I think the thing which gave me the most interest in was not the cars itself... ![]()
...its that the Lavender & Kallang F1 shuttle buses (using Volvo B9TLs) had their own timesheets, service numbers and duty codes. Lol. ![]()
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
That means I should have stood on the other side of the road?
I believe that you're standing over at one point of North Bridge Road before City Hall MRT Station, the side nearer to the F1 track.
YES, that was what he meant. You'd most probably had not done any homework by looking up at the map, which can actually help you plan where it's most feasible to take. Actually I think it doesn't kill to bring along a map for bus spottings.
Take a look (I chose the location based on my experience with the area - simply remembered it since Funan DigitalLife Mall is just nearby):
Originally posted by ZYX2005:f1 car photo taking?! @ Suntec Ctiy bridge?!!
Wow, those cars are going at 330lm/h, so fast and its at night. How do i get a pic of my Ferrari then? Heres how i did it.
First of all, u'll need ear plugs. As most of the time you'll end up be sticking your fingers into your ears and you can hardly snap any pic. So Lets stuff those ear plugs into our ears first.
The follwing applies to DSLR camera users For those with DSLR, you'll have absoultely no problems getting your shot. But u'd have to have a fast finger for that DSLR shoot button. zoom tiak tiak tiak ( three shot tap) is how it works. try a few shots to see how fast ur DSLR can react. shd be dang fast. and u'll do fine Settings can refer below. Belwo is for compact camera users like me,
For compact camera users , first thing to do is go to your shutter burst mode. At this mode, Your camera essentially can shoot many pics at one go. Under M settings play around with your ISO to get a highest shutter setting. At there u can go up to shutter 1/500 with ISO 400 (grainy pic is inevitable). I left my aperature at F/2.6
For DSLR users, i was advised that u shd try f stop 6 or 7 for typial night shooting of fast moving objects.After that is a matter of using ur ears, detect the car coming and just hold the shoot button for at last 5 seconds and the camera will just go tiak tiak X14 shots If u r lucky the F1 car u want will appear in the middle of your shot. lol. its a game of lottery for compact users. But good news is practice laps are usually done many times so u'd have many many chances to get the shot.
And one shot shooting (normal shooting) will not work. because compact cameras react slow. so the advice here is to use shutter burst. I shoot at about 1 sec before F1 car appear. Watch ur compact camera screen as u shutter burst, you can see the car appear on screen if u success.
yup thats how i did it. u guys try it too.
ZYX
You wrong spot lah, Suntec not exciting, must go somewhere where the cars are at low speed, Suntec all the cars just speed through, can't really see which team.
Originally posted by Scania:You wrong spot lah, Suntec not exciting, must go somewhere where the cars are at low speed, Suntec all the cars just speed through, can't really see which team.
i had mentioned turn 6 in my post. it was reported wrongly. it is turn 7. at turn 6 is where cars go around 280 km/h, urn 6 also mans near millenia walk there. I meant turn 7 at nicholl HW there.
i went turn 7 to se the cars slow down and then pick up on speed. thats where u can hear the cars braking n acclerating. a good mix of sounds.
ZYX
Buses under f1 floodlights
Reported in the media that F1 cars uner the lights are shiny and nice.
It seems the same for buses as well. Do try a few shots before they remove the strucutres and lights.
I will make it a point on f1 season that when they test the lights a few days before hand the race, one should go down to the f1 circuit n shoot buses in the lights.
ZYX
Apparently some buses (Svc 130 and Svc 57) were seen plying the diverted routes via middle road and north bridge road even after the roads were open today again.
Originally posted by kitoshizc:Apparently some buses (Svc 130 and Svc 57) were seen plying the diverted routes via middle road and north bridge road even after the roads were open today again.
not sure for SBST, but for SMRT route diversion is until 2 Oct, which is Thursday.
Massa loses......sad
dunno... SMRT svs still 'affected' by F1.. at NAC bus stop still dun have display of Sv 167, 171 & 700
by right it should be left w/ Sv 130, 195 & 961 affected cos of Coleman St area there
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Massa loses......sad
Red cars go fast, but forgot the pipe.
Not the first time it seems.
This time is yellow car fastest...
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Red cars go fast, but forgot the pipe.
This is their downfall..
For not trusting the good-Old Lollipop.
Who says that technology can improve things ?
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Fastest speed was about 289+ km/h recorded.
That was at Start-Finish straight, I think Raffles Blvd (before Turn 7) would be faster.
Originally posted by sBs_boy:This is their downfall..
For not trusting the good-Old Lollipop.
Who says that technology can improve things ?
OT: The lights were manually controlled
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Massa loses......sad
aiyo...the pit stop people to kan cheong, then Massa himself oso kan cheong.
