Originally posted by chifan:more detailed layout of the upcoming interchange
edit: finally figured out how to post photo here....
Notice there's an extra-long berth among the one opposite to the end-on ones; I believe that those are alighting berths, and seems like they have designed one specially for bendy buses. Also note the two extra-long saw-tooth berths, also for bendy buses I assume.
I could rather believe that all SMRT bus routes will be assigned to the two extra-long saw-tooth berths; two saw-tooth berths shared among four routes should be enough. Besides, if SMRT wants to deploy bendy buses on route 178 in the future (unlikely, but you never know), they will be able to do so at any time, with minimal fuss, and without having to shift berths.
I think that will be 4 service in each berth for sawtooth and I think that 172,180 & 187 won't get side berth but not too sure for 178.
Went to have a look at the new JP this afternoon. Quite nice and spacious but damn crowded. However, i'm worried that the bus interchange will turn out to be worse than the sengkang one in terms of the ventilation.
1) Like Sengkang, the sawtooth berth side is totally sheltered. Fairprice Xtra is above it. Fortunately, the end on side looked unsheltered like TPY int when i passed by on 157.
2) Only 3 sides of Sengkang Int is covered. The 4th is open and allows ventilation. Judging from the floor plan, only the entrance/exit of the new BNL Int allows circulation with the outside air.
3) There are far more services at the BNL Int compared to Sengkang. There are also many of the more polluting VO2x.
I really hope they have learnt the lesson of Sengkang and do something abt the ventilation. Otherwise ppl have to hold their breath for 2 min while the NAC VO2 gets out of the Int. :P
Originally posted by tvcnq:
3) There are far more services at the BNL Int compared to Sengkang. There are also many of the more polluting VO2x.
I really hope they have learnt the lesson of Sengkang and do something abt the ventilation. Otherwise ppl have to hold their breath for 2 min while the NAC VO2 gets out of the Int. :P
Do u feel stuffy when u r waiting bus at the Changi Airport T1-3 bus stops?
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Do u feel stuffy when u r waiting bus at the Changi Airport T1-3 bus stops?
Eh, the answer is a yes, especially if you wait for 858.
Originally posted by Scania:Eh, the answer is a yes, especially if you wait for 858.
my way of stuffy is like some carpark that feel so hot and may suffer difficulty breathing(worst). At least I nv sweat when I am waiting for the Service 36 for 25mins.
Changi Airport has good ventilation system. If you were to get stuffy, something is wrong beacuse no one feel stuffy in there. In fact, it's quite windy over there
Originally posted by sbs8104h:Changi Airport has good ventilation system. If you were to get stuffy, something is wrong beacuse no one feel stuffy in there. In fact, it's quite windy over there
So I think similar thing would be done on BNL. Dunno this is built by JP or LTA?
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
my way of stuffy is like some carpark that feel so hot and may suffer difficulty breathing(worst). At least I nv sweat when I am waiting for the Service 36 for 25mins.
Still okays, i dun sweat also, instead of felling hot...divert attention to the scenery a.k.a buses also
if you feel hot... divert to the buses. when the bus past right by you, wind will come
the service at the current interchange are..
Trunks: 30, 79, 154, 157, 174, 174e, 179, 181, 182, 192, 193, 194, 198, 199, 172, 178, 180 & 187
Feeder: 240, 242, 243w & 243g
J-I-S: 246, 249, 251, 252**, 254, 255 & 257
In my mind..
Service might move to Joo koon Int / terminal
246 **, 251, 255, 257, 182, 192 & 185
** service 246 and 252 can be merge service from joo koon to boon lay drive so that can help the workers who work at joo koon and stay at taman jurong and boon lay place
Service might stay at Boon Lay Int
- at sawtooth
all feeder service, 172, 179, 187 180, 181, 193, 194, 199, 249
- at end-of-berth
30, 79, 154, 157, 174, 174e, 198, 178
What do you all think guys?
Originally posted by Khairiano:
the service at the current interchange are..
Trunks: 30, 79, 154, 157, 174, 174e, 179, 181, 182, 192, 193, 194, 198, 199, 172, 178, 180 & 187
Feeder: 240, 242, 243w & 243g
J-I-S: 246, 249, 251, 252**, 254, 255 & 257
In my mind..
