Originally posted by Scania:Shall see what SMRT would provide for the Toa Payoh one, sekali some Coaster, it serves Lor 1 and 2 which is served by MRT, of which it takes 15 mins to reach Raffles Place from Braddell (provided you get on the first train which arrives). At least 535 serves the portion of Toa Payoh with more people and without MRT.
more like the hougang one give coaster..
Originally posted by ftjj0298:
590 - There's 557 to Shenton Way, and $4.50?????
556 you mean , because 557 serve the CCK Ave 3/Teck Whye residents
Originally posted by Junyang700:Why would anybody take Service 586!
LOL... Bukit Panjang to Jurong East for $4...
Can take cab liao lah... lol...doesnt cost much more...
And there is a direct change LRT > 160.... OR LRT > MRT....
Who would pay more!
ya lor... i was so surprised when i saw the poster when i'm onboard svc 99 today
Originally posted by azharjj:
ya lor... i was so surprised when i saw the poster when i'm onboard svc 99 today
If I were someone along S586 route and going to work in the city, it is still cheaper to ride on a train or transfer to S556 or S557, although it may not guarantee seating on a train towards city during peak hour. S586 brings you to the MRT station, and expect you to continue paying from there. Not very worth it.
Originally posted by ftjj0298:597 - Braddell MRT and Nicoll Highway Jam
They can also take 231 to Lor 4, cross road and take 535.
NOOOO. They expect us to go and take 167 to get to the CBD. What were they thinking? Anyway, MRT got 40% chance to get seat from Sembawang.

Print them out in 3.9 inches by 5.4 inches piece of paper and slot them in Transitlnk Bus Guide 2008.
In my opinion, only 590 looks viable.
I took Service 598 from Upp Bt Timah Rd (Bef Hazel Pk Ter) to Bras Basah Rd (Hotel Rendezvous) today. PA 8015 K, a Mercedes Sprinter, was deployed.
The bus arrived at 7:50, 3 minutes behind schedule. There were already two pax onboard when I boarded the bus. Another one pax boarded the bus Opp Min of Defence.
A total of 8 pax boarded the bus at the two stops along Dairy Farm Cres. The bus was 7 minutes behind schedule due to the congestion along Upp Bt Timah.
No pax boarded at Chestnut Dr and Chestnut Ave. Hence, a total of 12 pax were on board.
Svc 598 reaches Scotts Rd (Far East Plaza) at 8:25, but did not stop, overtaking Premium 528. Svc 598 was 3 minutes ahead of schedule. When I alighted at Hotel Rendezous, it was 4 minutes ahead of schedule.
The Sprinter was powerful and comfortable.
The bus routes and the prices of this so call premier services is simply a joke. Like I have told my other friends. Only Singapore Airlines has proven themselves to be World Class.
Singapore Airlines - Heaven
SMRT - Hell.
In terms of services, it's the opposite end for these two.
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:The bus routes and the prices of this so call premier services is simply a joke. Like I have told my other friends. Only Singapore Airlines has proven themselves to be World Class.
Singapore Airlines - Heaven
SMRT - Hell.
In terms of services, it's the opposite end for these two.
U had forgotten our airport, singapore changi airport, which is named best airport for years.,....
Originally posted by phillipC:It only shows one thing. SMRT do not have the capacity to run premium buses….. Sv 598? Running on Upper Bt Timah …area opp Mindef, shophouses and Assumption English school… (the planner with a right state of mind will not do that.)
It makes you wonder what the people at SMRT's headquarters are smoking/drinking.
Originally posted by phillipC:It only shows one thing. SMRT do not have the capacity to run premium buses….. Sv 598? Running on Upper Bt Timah …area opp Mindef, shophouses and Assumption English school… (the planner with a right state of mind will not do that.)
Creating the routes for the sake of doing so. Isnt that what they love to do ?
Come on,
ask urself this question..
How many "new" bus routes does SMRT come up with (dont talk about premium svc) ?
Z-E-R-O
hi. i always take 190 to chinatown from bukit panjang and the 190 buses are always full. from 7+ all the way to 10 or 11. (trust me, there are many many people who stay at choa chu kang, teck whye, bukit panjang waiting to go to town everyday). And if you didnt know, everytime the 190 bus arrives at bukit panjang, there are no space left for people who stay at my area, because there are simply too many people (from cck and tw) who are already on the bus. and i am not talking about seats, i am talking about space. there isnt any space left to get on the bus at all, to even stand throughout the journey. Initially i was thinking 'hey finally THEY are doing something about it'. but hell no. the buses that come are STILL packed. i waited for the next bus to come, and it is AS packed. someone actually fainted in the bus this morning. sometimes i take 700 instead then change to another bus but it is not very wise for me because 190 is a direct bus to chinatown.
i wonder if there is any 'premium' bus that goes from bukit panjang to town area, because i cant seem to find one. seriously, i find that these buses deployed at cck doesn't really solve the problem, because to me, they have a choice to get an almost guaranteed seat if they take either 190 (for eg) and premium buses, why would they choose to take a more expensive route to work? and probably have to change to another bus along the way?
and might i just add, 190 buses are almost always full from 6pm all to way to midnight. if you wish to take a 190 (even 700 sometimes) bus home at far east plaza at about 9pm, think again.
Originally posted by go_:hi. i always take 190 to chinatown from bukit panjang and the 190 buses are always full. from 7+ all the way to 10 or 11. (trust me, there are many many people who stay at choa chu kang, teck whye, bukit panjang waiting to go to town everyday). And if you didnt know, everytime the 190 bus arrives at bukit panjang, there are no space left for people who stay at my area, because there are simply too many people (from cck and tw) who are already on the bus. and i am not talking about seats, i am talking about space. there isnt any space left to get on the bus at all, to even stand throughout the journey. Initially i was thinking 'hey finally THEY are doing something about it'. but hell no. the buses that come are STILL packed. i waited for the next bus to come, and it is AS packed. someone actually fainted in the bus this morning. sometimes i take 700 instead then change to another bus but it is not very wise for me because 190 is a direct bus to chinatown.
i wonder if there is any 'premium' bus that goes from bukit panjang to town area, because i cant seem to find one. seriously, i find that these buses deployed at cck doesn't really solve the problem, because to me, they have a choice to get an almost guaranteed seat if they take either 190 (for eg) and premium buses, why would they choose to take a more expensive route to work? and probably have to change to another bus along the way?
and might i just add, 190 buses are almost always full from 6pm all to way to midnight. if you wish to take a 190 (even 700 sometimes) bus home at far east plaza at about 9pm, think again.
KJDEP should consider having downroutes for Service 190 to the area you stay.