Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:
around year 2000, before VO2x come to do 35..
I remembered I took a trip onboard a VO2x on service 35 to S'pore Expo when it opened in early 1999. So it couldn't be around year 2000.
miss the leyland non aircon double decker bus on 97 when it used to ply Hougang
Originally posted by bus555:Vo2x on service 10...
VO2x first newly on Svc 10 back then
Originally posted by tranquilice:
I remembered I took a trip onboard a VO2x on service 35 to S'pore Expo when it opened in early 1999. So it couldn't be around year 2000.
http://www.geocities.com/s_buses/page019.html (the pix of the LAs on 35 is found here, but its not taken by me)
so I think those LAs that came from 222 and 291 perm fleet did cameos on 35 long time ago.. afaik there was 4985, 4994, 4996, 4998 & 4999 tat ever did 35 before..
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:Back in the days, part 3...
Remember the days of the LAs, LO2x, VO2x & MB O305...
Starting off with LAs, I only know it did 10, 35, 157, 222, 228, 291, 293, 359 before it gets de-registered by the end of year 2000..157 afaik only had it as cameos during 1999 from a photo seen... and from 1997 to 1998 there onwards, many of them disappeared from many services due to the major PAC/FAC conversion exercise i think; then did SBST 'shun bian' de-reg some of them from 98 to 99 there before dealing with the rest in 2001?
For LO2x, ahh.. Only thing is more than 80 % of the LO2x buses were based in SLBP for the final 2 years serving Jurong East & Boon Lay feeders and Jurong Industrial Services and the sole 157, [add on 154 also; but from sources, those there went off 1st as compared to the 157 ones which went off with the rest; except a few that still managed to stay till dec there?] while some were under BRBP 28 & 90 and a few from AMDEP 107 and 410.. [got 186 too =x] True enough spotted some LO2x on 26 before together with other VO3x DDs when 26 uses DDs.. VSOs on 28 marks the lay up of some LO2x on 28 and later on the LO2x in AMDEP began to lay up and de-registered.. while LO2x in SLBP contiunes to do revenue service before being decommissonised and de-registered at the end of 2003..
VO2x. However, once I spotted SBS7198T doing 157 before, as 157 was actually a PAC at that time.. happened during 2004 there i think =/ sometimes during that year also got NAC scanias roaming around despite the default all-AC fleet with the withdrawal of LO2X? @@Lastly MB O305s, mostly common on 26, 31 and 410, others I've forgotten , so I only know their last usage of those MB O305s were 153, 154, 165 & 385 with only 30 units left.. the MBO305s that did hougang feeders, service 74, 153, 165, etc were eventually replaced by VO2xes and turned SP for a while before it gets de-registered.. By the end of 2001, only 7109-7112 remains on its fleet until it de-registered.. may i know when did the de-reg start? got a feeling it's somewhat like the LAs whereby the extra units [some went to feeders at HG side] got displaced due to the conversion exercise esp from HG/AM trunk svcs turned spare 1st then slowly 'wait' for their lifespan to be up, and then de-reged. dunno who did mention that some units are now at batam/bintan... think is 247x/248x rego originally. any1 can confirm this?
could any senior member would feel free to answer those queries in maroon? thanks.
Originally posted by xunmeng:miss the leyland non aircon double decker bus on 97 when it used to ply Hougang
Yea... I rmb taking 97 to Selegie Road Peace Centre for tuition during my secondary school days. Back then its frequency is pretty good. Lots of buses were catered to the serive and there's no need to wait for more than 10mins most of the time.
Now... it's re-routed and frequency sucks sometimes (can extend to 20-23 mins at times). Really miss the old svc 97.
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:
I don't remember I've seen any NAC Scania N113s ever did 157 in 2004, despite VO2xes that cameo on 157 before.
3596D, 3623J were perm 157, they were redeployed to 94 after the Serangoon-Eunos swap.
Originally posted by Scania:3596D, 3623J were perm 157, they were redeployed to 94 after the Serangoon-Eunos swap.
u mean all services bus fleets in Serangoon int swoped with all services bus fleets in Eunos int?
Anyone have any idea how did the Volvo B57s came in and deregistered?
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
u mean all services bus fleets in Serangoon int swoped with all services bus fleets in Eunos int?