Service might move to Joo koon Int / terminal
246 **, 251, 255, 257, 182, 192 & 185
** service 246 and 252 can be merge service from joo koon to boon lay drive so that can help the workers who work at joo koon and stay at taman jurong and boon lay place
Service might stay at Boon Lay Int
- at sawtooth
all feeder service, 172, 179, 187 180, 181, 193, 194, 199, 249
- at end-of-berth
30, 79, 154, 157, 174, 174e, 198, 178
What do you all think guys?
the end of berth cant have svc 79... coz the bus leaves the int as soon as it arrives at the int for picking up passengers. It's like a loop svc from JE.
so, the end of berth will be 30, 154, 157, 172, 174/174e, 178,198
Originally posted by azharjj:the end of berth cant have svc 79... coz the bus leaves the int as soon as it arrives at the int for picking up passengers. It's like a loop svc from JE.
ya hor.. forgot liao..
wat do u think there got new service?
maybe layout same as the old one.
Originally posted by Junyang700:I hope the design of this new bus interchange is better and you do not have to walk that much. I really pity those NTU students. They seriously walk a lot from Jurong Point to get to the 179 bus bay.
If you see the 179 "chang long" at the temp one, it is so long, so it's located at the last 3 berths.
179, 199 & 252 gotta be at e end of e Interchange
Originally posted by SBS8033D:If you see the 179 "chang long" at the temp one, it is so long, so it's located at the last 3 berths.
yea.. im pity of those student.. hope the new bus interchange will more friendly for student taking 179..
actually i, as an NTU student, have no qualms with the distance, but only in the morning peak...
but when there is no queue/off-peak hrs, then you wonder why on earth the berth is so far! furthermore, i've had 3 to 5 instances when i ran the entire length of the bus int for the 179 and missed it! not that good for someone who runs pretty fast.
at least we wait in aircon soon enough.
Originally posted by Khairiano:
yea.. im pity of those student.. hope the new bus interchange will more friendly for student taking 179..
too near, during AM peak the entire MRT entrance area is going to be chaotic w/ snake line of queues
there's a reason why it's placed way to e end
i wonder, let say there's a new service 179B from pioneer station to the nanyang on am shift and pm shift like 179A.. how ehk??
im scared sbs need to deploy more bus liao..
Originally posted by azharjj:the end of berth cant have svc 79... coz the bus leaves the int as soon as it arrives at the int for picking up passengers. It's like a loop svc from JE.
172 should be ended up in sawtooth berth also since it uses bendies and bendies cannot use end-on berth.
Originally posted by Khairiano:i wonder, let say there's a new service 179B from pioneer station to the nanyang on am shift and pm shift like 179A.. how ehk??
im scared sbs need to deploy more bus liao..
I believes that 179A will be shortened to Pioneer station.
As for the 246 and 252 merger in which you mentioned just now, it needs to ensure that it passby Boon Lay station in its route so as to convienence the workers travelling between Boon Lay MRT and Chin Bee, Enterprise Road area.
Originally posted by Ranger123:I believes that 179A will be shortened to Pioneer station.
As for the 246 and 252 merger in which you mentioned just now, it needs to ensure that it passby Boon Lay station in its route so as to convienence the workers travelling between Boon Lay MRT and Chin Bee, Enterprise Road area.
shortened? maybe, but would there be proper queueing facilities to cater for e mass crowd?
if it's just a normal bus stop, might as well dun do it
Originally posted by Ranger123:172 should be ended up in sawtooth berth also since it uses bendies and bendies cannot use end-on berth.
At the previous interchange, 172 did use bendy at the end-on berth...Same goes for 187....
So I think the berth would be like this (Still the same)
198 (Near to the entrance of the Interchange)
174/174e
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:
At the previous interchange, 172 did use bendy at the end-on berth...Same goes for 187....So I think the berth would be like this (Still the same)
198 (Near to the entrance of the Interchange)
174/174e
But the new interchange has 8 bendy lots designated for use at the sawtooth berths...