Has any one taken a Scania K230UB with a BC who drives fast? Want to know how fast is the Scania acceleration.
I took one last week Service 174 SBS8034B, and the acceleration is very slow. Bus was quite crowded. BC looks young, seems like not stepping on gas. Tachometer shows upshifts at below 1500rpm.
Anyone has any idea how fast the KUB can go?
60km/h lor.
damn fast. service 27. 2nd last bus frm airport.
some more he purposely only leave T2 when the last 27 bus arrive behind. then he cheong.
Taken 1 @ 75km/h.
kub pickup much better than the b10m
overall kub has a fast acceleration just that BCs dun dare to step on the pedal for the fear of using the sharp brakes. light tap on the brakes can cause a big jerk alr.
i took 8060a, the BC murdered the bus like a maniac.
Originally posted by SBS1985C:Taken 1 @ 75km/h.
alot of bndep ones esp 36, as usual, tuned that way, i plan to submit a complain to lta soon.
Originally posted by sinicker:damn fast. service 27. 2nd last bus frm airport.
fast meh? i dont think so. mostly go about 61 or 62km not like the one that the strider guy said...
see how BC is adapted to drive on KUB, i seat most drive at 60 kph, still ahve not encounter 75 kph
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:alot of bndep ones esp 36, as usual, tuned that way, i plan to submit a complain to lta soon.
for free tickets???
Originally posted by SBS1985C:Taken 1 @ 75km/h.
May i know what is the rego, can PM me?
New generation KUBs citybuses acceleration @ mid top speed are fast than than any other 6 cylinders citybuses.But lack of top speed power though.Thats the advantage of having 5 cylinders on a 9000cc citybuses,Good for urban city like SG.
Originally posted by bus555:
fast meh? i dont think so. mostly go about 61 or 62km not like the one that the strider guy said...
Aiyo all most all bus kenna lock at 60kph as for a K230 is lock at 62kph for HGDEP Scania la for other i don really know
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:see how BC is adapted to drive on KUB, i seat most drive at 60 kph, still ahve not encounter 75 kph
Got but then have is have but then you have to see the BC if he want to step or not la most of the time no 1 run more then 60kph later kenna catch by TP :P
Originally posted by SBS997A:
Got but then have is have but then you have to see the BC if he want to step or not la most of the time no 1 run more then 60kph later kenna catch by TP :P
Whats the rego of the K230 that we took ar? I forgot liao. :x
kub pickup is better than B10M, mainly due to the starting rpm of its torque band.
its torque availability starts from much lower than the B10M engine.
Originally posted by n4l:60km/h lor.
Ive taken 1 that went 75km/h.
Originally posted by BB2001:Has any one taken a Scania K230UB with a BC who drives fast? Want to know how fast is the Scania acceleration.
I took one last week Service 174 SBS8034B, and the acceleration is very slow. Bus was quite crowded. BC looks young, seems like not stepping on gas. Tachometer shows upshifts at below 1500rpm.
Anyone has any idea how fast the KUB can go?
No limiter.Can go as fast as it can.See BC wan anot only.Experienced a BC on svc 18 on ave 2 driving 70km/h.
Originally posted by sBs_boy:Ive taken 1 that went 75km/h.
Well, rightfully speaking it should be 60km/h... ;).
Originally posted by n4l:Well, rightfully speaking it should be 60km/h... ;).
haha, the thingy spoil liao or isit BC go set here and there?
Acceleration wise...
SBS8207U, recommended, can go high RPM from first gear.
B9TL got the "ding ding" sound when the bus is moving at higher speed, issit the speed limiter made that sound?
the ding ding is when the bus hits 50km or more!
Originally posted by SBS8033D:haha, the thingy spoil liao or isit BC go set here and there?
Both also possible mah... (:
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:B9TL got the "ding ding" sound when the bus is moving at higher speed, issit the speed limiter made that sound?
ding dong ding dong, that sound sounds nice after all, but has a reason coz of the limiter. Buses at most can go 60 km/h, but if you see go speeding from the gauges, then you may be wrong.Always hear it when onboard 161 at SLE/TPE.
The Scania DC9 engine has a very wide band of engine speeds where maximum torque is available. Maximum torque of the base-model (DC9 16 230 Euro 4) engine is 1050Nm @ 1100-1500rpm. The engine runs optimally at engine speeds between 1100rpm and 1700rpm although quite often the maximum engine speed is limited by transmission settings.
In contrast, the engines in the Volvo B10Ms have a very narrow band of engine speeds where maximum torque is available. The THD102KF has 1050Nm (same as the DC9 16 230) but maximum torque is available only at 1400rpm. The torque curve drops substantially below and above 1400rpm. In order to obtain the best acceleration from the THD102KF, the driver needs to use the power of the engine and allow engine revs to remain high.
In my opinion, the best city bus engine has 6 cylinders, (a) variable geometry turbocharger(s), displacement of between 10 and 12-litres, a power rating of between 185kW and 240kW available at as low as possible engine speed, and 1100Nm or greater torque available between 1000-1400rpm or wider. The engine should be hooked to a 5-speed ZF transmission with a high-speed diff. The top speed should be electronically limited.
Regards,
Dave