Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:In 1985...
Service 3 was Bedok to New Bridge Rd (Loop) at start.. and later the route was extended to Jurong East in 1987
Original Route of Service 3 (Bedok to New Bridge Rd)
Bedok North Ave 1, New Upp Changi Rd, Changi Rd, Geylang Rd, Kallang Rd, Crawford St, North Bridge Rd, South Bridge Rd, Neil Rd, New Bridge Rd, Hill St, Victoria St, Kallang Rd, Sims Ave, Sims Ave East, New Upp Changi Rd, Bedok North Ave 1
In 1987, Service 3 was extended to Jurong East via Jln Bt Merah, Queensway, C'wealth Ave, C'wealth Ave West, Boon Lay Way & Jurong East Central, with a slight amendment via Upp Cross St & New Bridge Rd.
Nissan Diesel U31SCN OAC buses were used.
You forgot AIR-CON 3 used Scania N113CRB OAC and even a Bolton Australia bodywork prenault french bus...
wonderful svc. one of my fav old services.
ZYX
ZYX's fav old svc list---
AIR-CON 390
Loads of Scania N113CRb OAC rides on thhis one... best connection from town to airport... wish it were back. I dun fancy a windy and super loaded ride on 36.
AIR-CON 3
Mentioned about above. need i add more?
Serving St Mikes to Bt Batok
Provides fast back roads connection from home to Bugis via alexandra rd and river valley rd missing the intense jams in Chhiantown..wished it were back . No the replacement 186 and 32 services do not cut it. 51 is close but i wished it zip down the hill part of River valley Rd.
back then when 122 uses Scania N113CRB NAC BCs tend to go neutral and free gear down the river valley rd hill. This caused the Scania engine to hum queitly as the bus glide down.
Had Mercs and mark 3s. the only thing cool about mark 3s was that the rear door bottem triangular holder was exposed then revealing the wires and cirucitry of the complex door "nerves" system. i would not stop staring at it when alighting . today the parts are all covered by black plastic. dang.
old 14
Siimply like the Holland rd semi express part when no one flags bus. Today 123 duun cut it with poor freq due to madness loads at TBP and jams in orchard.
CSS 1
Mercdes benz O 309 mini buses aplenty. Conductor on bus. Brings back the old days in 1987 or so...But always crowded and i get to stand...
ZYX
Let me add mine as well !
Good old services
Service 41
Bedok to Bukit Merah, this service was merged with the old 197 to become Bedok 197 Jurong East (current). The fleet was a mixture of Mercedes O305 from Hougang and Leyland Alanteans from Ayer Rajah! I often take this service , it was thrilling to be on the speedy O305 ! Shiok man.
Service 149
Changi Airport to Toa Payoh
Service 31 was extended and 36 was introduced an as a result, 149 was withdrawn. I was delighted when I saw mercedes O405 new x2 on the service but when 149 became partially aircon, I was dismayed and extremely disappointed that the NAC n113crbs replaced the mercedes NAC. I remembered 149 had the rego range from 232 all the way to 238 if I am not wrong.
Service 196
Marine Parade to Jurong
I cannot forget the O305 on the services ! Of course at that time they also had the LA buses from BNdepot , I wanted the LAs to be totally replaced by the O305s but when the Boon Lay interchange was newly opened at that point of time, 196 was one of the services that was transferred to there and as a result , LO 2 axles took over the O305s . That is ok but later on was shortened to Clementi and it became a full fleet LA ! But later on the service became partial aircon , the aircon perm buses that 196 had before were, 35B, 38T, 43C, 44A,50G,75K, 78C ,227P,228L,229J and a few others I think I had missed out.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
Don't mind me asking where u got the info from?
i still remember taking a vo2x on 10 at year 2005
i remembered taking VO2x on 196, 189 and 14
Originally posted by Rk 2010:i remembered taking VO2x on 196, 189 and 14
i remembered taking VO2x on 190!
Originally posted by SMRT BUSES LuvER:
i remembered taking VO2x on 190!
