Finally e barrage would open on Nov 1 (Sat)
Wondering would Sv 400 get any rescheduling or sort
It would be good if service can start from Marina Centre Terminal =)
Originally posted by Junyang700:It would be good if service can start from Marina Centre Terminal =)
good idea!
eh.. barrage there only left 1 bus stop still in use rite? ![]()
Originally posted by Junyang700:It would be good if service can start from Marina Centre Terminal =)
I'm thinking if it would be good for service 400 and 402 to ply Central Boulevard and then turn left to Shenton Way, for the other direction both services to ply Robinson Rd and then turn right to Marina Boulevard, so that passengers near Lau Pa Sat can take these 2 services to Marina South.
Originally posted by sbst275:eh.. barrage there only left 1 bus stop still in use rite?
The bus stop was outside the former Chin Huat steamboat.
I have a feeling that both routes 400 and 402 will be withdrawn in the near- to mid-future, to be replaced by other bus routes. Quite likely, route 30 will be rerouted to ply the new Marina Bay downtown once East Coast Parkway is realigned; there is also a high chance routes around Marina Centre and Shenton Way will be extended into the new downtown, especially after the bridge linking from Marina Centre to Marina Bay is completed.
Some good possibilities:
Moving further into the future, I expect that Shenton Way bus terminal and Marina Centre bus terminal to be closed down and replaced by a new bus terminal or interchange in the Marina Bay area, with all bus routes currently at these two places extended to the new bus terminal. Alternatively, both bus terminals could continue to exist, but the bus routes they serve will be swapped as routes terminating at Shenton Way gets extended to Marina Centre via Marina Bay, and vice versa.
With such a far outlook ahead...
It may be a bit too early to say...
-edited-
162M is long enough :o. 162 is still possible.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Moving further into the future, I expect that Shenton Way bus terminal and Marina Centre bus terminal to be closed down and replaced by a new bus terminal or interchange in the Marina Bay area, with all bus routes currently at these two places extended to the new bus terminal. Alternatively, both bus terminals could continue to exist, but the bus routes they serve will be swapped as routes terminating at Shenton Way gets extended to Marina Centre via Marina Bay, and vice versa.
Marina Ctr Terminal might close down.
But not Shenton Way Terminal...
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:I have a feeling that both routes 400 and 402 will be withdrawn in the near- to mid-future, to be replaced by other bus routes. Quite likely, route 30 will be rerouted to ply the new Marina Bay downtown once East Coast Parkway is realigned; there is also a high chance routes around Marina Centre and Shenton Way will be extended into the new downtown, especially after the bridge linking from Marina Centre to Marina Bay is completed.
Some good possibilities:
- Routes 162 and 400 are merged and extended to ply into Marina Bay, looping near the Marina Barrage.
- Same goes for route 162M, but it will enter Marina Bay via the new bridge linking Marina Centre with Marina Bay.
- Alternatively, both routes 162 and 162M will have their looping/terminating point swapped, but will now ply through Marina Bay in both cases.
- Routes 133 and 402 merged, and will loop or terminate at the new cruise centre.
- Route 30 is definitely in for a reroute - likely it will run into the new downtown core and also serve Marina Bay MRT station, before going onto the future Sheares Avenue and climbing back onto the East Coast Parkway.
- High chance of a new, temporary dedicated bus route for the Marina Bay Sands I.R. before the Downtown Line MRT extension opens.
Moving further into the future, I expect that Shenton Way bus terminal and Marina Centre bus terminal to be closed down and replaced by a new bus terminal or interchange in the Marina Bay area, with all bus routes currently at these two places extended to the new bus terminal. Alternatively, both bus terminals could continue to exist, but the bus routes they serve will be swapped as routes terminating at Shenton Way gets extended to Marina Centre via Marina Bay, and vice versa.
Service 30 is most likely to ply the MCE when it opens. The current service 30 provides a fast link between the south-west and south-east by skipping the city area, if it is to be re-routed into the new Marina Bay downtown calling at every stop along the route, the purpose of the fast link will be defeated, so very high chance it will be re-route to ply the MCE instead of entering the new Marina Bay downtown.
