Originally posted by ^tamago^:
No... it can't. Never seen any VO or even any ZF do it in my life. Probably I need to put in timings for comparision.
0:05 start 1st gear
0:08 2nd gear
0:11 2nd gear lock-up
0:15 3rd gear
0:25 4th gear
0:27 3rd gear
0:32 2nd gear
0:38 stop 1st gear
0:53 start 1st gear
0:56 2nd gear
0:59 2nd gear lock-up
1:05 3rd gear
1:21 4th gear
1:51 3rd gear
1:56 2nd gear
1:59 stop 1st gear
2:14 start 1st gear
2:16 2nd gear
2:18 2nd gear lock-up
2:20 3rd gear
2:27 4th gear
3:13 3rd gear
3:16 2nd gear
3:19 stop 1st gear
Actually why not?
The ZF unlike the Voith is capable of engaging/disengaging in just about any gear it likes. Which makes it more versatile.
A typical VO that needs to pick up speed faster usually down-shifts, disengages the lock-up briefly, engages, and up-shifts again.
The same applies to all other types using ZF.
Voith can't. Engaging lock-up between 1st and 2nd means thus.
earphones much better. u'll feel like u're in the bus.
i use handphone+plug in my handsfree to listen, turn volume to almost max.
earphones much better. u'll feel like u're in the bus.
And then ZF howl and howl and howl until you high.
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
i use handphone+plug in my handsfree to listen, turn volume to almost max.
Strange.... It should be clear enough to not use maximum volume. Sounds like it has been reduced to mono. :o
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
Actually why not?The ZF unlike the Voith is capable of engaging/disengaging in just about any gear it likes. Which makes it more versatile.
A typical VO that needs to pick up speed faster usually down-shifts, disengages the lock-up briefly, engages, and up-shifts again.
The same applies to all other types using ZF.
Voith can't. Engaging lock-up between 1st and 2nd means thus.
2nd paragraph: Everything is correct except that it does not downshift, it disengages lock-up at 2nd gear. The shift from 2nd gear to 1st gear occurs only at a very low speed (except LO which can be relatively higher) just as the bus comes to a stop, is characterised by a jerk, which is most audible on a SMRTB Dennis Lance just before it comes to a stop.
Voith does not lock-up..... :o
Strange.... :o
Strange.... It should be clear enough to not use maximum volume. Sounds like it has been reduced to mono. :o
my recordings should be able to hear the accelerations, except for those with vibrating loud till whole bus shakes.
If you could come for any outings, look for me. I can explain it to you.... or if the driver allows, you might want to observe the gear change of an OC500LE at the dashboard. Ignore the 5th and 6th gear and treat it as 4th, but most importantly look out for 1st gear on startup and 2nd gear lock-up after slowing down (e.g. after negotiating a bend or traffic junction).
so far i can imitate the sound of an OC liao.
For those interested in hearing hydraulic vs. lock-up, you'll need a recording of a bus with a loud ZF gearbox...
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?dwatt4bmwd9
Regards,
Dave
anyway just another question about the output of the ECM-DS70P. for sony ericsson's phones rite, can it record via the handsfree (eg Stereo Portable Handsfree HPM-70) when the earpieces are being plugged out from the 3.5mm jack and the microphone is plugged into the jack?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:2nd paragraph: Everything is correct except that it does not downshift, it disengages lock-up at 2nd gear. The shift from 2nd gear to 1st gear occurs only at a very low speed (except LO which can be relatively higher) just as the bus comes to a stop, is characterised by a jerk, which is most audible on a SMRTB Dennis Lance just before it comes to a stop.
Voith does not lock-up..... :o
For Voith, if you notice, the 1st gear needs to be revved to high rpm because axle and engine are not connected. You'll get the feeling that the engine is pushing hard at the last stages of 1st, and yet the acceleration seemed to have plateued off. That's because of power loss in the high rpm regime without lock-up.
