http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1279/topics/322224
Singapore public transport has
changed and progressed rapidly since its early days, from bus
conductors to One-Man-Operated(OMO) ticket dispensing machines,
farecard validators to the current EZ-Link cards. Bus technologies
also changed rapidly to the current modern and comfortable public
transport.
I'd like to find out what people missed about the good old days; be
it interesting, pleasant or unpleasant memories...
Anything about Singapore's previous public transport can be
discussed:
- services
- buses, bus-stops..
- etc...
I've taken this mini Merz bus in my kindergarden days,and that's when i fall in love with bus ,and start to take more bus...
I shall share my pleasant memories.
In 2000, I used to take Service 9 to my kindergarden almost everyday. That time Service 9 was under HGDEP control so there were lots of Mark IV DMs which I could remember.
Somewhere around that year, I remember taking OAC O405 on 31 a few times with blue unrefurb seats. Soon after that I discovered that all O405s already had pink refurbished seats. Also, I remember taking an LO2x on 28 to Tampines for just once and no more. Was such a nice ride on the lower deck. I still remember the days when Service 220 was around and took it a number of times mostly CAC Scanias and a few times NAC Scania. There were also VO2x on 35 those days which I took too.
In 2001, I remember my first ride on a DM3500 which made me instantly fall in love with this model.
Between 2001 and 2003 I started to fall in love with the O405s when I started taking them frequently on Services 13, 24 and 31. Nevertheless, during those days I also took a number of VOs and LOs which I enjoyed too. I really missed the days when Service 2 had lots of VOs and now replaced by horribly vibrating B9TLs and thankfully I don't take this service very often now. I especially miss the O405s on Service 24.
I can also remember those beautiful yellow top bus stops before they were replaced with boring grey bus stops. Thankfully we still have some unique orange top bus stops now. It would be nice to have some old things around us rather then keep replacing them.
Everything was so nice especially during the late 1990s and the very early 2000s with SBS and TIBS. Those were the days with much more unique and nice buses (not to forget better service standards). must say that the merging of TIBS and SMRT was a BIG BIG mistake. If they did not merge, we would still be enjoying the good services by TIBS and there would be lesser complaints in general. Things would be nicer if SMRT operates the NEL, SBS remains SBS and TIBS remains TIBS.
I still remember SBS7123J on sv157, from Toa Payoh Int back to Lor 4 Toa Payoh. My last LO2x ride =(
Originally posted by SBS2695H:I shall share my pleasant memories.
In 2000, I used to take Service 9 to my kindergarden almost everyday. That time Service 9 was under HGDEP control so there were lots of Mark IV DMs which I could remember.
Somewhere around that year, I remember taking OAC O405 on 31 a few times with blue unrefurb seats. Soon after that I discovered that all O405s already had pink refurbished seats. Also, I remember taking an LO2x on 28 to Tampines for just once and no more. Was such a nice ride on the lower deck. I still remember the days when Service 220 was around and took it a number of times mostly CAC Scanias and a few times NAC Scania. There were also VO2x on 35 those days which I took too.
In 2001, I remember my first ride on a DM3500 which made me instantly fall in love with this model.
Between 2001 and 2003 I started to fall in love with the O405s when I started taking them frequently on Services 13, 24 and 31. Nevertheless, during those days I also took a number of VOs and LOs which I enjoyed too. I really missed the days when Service 2 had lots of VOs and now replaced by horribly vibrating B9TLs and thankfully I don't take this service very often now. I especially miss the O405s on Service 24.
I can also remember those beautiful yellow top bus stops before they were replaced with boring grey bus stops. Thankfully we still have some unique orange top bus stops now. It would be nice to have some old things around us rather then keep replacing them.
Everything was so nice especially during the late 1990s and the very early 2000s with SBS and TIBS. Those were the days with much more unique and nice buses (not to forget better service standards). must say that the merging of TIBS and SMRT was a BIG BIG mistake. If they did not merge, we would still be enjoying the good services by TIBS and there would be lesser complaints in general. Things would be nicer if SMRT operates the NEL, SBS remains SBS and TIBS remains TIBS.
