Saw a poster being put up along Sengkang West Avenue regarding CityShoppers' services as of 28/10/2008 onwards.
Service 576 will be suspended.
Services 578, 579 and 581 bus timings will be amended as follows:-
No info is being put up into SBST's website as yet.
so we're left with 3 cityshoppers svcs then..
576 must be suspended due to low demand..
was at suntec convention ctr in e afternoon today. although only for a short while, all e buses that came were almost empty (some kosong n then no need to stop), except for 36 :D
Originally posted by AEW5001:was at suntec convention ctr in e afternoon today. although only for a short while, all e buses that came were almost empty (some kosong n then no need to stop), except for 36 :D
svc518 leh?
svc 579 when it passes by my area (Simei), there's not many commuters onboard as well..
Originally posted by phillipC:Have one to CCK or Bt Panjang… The load will definitely better than any current service!!!!
Agree. Guaranteed seat! LOL.... Bukit Panjang residents really deprived. Choa Chu Kang also.... Especially the return trip. =X
They can start one from Choa Chu Kang North. High chance even double-decks will be needed.
if they charge flat $1.80 or $2, the loads will be there. Its the fares.
these services the fares are too expensive. People are put off by the fares.
Originally posted by TIB1018B:Saw a poster being put up along Sengkang West Avenue regarding CityShoppers' services as of 28/10/2008 onwards.
- Normal weekday operating hours will be from 12pm to 430pm daily.
- Weekend operating hours will have 1 directional service from various HDB heartlands to Orchard Road and Suntec in the morning peak. Afternoon peak will be as per normal till 9pm.
With this, Sv 119 schedule may be affected?
My forecast for the revised schedules:
no jump bus needed, E shift implemented for some duties, after 4pm go back to parent service,
or T shift with an early start time, do parent service till 12pm then off service to depot after 4pm.
Originally posted by 105090:if they charge flat $1.80 or $2, the loads will be there. Its the fares.
these services the fares are too expensive. People are put off by the fares.
agreed..its the fares..$3/$3.50 is a turnoff to people who just wanna shop.
oh no. my 576 is going going gone.
some more talk to BC he say only first 2 trips and evening trips more people(i took his bus on a saturday).
sad to see it go. i didnt mind paying $3.30. now must sit in train.
and risk kena STOMP for sitting down and falling asleep. a risk i was willing to avoid by forking out $3.30! ![]()
LoL..
Originally posted by TIB1018B:Saw a poster being put up along Sengkang West Avenue regarding CityShoppers' services as of 28/10/2008 onwards.
- Normal weekday operating hours will be from 12pm to 430pm daily.
- Weekend operating hours will have 1 directional service from various HDB heartlands to Orchard Road and Suntec in the morning peak. Afternoon peak will be as per normal till 9pm.
Suspended...... meaning that the service will stop operating for a period of time instead of being withdrawn??
There are 2 things that Cityshoppers can't reach its demand.
Originally posted by sinicker:
and risk kena STOMP for sitting down and falling asleep. a risk i was willing to avoid by forking out $3.30!
lol.
Originally posted by I Luv Dat Unique Gal:There are 2 things that Cityshoppers can't reach its demand.
- Some of the Orchard Rd bus stops are infested with many people and Cityshopper services do not serve some of these these bus stops. Eg. the bus stop located outside Plaza Singapura. (Although I can understand that there are not enough space to add in more buses into the specific bus-stop.)
- If the fare of the Cityshopper service were to reduced, perhaps people might consider taking this kind of premium services.
It maybe true. but we cant really determine that it maybe the root of these changes
Originally posted by phillipC:Have one to CCK or Bt Panjang… The load will definitely better than any current service!!!!
Bt Panjang no need, already got services 190 and 700 to support
In fact I personally feel that Yew Tee really needs more bus services apart from services 302 and 307.
Originally posted by sbst_no_162:Suspended...... meaning that the service will stop operating for a period of time instead of being withdrawn??
Not very sure leh, just that this time round SBST uses this term "suspended" instead of "withdrawn" or "no more in service".
I think should be withdrawn
Originally posted by TIB1018B:
Bt Panjang no need, already got services 190 and 700 to support.
In fact I personally feel that Yew Tee really needs more bus services apart from services 302 and 307.
I think yew tee won't have any new services in the near future..honestly, even if it were still under SBST.
$2-$2.50 will probably be a more budget choice and better alternative to users.
Not very sure leh, just that this time round SBST uses this term "suspended" instead of "withdrawn" or "no more in service".I think should be withdrawn
Their public relations dept playing with words nowadays :o.
They're not the media leh...unless they practicing for PR replies on stomp/st forum :p.
Originally posted by I Luv Dat Unique Gal:There are 2 things that Cityshoppers can't reach its demand.
- Some of the Orchard Rd bus stops are infested with many people and Cityshopper services do not serve some of these these bus stops. Eg. the bus stop located outside Plaza Singapura. (Although I can understand that there are not enough space to add in more buses into the specific bus-stop.)
- If the fare of the Cityshopper service were to reduced, perhaps people might consider taking this kind of premium services.
Add on the bus stop outside CK Tangs too.
(That day I took service 578, the bus didn't stop there but all the way to Mandarin Hotel bus stop instead, end up I got to walk all the way back...)
Anyway SBST should have reduced the bus fares instead of withdrawing the CityShoppers' services one by one.
Not very sure leh, just that this time round SBST uses this term "suspended" instead of "withdrawn" or "no more in service".I think should be withdrawn
Why should they w/d when they can simply reinstate the service during the xmas season and CNY season when the shopping crowd is being increased significantly ?