Remember a similar such thread created by me last year?
As 2008 comes to a close, we want to look back at the significant events that have occured in the bus scene.
If you know of any such events, you can post here. The following categories are available as a starting point for you to recall:
1. Events (Accidents, Breakdowns etc.)
2. Redeployments
3. Cameos
For a start, I shall reflect on what have happened in the year 2008. The most memorable...
Events
1. Introduction of new Premium services by various bus companies.
2. Introduction of Service 128, Singapore's first rail-duplicating service in nearly two decades (7 Jul).
3. Introduction of SMRT's newest bus in 8 years - the OC500LE.
4. SBST receives Volvo B7RLE and MAN 18.240 for demo purposes.
Redeployments
1. Service 197's transfer from HGDEP-controlled to BNDEP-controlled (3 Mar).
2. Massive depot and service transfers between SMRT buses and depots (23 Mar, Jun).
3. Complete withdrawal of Volvo B10M Mark 2s (6 Apr) as well as the Scania N113CRB NACs (9 Dec).
4. Double-deckers introduced to more services, especially Service 151 (4 Aug) and 225 (18 Feb).
Cameos
1. SBS 8031J on Service 5 (11 Oct)
2. SBS 8009A on Townlink 222 (30 Apr)
3. B9s on Service 5
4. SBS 9676S on Service 107M (13 Dec)
5. SBS 8389C on Service 147
To the rest, continue to add in more! I'm listing only a few examples so that there will be ample talking point for all. ![]()
1. Services swap depot control in March for SMRT side. 985 to AMDEP/KJDEP, 859 to WLDEP, 852 to WLDEP, 961 to AMDEP/WLDEP, 61 to WLDEP/AMDEP, 970, 75, 700 to KJDEP and afew others.
2. Lots of depot transfers, especially Scanias to KJDEP and Dennis Lance to WLDEP.
3. Farewell to Sv 852 UDs.
4. TIB1009C on 962, TIB938C on 963, TIB1010Y on 187 and a few other WLDEP Dennis Lance cameos.
For redeployments, maybe can add in the massive re-deployment of DM3500s to BBEDP/ARBP.![]()
Lots of things took place in year 2008 which I have noticed.
SBST
SMRT
Not the forget, the recent cameos.
SBS2598E on 192/194, 183, 98
Originally posted by ngjy22:Not the forget, the recent cameos.
SBS2598E on 192/194, 183, 98
only when you were not around ![]()
SBS8074K(got into a collision somewhere around 2008)
Introduction of service 128. 1st service to be approved for MRT duplication.
Double Deckers like VO3x/LO3x/B9TL were introduced on some services like 5,6 58,59,78,79,151 and many more.
More services certified for WAB status.
Changi Airport services 24,27,34,36,53 with full fleet K230UB.
SMRT purchases OC500BLEs.
SBS Transit's NAC single decks phased out slowly.
Volvo MK 4 DM3500s were transferred over to BBDEP from various depots.
Service 189 Summary of calendar year 2008
Notable Cameos: TIB1031L, TIB1037X, TIB1084J, TIB1087B, TIB1215Z Hispano 'Habit'.
Duty adjustments: Service Leaders can take bendy buses for AM/PM shifts on Sundays.
Transfers: TIB633G to WL SP (Surplus removal/Non-fleet reduction).
Fleet movement: TIB519D, 520Z, 592R, 597C removed from fleet to be replaced by new buses. TIB516L and 544E 'floating status' (SP/189).
Timesheet adjustment: 970S105 to run two trips s189 in morning split (later one s187 halfway added).
Timesheet adjustment: 947S101 (preliminary) to run one trip s189 in morning split.
Timesheet adjustment: S101 to swap with S102 for evening split.
Timesheet adjustment: Three to four adjustments in headway for AM/PM.
New Buses: Mercedes Benz OC500LE.
Accidents:TIB544E accident at Kent Ridge Terminal (F), TIB517J accident outisde Bt Batok Depot (SBST) (NI) and SMB15T accident at Clementi (I).
Permanent fleet at 01/01/2008:
TIB516L/517J/519D/520Z/544E/592R/597C/633G (surplus). TIB863J/869T/1162S/1224Y.
