Originally posted by sBs_boy:I AM the first to board and take photo of 8031M.
Type wrong lar. lol
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
I only chat with them rarely nowadays. Even if i did, it's only for a minute.
Thanks for your concern.
I not conerning you. There was once a pax talking to a BC and with a HQ person on board the bus. At the end of the day, the BC was being sacked. It may seem dramatic but it is real. sv153 BC. However, it went to court case by the BC that the pax was only asking for directions, and he wasn't being fired as they win the case. It was indeed a good one for the BC, but he has a bad record in SBST.
Don't ask me how i get to know about this. =)
Originally posted by tintinspartan:I agree with you 100%.
Anyway, to me BUSSPOTTING is:
1) A leisure hobby:
I tend to take busspotting as a hobby. I go around looking for something to discover.
2) A sidetrack stress reliever:
Everytime i want to go to a library or tution for studies, i will always take buses to reach my destination or go back home by bus. At the same time, i would look out the windows and spot cameos or look at something interesting. Somesort of multi-tasking in my opinion.
Sometimes, when i have something on at one particular area, like for example; Tution in Chua Chu Kang, i would go and find a joyride if i have time before or after the appointment. Usually, in this case, Sv 975 joyride on weekends or Sv 925 joyride on weekdays.
3) An oppurtunity to express another hobby:
I believe some of you guys know that i am quite a shot in professional, abstract photography. With busspotting, i would be able to experiment different angles and settings to get that good shot. One example is during NE Shows. I go and find places at night to photograph buses which are on chartered for NE Show.
I run my own Youtube Channel that covers buses in Singapore. So, i take busspoting as an oppurtunity to let the public know about the latest happenings in buses. I think most know that i was the first one to release a video on Youtube of SBS8031J and SMB1H on it's first day of service. I do take videos of buses to let others 'step into my shoes' as i film a special bus for example and have my audieunce enjoy the ride with me. I hope you get what i mean here.
4) An oppurtunity to break away
Well, i think this is almost as same as point 2 but this is slightly different.
What i meant by 'break away' is to break away from my hectic schedule and think of things that is haunting my personal life and answer my own questions on human behaviour. I have the tendency of acting 'emo' in buses due to these problems.
I also take time off to chat with some of my BC friends who are driving. I may chat with them on some things or just drop by to have a joyride on their bus. This is also what i meant by 'break away'.
So, all in all, this is what i think of busspotting. Maybe it's a mordern way of busspotting in my opinion.
At your age, either focus on your studies or give it up. When there's holidays, you can do whatever you want.
The 1st to post online = SHOW OFF? That's a very common impression of those who are "blacklisted".
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
Don't post a blank post if you have nothing to post.
Think first, want or don't want, if not, just don't post. :)
Originally posted by ngjy22:
Don't post a blank post if you have nothing to post.Think first, want or don't want, if not, just don't post. :)
That was because I posted some potential undesirable comments that may risk flaming.
If you think they're potential undesirable comments that may risk flaming, then think through first before posting.
Originally posted by ngjy22:
If you think they're potential undesirable comments that may risk flaming, then think through first before posting.
I felt that his blank post was another flamming point......
Think before you post. Or you end up receiving unwanted attentions. It seems more like he's trying to +1. Don't know what to say.
By no means I am expert or anything. Time and experience counts in every hobby. The personal level of interest is very important as well.
Its not easy when starting out.
And talk about conducting the hobby, I guess I am one of the few lazy ones here. I can fall asleep while taking a bus, in fact most of the time. I bet very few bus fans can do this. I nearly fell asleep while taking 8031J (M) for the first time. It can be unnatural to many folks here. Where you would normally be excited on the first trip of a brand new vehicle, I would be hypnotized by the engine sounds.
On spottings and rides, I have made a simple point; have a personal project to record down 10 years of spottings and rides, and after that I will do a review as to continue the project or not. Its simply to give myself a review of what I have taken in the past ten years, accumulate ten years worth of notebooks and perhaps, have the chance to share with my kids in the future what interest (or fetish?) that his father went through.
Hence, you can find me totally not interested in some of the happenings that would let you guys fly up high in the sky. I respect that, for when I see something that I like, weird things that you folks might regard, I too jump that high.
For rare happenings, I would make it a point only to intersect when my time and situation allows. And of course, no point skipping a meeting or even school just to catch that 'rare' spotting.
Since 'retiring' for shooting photos of buses, I find that I have yet other challenges to take up in the hobby, being able to spend the same amount of hobby time in technical stuff, deployments and even cutting out the time to spend in other various pastimes. It also enabled, rather comically, the lowering of blood pressure, and the ability to 'take things easily', and this in fact helps out in many other fields such as studies and human relations.
One aim that I find achievable is to divide out the time for hobbies into various parts, and not to 'talk about buses everyday, every hour, every minute'. Being able to balance out in life is very important. Having non-bus friends is one step to the open world, where we hang out without thinking about buses. It is of course taxing on time to be able to share time out with various hobbies. Sometimes you would feel left out from one of them. But its all about being balanced. Not to answer 'I only know about buses' when being asked of a hobby.
