Originally posted by sBs_boy:Why should they w/d when they can simply reinstate the service during the xmas season and CNY season when the shopping crowd is being increased significantly ?
I believe there's probably a demand during the xmas season. CNY not so bahz for Orchard Rd.
Originally posted by Zilchster:
I believe there's probably a demand during the xmas season. CNY not so bahz for Orchard Rd.
i believe the CNY crowd is enough to bring the service back..
I would say that it's not due to the fares. If you look at the weekend peak hour load for 579, the bus is always half-full. That shows that there are a sizeable number of people who are willing to pay $3.30 for such a premium service.
The main problem with the CityShopper service is that it runs during super off peak hours. Who would go to Orchard on weekdays at 12-4.30pm? If SBST were to extend the service from 7am-9pm on weekdays, or even operate only during peak hours and not off-peak hours on weekdays, the people going to work in Suntec or along orchard road offices will be able to catch the bus instead of depending on 518.
The service will be worst off by the change in timing.
Originally posted by ahdibuao:I would say that it's not due to the fares. If you look at the weekend peak hour load for 579, the bus is always half-full. That shows that there are a sizeable number of people who are willing to pay $3.30 for such a premium service.
The main problem with the CityShopper service is that it runs during super off peak hours. Who would go to Orchard on weekdays at 12-4.30pm? If SBST were to extend the service from 7am-9pm on weekdays, or even operate only during peak hours and not off-peak hours on weekdays, the people going to work in Suntec or along orchard road offices will be able to catch the bus instead of depending on 518.
You are crazy even more.Who would want to go orchard in the early morning? Then what abt 37? If 4 buses from 37 go do 579, then left with 2 buses. So how to do with the demand of 37? From my school, i can actually see 37 demand quite high.
Suggestion 1:Leave 576 and when returning for 576, it goes like this:
This will be even efficient than before to stop at the same neighbourhood bus stop.
Suggestion 2:Fare should be lower to $3 to have a even "fairer" fare.
I would think if the fare goes down to $3, the demand would be even more.
Suggestion 3:Services will stop at this pattern:
1...skip 1...1...1...skip 1....1...1...1
So there's 8 bus stop along Orchard Rd(excluding YMCA)
This will be even better than normal.
Suggestion 4: Remain 580 and let it ply Along the following route before going to expressway like this(Deployments: 4 mkiv from 51)
This will ease the MRT load.
Hmm...
I feel if SBST feels that $3.30 is a reasonable fare for guaranteed sitting but realizes that the ridership is getting worse for certain services, why not roll them out during festive seasons, like X'mas ,CNY only? Like that, they can save bus conductors driving (empty/close to empty) buses during off-peak periods and cater the buses to the public during festive seasons when more will visit the shopping malls in the city.
Otherwise, in my opinion, $3.30 is a bit ex for me. I live in the West and taking Express 502 to Orchard/Suntec area at most cost me about $2.35... Haha.
Alternatively, if Cityshopper Services are not the "in" thing among locals, SBST can consider converting those Cityshopper Services into Express Services that link from all other parts of Singapore to city; while not overlapping those routes covered by 502 and 518? The fares can be made lower since their current maximum ez-link fare is $2.35 and perhaps this might entice more S'poreans to board them.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:You are crazy even more.Who would want to go orchard in the early morning? Then what abt 37? If 4 buses from 37 go do 579, then left with 2 buses. So how to do with the demand of 37? From my school, i can actually see 37 demand quite high.
Please read my post CAREFULLY. I meant the OFFICE CROWDS. NOT the shopping people. Anyone in the right mind would have known that no shops opens early in the morning. And please look at the map of Orchard and count the number of offices in Orchard. Add in the offices in Suntec City area too. Before you say that I'm crazy, please look at the load of 518 during morning peak hours. And why would SBST set up 518A and 518B to run during morning and evening peak hours? Becuase the load is there. Furthermore, SBST's premium services only stop in Raffles Place area.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Suggestion 1:Leave 576 and when returning for 576, it goes like this:
- ECP
- Bedok Sth Ave 1
- New Upp Changi Rd
- Bedok Nth Ave 1
- Bedok nth Rd
- Bedok Nth Rd Extn
- Tampines Ave 10
- Tampines Ave 1
- Tampines ave 8
- Tampines Ave 3
- Tampines Ave 4
- Tampines Ave 7(end at 497 bus stop)
This will be even efficient than before to stop at the same neighbourhood bus stop.
if you change 576 to this, i'll confirm not take it anymore.