Vo2x on 291 for me that all i can remember :(
Originally posted by ZYX2005:You forgot AIR-CON 3 used Scania N113CRB OAC and even a Bolton Australia bodywork prenault french bus...
wonderful svc. one of my fav old services.
ZYX
I though Reanult
Originally posted by bus555:I though Reanult
i believe it's renault.
Originally posted by Roderick a.k.a Guai Kia:i still remember taking a vo2x on 10 at year 2005
That's too recent.
Originally posted by Ranger123:
Dun think that DD can enter Yishun Int due to the height limit on the entrance.
to me like can sia...
Originally posted by bus555:
to me like can sia...
I think because of the hump thats DDs cannot enter.
VO2X 35 too! I also remember mk2 on 170! but jb side very dusty...
Originally posted by SBS2695H:I remember seeing reports of NAC Scania cameo on Service 10 in the 2003 archives of this forum when it just started. Anyone knows when it was officially FAC and anyone has a brief history of sv10's fleet? Heard last time there were leyland fleets?
In the early 90s, the aircon fleet in service 10 was Mercedes-Benz O405 with the blue furry seats. I remembered taking a Merc O405 DM back in 1992 from Tampines full route to Clementi.
In the later part of 90s and early 00s, the VO2x came in.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:ZYX's fav old svc list---
Serving St Mikes to Bt Batok
Provides fast back roads connection from home to Bugis via alexandra rd and river valley rd missing the intense jams in Chhiantown..wished it were back . No the replacement 186 and 32 services do not cut it. 51 is close but i wished it zip down the hill part of River valley Rd.back then when 122 uses Scania N113CRB NAC BCs tend to go neutral and free gear down the river valley rd hill. This caused the Scania engine to hum queitly as the bus glide down.
Also, service 122 plied Victoria St towards St. Michael's but in the return direction towards Bukit Batok (later shortened to Buona Vista), it plied Jln Besar and Bencoolen St.
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Service 149
Changi Airport to Toa Payoh
Service 31 was extended and 36 was introduced an as a result, 149 was withdrawn. I was delighted when I saw mercedes O405 new x2 on the service but when 149 became partially aircon, I was dismayed and extremely disappointed that the NAC n113crbs replaced the mercedes NAC. I remembered 149 had the rego range from 232 all the way to 238 if I am not wrong.
Service 36 was not introduced as a result of this. Service 36 was actually re-numbered from service 16E, which was a peak-hour service introduced in Jan 1994, plying express between Stamford Rd/Bras Basah Rd and Changi Airport. In Dec 1997, service 16E was re-numbered service 36. The route was amended in Sep 1998 to become the present route (except for the slight amendment to skip Siglap Link).
I remember taking TIB137Y on 900 and TIB382E on 182 long long time ago . Not to forget, TIB424T on 951.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
Service 36 was not introduced as a result of this. Service 36 was actually re-numbered from service 16E, which was a peak-hour service introduced in Jan 1994, plying express between Stamford Rd/Bras Basah Rd and Changi Airport. In Dec 1997, service 16E was re-numbered service 36. The route was amended in Sep 1998 to become the present route (except for the slight amendment to skip Siglap Link).
i rememebered taking service 16E in the PM Peak with my Dad
Originally posted by Rk 2010:i remembered taking VO2x on 196, 189 and 14
I remebered:
Scania N113CRB NAC on service 14
VO2x on service 282 (short period of time)
VO2x on service 285 (one of them was 7290J)
MK4 DM and MK3 on service 173
Merc-Benz O405 DM NAC on service 172 & 185
MK3 on service 184
all these saw before.
MK4 on 67
MK2 on 188 and 77
VO2x on 367, 361, 282 and 285.
NAC MB0405 on 151
Good old memories....
When Serangoon was under AMDEP, it was a full Merc land. Miss those merc and suddenly get so unfamiliar with the buses soon after depot xfer to HGDEP.
Sv315
Never forgotten memories...NAC Merc O405
SBS3902D in particular
It's the bus which chiong so fast that my guides held in my hands nearly flew away. It's the bus which vibrates when BC step on the brake.