Some of the other hobbies that I go after, that you guys might regard as weird (same goes to my friends or the common people!) include the Doujin culture of Japan, basically various arts and animation. I normally spend the wee hours of the night indulging in those. It shares the same amount of time, perhaps more, that I spend in buses. Cranes and heavy machinery. Forms about a quarter of the hobby time. Aircraft, basically transports that fly, used to spot aircraft at Changi International. Books, read lots of them (and got near-sighted or myopia because of it). Computers, still in the initial period trying to learn programming.
Shocking? Its being diverse I guess. So much for sharing my hobby life, let you guys talk more bah. ![]()
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:And talk about conducting the hobby, I guess I am one of the few lazy ones here. I can fall asleep while taking a bus, in fact most of the time. I bet very few bus fans can do this. I nearly fell asleep while taking 8031J (M) for the first time. It can be unnatural to many folks here. Where you would normally be excited on the first trip of a brand new vehicle, I would be hypnotized by the engine sounds.
You got a companion here. ![]()
Ever since late last year I have spent most of my rides sleeping onboard because I do not have enough sleep at home.
Originally posted by service_238:
You got a companion here.Ever since late last year I have spent most of my rides sleeping onboard because I do not have enough sleep at home.
I'll put on my earphones and start reading my reading material on buses
. That's what I did for SMB4A...maybe just take off my earphones for a few bus stops to hear the bus, then the rest of the trip I'll just put on my earphones and read.
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:By no means I am expert or anything. Time and experience counts in every hobby. The personal level of interest is very important as well.
Its not easy when starting out.
And talk about conducting the hobby, I guess I am one of the few lazy ones here. I can fall asleep while taking a bus, in fact most of the time. I bet very few bus fans can do this. I nearly fell asleep while taking 8031J (M) for the first time. It can be unnatural to many folks here. Where you would normally be excited on the first trip of a brand new vehicle, I would be hypnotized by the engine sounds.
On spottings and rides, I have made a simple point; have a personal project to record down 10 years of spottings and rides, and after that I will do a review as to continue the project or not. Its simply to give myself a review of what I have taken in the past ten years, accumulate ten years worth of notebooks and perhaps, have the chance to share with my kids in the future what interest (or fetish?) that his father went through.
Hence, you can find me totally not interested in some of the happenings that would let you guys fly up high in the sky. I respect that, for when I see something that I like, weird things that you folks might regard, I too jump that high.
For rare happenings, I would make it a point only to intersect when my time and situation allows. And of course, no point skipping a meeting or even school just to catch that 'rare' spotting.
Since 'retiring' for shooting photos of buses, I find that I have yet other challenges to take up in the hobby, being able to spend the same amount of hobby time in technical stuff, deployments and even cutting out the time to spend in other various pastimes. It also enabled, rather comically, the lowering of blood pressure, and the ability to 'take things easily', and this in fact helps out in many other fields such as studies and human relations.
One aim that I find achievable is to divide out the time for hobbies into various parts, and not to 'talk about buses everyday, every hour, every minute'. Being able to balance out in life is very important. Having non-bus friends is one step to the open world, where we hang out without thinking about buses. It is of course taxing on time to be able to share time out with various hobbies. Sometimes you would feel left out from one of them. But its all about being balanced. Not to answer 'I only know about buses' when being asked of a hobby.
Some of the other hobbies that I go after, that you guys might regard as weird (same goes to my friends or the common people!) include the Doujin culture of Japan, basically various arts and animation. I normally spend the wee hours of the night indulging in those. It shares the same amount of time, perhaps more, that I spend in buses. Cranes and heavy machinery. Forms about a quarter of the hobby time. Aircraft, basically transports that fly, used to spot aircraft at Changi International. Books, read lots of them (and got near-sighted or myopia because of it). Computers, still in the initial period trying to learn programming.
Shocking? Its being diverse I guess. So much for sharing my hobby life, let you guys talk more bah.
Very shocking meh?![]()
My life consists of working my butts off as an NSF and catching up on sleep in buses.
Sometimes I wonder how some of you actually have the time to hunt down cameos and take pictures, sorry, but it's very hard to fathom unless you invest quite a good part of your time in it.
As evidence, my posts are getting shorter by the day.![]()
Its not about the sleeping part. :D
Many a times you would be wide awake, enjoying the ride and so on.
Its about the diverse part. There are many folks in various hobbies who become very dedicated, and nothing but that hobby. Talk to classmates and girlfriend(s) also about the hobby.
And of course the more harder we work, the more sleepy our 'off time' can be...
Life now is all about chasing the dollar....![]()
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:
I can fall asleep.....and pass my stop or end up in interchange parking....or worse still....wake up at exactly the stop i am going to alight...
one question... what are the EB buses?
Originally posted by wonderamazement:one question... what are the EB buses?
Employee Bus
Originally posted by wonderamazement:one question... what are the EB buses?
Employee Buses...for BC to take home fm depot or vice versa or some other staff events
lol that was fast... cos night cycling this morning saw quite a few...
