Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:erm...not celing leaks leh..dun anyhow says...is the drainning of roof water to the side of the interchange...see the state of Hougang Int....see which int need maintance faster
HG much better than Bedok :x
I read somewhere that Bedok Bus Interchange is the oldest existing bus interchange in Singapore if I remember correctly; that bus interchange, I believe, has seen both the birth and death of CSS throughout it's entire venerable life. In fact, there's even an old 1970's era CSS bus guide somewhere in the Lee Kong Chian (sp?) Reference Library whose cover shows a very old CSS bus on route 608 (then simply route 8) at Bedok Bus Interchange, which looks virtually the same as it is today!
Another remarkable fact about the interchange is this: at one time, it was the only bus interchange in Singapore that was receiving high-floor, low-floor, air-conditoned, non air-conditioned, SBS Transit, SMRT (then TIBS), CSS, single-deck, double-deck, bendy (both SMRT's and SBS Transit's two bendy bus demonstrators), diesel, and CNG buses all at one go.
Originally posted by Scania:Actually remarkable, all these while Bedok Int is around, Toa Payoh changed 4 interchanges/terminals.
4 interchanges and terminals? Are you counting in the temporary bus interchange here? If that's so, then when was that structure that existed before that temporary facility built? What was the original one like?
If I'm not mistaken, the very first one is where the present town park is. these can be seen from old pictures, iirc.
2nd: Then it shifted opposite, where the present interchange is now and was all the way there till aircon interchange was announced.
3rd: While the 2nd interchange was being demolished for the airconditioned one, it shifted to back to opposite toa payoh town park (nearer to the PIE side), had something like the boon lay temp interchange structure...but it was split into 2 sections like bedok, with only one entrance/exit.
4th: Then it shifted back to the present airconed one.
Or at least that's what I vaguely recall from a long time back. Someone confirm or verify this :x.
Originally posted by n4l:Original one was at the present position of the interchange now. pictures of the non aircon interchange structure can be found in some old pictures.
Then it shifted to opposite toa payoh town park (nearer to the PIE side), had something like the boon lay temp interchange structure...
Then it shifted back to the present airconed one.
Edit: noticed that you edited your post to clarify. This post is hence no longer needed.
Bedok Interchange is really old in my opinion. From what you guys said here that the Interchange is built in early 80's, that may have well reflects it's age as the interchange sees heavy traffic of N113CRBs, MK3, VSO, B9TL and many other models. The road have a few cracks here and there.
I am looking forward for it to be modernized for the demands of today.
OT: If I am not wrong, there used to be a KFC kiosk near the Interchange Office in 1998. Can anyone confirm it's existence back then?
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:4 interchanges and terminals? Are you counting in the temporary bus interchange here? If that's so, then when was that structure that existed before that temporary facility built? What was the original one like?
Excluding the United Bus Company one at Lorong 1 Blk 110, ie only the ones at Toa Payoh Central, there have been 4 changes, ie 5 terminals altogether.
1st one was just a bus park AFAIK, no boarding and alighting allowed, located on the plot of land between Lor 2 and Toa Payoh Centre's service road (ie the current road leading to HDB Hub and Blk 190). Boarding was done outside Blk 192, and alighting was done opposite or at the bus stop outside Blk 175.
2nd one was a temporary one, the terminal had to be shifted becuase of MRT construction. This one was located on the plot of land beside 184 and 188 (the old hawker centre, now Blk 470, aka Crystal Jade).
3rd one was the more famous one, the "permanent" structure, located between the service road and the current feeder alighting berths (the current alighting berths is (almost) at the same location as the old one). This one had a block number, Blk 189 and was built possibly under the same contract as Blk 180 (MRT & Singapore's first aircon food court) and Blk 190 (the row of shops with MSCP above). The bus stops outside and opposite Blk 192 were abolished.
