Originally posted by TIB1171R:
I refer to the above and all other related posts made in this thread since the start.This junior/senior barrier MUST be abolished because contradictory to the aim of the "seniors" to integrate and unite Singaporean bus enthusiasts through common online sharing platforms etc, this very barrier actually hinders the progress of such an initiative.
Yes, some may retort "What barrier is there in the first place for us to abolish?". It may well be because you are already among the ranks of the "seniors" for quite some time so much so that you have grown accustomed to "educating" the "juniors" to have lost touch on how you yourself felt when you first joined the group, having to bow to whatever rules and regulations that existed back then.
For instance, I clearly recall being strongly against the rule prohibiting photo taking of buses in bus interchanges. "For your own safety", "not allowed by bus operators" and others became the basis for such a rule. IRONICALLY, I still saw "seniors" posting photos of buses they snapped at bus interchanges. "Oh, this was a rare cameo, so it's okay" was the standard reply. And was the "senior" reprimanded by the others? Oh no. They got away scot-free. But when a "junior" does it, woah, five pages of flaming would snowball. So just what basis is there for the "seniors" to have the "right" to take photos in bus interchanges just because the bus is a rare cameo? That it is no longer a bus and hence, is okay to be snapped in the interchange?
So what does this show? To the "junior" who has to abide by every single rule, the "senior" has more power, more control, hence more superior. The divide has already, unknowingly, been created. And it has been expanding since then. And this is just but one of the handful of examples of how such a "junior-senior" divide exists.
Yes, I acknowledge and applaud the teaching, reminding approaches from all parties which would definitely help the "juniors" integrate well into the community. But please, while doing it, spare a thought. Be in their shoes, consider the stage of interest in the hobby they are still in at such an age when the child is still in the process of transforming into an adult. If repeated warnings are ignored, then yes, by all means, teach them the hard way. Delete all their unproductive contributions, ignore them whatever. Let them learn the hard way, eg, get caught by the security personnel themselves for "breach of safety in the bus interchange by photo-taking". To only continue flaming them in public, already knowing they won't absorb whatever you are saying, will only make matters worse, if not stagnant.
So there is clearly no basis for flaming this kiasu SBS2695H this time round for starting this thread since he has the content - and thus the reason - to do so, regardless of time. It is NOT as if there was a rule in the first place clearly indicating who can or cannot start new topics for discussion; which the mods may want to take a look into.
To 997A, does an Oct 08 photo thread CANNOT contain photos of buses taken at any other time? What bull is that?
And SBS2695H, if you are going to go through so much trouble of having to use COMPASSES just to take photos of buses for a few minutes (or maybe hours for your case), then maybe you may find greater interest taking up field camps and navigation sessions as your hobby!
This one i have to agree with you. i have been hearing and seeing this kind of things going on here. i also have been hearing stuff about this. Don't mind me saying this for this time, i'm really sick and tired of seeing and hearing this( although this doesn't concern me.). i hope that the "seniors/juniors" wall will be sort of demolished. we must get out of our comfort zone and understand each other even well. we are like a big family. lets stay united.
I refer to the above and all other related posts made in this thread since the start.This junior/senior barrier MUST be abolished because contradictory to the aim of the "seniors" to integrate and unite Singaporean bus enthusiasts through common online sharing platforms etc, this very barrier actually hinders the progress of such an initiative.
Yes, some may retort "What barrier is there in the first place for us to abolish?". It may well be because you are already among the ranks of the "seniors" for quite some time so much so that you have grown accustomed to "educating" the "juniors" to have lost touch on how you yourself felt when you first joined the group, having to bow to whatever rules and regulations that existed back then.
For instance, I clearly recall being strongly against the rule prohibiting photo taking of buses in bus interchanges. "For your own safety", "not allowed by bus operators" and others became the basis for such a rule. IRONICALLY, I still saw "seniors" posting photos of buses they snapped at bus interchanges. "Oh, this was a rare cameo, so it's okay" was the standard reply. And was the "senior" reprimanded by the others? Oh no. They got away scot-free. But when a "junior" does it, woah, five pages of flaming would snowball. So just what basis is there for the "seniors" to have the "right" to take photos in bus interchanges just because the bus is a rare cameo? That it is no longer a bus and hence, is okay to be snapped in the interchange?
