Originally posted by jayh272416:so no reg stated lah
Originally posted by TIB537B:Around when was the rear route number plate introduced and why was it introduced? i can vaguely remember it that it was introduced when i was in primary 2. hmm
Originally posted by SBS8533C:
Rear service plates were actually placed on trial by TIBS since the end of 1995, on service like 167, 169, 851, 852, 853 & 854. Later on in Spetember 1996, all of its TIBS services had gotten its rear service plates. The purpose of introduction is when you are reaching at a particular bus stop in Orchard Rd and you wanted to catch 167 for example, you would be able to identify through the rear service plates to ensure that you are not taking the wrong service.
It also serves the purpose to let you know, HAHA YOU'VE MISSED YOUR BUS!!! ![]()
Originally posted by n4l:It also serves the purpose to let you know, HAHA YOU'VE MISSED YOUR BUS!!!
Rear service plates were actually placed on trial by TIBS since the end of 1995, on service like 167, 169, 851, 852, 853 & 854. Later on in Spetember 1996, all of its TIBS services had gotten its rear service plates. The purpose of introduction is when you are reaching at a particular bus stop in Orchard Rd and you wanted to catch 167 for example, you would be able to identify through the rear service plates to ensure that you are not taking the wrong service.
But then if behind say 167 in front say Off Service?
(OT 1995 - oic so i around 5-6 years old. yay i remember correctly)
Originally posted by SBS8533C:B57s have the rear service plate display but it was never being used.
Put SBS logo plate in the rear service plate display instead.
Originally posted by SBS8533C:Anybody heard about the Pre-paid validator machines at Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 and along Hill St? This pre-paid validator were pre-dominant to the times when some svcs used to have those pre-paid ticket machines like service 157 at Toa Payoh Interchange.
Anyway, Those prepaid validator machines issues pre-paid tickets paid by the farecard and you have to show to the driver upon boarding before the specific period of time and valid for either Non-Air Con or Air-con service as printed on the tickets.
Mentioned in the newspaper & also appeared in Bus Guide.
TIBS - red(NAC w/o EDS), green(NAC w/EDS) & blue(AC) coloured
Newspaper only reported on then SBS started to introduce the usage of the rear service plate
Originally posted by SBS8533C:B57s have the rear service plate display but it was never being used.
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Put SBS logo plate in the rear service plate display instead.
Just some information.
The idea of rear service destos dates back to the late 1970s when SBS introduced the Volvo B57, bodied by New Zealand bus bodies and a Soon Chow bodied demonstrator. This feature also applied to the Hawke and New Zealand bus bodies bodied Mercedes Benz OF1417s.
However the idea was not accepted by PTC at that time and thus SBS have to put a SBS logo desto to cover the lights in the interior. There is a picture of a demonstrated back desto in a Volvo B57 bus, service 147. However that was just a demo picture. Never used for revenue service.
The idea was surfaced back when TIBS tried to introduce it in the 1990s. It succeed and was implemented till present. SBS Transit improvised and improved the back desto feature but placing it on the back left windows of its newly acquired WAB buses (Volvo B9TLs, MAN 18.240, Scania K230UBs, Mercedes Benz OC500LE) since 2006. Some older buses also improvised to this feature (some MK4 Striders). It greatly makes viewing of the service easier for commuters with the improvement.
Anyway, missing the Volvo B57s. The Volvo B10M MK4 Striders reminds me of the B57s, since they have some resembalnce in designs. Air con version of B57s.
Originally posted by TIB537B:
But then if behind say 167 in front say Off Service?![]()
(OT 1995 - oic so i around 5-6 years old. yay i remember correctly)
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:TIBS - red(NAC w/o EDS), green(NAC w/EDS) & blue(AC) coloured
Newspaper only reported on then SBS started to introduce the usage of the rear service plate
but some of those NAC buses with EDS uses the Red Plate also.. saw one NAC O405 on 812 with red plate long time ago if i can recall
NAC buses with EDS were introduced later than the Hinos/Nissans & the green plates were produced after NAC buses with EDS were introduced.
Since green/red plates are for NAC buses, any type of NAC buses can use them ![]()
Now only see green plate on every type buses w/o rear EDS, seldom see blue plate is being used
no lah. they did use. but it was short lived and discontinued. i wonder why?
I have pixes of svc147 b57 using this rear slot. Some soon chow buses also had a rear desto box in the days
ZYX
yes the Alexander strider Mark 4s do bear resmeblence to the B57s at rear. if u look closely there are groove to mark out a rear desto box holder on strider bodyworked buses.
this is come from the fact that UK bus operators did have rear desto boxes by then.
The Striders also have fan belt screeching which reminded me of the B57 fan belts screechhing.
the Mark 2s had engines sounding closest to B57s i feel. For some times. idling wise Mark 2s dun sound like B57s.
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:
I have pixes of svc147 b57 using this rear slot. Some soon chow buses also had a rear desto box in the days
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:
ZYX
Yes, the rear desto on the B57 and OF1417 (new new in 1980) was used on revenue service. Then it was discontinued. Why? We don't really know. Was it because of the PTC? The PTC was established in 1987. The rear desto was already disused by then. Then the question is does the PTC have the jurisdiction to disallow the use of rear destos on buses? Or was it a decision made by SBS not to continue with the rear desto?
The idea of using a rear desto dates back before there was an SBS. The STC and the Chinese bus companies had a rear desto on their buses. I'm not sure which party was responsible for re-instating the rear desto but I recall reading a newspaper article in the 1990s, that one of the steps taken to improve the benefit of bus commuters, was that all buses are required? to display a rear desto.
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:NAC buses with EDS were introduced later than the Hinos/Nissans & the green plates were produced after NAC buses with EDS were introduced.
Since green/red plates are for NAC buses, any type of NAC buses can use them
Now only see green plate on every type buses w/o rear EDS, seldom see blue plate is being used
i always see green plate for SMRT buses. never see blue plate.
i rmb lo2x on 31 or 197
Originally posted by jayh272416:
i always see green plate for SMRT buses. never see blue plate.
blue plate for A/C bus was last used long long ago... ![]()