Serangoon and Eunos swap depot. Serangoon was amdep while Eunos was hgdep, now one is hgdep, one is brbp.
Originally posted by collinnxk88:could any senior member would feel free to answer those queries in maroon? thanks.
Sv 157 have perm LA since the 80s.A lof of the 16** series were perm on Sv 157, including 1654/55/56/80/81/82. then it got replace by LO2x.. and then LO2x were replace by LA again and so on....
guys, i did borrow the 2 books mentioned once from NP library...besides those 2 by DTS, no other local books alrdy? [almost wanted to point out a few errors in the book that time but nvm, i believe subsequent editions will rectify them]
lemon, so when did the swopping end? if im not wrong, LAs came solely from BR only hor... btw, there was a day in 1998, quite a few O305s cameoed on 157; could recognize at that time from the body length alrdy. but too bad no pics to support.
scania, thanks for your clarification =x
Originally posted by FirePig:I missed the good ole farecard days. back then, passengers board and alight the bus so quickly. Nowadays, boarding fast is quick but alighting bus is very slow as lots of passengers take their own sweet time to tap their ez link card before getting out.
trade-off lor =P
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:collinnxk88: Let me help you with some
As what I've read the complete fleet list from the Singapore Bus Services Part Two published by DTS (you can view it from LKCRL), the LAs were registered between 14 Dec 1984 to 10 Dec 1986, with the first few like SBS1637H to SBS1643P were registered on 14 Dec 1984, which the last, SBS5621B to SBS5624T, were registered on 10 Dec 1986.. I believe, assuming when those LAs had a 15 year lifespan, they de-registered 15 years after the date of registration, but some of the LAs registered in 1986 (SBS5613A to SBS5624T) were decommissioned and being withdrawn at the end of 2000.
I don't remember I've seen any NAC Scania N113s ever did 157 in 2004, despite VO2xes that cameo on 157 before.
MB O305 buses, in fact, were also never given a lifespan extension, they just de-register after 15 years as well. 14 Aug 1999 was the de-registration date of the MB O305s, with SBS2477X and SBS2478T being the first 2 buses to be de-registered, followed by SBS2481E and SBS2482C, de-registered on 9 Oct 1999.. By the end of 1999, SBS2477X, SBS2478T, SBS2481E to SBS2494X were de-registered..the period of de-registration took about 2 years (between end 1999 to early 2002) for all MB O305s to be dispersed from SBS fleet, SBS7110X, SBS7111T and SBS7112R were de-registered on 16 Jan 2002 (earlier on I did mentioned SBS7109B was the last few MB O305 left on the fleet at the end of 2001 but it was actually de-registered on 6 Aug 2001). But I'm not really sure of the rego of the MB O305s that are in Batam. With more MB O305s de-registered, the other buses began to be re-deployed on services that used the MB O305 buses as well as the LAs. *again, from dunno which part of this forum, got sources saying that there was massive cameoing of LAs/O305 all around most notably in AM/BR DD services around 2000, which tended to irritate the hell out of some commuters at that time @.@*
oh ya, if im not wrong, before 1997, the lifespan was 12 years right? somehow the 12 > 15 years ruling affected the LAs and O305s the most... [if not wasted leh] somehow to me, the PAC/FAC exercise was just in time also; new VOs replacing those NAC DDs, then the some of the NAC MK2/N113s + all of the NAC O405s went for AC retrofitting gradually from the start of the exercise onwards; so some of the displaced vehicles 'subbed' those empty slots previously taken by those SDs; after conversion completed, time for those DDs to go? =x
apex, as for the LO2X part, what i said was based on picture inferences =/
Originally posted by lianamaster:
Yea... I rmb taking 97 to Selegie Road Peace Centre for tuition during my secondary school days. Back then its frequency is pretty good. Lots of buses were catered to the serive and there's no need to wait for more than 10mins most of the time.Now... it's re-routed and frequency sucks sometimes (can extend to 20-23 mins at times). Really miss the old svc 97.
OT: You go find ah leow huh? (If you know who I am refering to)
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:Just to clarify about Service 3 (the Tampines to Pasir Ris St 71)..