Your entire post was nice EXCEPT for the last paragraph. =.="
My brief story on Townlink 291:
1) Used to have VO2x & LA
2) Took them quite a few times (Always took SBS 7293B & SBS 4998X)
3) Loves the pneumocyclic gearbox on the LAs
Originally posted by Oceane:Your entire post was nice EXCEPT for the last paragraph. =.="
My brief story on Townlink 291:
1) Used to have VO2x & LA
2) Took them quite a few times (Always took SBS 7293B & SBS 4998X)
3) Loves the pneumocyclic gearbox on the LAs
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:
VO3x on 291 last time, SBS9355T
And VSO on 291 many years ago.
I still remember that morning, where my mother, brought me to Sengkang Int, still roadside one, to take new VSO/Tridents (either 9888 Y or 9671).
Have been, and still am, taking O405s on 54 for at least 10 years, and will still be :\ - and the frequency is still #$%^&@#...
Also have been taking 851 frequently for the last 3-4 years or so (:
1:I still can remember the times when "Jackie Chan"(His face look like Jackie Chan) drove 293 the past 10 years, since i am born, and the driver looked to me in a smile in the past and the current. From N113s to Mark IIIs, and from Mark IIIs to the K230s, He always bring me good rides everytime i board his bus. There was a time when i was walking home then i see him driving KUB then he stared at me.I thought that he liked me (I am not a gay hor).
2:"The times when svc 28 had a lot of B10TLs", this title may look things in you but different to me.Last time during the 2003s, i still remember that from SBS9801Y to SBS9807G, these buses served 28 when it first came to singapore, and went direct to the first deployments, Service 28. I love taking the B10s and then they seprated.
9801 to BNDEP 81
9803 became a SP(if i am not wrong)
9804 went to AMDEP 76
9805 went to BNDEP 12
9807 went to AMDEP 22
These became a shock to me until that some buses came in, SBS9824G and SBS9829T. There were only 3 B10TLs until the few weeks before, SBS9831K, SBS9834C, came in to service 28.Until then i can have B10TL rides more often.
I still remember I hated the NAC N113's on Toa Payoh feeders then and the CAC ones were quite 'rare' then.. Regretted now
Cuz back then I didn't think that there would be so much more OAC buses in the near future then. Back then I still loved taking svc 152
and it's old DD's. I wonder if anyone still has photos of them... :)
i want LO2x to be back!
3654U on 231G =) loved it a lot. 72T on 157 too, nice nice; last year onli leh =(. sv152... miss it a lot as well. Now bedok int go back house must walk out take 28. If not take 26 grrr. But i get extra link to Tampines lol. I never took any NAC Merz, when were they deregistered? OH and finally, N113 NAC on 155. Still remember, 3599X, 3600A, 3621P, 3622L, 3623J, 3637U, all gone except 3623 =(
Originally posted by jayh272416:3654U on 231G =) loved it a lot. 72T on 157 too, nice nice; last year onli leh =(. sv152... miss it a lot as well. Now bedok int go back house must walk out take 28. If not take 26 grrr. But i get extra link to Tampines lol. I never took any NAC Merz, when were they deregistered? OH and finally, N113 NAC on 155. Still remember, 3599X, 3600A, 3621P, 3622L, 3623J, 3637U, all gone except 3623 =(
NAC merc nv deregistered, they all refurbished into CACs.
For me, since I was 5, Ive been taking svc 307 when it was under SBS. My dad would get very tired of me since I beg him to take svc 307 again and again coz of the DDs! That time the DDs tht were deployed in this svc (mostly LO2x) are NAC, so i ALWAYS open the windows & enjoyed the wind blowing at me. 1 time i took my toy (Superman i tink) and i hung it outside the bus, but unluckily, i nvr got it back coz it flew away.. I even get frustrated if i see an MK2 or MK3 on svc 307 coz it wasnt a DD and its air-conditioned lol.. Then, 1 day when TIBS took over svc 307, i cried and said to myself tht "Y? Y must Trans-Island eat the DDs away?" lol..
Originally posted by SMRT BUSES LuvER:For me, since I was 5, Ive been taking svc 307 when it was under SBS. My dad would get very tired of me since I beg him to take svc 307 again and again coz of the DDs! That time the DDs tht were deployed in this svc (mostly LO2x) are NAC, so i ALWAYS open the windows & enjoyed the wind blowing at me. 1 time i took my toy (Superman i tink) and i hung it outside the bus, but unluckily, i nvr got it back coz it flew away.. I even get frustrated if i see an MK2 or MK3 on svc 307 coz it wasnt a DD and its air-conditioned lol.. Then, 1 day when TIBS took over svc 307, i cried and said to myself tht "Y? Y must Trans-Island eat the DDs away?" lol..
i miss 1770E on 11...and service 20...and lo2x on 197 ...
