I am sure everyone here knows the difference between trunk service and feeder service.
I am puzzled about the classifications of some SBS bus services, like 96, 179, 181, 194, 199
96 serves between Clementi Interchange and NUS, looping at Kent Ridge Terminal. NUS is not a town.
179 ply between Boon Lay Interchange and NTU which is located within Jurong West extension estate.
181 ply between Boon Lay Interchange and Jurong West Ave 3 which is also within the Jurong West extension estate. Total number of stages is 8 (on return trip), 4 on single trip.
Whereas 242 and 243 are classified feeder services with similar distances and fare stages. 240 serves longer distances and its total fare stages is 15 (return trip), and 7.5 on single trip.
194 is plying only between Boon Lay interchange and Jurong Bird Park, less than 4 stages on a single trip.
Trunk services charge based on fare stage or distance whichever applies. It is unfair to the 181 commuter to pay stage based fare whereas a 240 commuter pays only a flat fare regardless of the distance.
Any comments?
SBST want to earn more $$ mah..
I guess SBST wont introduce feeder anymore..
Most of SBST feeder svcs merged into one trunk service.
and yup 181 shouldnt be a trunk service..
how about 18 and 69. these svc also never go to town lor
Originally posted by bus555:how about 18 and 69. these svc also never go to town lor
At least 18 goes from Tampines Interchange to Bedok Interchange, and 69 goes from Tampines Interchange and loop at Bedok Reservoir.
181 still ply within Jurong West. Not even Jurong East.
SBS eating money
I find this most strange.svc 246 is classified as a JIS svc but it is more like a feeder svc as it mostly goes in and out of the Corporation area serving residents at areas such as Yung Ho Rd,Tah Ching Rd.it dosent really touch the Industrial areas much except for the first part of its route at Chin Bee Rd.
Originally posted by noob321:SBS eating money
Yah.![]()
They just want to earn your money.
The initial plan was to extend 181 to Clementi, making it a trunk service. However since the load is so good, SBST decide to introduce a new service 185 instead of extending 181.
246's main purpose as an industrial service is to serve the Chin Bee area. The Corporation area is an extension with the opening of the Boon Lay Int.
Correct me if I'm wrong about this part:-
There are actually 2 types of feeder services, namely the Residential Feeder Service and the Industrial Feeder Service. I think we're so used the calling feeder service & JIS that we forgot what the actual terms mean. Any service that don't serve communters between the Interchange & its connecting HDB areas cannot be classified as Residential Feeder Service, hence 96, 179, 199 & 194 are trunk services because their destinations are not HDB estates.
The Industrial Feeder Service used to have a flat fare. It was renamed as the JIS with the introduction of distance-related fare on industrial services, dropping the term feeder.
My suggestion:Make 181 rename to Feeder 244 coz it has so little fare stages
SBS really eating money.Was 181 already a Trunk = Feeder?(for one directional)
Either way whether 181 is a trunk or a feeder has no effect on the fare if you follow SBST's TITO rule.
Boon Lay Int: Stage 1.0
Stop before & stop after 181 makes the U-turn: Stage 4.5
4.5 - 1.0 = 3.5, which is still the same price as a feeder fare.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:My suggestion:Make 181 rename to Feeder 244 coz it has so little fare stages
SBS really eating money.Was 181 already a Trunk = Feeder?(for one directional)
Its not so easy to renumber service 181 to 244. besides, this service was being put there to service the residents along the Jurong West Ave 3. in my point of view, its not worth renumbering the service
Originally posted by samtlk:Either way whether 181 is a trunk or a feeder has no effect on the fare if you follow SBST's TITO rule.
Boon Lay Int: Stage 1.0
Stop before & stop after 181 makes the U-turn: Stage 4.5
4.5 - 1.0 = 3.5, which is still the same price as a feeder fare.
As above. Trunk and feeder makes no difference below 3.2km, and the use of trunk services to ferry pax to the nearest bus interchange increases after preferential feeder fares were abolished.