So what does this show? To the "junior" who has to abide by every single rule, the "senior" has more power, more control, hence more superior. The divide has already, unknowingly, been created. And it has been expanding since then. And this is just but one of the handful of examples of how such a "junior-senior" divide exists.
Yes, I acknowledge and applaud the teaching, reminding approaches from all parties which would definitely help the "juniors" integrate well into the community. But please, while doing it, spare a thought. Be in their shoes, consider the stage of interest in the hobby they are still in at such an age when the child is still in the process of transforming into an adult. If repeated warnings are ignored, then yes, by all means, teach them the hard way. Delete all their unproductive contributions, ignore them whatever. Let them learn the hard way, eg, get caught by the security personnel themselves for "breach of safety in the bus interchange by photo-taking". To only continue flaming them in public, already knowing they won't absorb whatever you are saying, will only make matters worse, if not stagnant.
So there is clearly no basis for flaming this kiasu SBS2695H this time round for starting this thread since he has the content - and thus the reason - to do so, regardless of time. It is NOT as if there was a rule in the first place clearly indicating who can or cannot start new topics for discussion; which the mods may want to take a look into.
To 997A, does an Oct 08 photo thread CANNOT contain photos of buses taken at any other time? What bull is that?
And SBS2695H, if you are going to go through so much trouble of having to use COMPASSES just to take photos of buses for a few minutes (or maybe hours for your case), then maybe you may find greater interest taking up field camps and navigation sessions as your hobby!
what im referring to is in bold.
i don't consider myself as a senior. but what you are saying i do not agree. because what i've seen of earlier posts, posts made by the seniors were at least better and i don't see more assumptions made. sure. 2695H has made assumptions, and since everyone make mistakes, that could be forgiven, but if he made a mistake too many, he should probably know where's wrong. im not siding anyone whatsoever, but he takes too long to change. if there are bus fans having such an attitude before but already changed soon after, then why can't he change? at least show some changes of attitude. and yes, i don't mean only 2695H that needs to change his attitude/curiosity.
this barrier has to stay upon, at least for a minority, because this problem of bus fans not being able to united with each other does not only happen here, but sometimes in reality. if you look around, there are "juniors" who may not interact well with another "junior" so if this is the case, both "seniors" interacting with the "juniors" and "juniors" interacting with another "junior" should happen. yes, it may hinder the progress of the initiative to unite and integrate with the bus fans but if the minority are able to make interaction with the others, then this barrier do need to be abolished.
what if seniors had taken the photos in the bus interchanges? if they have got permission from the staffs there, i see why not they can't take the photos, unless they didn't get permission from them. if the permission is given by the staffs to take the photos, the staffs will take full responsibility since they themselves gave the thumbs up and they themselves share the consequences. however, if the senior who had take the photo said that because "rare cameo, so its okay", that is definitely wrong and also the same for other senior who have gave that same kind of excuses.
what makes you think that bus fans flame them even in public? how do you know? i hope you don't make accusations of things which have not even, or known to have not, happened before.
though i believe some of the comments towards 2695H could be biased or forcing him, but if there are irrelevant posts, or posts which may lead others wrongly, which a few posts is not need, it should not appear.
Let's not get out of the topic.Get back now.
Originally posted by BusSpeeder:what im referring to is in bold.
i don't consider myself as a senior. but what you are saying i do not agree. because what i've seen of earlier posts, posts made by the seniors were at least better and i don't see more assumptions made. sure. 2695H has made assumptions, and since everyone make mistakes, that could be forgiven, but if he made a mistake too many, he should probably know where's wrong. im not siding anyone whatsoever, but he takes too long to change. if there are bus fans having such an attitude before but already changed soon after, then why can't he change? at least show some changes of attitude. and yes, i don't mean only 2695H that needs to change his attitude/curiosity.