SBS Services
5, 75, 171, 176, 177, 179, 184, 187, 190, 343, 344
67, 172, 175, 185, 188, 300, 302, 307
77, 106, 173, 189, 361, 365, 367
5, 106, 187, 188, 189, 190, 302, 307, 367 had Double Deckers.
106 and 190 had Superbus Volvo Olympian then.
171 even goes to the zoo!
HOW I MISS THEM! =X
Tibs
Yellow Livery.
927 serving Bukit Panjang Road with DAFs.
Beloved 345 by Bukit Panjang residents living in North Bukit Panjang.
989 (Choa Chu Kang To Changi Airport via Bukit Batok West & Teck Whye)
951 (Woodlands To Boon Lay via Bukit Panjang / Bukit Batok Road)
SS7 (Choa Chu Kang To Woodlands via Bukit Panjang)
(Withdrawn with extension of MRT Line to Woodlands)
SS8 (Woodlands To Boon Lay via Bukit Panjang)* (Unconfirmed Route)
Operated only for a few days during CNY in the early 2000s.
Amended as belows:
5 - Withdrawn (Bukit Panjang Terminal To Geylang Lor 1 Terminal)
106 - Shortened to Marina Centre from Serangoon amid NEL Opening
171 - Amended to ply BKE / Bukit Panjang / Upper Bukit Timah before original route.
172 - Route shortened to Choa Chu Kang Int (Boon Lay To Upp Bt Timah Road(Loop))
173 - Amended to serve Hume estate instead of Rail Mall.
175 - Amended to serve Bukit Panjang Int and renumbered 975)
179 - Withdrawn as duplication of LRT (Choa Chu Kang To Fajar Road (Loop))
185 - Renumbered 985 after extension to Geylang Lorong 1 Terminal
187 - Used to ply Bukit Panjang Terminal To Boon Lay Interchange
190 - Used to serve Choa Chu Kang Way and not Teck Whye
300 and 307 - Minor amendments
361, 365 and 367 - Renumbered as 941, 945, 947. 945 had amendment.
343 - Withdrawn (Bukit Panjang to Petir Road (Loop))
343 --> renumbered 921 --> merger with 700 / 700A
344 --> Withdrawn as duplication of LRT (Bukit Panjang Ter To Fajar Road (Loop))
345 (Tibs Era) --> Withdrawn as duplication of LRT (Bukit Panjang Ter To Jelapang Rd (Loop))
Originally posted by jayh272416:3654U on 231G =) loved it a lot. 72T on 157 too, nice nice; last year onli leh =(. sv152... miss it a lot as well. Now bedok int go back house must walk out take 28. If not take 26 grrr. But i get extra link to Tampines lol. I never took any NAC Merz, when were they deregistered? OH and finally, N113 NAC on 155. Still remember, 3599X, 3600A, 3621P, 3622L, 3623J, 3637U, all gone except 3623 =(
Got miss 237 or not :D Since we're all Toa Payoh ppl.
I don't have any impression of it actually :B
I still miss my 237. Very comfortable journey then.
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
NAC merc nv deregistered, they all refurbished into CACs.
gah thats what happens when my brain is under stress. yeah i meant refurbished, when?
to stage and choww, yeah i do miss 237. Still remember was going to blk 51, took 237 by mistake, then got to walk one stop xD My ONLY ride on that svc =(
I miss those Leyland NAC DD (sorry.. dunno what model they were). I rmb them serving 78, 97, 197, 241, 331, 333, 334, 335 from Jurong East Int.
Svc 241, 331, 336 sounds so retro.. Svc 241 and 105 were once deployed using Merc 0405's NAC......Those were the days.... Haha...
Originally posted by lianamaster:I miss those Leyland NAC DD (sorry.. dunno what model they were). I rmb them serving 78, 97, 197, 241, 331, 333, 334, 335 from Jurong East Int.
Svc 241, 331, 336 sounds so retro.. Svc 241 and 105 were once deployed using Merc 0405's NAC......Those were the days.... Haha...
Those are the LO2x , 241 renumbered as 331 , both using Volvo B10M MK2's also besides the 0405 NAC