4th one is another temporary one, this was built due to the construction of the HDB Hub (someone decided to move from Bukit Merah). This is located at Toa Payoh town garden, and caused the tower in the garden to be temporarily part of the interchange. The current bus stops outside and opposite Blk 192 were created then to allow people to board at the town centre without walking a long distance and crossing the road to the interchange. One interesting note is that both 232 White plate and 232 Green plate used the bus stop outside Blk 192 (52509)
5th one is the current one, opened on 19th May 2002. Still looks quite new.
Originally posted by Scania:Excluding the United Bus Company one at Lorong 1 Blk 110, ie only the ones at Toa Payoh Central, there have been 4 changes, ie 5 terminals altogether.
1st one was just a bus park AFAIK, no boarding and alighting allowed, located on the plot of land between Lor 2 and Toa Payoh Centre's service road (ie the current road leading to HDB Hub and Blk 190). Boarding was done outside Blk 192, and alighting was done opposite or at the bus stop outside Blk 175.
2nd one was a temporary one, the terminal had to be shifted becuase of MRT construction. This one was located on the plot of land beside 184 and 188 (the old hawker centre, now Blk 470, aka Crystal Jade).
3rd one was the more famous one, the "permanent" structure, located between the service road and the current feeder alighting berths (the current alighting berths is (almost) at the same location as the old one). This one had a block number, Blk 189 and was built possibly under the same contract as Blk 180 (MRT & Singapore's first aircon food court) and Blk 190 (the row of shops with MSCP above). The bus stops outside and opposite Blk 192 were abolished.
4th one is another temporary one, this was built due to the construction of the HDB Hub (someone decided to move from Bukit Merah). This is located at Toa Payoh town garden, and caused the tower in the garden to be temporarily part of the interchange. The current bus stops outside and opposite Blk 192 were created then to allow people to board at the town centre without walking a long distance and crossing the road to the interchange. One interesting note is that both 232 White plate and 232 Green plate used the bus stop outside Blk 192 (52509)
Hi!
Seems like I got only the 3rd/4th/5th one partially right :).
Then may I enquire where were these pictures taken from? They seem like they were taken from the direction of the current town park towards block 190...I vaguely have an impression of those places...but I can't exactly pinpoint the whereabouts or maybe I'm simply just dreaming :D. But I know I've definitely been to the one before the demolishment in 1999 as 139 had been rerouted to ply Whampoa before the demolishment.
http://suhirman.fotopic.net/p47787226.html
http://suhirman.fotopic.net/p47787215.html
Thanks!
Originally posted by tintinspartan:Bedok Interchange is really old in my opinion. From what you guys said here that the Interchange is built in early 80's, that may have well reflects it's age as the interchange sees heavy traffic of N113CRBs, MK3, VSO, B9TL and many other models. The road have a few cracks here and there.
I am looking forward for it to be modernized for the demands of today.
OT: If I am not wrong, there used to be a KFC kiosk near the Interchange Office in 1998. Can anyone confirm it's existence back then?
yes tintin.. there used to be a KFC there.. but its existence is ill-fated.. lol..
Originally posted by Scania:Excluding the United Bus Company one at Lorong 1 Blk 110, ie only the ones at Toa Payoh Central, there have been 4 changes, ie 5 terminals altogether.
wow thanks! a bit of history there... hehe i miss the old toa payoh central... :)
Originally posted by n4l:Hi!
Seems like I got only the 3rd/4th/5th one partially right :).
Then may I enquire where were these pictures taken from? They seem like they were taken from the direction of the current town park towards block 190...I vaguely have an impression of those places...but I can't exactly pinpoint the whereabouts or maybe I'm simply just dreaming :D. But I know I've definitely been to the one before the demolishment in 1999 as 139 had been rerouted to ply Whampoa before the demolishment.
http://suhirman.fotopic.net/p47787226.html
http://suhirman.fotopic.net/p47787215.html
Thanks!
yes.. the picture taken from the direction of the town park.
I tot the 3rd one was built in around 1983? If i am not wrong, the interchange was there before the MSCP and foodcourt were built. Then the interchange was extended slightly to join the MRT, and Sv 155 park at the lots nearest to the MRT station? cant really remember so well also.
Originally posted by lemon1974:yes.. the picture taken from the direction of the town park.