Which is why I mentioned towards the end that if all else fails, let him learn the hard way. Ignore him, ban him whatever. If this has been done in the past, and mind you it actually worked, I dont see why it cant be done again now. Insisting he stay, and having to keep on reprimanding (or rather flaming) him again and again is hitting yourself in the stomach.
this barrier has to stay upon, at least for a minority, because this problem of bus fans not being able to united with each other does not only happen here, but sometimes in reality. yes, it may hinder the progress of the initiative to unite and integrate with the bus fans but if the minority are able to make interaction with the others, then this barrier do need to be abolished.
what if seniors had taken the photos in the bus interchanges? if they have got permission from the staffs there, i see why not they can't take the photos, unless they didn't get permission from them. if the permission is given by the staffs to take the photos, the staffs will take full responsibility since they themselves gave the thumbs up and they themselves share the consequences. however, if the senior who had take the photo said that because "rare cameo, so its okay", that is definitely wrong and also the same for other senior who have gave that same kind of excuses.
Seriously, do you think I would care about those who went to seek permission to take photos? Obviously I'm referring to those who obviously did not do so.
what makes you think that bus fans flame them even in public? how do you know? i hope you don't make accusations of things which have not even, or known to have not, happened before.
I'm referring to these very posts that appear right before your eyes on the computer screen. They can be read by anyone, hence public. Dont assume what I'm trying to say and get yourself flamed for nothing :)
though i believe some of the comments towards 2695H could be biased or forcing him, but if there are irrelevant posts, or posts which may lead others wrongly, which a few posts is not need, it should not appear.
Not just should not, but must not.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Let's not get out of the topic.Get back now.
I'm sorry if I have to mess this up a lil but seriously, I rather nip the problem in the bud. If other people's views are not being heard (and seriously at that), we will always experience dejavu of the bad kind, which I feel everyone is getting tired of. So stop shying away from problems when they surface.
Propose we start another topic for October 2008 and convert this topic into its current discussion.
@TIB1711R, I agree with your stance more or less =).
Originally posted by BusSpeeder:what im referring to is in bold.
this barrier has to stay upon, at least for a minority, because this problem of bus fans not being able to united with each other does not only happen here, but sometimes in reality. if you look around, there are "juniors" who may not interact well with another "junior" so if this is the case, both "seniors" interacting with the "juniors" and "juniors" interacting with another "junior" should happen. yes, it may hinder the progress of the initiative to unite and integrate with the bus fans but if the minority are able to make interaction with the others, then this barrier do need to be abolished.
There are bound to be conflicts between people in a relatively huge community. And there is no way you can expect everyone in a community to know each other. That's taking things a little bit too far - you can't force upon someone to accept another person. It's up to the two people to settle it amongst themselves - yes, meditation does help, but this doesn't matter if the mediator is a junior or a senior. Having a community that works together has little, or nearly no relation, to a senior-junior barrier/wall.
It's a matter of give and take and looking at things from another perspective and placing yourself in the person's shoes, rather than looking at it from your own perspective and deciding what is wrong from there.
Your point on photo taking was full of "What ifs", it is a fallacy by itself.
Shall we get back on getting photos in the topic?
another gone case thread...
lol.JUST because of SBS2695H.
Originally posted by TIB1171R:Which is why I mentioned towards the end that if all else fails, let him learn the hard way. Ignore him, ban him whatever. If this has been done in the past, and mind you it actually worked, I dont see why it cant be done again now. Insisting he stay, and having to keep on reprimanding (or rather flaming) him again and again is hitting yourself in the stomach.
Seriously, do you think I would care about those who went to seek permission to take photos? Obviously I'm referring to those who obviously did not do so.
I'm referring to these very posts that appear right before your eyes on the computer screen. They can be read by anyone, hence public. Dont assume what I'm trying to say and get yourself flamed for nothing :)
Not just should not, but must not.
that should be fine, except that the ignoring does not work sometimes.
misunderstood your question, i apologize.
misunderstood your question again, i apologize.
ok so it shall be must not then.
however, it seems that you are reading the comments towards 2695H from this thread. you should read up other threads because it seems that your previous post refer to all posts related to this problem from the start of this thread.
flaming may just occur if this continues on, so lets just stop here. if you think anything is wrong, do it via PM.
agree.
Originally posted by BusSpeeder:however, it seems that you are reading the comments towards 2695H from this thread. you should read up other threads because it seems that your previous post refer to all posts related to this problem from the start of this thread.
flaming may just occur if this continues on, so lets just stop here. if you think anything is wrong, do it via PM.