Upon transition to 2nd, the bus transits gears and at the same time locks-up. The difference with and without lock-up is obvious. Most voith buses don't stay long in 2nd.
The biggest clue to look out for the lock-up is the feeling that the acceleration does not match the engine's output. And if you notice, if the BC lets go of the pedal in 1st, the engine rpm drops at once. If its locked-up, the rpm should match the axle speed. For 2nd onwards you don't get that.
So if there's lock-up, when the hell did it engaged?
The answer came from taking a worn-out 792Z and a few other MKIIIs. These Voiths prove interesting. During transition to 2nd, unlike the normal voiths that lock-up and transit in a split second, these ones attempt to lock-up, and then transit. So what you hear is the high pitch whine of the engine suddenly getting lower and lower as the engine speed slowly matches the axle speed and then with a terrific jerk, the lock-up engages and the bus goes into 2nd at that same moment.
For that, this is where the biggest strength of ZF lies. A Voith down-shifting will not disengage lock-up unless its a 2nd to 1st. Consequently you'll notice that most Voiths prefer to kick-down all the way to 1st at relatively high speeds to achieve high torque input to the axle. For ZF, if the bus needs to disengage lock-up upon down-shifting to achieve that, it is capable of doing so. So for Voith, if it goes back to 1st at high speed, what you get is a overworked engine and practically no effect on the axle.
Just a side note, just like a manual where you lift your foot off the pedal and depress the clutch, for the lock-up clutch to engage the same should occur. But for some worn-out ZFs, the engine does not stop and what you get is a nauseating grinding sound as the lock-up engages.![]()
Originally posted by nenepokey:anyway just another question about the output of the ECM-DS70P. for sony ericsson's phones rite, can it record via the handsfree (eg Stereo Portable Handsfree HPM-70) when the earpieces are being plugged out from the 3.5mm jack and the microphone is plugged into the jack?
You bring out and we try with my DS70P. (:
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
For Voith, if you notice, the 1st gear needs to be revved to high rpm because axle and engine are not connected. You'll get the feeling that the engine is pushing hard at the last stages of 1st, and yet the acceleration seemed to have plateued off. That's because of power loss in the high rpm regime without lock-up.Upon transition to 2nd, the bus transits gears and at the same time locks-up. The difference with and without lock-up is obvious. Most voith buses don't stay long in 2nd.
The biggest clue to look out for the lock-up is the feeling that the acceleration does not match the engine's output. And if you notice, if the BC lets go of the pedal in 1st, the engine rpm drops at once. If its locked-up, the rpm should match the axle speed. For 2nd onwards you don't get that.
So if there's lock-up, when the hell did it engaged?
The answer came from taking a worn-out 792Z and a few other MKIIIs. These Voiths prove interesting. During transition to 2nd, unlike the normal voiths that lock-up and transit in a split second, these ones attempt to lock-up, and then transit. So what you hear is the high pitch whine of the engine suddenly getting lower and lower as the engine speed slowly matches the axle speed and then with a terrific jerk, the lock-up engages and the bus goes into 2nd at that same moment.
For that, this is where the biggest strength of ZF lies. A Voith down-shifting will not disengage lock-up unless its a 2nd to 1st. Consequently you'll notice that most Voiths prefer to kick-down all the way to 1st at relatively high speeds to achieve high torque input to the axle. For ZF, if the bus needs to disengage lock-up upon down-shifting to achieve that, it is capable of doing so. So for Voith, if it goes back to 1st at high speed, what you get is a overworked engine and practically no effect on the axle.
Just a side note, just like a manual where you lift your foot off the pedal and depress the clutch, for the lock-up clutch to engage the same should occur. But for some worn-out ZFs, the engine does not stop and what you get is a nauseating grinding sound as the lock-up engages.
I get what you mean on the Voith part. That makes sense. See when I have time to pong 792Z.
