MORE trains with about a third of their seats removed will ply the MRT tracks from next week, even as commuters yesterday said they found the trains no less crowded as a result.
An SMRT train with 84 of its 300 seats taken out made its debut 1-1/2 weeks ago.
One such train will be added to the network every week from next week, so that by the end of January, 10 modified trains will be in use along the SMRT's North-South and East-West lines during the morning peak hours.
Trains on the North-East Line are unaffected by this change, which the Land Transport Authority (LTA) says aims to give standing commuters more space.
The intention is not to fit more people on the train, it added.
But that seems to be what is happening. Nine of 10 commuters travelling during yesterday's morning rush hour told The Straits Times that they did not have any more room while standing.
And then when the crowds thinned, some stood, longing for a seat.
Customer service officer Sunarti Rohijan, 37, takes an hour-long ride every morning from Bukit Gombak to Tampines, and usually gets a seat from City Hall.
She said, as the train pulled into Aljunied station: 'It is not much different when it's crowded at Raffles Place and City Hall, but now, when it's emptier, I still have to stand all the way.'
Asked whether SMRT planned to roll out more than 10 trains with 84 fewer seats each, its chief executive Saw Phaik Hwa said she was aware that some people liked to have seats.
'So if you remove too many seats, people will say: 'Wow, why no seats?' So I think it's a balance of the two,' she said.
LTA said it was tracking the situation.
In an e-mail reply yesterday, it said that while some people preferred the seats to stay, others have said that their priority was to be able to board the train during the peak hour.
Removing some seats would thus raise people's chances of boarding the train and give standing commuters more room, it said.
=====================================================
instead of increasing the frequency of the trains they removed the seats.
this is crap leh.
how many more people can the train take after they remove the seats?
idiots.
Next time, there will be premium seating.
Go to the MRT station control and buy a $20 ticket to book a seat on the MRT.
Like airlines.
You want more leg room? Throw in another $10.
Don't blame me if this becomes reality. ![]()
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:this is crap leh.
idiots.
I agree with you. I think this is only gonna encourage more people to take buses instead.
btw, why's this in buses forum??
i dont see how it will give commuters more standing space.
its obvious the purpose is to pack more people into the train.
dun u think they can install those drawup seat? something like those drawup bridge in the medieval time? Wanna sit, just pull it down, else it will remain up and close to provide more standing room.
We talking about S'pore here. No matter what, still got inconsiderate people don't want to move further into the cabin. So with or without seats, I don't think it makes a difference.
I foresee the cabin will be packed like sardine.
I agree with the TS. They could have increased the frequency of the trains. Whats with the idea of removing the seats? It does not do anything much. If they really cared about the comfort of the passangers, they could so said, increase train frequency. What are a few seats going to do?
The train company in Melbourne is planning to do the same thing here too...... ![]()
less seats on trains might arouse more complaints from more people. even if they can pack more passengers in, they are buying new trains soon. they can just make trains come at a 1 minute frequency. i don't believe trains can be very packed, during peak hours, coming at 1 minute, even at high passenger flow city hall mrt. most passengers can still sit down and the trains will still be rather packed, but not so bad.
Probably this is abit related to bus - seats were removed a few years ago in buses to increase standing capacity lol.
Wondering why MK III/MKIVs no standee area - because no space to have standee area =.=
cheaper and easier to rip seat out when all u want is to ferry more people. rather then putting more train and work force to the track to achieve the same effect.
This is preposterous. Like the TS, I agree that increasing the frequency is the only viable option. It simply will not do to have more people standing.
Trains on the North-East Line are unaffected by this change, which the Land Transport Authority (LTA) says aims to give standing commuters more space.
The intention is not to fit more people on the train, it added.
I had to lol at this.
Seriously, if you remove the seats >>> More people can enter train >>> More people enter = more people standing >>> More people fitted on the train >>> Something you said would not happen.
Bunch of idiots.
Originally posted by EarlNeo:cheaper and easier to rip seat out when all u want is to ferry more people. rather then putting more train and work force to the track to achieve the same effect.
You should go look at Hong Kong's transport system.
Originally posted by BusSpeeder:less seats on trains might arouse more complaints from more people. even if they can pack more passengers in, they are buying new trains soon. they can just make trains come at a 1 minute frequency. i don't believe trains can be very packed, during peak hours, coming at 1 minute, even at high passenger flow city hall mrt. most passengers can still sit down and the trains will still be rather packed, but not so bad.
Apparently you don't know how greedy these pigs are...
Trains in 1 minute frequency >>> More drivers needed >>> More driver = More $$$ spent >>> Output of $$$ becomes high = Profits low.
Originally posted by Vendettus:This is preposterous. Like the TS, I agree that increasing the frequency is the only viable option. It simply will not do to have more people standing.
I had to lol at this.
Seriously, if you remove the seats >>> More people can enter train >>> More people enter = more people standing >>> More people fitted on the train >>> Something you said would not happen.
Bunch of idiots.
Contradictory of LTA's statement or engrish mistake.
But in turn, increasing trains means increasing expenditure to run the trains (train drivers, more electrical power), maybe become less revenue.
Originally posted by Vendettus:You should go look at Hong Kong's transport system.
Wat abt HK MTR? Beside MTR & rail travelling at a faster speed and having more ppl queuing up before broading the train. small private bus to compliment the main bus transport provider, tram that still run at a price that had never increase since after war war 2.....
wat's ur point again?
Originally posted by Vendettus:Apparently you don't know how greedy these pigs are...
Trains in 1 minute frequency >>> More drivers needed >>> More driver = More $$$ spent >>> Output of $$$ becomes high = Profits low.
yes it can be seen. but there will be more trains in a few years, surely frequency can become better? im also quite sure when frequency of trains are better, there would be more drivers who may be more willing to switch to public transport which in turn still increases their profits.
Well, we have an uncaring govt, so this is nothing surprising. Keep increasing fares and then provide fewer seats, we are short changed. They don't give a damn to provide need to the aging population to create more seats for the senior citizens.
Vote PAP out!
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:this is crap leh.
idiots.
Yes, they can cater to more people, standing can save space for more commuters to take the bus/train. But they fail to address the issue of providing need to the aging population. There are more and more people getting old and these people need seats in the bus and train. Just vote them out.
Originally posted by dragg:i dont see how it will give commuters more standing space.
its obvious the purpose is to pack more people into the train.
Pack more people by ignoring the needs of the elderly to have more seats to earn money for themselves. WE really have shitty uncaring gahmen. Please vote them out.
The frequencies are already running so short, you can't even make a seamless synchronised transfer at City Hall or Raffles Place because the trains can't even keep up to schedule with all that bunching.
And trains are spotted bunching and running at 2-minute headway into town at 9pm.
If this goes on, we really need new lines.
ayio, they should just put more trains into service!
cut down waiting time to 30 seconds, this way there will be less build up of people in the stations which means... less people in the train =)
Originally posted by TIB537B:Probably this is abit related to bus - seats were removed a few years ago in buses to increase standing capacity lol.
Wondering why MK III/MKIVs no standee area - because no space to have standee area =.=
the floor in the middle area too high lar, engine below. ppl stand will smack their heads against the a/c ducts.
yup... more line... is the solution. U want a bigger population.... then u gota provide the mean to support it. That line is reaching it limit. need other ways to improve communting such alternate starting hrs for work force, more line, spreadout work location all over sg.
if all ppl come out of their house at the same time going to the same location..... wat will happen?