Permanent fleet as at December 2008:
TIB516L or 544E/TIB517J/SMB11D/12B/13Z/14X/15T (accident). TIB863J/869T/1162S/1224Y.
SC Volvo Mk IV on Service 30/502Express
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:SBS8389C On 147 (24 Nov)
SBS7419G On 13 (23 Sep)
whoa?! kub on 147?!
1. SBS9888Y on my bus svc on NDP 2008 eve lor so sad the who no told me lor only told me wad 8033d on 66 =.=
2. My first Scania KUb ride on 64 in the beginning of year 2008 lol (SBS8064L)
3. My first B9TL ride to school is SBS7431U and my last B9TL ride back home is SBS7404Z (22 Oct 2008)
OT: Get to know 987fm only on Hari Raya eve last Sep and lots more lah
my first time on 997A.
first scania ride on 8037 on 100, 2nd day.
first OC ride on 9L on 854.
last SD NAC ride on 3626B on 6.
and my crazy bus journey from sin > malacca > kl > sin.(tho i've gone further northwards, but this one was tiring)
add in:
First CNG ride: SBS2997L on 143 (drive by a driver call ah hua lol?)
First OC ride: None :(
Last Scania NAC ride: SBS3638S on 291 or maybe one on 293 juz forgot the rego.
Yishun Interchange Summary Report 2008
Notable cameos around Yishun
1) 0960L on Sv806
2) 0959S & 0961J on Sv811
3) 0484U, 0565U & 0595H on Sv859
4) 0364H on Sv811 - Happened once in February & once in September
5) 0365E on Sv812 - Happened once in January (Tomato head drive PM shift)
6) 0365E on Sv800 - Happened once in September
7) 1257C on Sv806 - Happened once in October
8) 0364H on Sv171 - Happened twice in October
9) SMB 20C on Sv812 A/P - due to 1207Y breakdown
10) 3-5 appearances of OC500LE on Sv853
11) 1 appearance of OC500LE on Sv804
Duty adjustments for services
1) Sv804 adjust headway & runtime
2) Sv806 add one fullday & adjust headway, original perm bus SMB 7S
3) Sv969 & Sv812 adjust headway, Sv969 add 1 S catered to cross Sv812 PM S.
Transfers
1) 0437G, 0479K & 0816X to WLDEP (ex-811)
2) Lots of CAC merc from ex-851 to WLDEP
3) 0772M & 0781L to WLDEP (ex-171)
4) 1072T & 1076H to KJDEP (ex-YIBP SP) replaced by 1171R & 1241Y
5) Sv859 handed over to WLDEP, ex-fleet either went to KJDEP (0490B, 0762S & 0821E but the first two were later transferred to WLDEP) or Sv106 (1171R, 1237K, 1238H & 1241Y but the first and last two bendies were replaced by 1037X & 1097Y which came from KJDEP later)
6) Yishun RG takes charge of AM 190 & AM 106
7) Sv852 handed over to WLDEP, ex-fleet mostly went to Sv985 (after which 0938C, 1009C, 1010Y & 1014L were transferred back to WLDEP to perm Sv852)
8) Sv171 partial fleet handed to WLDEP, ex-fleet mostly went to KJDEP (after which some of the original perm buses under AMDEP that went to KJDEP were transferred back to WLDEP to perm Sv171)
New buses
1) First placed on Sv851 (SMB 4A), more added in (SMB 19H - SMB 23U)
2) Sv806 gets SMB 7S as fleet addition, thereafter bus given to Sv811 in exchange for TIB 0479K and then replaced again to TIB 1221E
3) Sv811 gets SMB 7S - SMB 10G replacing the box mercs, after which SMB 33R goes to Sv811 also to fulfill 50% WAB status
4) Sv171 gets SMB 24S - SMB 27J replacing 1 OAC merc, 2 CAC merc & 1 Volgren merc
5) With addition of 969S107 cross Sv812 there have been a few OC cameos on both services, mainly: SMB 3C, SMB 4A, SMB 7S, SMB 8P, SMB 10G & SMB 20C
Accidents
1) TIB 1138M involved in notorious KUB accident with SBS 8074K, bus was doing 67S201 on that fateful morning and was returning to depot when accident happened along YCK Rd
Others
1) Yishun Int slated to go for upgrading works soon (in the near future) to an air-conditioned hub
2) More PRC & Malaysian SLs are put into Yishun RG as standbys usually driving Sv853/Sv854/Sv855
and how about accidents lol:
1st: SBS8074K aka the first kub to have accident with a TIB1138M (months back)
2nd: TIB1172M and SMB15T also the first OC to have accident (just recenly only)
3rd: TIb666L on ??? (months back also)
4th: SBS785U on 160 (months back also)
and how about this:
SMB1H breakdown on it first day of the road lol
NAC SDs gone
KUB's & OC's arrival
Sv 5, 6, 13 (was tis last yr instead?), 37, 58, 59, 78, 79, 151, 182, 185 (last yr?), 186 (last yr?), 225 getting ADDs
ah yes, SMB1H rosak on it's maiden journey ![]()
The shock when SBST announced that they are going to get another 400 ~ units of Scania K230UBs.