By the way, for ZF when disengaging lock-up and revving up from second gear, techinically the gearbox does not drop to first gear, except in rare cases when the speed of the bus is really low, or in some LO's, which will result in a very strong jerk.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Volvo Olympian SBS9208K on 132
The only VO3x with its ZF gearbox locking up at 2nd gear instead of 1st, which makes it switch gear like a Dennis Lance, Mark IV Strider or DM.
love the turbo whistle
You bring out and we try with my DS70P. (:
but the thing is that i dun hav that earphone...thinking of buying..
Scania L113CRL TIB564Y on Service 852
As with all bus recordings, using a earphone or headphone is
recommended over speakers.
This is by far one of the best L113CRL recording I can get!
Upp Thomson Rd (Marymount Lane) to Ang Mo Kio Ave 6 (Ave 3)
http://www.mediafire.com/?nnw1hwnzuyz
What luck!
Today managed to catch 9613Z....one of those VOs I mentioned.
You're right. It's a premature lock-up......
Thanks for tipping me off about 9208K.
Oh BTW....that's some pretty great recordings you have there, tammy.![]()
Originally posted by ^tamago^:I get what you mean on the Voith part. That makes sense. See when I have time to pong 792Z.
By the way, for ZF when disengaging lock-up and revving up from second gear, techinically the gearbox does not drop to first gear, except in rare cases when the speed of the bus is really low, or in some LO's, which will result in a very strong jerk.
Yep. Rare cases they are indeed.....
Oh, and BTW....if you guys apply the same theory I used to try to figure out about the lock-up, then the W3E's "slip-gear" should also be the lock-up clutch in action.
Before the "slip" occurs, if the BC lifts his foot off the pedal, the engine rpm falls much steeper than the axle speed. If the BC suddenly jams the pedal, there is apparently a slight lag as the axle tries to catch up with the engine.
Once the "slip" occurs, you won't have such things anymore.
SBS7323Z on 198 - Jurong Town Hall Rd to AYE
http://www.mediafire.com/?jbjomyymb5i
SBS7323Z on 198 part 2 - Buona Vista Flyover to Commonwealth MRT
http://www.mediafire.com/?cfx4jr2emsd
my best recordings so far!
tip for recording: Find a seat where the engines mounted and record it down. this will giv u a clearer tranmission and minimal interferences.
btw, the "ding" sound of my recordings means the bus overspeed beyond 60km/h?
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:tip for recording: Find a seat where the engines mounted and record it down. this will giv u a clearer tranmission and minimal interferences.
I disagree.
The best place to record the sound of a bus is above the rearmost (driving axle). If you sit too far back, the engine and airconditioning compressor will drown out all transmission and axle noises.
Regards,
Dave
Time for a spoilt ZF recording =X
TIB594K on 911: http://www.mediafire.com/?gdwnu2lj9h2
as for the seats and stuff it all depends on your equipment. For those standard recorders I believe anywhere would be good. For my MP3 player I used for my recordings its best not to sit too far back, or else it will only produce static noises.
Originally posted by Powered_By_CNG:I disagree.
The best place to record the sound of a bus is above the rearmost (driving axle). If you sit too far back, the engine and airconditioning compressor will drown out all transmission and axle noises.
Regards,
Dave
provided that the bus is vibrating very badly when idle.
More recordings, and please use QuickTime Player as these are .amr files. (: These are short recordings because im using my phone.
TIB446E on 700 (Transmission along BKE)
TIB446E on 700 (Transmission along Petir Road)
TIB466Y on 969 (Gambas Avenue)
TIB525K on 969 (Gambas Avenue)
Originally posted by TIB1049L:Time for a spoilt ZF recording =X
TIB594K on 911: http://www.mediafire.com/?gdwnu2lj9h2
as for the seats and stuff it all depends on your equipment. For those standard recorders I believe anywhere would be good. For my MP3 player I used for my recordings its best not to sit too far back, or else it will only produce static noises.
Haha! 594K actually sounds like a AMDEP bus you know! And actually, there was a time when 594K's engine had a grinding sound, but i wondered how they repaired it though...