Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:Spotted SBS8031J arriving at Bedok Int at 1600 hrs yesterday.. but who knows it brokedown later on.. :O
It did. At around 16 11 i got on, then after that it turned out, went to Simei and gearbox jam.
Originally posted by Roderick a.k.a Guai Kia:shows that voith gearbox aren't as good as ZF,voith got this very uncomfortable feeling,you can feel that feeling on hispano habits...ZF for habits is much smoother...so anyone got a breakdown ticket of it?
You're joking. I've encountered many more cases of spoilt, worn-out ZFs.
That 9844Z I mentioned was the only spoilt voith I've ever encountered.
By far the most common problem with ZF is the lock-up clutch. You'll encounter either a KRACK everytime it engages in the older buses or complete loss of this feature which results in far more nauseating rides.
Worn-out Voiths might take a little longer to engage the lock-up clutch and jerk a little when it changes gears but at least such cases are still fairly rare and still ok on the passengers.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
You're joking. I've encountered many more cases of spoilt, worn-out ZFs.That 9844Z I mentioned was the only spoilt voith I've ever encountered.
By far the most common problem with ZF is the lock-up clutch. You'll encounter either a KRACK everytime it engages in the older buses or complete loss of this feature which results in far more nauseating rides.
Worn-out Voiths might take a little longer to engage the lock-up clutch and jerk a little when it changes gears but at least such cases are still fairly rare and still ok on the passengers.
In general I would say that Voiths are more reliable than ZFs in our country.
Originally posted by Oceane:In general I would say that Voiths are more reliable than ZFs in our country.
but i think ZFs are much faster and nicer sounding than Voiths.
alrite alrite. each gearbox has its own pros and cons
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:but i think ZFs are much faster and nicer sounding than Voiths.
That's why I'm still undecided which one I prefer.
ZF sounds really great, but Voith sounds great in its way too.
A Voith that's pushed sounds really shiok, you can't deny that!![]()
this thread turning into another which gearbox do you prefer thread ![]()
but yeah, ZF sounded nice on the mark 2's, pure screamo. voith sounds nice on the quieter buses, and when pushed can hear the whining and the whistles are also pleasing.
Originally posted by Simple_boi:
Saw it arnd 3pm+ at tamp twds bedok. Surprisingly many bus fans was on sv17 route. lolx..
There were? Me, lameomaster and JA decided to take 8031J together cauz either end of exams or got 1 more. Like trying to relax lah. Uploading a short vid while me, Lameomaster and JA were on it. Engine kept stalling, then gearbox wont shift to D. Driver try to select D but stuck at N. Then Call OCC also cannot solve.
Then I got Breakdown Tix. Too bad they dont put rego.
JA payed both cash and ez-link. Say just in case got conductor.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:but i think ZFs are much faster and nicer sounding than Voiths.
its the other way round for me...
hahaha
Voiths not sounding good or slow?
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mrynrzd5msg
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?0dj3cslmxhc
Regards,
Dave
Originally posted by Simple_boi:
Saw it arnd 3pm+ at tamp twds bedok. Surprisingly many bus fans was on sv17 route. lolx..
I saw SBS8031J at Tam ave 2 blk 285 bus stop at around 12:30pm towards Bedok.i myself didnt know that it would breakdown a few hours later.i noticed something now.when the bus moves off,the engine noise is too loud.it is not like last time.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:this thread turning into another which gearbox do you prefer thread
but yeah, ZF sounded nice on the mark 2's, pure screamo. voith sounds nice on the quieter buses, and when pushed can hear the whining and the whistles are also pleasing.
Yah.no need to say.the MK2's were fantistic.especially when they speed.the engine will scream so loud.the noise will be so loud.my non-bus fan friends always said that the MK2's sound like a cat due to its engine noise.
Originally posted by nenepokey:aiyo...1024 that one ar. lost 2nd gear liao lar. 1st gear then jump into 3rd
Not to comment on the loud "thud" it gives when it shifts to 3rd gear ![]()
Originally posted by Raraken:There were? Me, lameomaster and JA decided to take 8031J together cauz either end of exams or got 1 more. Like trying to relax lah. Uploading a short vid while me, Lameomaster and JA were on it. Engine kept stalling, then gearbox wont shift to D. Driver try to select D but stuck at N. Then Call OCC also cannot solve.
Then I got Breakdown Tix. Too bad they dont put rego.
JA payed both cash and ez-link. Say just in case got conductor.
There were also 3 other bus fans with me around. haha.
Originally posted by TIB1049L:
Not to comment on the loud "thud" it gives when it shifts to 3rd gear
imagine revving on the 1st gear up to 2200 rpm then suddenly to 1100 rpm on the 3rd gear
Originally posted by Powered_By_CNG:Voiths not sounding good or slow?
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mrynrzd5msghttp://www.mediafire.com/download.php?0dj3cslmxhc
Regards,
Dave
the first one, 4-speed, sounds a bit like our ZF habits, but can hear some Voith sound and whistle when it slows down. 2nd one is a 3-speed. i onli know that the first one is a MAN after searching for it on the net, but can't find the model of the second one.
Originally posted by Powered_By_CNG:Voiths not sounding good or slow?
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mrynrzd5msghttp://www.mediafire.com/download.php?0dj3cslmxhc
Regards,
Dave
u cut off the part when the doors open or closes? all i hear is the gearbox sound.
A lot of people had saw SBS8031J.but who would have thought or knew that it would breakdown just a few hours later?
I have uploaded a short video taken by me when we were onboard during the breakdown. Engine kept stalling, bus kept revving. Just search ImprezzaImpressions for it.
Anyone know if its back on service?
Anything is nice except for Voith with THD101GD (on Mk3s).
Allison would be nice, especially on Fusos, but it gets a bit too draggy on a Brazilian Marco Polo Merc OH.
The 6 speed ZFs lose quite a bit of character as compared to the 5 speed, not much amazing sounds.