Another example of trunk taking over the role of feeders is the distribution of the load of old Service 266 to trunk services 76 and 138, and feeder services 265 and 269.
NUS and NTU are not part of Clementi and Jurong West New Town respectively, and the services do not serve any residents in the new towns.
As for 246, Jurong Int days was that it serves Jln Tukang, Quality Rd, Chin Bee (bus stops where Sv 79 serves), Corporation Rd before going to Corporation Dr/ Taman Jurong Estate & Boon Lay Gardens Estate
Sv 96, 179, 199 are trunk services simply because they exit New Town boundary alrdy. Since when NTU & NUS are part of HDB New Town boundaries? ![]()
Feeder services I dun care abt their distance, it's because 240 was amended from Jurong Int to Boon Lay Int that's why route is kinda longer. 242 & 243 was kinda new services from Boon Lay Int and anyway BNL Int is inside Jurong West Extn New Town boundary.
If you want to say this not fair or whatever, then very simple one at every MRT station build mini bus interchanges so tat feeder services all are of uniform distance ![]()
Originally posted by Ajen:SBST want to earn more $$ mah..
I guess SBST wont introduce feeder anymore..
Most of SBST feeder svcs merged into one trunk service.
and yup 181 shouldnt be a trunk service..
They dun even earn any extra if you based on the looping point
anyway trunk or feeder, there's no more differences in fares. e most can fight for is for last bus to coincide w/ last MRT timing which is alrdy done for 181's case
and its weird how 334 335 are feeders... they both go form Jurong East to West. 335 even touches 240 at the junction.
Originally posted by jayh272416:and its weird how 334 335 are feeders... they both go form Jurong East to West. 335 even touches 240 at the junction.
back when Jurong Int & feeders were up... Taman Jurong Estate was there alrdy but not Jurong West (St 4X & St 5X) & Jurong East New Town till e 1980s
nice topic, ya why nvr chnge 181 to 244 or 24 something. anyways, look at sv 402 & svc 405, should they be renumbered bcos they dont fit the sbst 'parks' thingy.
doesnt matter. as long as the service u want brings u home can le.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:doesnt matter. as long as the service u want brings u home can le.
ya that should be right. dont care if the svc no is 999. hehe
for 179.
if your lesson is near the innovation ctr and u board bus from there to Boon Lay Int, nicely you kena the 2nd fare band, 93cents. suay. and a lot of students do not know this and they take bus from there. ![]()
my friends and i go to the overhead bridge bus stop and board there, get a seat and fully make use of our 93cents. ![]()
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:nice topic, ya why nvr chnge 181 to 244 or 24 something. anyways, look at sv 402 & svc 405, should they be renumbered bcos they dont fit the sbst 'parks' thingy.
4XX are by right to be Special Services except 410 ![]()
Incl e old 450 (Jurong - SAFTI (Where it's Pasir Laba Camp now known))
how about 一四三?
zzzzz...
like that 385 entered Bedok Reservoir, 315 calls at a stop along Ang Mo Kio ave 3..
Feeder 217 from Serangoon when the other feeders where 31x (now renumbered 317)
another J East feeder which goes to teban Gardens.. numbered 241 if I'm not wrong..
and how about 378 and 379...
Originally posted by 105090:another J East feeder which goes to teban Gardens.. numbered 241 if I'm not wrong..
and how about 378 and 379...
Back then service 241 operated from Jurong interchange. Feeder services from Jurong interchange were numbered 24x. When the services at Jurong interchange were relocated to Boon Lay interchange, service 241 was shifted to Jurong East interchange and later it was renumbered service 331 as feeder services from Jurong East interchange are 33x.
Feeder services 378 and 379 were formerly 820 and 821, which were formerly 214E and 214W. When SBST took over services 820 and 821 from Tibs, it renumbered them to 378 and 379 as Jalan Kayu terminal is near Sengkang where the feeders are numbered 37x.