What I only remember is when 294 and 357 merged, NAC Scanias still being placed on service 3, but somehow, I recalled 3573, 3607, 3609, 3610 ever appeared on Service 3 before but I'm not sure about the perm status of the Service 3 as well as the Scania n113s former deployments of 294 and 357 .. anybody could contribute or find out?
If memory serves me right, those were just Cameos for the first few days. None of them permed 3 before. In fact when 3 was started, apart from the first 2 or 3 days, it was already a FAC service.
still remember at bkt batok feeder svc:
-sbs times: mark 3 [old blue seats], mark 2 WA-body NAC
-tibs/smrt: hino volgren [why must giv to 925 ], now DAF
bkt batok feeders:
-sbs: mark 3 [blu setas], mark 2 WA-body NAC
-tibs/smrt: hino volgren [y must giv to sv 925 ], now DAFs
sorry 4 double post. i had error jus now. sorry =)
Originally posted by collinnxk88:oh ya, if im not wrong, before 1997, the lifespan was 12 years right? somehow the 12 > 15 years ruling affected the LAs and O305s the most... [if not wasted leh] somehow to me, the PAC/FAC exercise was just in time also; new VOs replacing those NAC DDs, then the some of the NAC MK2/N113s + all of the NAC O405s went for AC retrofitting gradually from the start of the exercise onwards; so some of the displaced vehicles 'subbed' those empty slots previously taken by those SDs; after conversion completed, time for those DDs to go? =x
apex, as for the LO2X part, what i said was based on picture inferences =/
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:bkt batok feeders:
-sbs: mark 3 [blu setas], mark 2 WA-body NAC
-tibs/smrt: hino volgren [y must giv to sv 925
], now DAFs
Originally posted by Rk 2010:Anyone have any idea how did the Volvo B57s came in and deregistered?
B57 by ZYX
Well the first unit was of cuz the demonstrator. built in Soon Chow bodywork the bus came in may 1979 to show off with SBS. Bus was registred as a SBS6790P and placed with the 6xxx bus depot... = TPDEP. Bus was trial on svc 148. it is unknown what happens to this bus after the trial.
So i guess SBS liked the B57s and ordered some (i think) 200 or so unis built with new Zelanad bus builders NZMB and tranny was Allison auto tranz. The first NZMB unit came as SBS3433R and was deployed on svc as 140. By 1981, both ranges 34xx and 47xx began to come in. i have no ideas of the original deployments of each and every B57.
But juding by the rego ranges ,, the 3xxx ones shd be new with west side depot like Woodlands depot (assuming it still existed) but weird was 3433 was new to TPDEP...and the 47xx ones were definitely new to BNDEP. (recall BEDEp only ake 2xxx buses) i have faint recallation of the first few 47xx ones on svc 14. (Orchard svc lol)
as the years passed some 34xx B57s were trasnferred to the East and BBDEP. The B57s even strayed into JRDEp doing svcs like 20 and 192. The 47xx ones were more stable and mianly stayed in the east Bedok area until in the late 90s some stay over to BBDEP. i recall many of them doing svc 202 and then svc92, 95 and svc75.
In the late 90s, came the things called JB B57s. Not very sure of the ranges then but i think 3500 to 3533 were 170s. these guys never left 170. after 170 took on the nice Mark 2s the buses languished ard BBDEp feeders and trunks like 176 etc.
By the end of the late 90s , many of the B57 were screeching with their fan belts. this i remember fondly and today rides on Mark IVs when fan belts screech remind me of the B57s.
Some interesting facts
1) in the later years of their life, a few B57s were chosen to be remodelled with air-con unit at the driver area to cool the BC down.. cooool
2) Mark 2 style seats was fitted on some B57 in a refubsihment excercise in the mid 90s.
3) in the early days the rear desto holder indeed held rear destos. However it was shhort lived and the SBS logo were slotted in intead of rear destos.
4) the B557 came in raised roof and flat roof versions. most 34 and 35xx were raised roof and the rest 47xx were flat roof. Rasied roof means the desto hhoding area at front was raised. perhaps for a bigger desto box
epilogue:-.
I took my last ride on a b57 on svc361 and the buses were gone. i dunno what happened to the east B57 and what their last svcs were.
Will be very grateful if anyone cd provide a orignal new new deployment of B57 for furhter discussiona nd if any one cd answer the questions in maroon
Cheers
ZYX