Never mistake my lack of activity in this forum as being totally ignorant of it. I've been here way longer than you and many other "seniors" to witness other interesting issues. The previous flame wars were too petty to even comment about, but they all contributed to this latest attack which I strongly feel needs to be addressed.
The focus here was on the "junior/senior" divide which is obviously present among the "seniors" but who just fail to realise it. As a result, the "juniors" suffer. Those more prone to blunders like 2695H end up getting flamed, but this time round for nothing, evident in the first page of this thread. This is more of a problem among these "seniors" who need to wake up their idea.
I can understand if 2695H is blasted for making stupidly stupid remarks but in this specific case, he did absolutely nothing worth to be placed in the spotlight yet again. He started this thread, accurately at the start of October, and contributed something which the "seniors" might not be bothered with, but may be worth something for others who know how to appreciate. So now, he is blasted for being kiasu?! Please lah. Who's the one creating a mountain out of nothing now? You know he's like that just let him be lah. Sooner or later he will tire out. Or get his ass burnt somehow.
Doesnt mean that if you know more insider news, or you are the owner of a chio DSLR and knows all the good sunlight spots and can snap chio shots of many many cameos, or you have connections with drivers who are willing to take you on off service joyrides right straight into the depots, you are better than others and can just pin them down for every single thing. You may be more experienced but so what if you totally lack the respect for a fellow bus enthusiast, even in the course of "educating" him?
To this 2695H, I strongly urge you to just keep your hole shut if you have nothing worth talking about. If you insist on learning things the hard way, then by all means keep it up.
Originally posted by TIB1171R:Doesnt mean that if you know more insider news, or you are the owner of a chio DSLR and knows all the good sunlight spots and can snap chio shots of many many cameos, or you have connections with drivers who are willing to take you on off service joyrides right straight into the depots, you are better than others and can just pin them down for every single thing. You may be more experienced but so what if you totally lack the respect for a fellow bus enthusiast, even in the course of "educating" him?
To this 2695H, I strongly urge you to just keep your hole shut if you have nothing worth talking about. If you insist on learning things the hard way, then by all means keep it up.
I whole-heartedly agree.
SBS0760R on Svc 3

SBS8319E on Svc 18

Allow me to share my views on the recent happenings in this thread. Although I only joined this forum this year, I read quite a lot of threads created in this forum few years back. Back then, there were lots more threads asking about simple questions such as "SV 81 no more double-deckers?" but the people who created the threads for a small issue did not get flamed. But then such people back then did not get flamed.
Somewhere a year ago, there was a newcomer's guide which had comprehensive explanations about the bus models and short forms about buses used in the forum, although there can still be room for improvement to include information about depots, cameos, perm status, A/P/S/T/E/N shifts, timesheets, jumpbus system and anything the seniors know about buses. I do intend to make a really comprehensive one including everything if possible. I feel that a very comprehensive guide can really solve the junior's doubts instead of having to ask around in the forum and risk being flamed.
Really, years back, the community was more bonded and willing to share as much information they know of and there were much more interesting topics.
Fast forward a few years and it is not as easy for a newcomer to join like one who joined few years back.
We need to be more willing to share our information with others and not discriminate someone who does not know enough facts due to not having enough experience exploring, some may not have enough resources to explore as much as others, we need to understand that. I believe the biggest reason I am discriminated is because I do not know as much facts as others. This is in relation to the following.
Doesnt mean that if you know more insider news, or you are the owner of a chio DSLR and knows all the good sunlight spots and can snap chio shots of many many cameos, or you have connections with drivers who are willing to take you on off service joyrides right straight into the depots, you are better than others and can just pin them down for every single thing. You may be more experienced but so what if you totally lack the respect for a fellow bus enthusiast, even in the course of "educating" him?
I fully agree with the above. If you know more insider news, share the news. If you know about good sunlight spots, share the spots. Share your experience on making connections with Bus Captains or Service Leaders so that other can do the same instead of declaring it "confidential". I hope that I can create a really comprehensive phototaking guide which tells everything when I get enough experience.
"This junior/senior barrier MUST be abolished because contradictory to the aim of the "seniors" to integrate and unite Singaporean bus enthusiasts through common online sharing platforms etc, this very barrier actually hinders the progress of such an initiative.".
