lucky i din go..
i sweat sibei zhai wan..
whole shirt will wet de ![]()
Originally posted by ^tamago^:haha. yeah, somemore today so hot. :(
today supposed to rain one leh...NEA behkan.
Originally posted by n4l:Uhh...uhhh....
got SG FFW version?
15:53 (086) 68039
16:04 (070) TAS Receiving Station (alighted late due to failed attempt to catch 578)
16:43 (043) Paya Lebar MRT
16:47 (040) Tg Katong Complex
17:07 Opp Roxy Square
17:10 Roxy Square Basement
Originally posted by n4l:today supposed to rain one leh...NEA behkan.
jurong west got downpour a while den stop le in afternoon
Originally posted by n4l:today supposed to rain one leh...NEA behkan.
that's why i'm on sandals~
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
got SG FFW version?
No...for the amazing race there was this "fast forward", nothing to do with SBST's services
Originally posted by n4l:No...for the amazing race there was this "fast forward", nothing to do with SBST's services
oic, so u all FFW-ed from where to where?
and this amazing race got involve taking cameos/perms as part of the race?
for e.g: Took a pic of Volvo B9TL in East side services and find station master to show them ur pic.
Pit Stop Podium Position:
1st:
Tamago's Team
2nd:
Orange-mush's Team
3rd:
My Team (-tintinspartan-)
Only 3 Teams completed the final challenge and finished the race
Ngjy22's team
Tamago's team
Boon Yeow's Team
Congrats!
Retirements during the race:
My team was forced to retire (DNQ) from the race due to special reason.
All Other Teams did not complete the final challenge by 9 pm. The race ended 2 hours late.
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:but then at the finishing line, its like very challenging.. for me, i had to leave because i had to attend andy lau concert as wad u can see my pix of the B9tl on stadium dirrct. Disadvantage on travelling on Service 10 to vivo city is that the roads are massively jammed during the weekend peak hrs.
no wonder TTS said the special reason is cos of u
anyway, can any1 share what tasks did station master giv u all teams?
no wonder TTS said the special reason is cos of uanyway, can any1 share what tasks did station master giv u all teams?
Dun think thats the only reason :)
no wonder TTS said the special reason is cos of uanyway, can any1 share what tasks did station master giv u all teams?
Have to wait for the pictures to appear later as all the participants are tired.
Anyway, it is all based on your thinking skills. Got one checkpoint that have to take photo of something that is on a piece of paper. There's one where you have to shop for items and show it to the checkpoint master. There's one where you have to give the regos of 40 JB MK-IIIs or else answer deployment question.
There's one where you have to look around for guides and memerise their service numbers. There is one where you have to copy down bus timings.
The final challenge was to find any 4 Station Masters in the crowded Vivocity and ask for their sigs. For the benefit for those who did not get 4 sigs, here are the places where the station masters are spotted.
gorby107 -> Starbucks Coffee, Osim Roadshow (with Remi)
SBS9888Y -> Hiding amongst the kiddy rides outside B2 Giant (This was the most difficult person to find)
Scania N113CRB luver -> Standing patiently outside GV Vivocity
Scania and sbs_boy -> Sentosa Station, Sky Garden
SBS997A -> Level 2 Courtyard/Playground near to Carl's Jr
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
Have to wait for the pictures to appear later as all the participants are tired.
Scania N113CRB lover -> Standing patiently outside GV Vivocity
Scania N113CRB luver... TQ.
I came to understand how the race went about yesterday from the Race Crew and here are my comments.
Most of the participants seriously needs better thinking skills. There are many ways into reading the clue. As long as it does not violate the instructions given in the clue, you can do it. I understand Ben had some creative ideas on the clues and checkpoint tasks, of course with pepper spice and everything nice from the rest of the Race Crew. Good job.