What is night bus spotting
In Singappore, like any other modern country,, there are bus services operated fter midnight to cater to the late crowds.
For exmaple in Australia a famous atttraction called Bondi beach evven has its own tourist night time bus service to cater to tourists or locals who like to go beach in the wee mornings or go beach late at night.
In Singapore two bus companies operate night services
SMRTbbuses operate Night riders or NR
SBS transit operate Nite owls.
(mainly for night events in town but not tourist demand services)
Normal spotting
u just see and snap 12m rigid NRs or sbs transit Niteowl buses. When spotting in the heartlands do watch out for above mentioned EB buses. these are rare to come by.
Festive seasons
eg: Christmas, new years Eve or F1. crowds stay up late in town. SMRTbuses will normally operate NRs with bendies. these are nice to snap. Also SBS transit will operate the EW NE and NS services. eg EW25 that runs in Clementi new town.
tips: if u do not wish to waste money on taking NR or niteowl, there are a few trunk services that bring u to heartlands even after 1am. This takes a few years of experince to understand and observe. Knowing this can save money...hahaha
Tips: best places to take photos are City Hall MRT (provided they dun close the bus stop like F1)
Soomerset MRT (mainly for NR)
Orchard turn (best for rigid NR)
Former John Little bus stop along Orchard Rd (can get night shot of Hippo tours)
Clarke Quay station (get some nite owls lor)
Tips: photography at night (compact camera only)
Tripods are normally necessary. However, i myself prefer to free ahnd at 1/4 slow shutter speeds. shots may be unpredictable but when u get a clear shot, great feeling using impormoptu surfaces to place ur camera n shoot the bus is also good to try. generally squatting n stabalising urself u tend to produce clear shots if u have a set of steady hands.
Do note that at 1/4 shutter SMRT destos may wash out. Also buses with glaring headlights u can give a mis as these will generally not come out well. (nearside shots
using the flash is bad. BCs or SLs get stunned. furtheremore ur pic will be washed out.
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:What is night bus spotting
In Singappore, like any other modern country,, there are bus services operated fter midnight to cater to the late crowds.
For exmaple in Australia a famous atttraction called Bondi beach evven has its own tourist night time bus service to cater to tourists or locals who like to go beach in the wee mornings or go beach late at night.
(mainly for night events in town but not tourist demand services)Normal spotting
u just see and snap 12m rigid NRs or sbs transit Niteowl buses. When spotting in the heartlands do watch out for above mentioned EB buses. these are rare to come by.Festive seasons
eg: Christmas, new years Eve or F1. crowds stay up late in town. SMRTbuses will normally operate NRs with bendies. these are nice to snap. Also SBS transit will operate the EW NE and NS services. eg EW25 that runs in Clementi new town.
tips: if u do not wish to waste money on taking NR or niteowl, there are a few trunk services that bring u to heartlands even after 1am. This takes a few years of experince to understand and observe. Knowing this can save money...hahahaTips: best places to take photos are City Hall MRT (provided they dun close the bus stop like F1)
Former John Little bus stop along Orchard Rd (can get night shot of Hippo tours)
Clarke Quay station (get some nite owls lor)Tips: photography at night (compact camera only)
Tripods are normally necessary. However, i myself prefer to free ahnd at 1/4 slow shutter speeds. shots may be unpredictable but when u get a clear shot, great feeling using impormoptu surfaces to place ur camera n shoot the bus is also good to try. generally squatting n stabalising urself u tend to produce clear shots if u have a set of steady hands.
Do note that at 1/4 shutter SMRT destos may wash out. Also buses with glaring headlights u can give a mis as these will generally not come out well. (nearside shots
using the flash is bad. BCs or SLs get stunned. furtheremore ur pic will be washed out.
ZYX
I dun feel like doing, rather sleep....however may consider if i am stuck at heartlands at night
(mainly for night events in town but not tourist demand services)Normal spotting
u just see and snap 12m rigid NRs or sbs transit Niteowl buses. When spotting in the heartlands do watch out for above mentioned EB buses. these are rare to come by.Festive seasons
tips: if u do not wish to waste money on taking NR or niteowl, there are a few trunk services that bring u to heartlands even after 1am. This takes a few years of experince to understand and observe. Knowing this can save money...hahahaTips: best places to take photos are City Hall MRT (provided they dun close the bus stop like F1)
Clarke Quay station (get some nite owls lor)Tips: photography at night (compact camera only)
ZYX
compact camera? does DSLR apply anywhere here? ![]()
tips: if u do not wish to waste money on taking NR or niteowl, there are a few trunk services that bring u to heartlands even after 1am. This takes a few years of experince to understand and observe. Knowing this can save money...hahaha
ZYX
There are some like the last bus of Service 030 from Boon Lay Int, 0020 which will reache Bedok Int after 1 AM. But still, when you want to get back home, you will still have to take the respective SMRT NR avaliable at that particular heartland to town, then take the NR/Niteowl back home. Unless you do the spotting at where you are residing in.
often take sv154 at boon lay at 0020hours home.