Remember: Do things without a biased mindset to anyone. This junior/senior barrier must be broken. Why is that so?
From a very reliable source, I know about certain information that is not confidential but then it is not known to the juniors. So if you're a junior you can't get to know? This is the divide that I am refering to. I have chosen not to expose the information for fear of being flamed once again and I believe that the information will be shared when the junior/senior barrier is broken. I have actually yet to express my jealousy (I may already know the information but I feel that the information should be shared openly on the forum) about such information how negatively I feel about the above.
If you are not very sure whether information are true (or so called rubbish), do not make up sentences that are subjective. (Always get your facts right before posting)
I believe that if we are not sure of certain information, we can still post it if it is appropriate but we need to declare that it is not very reliable information, a learning point for myself as well.
Im not trying to say CANNOT post
but then what does OCT mean ??? ( Mean you post Sep photo???? )
And if you take a photo year ago then you post in Oct does it also mean OCT photo??
Originally posted by SBS997A:Im not trying to say CANNOT post
but then what does OCT mean ??? ( Mean you post Sep photo???? )
And if you take a photo year ago then you post in Oct does it also mean OCT photo??
So you're telling me that if I now want to post a photo of TIB1105H (which obviously cannot be taken in October 2008), I have to dig through the archives of this forum for say, December 2007 photo thread (which might have been locked) and bring it back up just for that photo?
My friend, not everyone of us have the luxury of time (like most of the school kids here are currently enjoying) to edit and subsequently post the photos they may have taken today, by today itself. We have other commitments to care about too. It is already good enough that we are taking the time to share photos some may appreciate.
I think now is a good time the mods make a decision that monthly threads should be just for name-sake or for the literal meaning.
For example, [Photos of Buses] Oct 2008. Should it be photos of buses taken in Oct or does it only mean that they are posting in Oct? I think by clarifying this, it will clear many doubts and flaming.
Originally posted by lifelikedrama:I think now is a good time the mods make a decision that monthly threads should be just for name-sake or for the literal meaning.
For example, [Photos of Buses] Oct 2008. Should it be photos of buses taken in Oct or does it only mean that they are posting in Oct? I think by clarifying this, it will clear many doubts and flaming.
It should have been for namesake since the start - because it's ridiculous to have 500 pages of pictures if new threads aren't started, and SGForums doesn't allows us to have subforums (under this forum) ![]()
Yes, I do agree with TIB1171R. But I don't think there's a need to make more fuss about it.
Teo Yanting, I am being very direct here. We all know that you are a newcomer. So? Yes, I understand that you feel very unfairly treated. Why? Reflect on your behaviour in the forum and outside.If you want others to accept you, learn from your mistakes and not repeat them again. However, it is seen here that you hardly take advices from other members and continued doing your own ways. That makes you a loathsome kid. You tried acting like a pro in this forum, when your "pro-ness" gradually bring to your downfall as well. If you want to make yourself comfortable in this forum, stop your weird mentality and thoughts which makes you like an outcast. Some of your comments are really uncalled for. Don't worsen your reputation here. It's bad enough.
tintinspartan. Look at my comments above and you got to do something about yourself too. It is not nice being made a laughing stock.
Please return to topic. Period.
My contributions...
SBS2791M on service 66:
SMB3C on service 67 *Rain shot*
Enjoy :)
Originally posted by n4l:It should have been for namesake since the start - because it's ridiculous to have 500 pages of pictures if new threads aren't started, and SGForums doesn't allows us to have subforums (under this forum)
Yeah. So everyone now should get it clear that the month on the name of the thread is just for namesake and there's no restriction whether when the photo is taken. Really hope all the nonsense can end.
So you're telling me that if I now want to post a photo of TIB1105H (which obviously cannot be taken in October 2008), I have to dig through the archives of this forum for say, December 2007 photo thread (which might have been locked) and bring it back up just for that photo?My friend, not everyone of us have the luxury of time (like most of the school kids here are currently enjoying) to edit and subsequently post the photos they may have taken today, by today itself. We have other commitments to care about too. It is already good enough that we are taking the time to share photos some may appreciate.
So i don know why people want to do a mthly photo topic and not just "photo of buses" that it