Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Let me give a constructive post
B7RLE is quite good to me as it is special as it promotes social interaction through a U shaped back layout which allows passengers to see each other at a closer range, the overall look of the bus was also quite appealing and the bus look modern.
However, B7RLE weakness is the seats problem, as old people need to stand if no kind soul wanna give up their seats, however it could be solved through public education talks and also be solved by putting into routes that are generally low in demand or short-haul routes.
The B7RLE in Sentosa are generally well deployed as it show the transport in Singapore is good and it also allow foreigners to place their bags or some packages at the standing space and i felt that it was a good buy.
Perharps SBST may replace 0405T with B7RLE instead of k230UB as it is generally more well planned than KUB
MY DEPLOYMENT OF B7RLE
SBS 8700 - 8750 BNDEP
Will did feeders like 225 or 292 or short haul services such as 69
SBS 8751 - 8830 AMDEP/BRBP
Will do feeders or high load short haul services and airport services for streamlined look with airport and sentosa having same buses
SBS 8831- 8870 ARBP/BBDEP
SBS 8870 - 8887/ 8889-8899 SLBP
Some feeders and JIS
Yes, carry on dreaming. Build a solid sandcastle in the air, then I won't mind.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:ok i make my contribution.
i feel that with the power of the B7R's engine, it should be put on highway routes instead of shorthaul or feeders. reason being that the scania k230ub find it hard to hold gear when on the highway, possibly due to the engine having a low power output. therefore it keeps switching from 4-5-6 when the power drops. as for B7R i feel it can maintain steady gears juz like our B9TL and therefore its more suitable for highway routes.
Actually the hunting of gears for the K230UB is more because of the 60km/h limit. In fact with its outstanding low-end torque, the K230UB can even climb slopes in 6th gear at amazingly low RPMs.
6-speed ZF automatic transmissions have a tendancy to hunt, even if the bus is geared to be able to travel in excess of 100km/h.
The Scania DC9 engines aren't exactly what I would call "high torque" either. They are heavily cut-back at low rpm due to emissions regulations.
The Volvo D7E engine in the B7RLE is a 290hp 7-litre engine that is always performing to it's potential, thanks to SCR technology. It develops higher torque (1200Nm) than the Scania K230.
Regards,
Dave
i wonder why 8030L has a ssss sound coming frm e outside, when its accelerating. Inside e bus i don hear anything like that
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
Actually the hunting of gears for the K230UB is more because of the 60km/h limit. In fact with its outstanding low-end torque, the K230UB can even climb slopes in 6th gear at amazingly low RPMs.
this i do realise. all the power is concentrated on low rpms on the scania engine. so when BC tries to downshift, the engine revs but it deosent go much faster. the torque seems to have run out by 1,500 or 1,700rpm or so. whereas the volvo has its torque spread out over a wider range
hmm.. anyone can coment on the B7R suspension VS KUB suspension?
need u ask? surely B7R's suspension handles so much more better than KUBs. To me, The suspension of e KUB is too rigid i.e. e suspension springs go back to position too quickly, like there is a slight knock from below. if there is a continuous uneven surface, u be bouncing all over in e KUB
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
But B7RLE cannot be put on Premium or Cityshopper as there are not enough seats (where standing is not allowed, unless the demand is super low). Also, I heard that SLBP tuned the gearbox of some KUB for better performance on eway. It might be the way the gearbox is tuned.
Why KUB had been on premium before???
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Why KUB had been on premium before???
KUB have done Premiums before when the load wasn't very high. Of course they have to replace KUBs with normal SDs or upgrade to DDs.
unless u tell SBST to retrofit say, 10/- KUBs to all seats instead, while having space for 1 pax in PIW
Originally posted by sbs&tibs:
KUB have done Premiums before when the load wasn't very high. Of course they have to replace KUBs with normal SDs or upgrade to DDs.
Bring in your own foldable seats lor, since no standing is allowed. Or even mattress to sleep on board.
Too much crap from me. =)
Does anyone knows how much does a Volvo B7R cost & is B7R cheaper or B7RLE cheaper?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:8030L’s life as a demonstrator is ending soon….
Whyyyyyyy
Originally posted by ^tamago^:8030L’s life as a demonstrator is ending soon….
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????Whats going to happen to it?they are going to sell it to another country?
Originally posted by Simple_boi:
Bring in your own foldable seats lor, since no standing is allowed. Or even mattress to sleep on board.Too much crap from me. =)
sofa would be a good idea=D
sian lor,scania cheaper den B7R,900 is really a headache,i got a feeling tt all kub will look de same...85-89series..
Originally posted by ^tamago^:………………… it was registered on 18th Dec 2007. If you know about the term of a demonstrator, you’ll know its significance. But I don’t know its fate luh.
hahah. i dun think its fair that they do not keep the demo. looking at its current condition =/
Originally posted by ^tamago^:………………… it was registered on 18th Dec 2007. If you know about the term of a demonstrator, you’ll know its significance. But I don’t know its fate luh.
1 yr only rite :o
I would try to charter this bus before it going off.
Then where will this bus go? I still haven stick my butt on its sit yet.