Thanggam LRT for example. The clue tells you to "Copy down the timings...." Most of you REALLY went to copy down on pen and paper. You waste time travelling from the LRT station to the bus stop and back.. Fortunately the bus stop code was given, if not I think dunno which bus stop you all would find and copy down the timings. One of the teams was smart enough to snap the entire bus stop pole with timings and stuff then write them down on the way back to the checkpoint. Good job.
Thereafter they tell you to go to Roxy Square. Clue states that you can take the LRT. Please la even if you dont know the Parkway shuttle exists at least know there's an underlying reason why the clue allows you to take the LRT right? Alan's choice of taking 578 was a wise one but failed due to timing coordination. Knew you missed the Parkway shuttle that's why went to attempt 578?
Picking Sunshine place was a wise clue. There's three places in Singapore with the word Sunshine: One is Sunshine Terr at near Braddell/Bartley Rd junction, two is Sunshine Plaza at Middle Rd, last being the one at CCK.
I understand some teams do not know how to get from Rumah Tinggi to Vivo the fastest way. Take 63 transfer 145 ah? Wrong! In a race if you take this method you are at risk of falling behind man. Best way is to walk thru the HDB blocks to Alexandra Hospital stop and take any bus to Harbourfront.
I would recommend taking a systematic direction instead of a runaround race. Going from amdep to Pasir Ris and back to Jln Kayu is a waste of time. Other than that the flow was managable.
I also recommend scaling down the coverage area to prevent teams from lagging too far behind and had to catch up by skipping the stations. Maybe concentrate in a few HDB towns, or CBD area or even somewhere ulu or something.
I understand the tasks at the checkpoints were quite challenging and had adequate coverage of some of the basic knowledge a bus enthusiast would need to know. However, one aspect was missed out almost totally. Instead of focusing on checkpoint tasks, the clue from one checkpoint to another should be more focused on the route to getting there. For example, from Pt A to Pt B there are 4 direct routes, 5 routes that require 1 xfer, and 9 routes that require 2 xfers. The clue can state the place of the next checkpoint, and then at the bottom state the route that the team should take e.g. Your route should only consist of 1 transfer only, or Your route should consist of passing by XYA Bldg / plying XTE Rd. This way you can minimise the chances of the team being lost and falling behind.
Overall, good job though I believe there's lots of room for improvement. Keep it up.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
Anyway, it is all based on your thinking skills. Got one checkpoint that have to take photo of something that is on a piece of paper. There's one where you have to shop for items and show it to the checkpoint master. There's one where you have to give the regos of 40 JB MK-IIIs or else answer deployment question.
There's one where you have to look around for guides and memerise their service numbers. There is one where you have to copy down bus timings.
The final challenge was to find any 4 Station Masters in the crowded Vivocity and ask for their sigs. For the benefit for those who did not get 4 sigs, here are the places where the station masters are spotted.
gorby107 -> Starbucks Coffee, Osim Roadshow (with Remi)
SBS9888Y -> Hiding amongst the kiddy rides outside B2 Giant (This was the most difficult person to find)
Scania N113CRB luver -> Standing patiently outside GV Vivocity
Scania and sbs_boy -> Sentosa Station, Sky Garden
SBS997A -> Level 2 Courtyard/Playground near to Carl's Jr
No wonder.we found everyone except ben.we found victor,gorby107 and scania N113CRB luver.we found gorby107 immediately after we entered vivocity.but we went round and round for almost 1 hour searching for ben but couldnt find him.haizz.really wasted man.we collected 3 signatures and just had to get one more signature.but we couldnt find ben just because he was hiding so well among the crowd.
Yeah after the last team left Rumah Tinggi, I walked down the 'shortcut', got a s855 bus in about 5 minutes, but there was still the jam at Vivo City...
Overall travelling time slightly less than 20 minutes...
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Yeah after the last team left Rumah Tinggi, I walked down the 'shortcut', got a s855 bus in about 5 minutes, but there was still the jam at Vivo City...