Originally posted by ahdibuao:Please read my post CAREFULLY. I meant the OFFICE CROWDS. NOT the shopping people. Anyone in the right mind would have known that no shops opens early in the morning. And please look at the map of Orchard and count the number of offices in Orchard. Add in the offices in Suntec City area too. Before you say that I'm crazy, please look at the load of 518 during morning peak hours. And why would SBST set up 518A and 518B to run during morning and evening peak hours? Becuase the load is there. Furthermore, SBST's premium services only stop in Raffles Place area.
okok.i understand liao.
AM Peak hour first bus:7:30 am.AM Peak Last bus:8:30 am
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Suggestion 4: Remain 580 and let it ply Along the following route before going to expressway like this(Deployments: 4 mkiv from 51)
- Boon Lay way(Lakeside MRT Stn)
- Jurong West St 51
- Jurong West Ave 1
- Jurong East Ave 1
- Jurong Town hall rd
- AYE
- Remain the same sector as per normal
- AYE
- Jurong Town Hall Rd
- Jurong East Ave 1
- Jurong West Ave 1
- Jurong west St 51
- Boon Lay Way(Lakeside Stn)
This will ease the MRT load.
gt 502 liao...sbst nt so boliao lyk u plan such routes de...
Originally posted by lianamaster:Alternatively, if Cityshopper Services are not the "in" thing among locals, SBST can consider converting those Cityshopper Services into Express Services that link from all other parts of Singapore to city; while not overlapping those routes covered by 502 and 518? The fares can be made lower since their current maximum ez-link fare is $2.35 and perhaps this might entice more S'poreans to board them.
Great idea. SBST can consider merging 576 and 579 to become an express service. This can be a possible route:
Tampines Interchange - Opposite Centennial Tower
Originally posted by SBS8043A:
gt 502 liao...sbst nt so boliao lyk u plan such routes de...
for once i agree with you
BC no more OT liao
Originally posted by sinicker:oh no. my 576 is going going gone.
some more talk to BC he say only first 2 trips and evening trips more people(i took his bus on a saturday).
sad to see it go. i didnt mind paying $3.30. now must sit in train.
and risk kena STOMP for sitting down and falling asleep. a risk i was willing to avoid by forking out $3.30!
Haha. Those idiot STOMPers have zero respect for anyone's privacy, don't there?
I often have to check that site just to make sure my privacy doesn't get invaded. It's really awful and just wrong.
talk is cheap, let's write in to SBST and tell them about making improvements on the Cityshopper services.
Erm i thot u all say svc576 kena withdrawn just nw i saw that bus at PIE around 8.50pm
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:Erm i thot u all say svc576 kena withdrawn just nw i saw that bus at PIE around 8.50pm
wef what date now what date?
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:Erm i thot u all say svc576 kena withdrawn just nw i saw that bus at PIE around 8.50pm
"Saw a poster being put up along Sengkang West Avenue regarding CityShoppers' services as of 28/10/2008 onwards."
Originally posted by SBS315T:wef what date now what date?
forgotten date srry 10more day to withdrawn?
Doubt they will decrease the fare. They just decided to increase NiteOwl's fare!
Increase Nite Owl fare is already too overboard.$2.50 to $4.Idiots siah.
PTC sets the fare for cityshopper right?
tell them it's too "premium" already lah.
can see CT8/18 fare and demand & compare with CS fare and demand...... distance travelled also more or less the same..
Originally posted by ahdibuao:I would say that it's not due to the fares. If you look at the weekend peak hour load for 579, the bus is always half-full. That shows that there are a sizeable number of people who are willing to pay $3.30 for such a premium service.
gd idea. den can change e name frm CityShopper to CityWorker instead. ![]()