Y must SMRT buy the buses in such a funny way of 66? y cant they just buy it rounded off to nearest ten? like 70?
Originally posted by TIB1018B:
Is SMRT buying in 66 or 132 Merc OC500LEs?
Last time I heard, it's 132 new Mercedes OC500LE buses.
They might have the option for more, or they might be planning to bring in other new bus models. We will have to wait and see.
Sometimes, I suspect that the 132 new buses might actually be 66 new Mercedes OC500LE buses, and another 66 buses of a different model...
Originally posted by SBS7382C:Y must SMRT buy the buses in such a funny way of 66? y cant they just buy it rounded off to nearest ten? like 70?
Could have came as a package with some other deal, or maybe just to replace buses that are to be sold/scrapped one for one (i.e. one bus out for one ocs500)
Originally posted by AEW5001:
then how do u explain e KUBs? like 66?
Lolx... 66 ones are still okay because it's not every 66 bus that is (100+x)% packed.. 980 ones is (100+x)% packed until the last 3-4th bus of the night (provided if the last 2nd, 3rd and 4th buses were bendies like last Sunday), and it all starts at 9am or even earlier... ![]()
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Last time I heard, it's 132 new Mercedes OC500LE buses.
They might have the option for more, or they might be planning to bring in other new bus models. We will have to wait and see.
Sometimes, I suspect that the 132 new buses might actually be 66 new Mercedes OC500LE buses, and another 66 buses of a different model...
A recent press release stated that SMRT bought 67 units of the OC500LE.
Their annual report released in May said 132 units.
Originally posted by service_238:Their annual report released in May said 132 units.
Wah, again, confusing details. I do remember a piece of news many weeks ago (think it was talking about the OC500LEs) saying that SMRT bought 67 units... and yeah, read the annual report and it says 132. Dots...
Think 132 is the correct number lah.
Originally posted by Oceane:
Wah, again, confusing details. I do remember a piece of news many weeks ago (think it was talking about the OC500LEs) saying that SMRT bought 67 units... and yeah, read the annual report and it says 132. Dots...Think 132 is the correct number lah.
Maybe 67 Mercedes OC500LE buses + 65 buses of another model?
Originally posted by Oceane:
Wah, again, confusing details. I do remember a piece of news many weeks ago (think it was talking about the OC500LEs) saying that SMRT bought 67 units... and yeah, read the annual report and it says 132. Dots...Think 132 is the correct number lah.
Annual report is the most accurate...unless you read an outdated annual report.
Originally posted by n4l:Annual report is the most accurate...unless you read an outdated annual report.
The newspaper... most likely sold of to karang guni liao. ![]()
Is SMRT buying in 66 or 132 Merc OC500LEs?
if i didnt remember wrongly, 67 of such would be purchased
Service 32 will be FAC fleet by end of this year after the last NAC Scania N113CRB (SBS3638S) goes off. Who knows, BNDEP may deploy Scania K230UBs on service 32 soon.
BTW if u dont know, e Scania 113 NACs would be e LAST SD NAC fleet.
Originally posted by TIB1062Y:Lolx... 66 ones are still okay because it's not every 66 bus that is (100+x)% packed.. 980 ones is (100+x)% packed until the last 3-4th bus of the night (provided if the last 2nd, 3rd and 4th buses were bendies like last Sunday), and it all starts at 9am or even earlier...
i believe e doors will not fly open so easily, with e regulation under LTA, i suppose
They shouldn't even without regulation under LTA in the first place - based on an aspect of safety. But...unprecedented failures happen at times...
Originally posted by n4l:They shouldn't even without regulation under LTA in the first place - based on an aspect of safety. But...unprecedented failures happen at times...
RISK REDUCTION
???
Also done by the companies and not LTA what?
risk reduction through checks by bus operators, LTA, n e manufacturer who made those doors as well.
note that doors used for KUBs = OCs.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Maybe 67 Mercedes OC500LE buses + 65 buses of another model?
67 WAB buses, 65 non-WAB. wonder what's the non-wab model...
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Last time I heard, it's 132 new Mercedes OC500LE buses.
66 firm order + 66 Option order (which they decided to take it).
As simple as that...
Originally posted by sBs_boy:66 firm order + 66 Option order (which they decided to take it).
As simple as that...
the first 67 are wab (firm ones)...the other 65 aren't (which they decided to take) right? that's what i read.
This topic going uptrack .... should be services that need improvement. =)
Sv 985 during the morning peak towards CCK
Partly due to the jams over at PIE(twds Changi) when travelling towards Lor 1 Geylang
Perhaps can have 1 additional bus that start from Geylang Lor 1 at around 7.30am to 8am and 8.30am to 9am ?
These few days or rather service 163 is getting lesser and lesser Scania K230UBs on the roads, especially past few Saturdays where perm buses keeps swapping around. Frequency of service 163 is also equally bad.
I agree with you. SMRT should have introduced more new buses to enter Sembawang new town as well as other areas like Yishun and CCK. Sembawang area had always been neglected all the while, not only in the bus deployments (especially service 980) but also in the direct connectivity to other areas as well. In fact it is really an eyesore that other downtown bound services are getting occasional Merc OC500LE deployments but service 980 being left out and worse till massive Nissan deployments instead.Notice that bus services like 172 started getting get Merc OC500LEs though it passes by certain "ulu" areas. Saw one of them today.
Anyway hope that SMRT phase out all their Nissan UD buses soon once more new Merc OC500LEs are put onto the roads.
These "ulu" areas make up great demand for both 172 and 975 especially during peak hours, which explains 172's bendies. So it's not really bad choice to deploy OC on 172 - I for one would appreciate the extra standing space.
I rather they keep the UDs and improve the frequencies instead of retiring them early. Service 187 has been one of such services which got the frequency boost thanks to the spare UDs until recently when their slots got replaced by the new-to-WLDEP CAC Mercs instead. The frequency for Saturdays is fantastic for a SMRT service.
Also to rename 980 to 880, 981 to 881.
and 167 to 867 =P