Yeah.our team and another team also caught 855.we immediately caught it after walking out to Alexandra Rd from Rumah Tinggi Terminal.lucky we caught that 855.if not it would have been very late.
nice ZF sounds on the Parkway Parade Shuttle PA62B, which is a Volvo B7R with Volvo D7B engine.
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Yeah after the last team left Rumah Tinggi, I walked down the 'shortcut', got a s855 bus in about 5 minutes, but there was still the jam at Vivo City...
Walk out of Rumah Tinggi and caught a Sv855. Though had to wait for 10 minutes but the female SL was very "professional". xD
Flooring the accelerator while weaving in and out of the jam at Telok Blangah Rd. She even cut from 1st lane to the left-most lane right before the bus stop. ![]()
Think she's too used to driving OC on her perm service 811 so give her Lance... she also step lah! ![]()
like i said its not easy to spot me even out on the roads unless i purposely be obvious.
actually was supposed to be amdep - thanggam - pasir ris - roxy. however, we were thinking of making it more complexed and creative with the PP shuttle and interesting bus links. This is the model answer.
Toa Payoh Central - Sunshin Place.
Service 105 or 153 transfer Service 190 at Whitley Road to Teck Whye Ave transfer 172.
Sunshine Place - Sembawang Shopping Centre.
Service 975 transfer Service 171 at Bukit Panjang Rd transfer Service 167/980 at Sembawang Rd.
Sembawang Shopping Centre - opp Ang Mo Kio Depot
Service 856/858/859 transfer Service 854/857 at Yishun Ave 2.
opp Ang Mo Kio Depot - Pasir Ris Town Park
Service 86 transfer Service 39 at Jln Kayu.
Pasir Ris Town Park - Thanggam
Service 39 change Service 86/103/103M at Jalan Kayu.
Thanggam - Roxy Sq
LRT to Sengkang change PP Shuttle or Service 858 from Jalan Kayu change Service 36 at Airport Blvd.
Roxy Sq - Rumah Tinggi Terminal
Service 48 to Rochor Rd walk to North Bridge Rd change 63.
Rumah Tinggi Terminal - Vivo City
Use the elevator to Jln Bukit Merah and hop on to Service 855.
Originally posted by service_238:Thereafter they tell you to go to Roxy Square. Clue states that you can take the LRT. Please la even if you dont know the Parkway shuttle exists at least know there's an underlying reason why the clue allows you to take the LRT right? Alan's choice of taking 578 was a wise one but failed due to timing coordination. Knew you missed the Parkway shuttle that's why went to attempt 578?
I understand the tasks at the checkpoints were quite challenging and had adequate coverage of some of the basic knowledge a bus enthusiast would need to know. However, one aspect was missed out almost totally. Instead of focusing on checkpoint tasks, the clue from one checkpoint to another should be more focused on the route to getting there. For example, from Pt A to Pt B there are 4 direct routes, 5 routes that require 1 xfer, and 9 routes that require 2 xfers. The clue can state the place of the next checkpoint, and then at the bottom state the route that the team should take e.g. Your route should only consist of 1 transfer only, or Your route should consist of passing by XYA Bldg / plying XTE Rd. This way you can minimise the chances of the team being lost and falling behind.
1. Uhh, uhh...hahahaha. We missed 578 by 10 seconds. Literally losing hope when we were on 70 and it was shaking its way to Paya Lebar. Also, clues might not be helpful afterall - the planner could have just given the clue as a distractor.
2. This removes the overtaking factor of the race. The first person will always stay the first, and the last will always stay the last (okay, then maybe the only overtaking factor would be your speed of getting off the bus and to the checkpoint). Everyone would bunch up on the same bus if they're forced to do a certain route just like in the first three checkpoints - considering that our buses don't come every 2 minutes and overtake each other. The last checkpoint at Rumah Tinggi was a bad choice since everyone only had 1 choice of bus to head to the checkpoint unless you walked.