Looking forward to the TNP Big Walk 2008 this Sunday (2nd Nov).... The view must be splendid! ![]()
Bus stop 03371 along Marina Mall has been relocated (marked in red rectangle in the diagram). Service 400 buses will now U-turn back at the 'L' junction instead of proceeding to the original looping point to U-turn. The bus stop plates at the disused bus stop were not shifted to the new location so the BC took a spare service 400 front desto and tied it to the lamp post.
Originally posted by tranquilice:Bus stop 03371 along Marina Mall has been relocated (marked in red rectangle in the diagram). Service 400 buses will now U-turn back at the 'L' junction instead of proceeding to the original looping point to U-turn. The bus stop plates at the disused bus stop were not shifted to the new location so the BC took a spare service 400 front desto and tied it to the lamp post.
Nice one by BC...put Destos.....side or rear???
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Nice one by BC...put Destos.....side or rear???
Front desto tied to the lamp post (mentioned in my previous reply).
Originally posted by sBs_boy:Marina Ctr Terminal might close down.
But not Shenton Way Terminal...
Marina Ctr Terminal not so near to Marina Bay leh, but Shenton Way does.
the distance between these terminals has a big difference. Marina Ctr Terminal is located at Raffles Blvd and Raffles Ave between, while Shenton Way Terminal locates at CBD area wif high-storey office towers.
Originally posted by tranquilice:Service 30 is most likely to ply the MCE when it opens. The current service 30 provides a fast link between the south-west and south-east by skipping the city area, if it is to be re-routed into the new Marina Bay downtown calling at every stop along the route, the purpose of the fast link will be defeated, so very high chance it will be re-route to ply the MCE instead of entering the new Marina Bay downtown.
MCE built in underground? this is the issue that we nt able to see high storey towers in CBD anymore liao.
Originally posted by tranquilice:Service 30 is most likely to ply the MCE when it opens. The current service 30 provides a fast link between the south-west and south-east by skipping the city area, if it is to be re-routed into the new Marina Bay downtown calling at every stop along the route, the purpose of the fast link will be defeated, so very high chance it will be re-route to ply the MCE instead of entering the new Marina Bay downtown.
Wah.... service 30 is long enough for me. I sat 30 from Bedok to Boon Lay before and it took me about 2.5 hours... Loop here and there in Bedok and Teban Gardens.... Perhaps SBST might come up with a new service instead.
Just a side topic here...
Anyone knows where those famous steamboat restaurants in Marina South been relocated to? I have a friend who loves those steamboat restaurants and couldn't make it it time for a good meal before their closure. Your response is much appreciated. Thanks! ![]()
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
Marina Ctr Terminal not so near to Marina Bay leh, but Shenton Way does.the distance between these terminals has a big difference. Marina Ctr Terminal is located at Raffles Blvd and Raffles Ave between, while Shenton Way Terminal locates at CBD area wif high-storey office towers.
Just wait and see...
MCE built in underground? this is the issue that we nt able to see high storey towers in CBD anymore liao.
Total length 5 km, of which 3.5 km will be underground.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Just a side topic here...
Anyone knows where those famous steamboat restaurants in Marina South been relocated to? I have a friend who loves those steamboat restaurants and couldn't make it it time for a good meal before their closure. Your response is much appreciated. Thanks!
Chin Huat moved to Novena Ville.
Marina Ctr Terminal not so near to Marina Bay leh, but Shenton Way does.the distance between these terminals has a big difference. Marina Ctr Terminal is located at Raffles Blvd and Raffles Ave between, while Shenton Way Terminal locates at CBD area wif high-storey office towers.
so...
based on ur theory..
Near = Must close down ??
Originally posted by lianamaster:Wah.... service 30 is long enough for me. I sat 30 from Bedok to Boon Lay before and it took me about 2.5 hours... Loop here and there in Bedok and Teban Gardens.... Perhaps SBST might come up with a new service instead.
i've no qualms with S30. it serves its purpose fully in its route. it may be long. but transfers are tedious. when old airport road station is fully completed, it no longer needs to be diverted to guillemard and that's good! ![]()
i'm in NTU. when i'm free, i take 179 > 30 > 168 home in tampines. ![]()
my NUS friends also take 10 home to tamp. 30 home to kembangan. it's fun!
where do you stay?
Originally posted by sBs_boy:so...
based on ur theory..
Near = Must close down ??
this was just my conjecture only. we shall wait and see by then~