The shock when SMRT had their OC500LEs bodied by Gemilang (of course SMRT one looks nicer).
Refurbishment of most SMRT O405s complete, and refurbishments for SBST's 2 years expansion of O405s.
SMRT Buses removing more dress rims off their Mercz.
Lots of STOMPERS stomping about buses transport -> remember the two crazy woman fighting in the B9TL?![]()
The cool ad from OCBC on the Hispano Habits.;D
8030L's 1 year tenure is complete and likely serving to June 09.
SBS8031J breaking down.
The Amazing Race -which i couldn't go :(
SG buses wiki and Wikipedia being ruthlessly edited, and Weiteck96 's trolling. :X
Me winning the Superstar of the year.
SMRT
My first rides this year
OC500LE on svc 307 (SMB1H)
B9TL on svc ??
Scania Strider on svc 975 (TIB674M)
Scania ELBO on svc 187
Volvo Strider on svc 80
The rarest cameo ive ever seen
A Habit Bendy on svc 307 (should be 190 perm i think)
Originally posted by bus555:add in:
First CNG ride: SBS2997L on 143 (drive by a driver call ah hua lol?)
First OC ride: None :(
Last Scania NAC ride: SBS3638S on 291 or maybe one on 293 juz forgot the rego.
ah hua perm 66 leh.......
oh ok... maybe see wrongly i guess. the driver who drove 2997 on that day was wearing a cap :l
Originally posted by bus555:oh ok... maybe see wrongly i guess. the driver who drove 2997 on that day was wearing a cap :l
perharps cameo duty lo
OT: Yeeterday i saw ah hua driving 66 and an hua ex-perm bus(OKI CNG) on one day
Originally posted by SMRT BUSES LuvER:SMRT
- Rmb, all ex-307 permers went to WLDEP & became spare buses.
- Aft half of 307 fleet was gone, the OC500LEs replaced the missing buses.
- TIB1172M met in an accident with SMB15T? Very horrible rite..
My first rides this year
OC500LE on svc 307 (SMB1H)
B9TL on svc ??
Scania Strider on svc 975 (TIB674M)
Scania ELBO on svc 187
Volvo Strider on svc 80
The rarest cameo ive ever seen
A Habit Bendy on svc 307 (should be 190 perm i think)
Most of the time, Habit on Sv 307 happens because of downroute thanks to the CCK Stadium crowd after S-LEague match. About 2 - 3 bendies were uttilized from what i remember.
Originally posted by TWS4793:Events
1. Introduction of new Premium services by various bus companies.
2. Introduction of Service 128, Singapore's first rail-duplicating service in nearly two decades (7 Jul).
3. Introduction of SMRT's newest bus in 8 years - the OC500LE.
4. SBST receives Volvo B7RLE and MAN 18.240 for demo purposes.
- I thought Premium service was 1st introduced last year ??????
- Instead of newest bus in 8years, its more like the 1st bus that they bought.
*anyway, TIBS last bought in new buses in the year 2001.