Okay..then it wouldn't be the temporary structure in 1999 right? I don't recall the temporary structure looking like this but instead had a tall red structure very close to the PIE exit/entrance...hmm....so which one was it? Scania didn't mention this interchange in the picture in his post I think.
Originally posted by n4l:Okay..then it wouldn't be the temporary structure in 1999 right? I don't recall the temporary structure looking like this but instead had a tall red structure very close to the PIE exit/entrance...hmm....so which one was it? Scania didn't mention this one in his post I think.
the interchange in the pictures is old permanent interchange (since 1983 or 84 -not too sure). You can see the old Toa payoh Cinema in the background (whichis the current Toa payoh entertainment complex). This is situated on the current HDB Hub main office area which incorporate the interchange as well. The temporary structure is mention by Scania in his Point 4. The tall structure is the town park tower..
Originally posted by lemon1974:the interchange in the pictures is old permanent interchange (since 1983 or 84 -not too sure). You can see the old Toa payoh Cinema in the background (whichis the current Toa payoh entertainment complex). This is situated on the current HDB Hub main office area which incorporate the interchange as well. The temporary structure is mention by Scania in his Point 4. The tall structure is the town park tower..
Okay...from the picture, the cinema is opposite the interchange with a road in the middle as seen from the cars (not sure if its the service road or lorong 6), and since the picture was taken from the direction of the town park into central, the interchange would have been at the side of the town park from what I gather...
Anyway, I'll reread this tomorrow, seemingly I'm not getting it..maybe just tired. If I still don't get it, maybe I'll just look up some old reference books.
Thanks alot!
By the way, the tall red strucutre I was referring to was not the town park tower ;). That was somewhere in the middle iirc, near where the buses park. I was referring to the metal structure of the interchange itself which had its back facing the slip road into PIE.
Originally posted by lemon1974:the interchange in the pictures is old permanent interchange (since 1983 or 84 -not too sure). You can see the old Toa payoh Cinema in the background (whichis the current Toa payoh entertainment complex). This is situated on the current HDB Hub main office area which incorporate the interchange as well. The temporary structure is mention by Scania in his Point 4. The tall structure is the town park tower..
Eh, it was since the completion of Toa Payoh MRT station, definitely not 1984, 1984, they were still using the temporary one. Maybe 1985, Toa Payoh station TOP in 1985.
Originally posted by lemon1974:I tot the 3rd one was built in around 1983? If i am not wrong, the interchange was there before the MSCP and foodcourt were built. Then the interchange was extended slightly to join the MRT, and Sv 155 park at the lots nearest to the MRT station? cant really remember so well also.
163 was nearest the mrt.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:I read somewhere that Bedok Bus Interchange is the oldest existing bus interchange in Singapore if I remember correctly; that bus interchange, I believe, has seen both the birth and death of CSS throughout it's entire venerable life. In fact, there's even an old 1970's era CSS bus guide somewhere in the Lee Kong Chian (sp?) Reference Library whose cover shows a very old CSS bus on route 608 (then simply route 8) at Bedok Bus Interchange, which looks virtually the same as it is today!
Another remarkable fact about the interchange is this: at one time, it was the only bus interchange in Singapore that was receiving high-floor, low-floor, air-conditoned, non air-conditioned, SBS Transit, SMRT (then TIBS), CSS, single-deck, double-deck, bendy (both SMRT's and SBS Transit's two bendy bus demonstrators), diesel, and CNG buses all at one go.
CNG bus, 1 nia.
Debris falling becomes a nostalgia thread.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:163 was nearest the mrt.
155 was the nearest. It later moved to near the Blk 188 FC that row when 149 was merged with 31. the old lots became vacant and 163 was the nearest until it closed in 1998.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:CNG bus, 1 nia.
but better than some interchanges..none...
Originally posted by n4l:HG much better than Bedok :x
Newer......![]()
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:CNG bus, 1 nia.
Svc 66
Originally posted by n4l:HG much better than Bedok :x
But when it comes to rainy day
It is another story...