 507M is all yours.
Downslope + SL trying to overtake S138 Mercedes at Mandai (and therefore stepping hard on the accelerator), hit 89km/h (with the speedometer needle almost touching 90).
Funny thing is that they lock most of the S171 buses with speed limiter, or not those dee-dee-dee sounds. Then the journey times stretches. =.="
But good thing is that AMDEP tuned quite a fair number of the S171 buses to hit higher RPM before changing the gear (ZF), so that they can accelerate faster.
TIB622M oso not bad.
Originally posted by ngjy22:
Vibrative bus, can ask SBS997A to comment here.Heard that he got a headache after his ride on this bus.
try SBS 2715J. aircon cold but what you get is more than a vibrative bus in it, but even a massage and a bus that shakes left and right. this bus gives a headache too.
SBS 457S is nice. good aircon and acceleration. SBS 2609H is also good. has good acceleration and smooth gear changes. SBS 2638Z is good for its speed, though most will know why its speed is that good.
SBS8134X (HGDEP 27)
The best BEST Scania K230UB of HGDEP that I ever taken, engine ZF sounds like mercedes benz 0405 hispano and best speed!
Scania L113CRL
TIB638T
I think this has to be the newest bus in its fleet cos it's seldom utilized.
Used to ply 921 then 922, occassionally on 700, 920.
921 and 922 do not have that much load.
Currently on 960 / 913. Sobsob..