Then Mark II, 1734 1766. I'll be happy if I get mark II and sit at the seat behind the rear door then start to play on it..
Then NAC CRB, SBS3578G
WA and DM OAC Mercs: 157H, 204E, 403Y, 404U, 513M etc
Sv70
LO2x and LA then VO2x. After the fleet become all merc/LO fleet, there comes 3681 out of nowhere which shocks me when I first c it.
Sv107
Ahhhh, this sv become the usual service my family take to go home from suntec, shorter route, instead of sv133.
LO2x, Scania N113CRB (NAC), Merc O405 (0547R)
Still remember at ard 2002/03, when most buses r in SBST livery parking at S'goon Int, the outstanding ones, LO2x...
Sv55
Full merc fleet sv, majority ranging 391 - 396 (?). I rmb that sv55 has a number of 39x series merc in the past. 211J alr perm sv55 for a long time.
Sv73
Scania N113CRB. 3604P
Sv74, 165
Merc O305, 7093 7111 etc.
Merc O405 (165), 0553 0578 0581 etc
VO2x, 7227 7269 7273. I'll never forget 7227T, that was just after introduction of ezlink system and the BC login as sv328 when it was 165.
Sv132
LO3x, 9165 9176
VO2x, 7294(?)
Sv156 (S'goon)
Merc O405 (3888L)
Sv501 502 511 512
Sometimes, I c VO3x I run but aft i reach the bus stop, it was 511/512, not trunk svcs which i wanna take. Now all gone.
Sv103 (Both TIBS and SBS)
TIBS: When my family is heading for Bugis, I would always want to ride on 103 instead of 147, because I like TIBS buses in the past. Merc O405 (AC/NAC)
SBS: This time, I become neutral about sv103 but would still hope to ride on it because of Merc O405s. (243S etc). I rmb there was a period of time whereby there's like 3 or 4 sv103 buses get into accident and on the news on different days.
Some funny sv introduced from HG South Int till dunno where via S'goon North using SBST Merc. Sv788 or something like that, if I rmb correctly. Sort of a premium sv with soem 30mins? freq, sadly, i never try this sv.
Originally posted by Rk 2010:
i rememebered taking service 16E in the PM Peak with my Dad
Me too, & last time i rememebered taking VO2X on service 65, 132, 136 & 186 before...
Originally posted by ngjy22:Good old memories....
Some funny sv introduced from HG South Int till dunno where via S'goon North using SBST Merc. Sv788 or something like that, if I rmb correctly. Sort of a premium sv with soem 30mins? freq, sadly, i never try this sv.
Extracted from one of the BIH articles:
Turf Club 786: Hougang South Interchange – Singapore Turf Club / Kranji MRT Station
Operating Details:
Hougang South Interchange to Kranji MRT: 1600 hrs - 1645 hrs
Frequency: 15 mins
Kranji MRT – Hougang South Interchange: 2148 hrs – 2218 hrs
Frequency: 10 mins
Fare: $3 Flat Fare
Route Details:
Hougang South Interchange, (Hougang St 21), Hougang Ave 1, Lor Ah Soo, Upp Paya Lebar Rd, Boundary Rd, Yio Chu Kang Link, Yio Chu Kang Rd, Serangoon North Ave 1, Serangoon North Ave 4, Yio Chu Kang Rd, (CTE, SLE, BKE), Kranji MRT Station
Return via
Kranji MRT Station, (SLE, CTE), Yio Chu Kang Rd, Serangoon North Ave 4, Serangoon North Ave 1, Yio Chu Kang Rd, Yio Chu Kang Link, Boundary Rd, , Upp Paya Lebar Rd, Lor Ah Soo, Hougang Ave 1, (Hougang St 21), Hougang South Interchange
I still remember that but I miss the 2 DDs who are ex perm on 291 back in 2005. I still remember chasing the DD like mad just to take 2 stops.
The 2 regos are
SBS 9242 K [Now BNDEP 19]
SBS 9234 J [Now BNDEP 19]
I just hope that 291 can get a DD perm again.