The part where SMRT tried to turn route 178 into a peak-hour route and shorten route 852 had me going, "WHAT?!". Good thing the Public Transport Council rejected these two totally idiotic, profit-motivated cutbacks, but the fact that SMRT had the cheek to take these two right up to the PTC shows how pathetic they have become.
Are they trying to generate more money so Saw Phaik Hwa can continue going for her hair-recoluring sessions in these bad times?
Remembered that service 852 was almost gone in 1996. Service 852 was planned to be withdrawn on 10 March 1996 after Woodlands line opened on 10 Feb 1996. It was indicated in Transitlink guide 1996 as a soon-to-be-withdrawn service. In the end the withdrawal was not inplemented, only a cutback in route: Yishun - Boon Lay became Yishun - Bukit Batok.
seriously i think, svc 852 shudnt be changed. just keep it that way. bkt batok - yishun, quite a good link.
852 must stay!
I have heard this recommendation countless times before: extend route 852 to Sembawang. If route 852 is really that kind of "unprofitable but necessary" routes, they should really consider extending it to Sembawang to make it profitable, rather than to try axing it! Look at what happened to the old route 59 - TIBS then extended this dying route to Sengkang and turned it into route 866, and today it enjoys brisk business as SBS Transit's route 86!
Luckily.....those rejections are justified by PTC..... phew.....
Originally posted by wsy1234:232 will go back to white and green plate service again like last time. but I think white will turn into lor 8 from lor 7 and goto bus interchange from there. as green plate will be normal as it is now.
Turn into lor 8 from lor 7? Why?
Foresee a fleet reduction in Svc 238. The AM peak downroutes may also be gone.
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:seriously i think, svc 852 shudnt be changed. just keep it that way. bkt batok - yishun, quite a good link.
And it links up BBT and AMK rather fast too, my ride on CSS191X took me about 30mins only.
next thing for 178 & 852, withdraw it altogether ![]()
113 & 119 merger dunno how it would go
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:The part where SMRT tried to turn route 178 into a peak-hour route and shorten route 852 had me going, "WHAT?!". Good thing the Public Transport Council rejected these two totally idiotic, profit-motivated cutbacks, but the fact that SMRT had the cheek to take these two right up to the PTC shows how pathetic they have become.
Are they trying to generate more money so Saw Phaik Hwa can continue going for her hair-recoluring sessions in these bad times?
I think it's more of slowly giving up operating public buses.. macham cherry pick, not profitable dun want to maintain liao
SVC 852 is best way to stay which can allow passengers to sit in the bus rather stand in mrt train during peak hours but longer than travelling time.
MRT -30 mins
SVC 852-45 mins depending on traffic conditions
hey sbs275,what is your opinions if i want to voice out my suggestions?
New bus to introducted
Yishun INT to be looped in CCK Int via Woodlands area.
Please give me opinions.Thanks!
Originally posted by phillipC:Oh IC.. I thought there is no restriction on these premium services. thanks.
If I didnt remember wrongly, a maximum of 2 operators can operate on the same route.
I guess PTC doesn't want SMRT to reduce fleet of svc 190 and 700 to accomodate the introduction of this new premium service. Maybe the service duplicates 190 and 700 too much - ensuring continued basic provisions for trunk service?
Originally posted by Junyang700:If I didnt remember wrongly, a maximum of 2 operators can operate on the same route.
I guess PTC doesn't want SMRT to reduce fleet of svc 190 and 700 to accomodate the introduction of this new premium service. Maybe the service duplicates 190 and 700 too much - ensuring continued basic provisions for trunk service?
SBS Svc 566 and SMRT svc 547 duplciate operateat meyer rd is eg
ZYX
Originally posted by sbs8104h:852 must stay!
I dunno how Sv 852 would survive when the frequency is really bad. I know that it is a vital link and it should stay. I think Sv 852 should return to AMDEP since AMDEP Days frequency is more better than the now WLDEP Days frequency.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
I dunno how Sv 852 would survive when the frequency is really bad. I know that it is a vital link and it should stay. I think Sv 852 should return to AMDEP since AMDEP Days frequency is more better than the now WLDEP Days frequency.
852...bad frequency..i dunno why everyone says its bad when i think its just right...i don't really have much/any problems waiting for 852.
Originally posted by n4l:852...bad frequency..i dunno why everyone says its bad when i think its just right...i don't really have much/any problems waiting for 852.
i dun find much problems too, despite occasionnal longer wating time..
freq bad = cannot survive? You can think anot.. if freq bad = cannot survive all the bus svc with bad freq would have been withdrawn.
Originally posted by nenepokey:i dun find much problems too, despite occasionnal longer wating time..
in fact, everytime i'm waiting for 74/851. 852 always comes :|.
Originally posted by n4l:in fact, everytime i'm waiting for 74/851. 852 always comes :|.
I don't know. Every time i am at Bukit Batok at around 5 - 6 pm on some other days, there is simply no Sv 852 buses at the berths. I think i was there at the wrong time to see the true frequency of Sv 852 or partly due to the jams on weekdays at Bukit Timah.
All heading towards Yishun, stuck in the jam twds there at Adam/Lornie. Lesser buses on the other direction twds BB.
Originally posted by n4l:in fact, everytime i'm waiting for 74/851. 852 always comes :|.
Well... if u want the bus that u want to come, the one which u do not need to arrive comes.
Is the jam at lornie rd really that bad??? sry but ive nvr been 2 lornie rd