Hahha want to comment on the race ehre huh..really OT but ok lah allow lor
Anyhow the lollipop man and massa thing, is their problem.
what is important is game theory and streategy that helped Renault win the race.
this is Reanult's game.
Know: veryone is going to keep 2 the usual strategies. pit in at prob laps 15 or above. Also he is in 15th place start so he'd have to catch 15 cars. Some other constructor may put soft typres n pump less fuel for other fast strategies but these will worsen the case.
game solution? Do something out of the ordinary.
First account that some folks will want to put soft tyre n pump lesser fuel so car can go faster. do that. jump a few cars in first 12 laps.
Next come in ard lap 12 to pit n maybe chnage tyre n add fuel. first 12 laps see how the track is turnining out.
I dun think " hope for accident n safety car b4 first 15 laps was in their plan"
If can after lap 12 use soft tyres and LOTS of fuel until lap 55 like that. Jump maybe 10 cars. but have a 30 sec lead Cross fingers maybe jump 11 cars n end up in top 7 with 30 sec gap ...lol
at 55th lap go in pit stop do hard tyres n super low fuel load. Zip ard the track like a madman n hope for 4 or 5th place finish.
thats my streategy.
anyhows the lap 13 wham bang action ...
Reanult's other car drivne by some young chap see to have some rear control problems. He comes out of this turns and the rear clips the wall. The cars does a 360 on the spot and rams its rear into the other wall as the guy jams brakes. Iornic this renault accident calls out the safety car and all is won for Renault n that Spainaird guy.
that was a stoke of luck and played into their overall game plan
ZYX
When toyata came in to pit after some 50 laps, their fuel guy also dragged a bit. As he also almost din get the fuel thing out. Was it a problem with the fuel rigs for some teams? Not sure if the lollipop man wd have much help here.
ZYX
Originally posted by 566117:
That was at Start-Finish straight, I think Raffles Blvd (before Turn 7) would be faster.
he is right it is 289km/h. not he 330km/h as every expected . if u had seen he Qualiiying rounds where these people drove round the circuit like kee seow n max out for fastest lap time to qualify spots...
U will have seen some tv shots of their dash n u can clearly see the speed digi display say 289 before bottmeing out to 100 odd at before turn 7. Maclaren mercedes digi one is attached to car so its really stays there n u can see it clear.
i dun like it when the digi is atatched to the steering. we can't see the digi display as the driver turns the steering a lot..
Originally posted by nenepokey:aiyo...the pit stop people to kan cheong, then Massa himself oso kan cheong.
they have to kan cheong as being in the pit stop very long will mean cars will overtake u in position on the track. generally pit ur car in if u see a 26 sec gap between places to ensure u dun lose ur lead.
Of these 26 secs, the pit stop guys have to change tyre, add fuel , in 4 sec. Racers have to go a 60 miles an hour speed limit along pit lane for safety reasons. So gg to pit stop must be fast.If not u waste time there u lsoe the race.
I wanna say massa did nothing wrong in the race.....he is instructed to go and he go....very ��,and then something like this happened, sad for him as it was not his fault mah and need to serve a drive through penalty at 50 kph. Actually, 1 stop streagy seems to work at singapore track given the lenght of the track and 3 stops are still fine, it seems that the old streagy will not work everytime. the red team need to improve on their stabilty seriously....
sliver car not bad also.........hahaha
Originally posted by ZYX2005:he is right it is 289km/h. not he 330km/h as every expected . if u had seen he Qualiiying rounds where these people drove round the circuit like kee seow n max out for fastest lap time to qualify spots...
U will have seen some tv shots of their dash n u can clearly see the speed digi display say 289 before bottmeing out to 100 odd at before turn 7. Maclaren mercedes digi one is attached to car so its really stays there n u can see it clear.i dun like it when the digi is atatched to the steering. we can't see the digi display as the driver turns the steering a lot..
I knew the cars will never go past 300km/h, they were running highest-downforce configurations. (less straight-line speed, more corner speed)
By the way, it was Coulthard's Red Bull and not a Toyota. The lollipop man raised the lollipop.
I know this is really off topic so we should go to the F1 forum instead...
F1 ad bus... well technically
panasonic big LCD n pasma Tv range - F1 sponsor of toyota team ad concept bus
2818 Service 16 cross 275
's got a big air thing behind bus like race car. interior wise they fitted some big panaosnic tv and the rear part of the bus got some race car seats. where's the steerin wheel for those thingd? lol. floor got race track but maybe not adviisble to race in bus lol
Panasonic Lumix camera range - F1 sponsor of toyota team ad oncept bus
2837 Service 175
not taken yet so dunno. sculli got one lumix inside bus cna try n snap pix lol
--
ad concept by my dads advert co McCann Erijson
some shots![]()
Shenton way yeah?
Sprinter on bridging sguttle![]()
Merc on 171![]()
wooooo![]()
How about skyline and 518?