actually if bus can be faster and cheeper can liao lor -.-
Originally posted by Simple_boi:
If you don't know hokkien on what he means, shut up here. He should have respect with regards to what he said. And you, do you have the rights to speak up down here? If not, just stay away.
time for u to drink cooling tea :D
Originally posted by Doraemonboi:actually if bus can be faster and cheeper can liao lor -.-
cheeper. ![]()
Greener.Cheaper.Safer.Faster.
safer and faster usually dun go together?
Originally posted by bus555:
i'll throw the feel the heat kub pic at you.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:i'll throw the feel the heat kub pic at you.
He doesn't worth my photo in any way. =)
Originally posted by bus555:
UBER LAME.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:safer and faster usually dun go together?
Can one........... with seat belts and helmets.
Better frequency. That's all I want. =)
I hope to see SBST purchasing more DDs. After 150 B9TLs, no more news on purchasing DDs, instead it bought 400 more KUBs. More than enough!
As for SMRT, will it purchases bendies? I don't think so.
I thought bendies were banned?
For me
More new buses and new routes for 2009. Better frequency for buses
cheaper bus fare would be a good start
i don't mind extended waiting time
Originally posted by Stage:I thought bendies were banned?
Why? When was it in the news?
Originally posted by tranquilice:
Why? When was it in the news?
From what i can gather so far with my limited exposure to buses news.
LTA banned purchasing new bendies after reports that the trailer section of then bendy slides during wet weather or something.
Apparently similar to this -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzZm94675bw
Seems like got other reasons such as motorist complain the vehicle too long block junction boxes with the trailer, causes traffic jam and the likes (you know, if a vehicle too long abit inconvenient to other road users de).
And the reason why current bendies are not withdrawn is because LTA will cripple SMRT's bus operation. bendies makes up a pretty significant part of the fleet so for now, they may let SMRT use it to the full 17 years. Keep your fingers crossed...they might be withdrawn prematurely like the London Citaros and replaced with standard 12m buses.
Originally posted by tranquilice:I hope to see SBST purchasing more DDs. After 150 B9TLs, no more news on purchasing DDs, instead it bought 400 more KUBs. More than enough!
they will buy DDs. only when e 1st DDs r nearing end of lifespan.
Originally posted by AEW5001:they will buy DDs. only when e 1st DDs r nearing end of lifespan.
Which is sooooon.
Originally posted by TIB537B:From what i can gather so far with my limited exposure to buses news.
LTA banned purchasing new bendies after reports that the trailer section of then bendy slides during wet weather or something.
Apparently similar to this -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzZm94675bw
Seems like got other reasons such as motorist complain the vehicle too long block junction boxes with the trailer, causes traffic jam and the likes (you know, if a vehicle too long abit inconvenient to other road users de).
And the reason why current bendies are not withdrawn is because LTA will cripple SMRT's bus operation. bendies makes up a pretty significant part of the fleet so for now, they may let SMRT use it to the full 17 years. Keep your fingers crossed...they might be withdrawn prematurely like the London Citaros and replaced with standard 12m buses.
I had inquired to LTA about this, and this was their reply:
Our Ref: LTA/BTR/B62.003.000/2XXX/1
Date : 15-DEC-2008
Tel : 65535249
Fax : 65535329
Dear Mr XXXX
Queries on the ban of purchasing new bendy buses
FEEDBACK NUMBER: 74XXXX
Thank you for your feedback of 6 December 2008.
Bendy buses are currently owned by SMRT Buses Ltd. Given the many
operating constraints on the road and bus interchanges, the operator has
stopped bringing in new bendy buses.
LTA works closely with operators to deploy buses that are efficient
people-carriers. We will note your feedback for future consideration.
Please contact me if you need any clarifications. Thank you.
Yours sincerely
(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)
XXXXXXX
EXECUTIVE, BUS LICENSING
BUS & TAXI REGULATION DIVISION
VEHICLE & TRANSIT LICENSING GROUP
Originally posted by gorby107:I had inquired to LTA about this, and this was their reply:
Our Ref: LTA/BTR/B62.003.000/2XXX/1
Date : 15-DEC-2008
Tel : 65535249
Fax : 65535329
Dear Mr XXXX
Queries on the ban of purchasing new bendy buses
FEEDBACK NUMBER: 74XXXX
Thank you for your feedback of 6 December 2008.
Bendy buses are currently owned by SMRT Buses Ltd. Given the many
operating constraints on the road and bus interchanges, the operator has
stopped bringing in new bendy buses.
LTA works closely with operators to deploy buses that are efficient
people-carriers. We will note your feedback for future consideration.
Please contact me if you need any clarifications. Thank you.
Yours sincerely
(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)
XXXXXXX
EXECUTIVE, BUS LICENSING
BUS & TAXI REGULATION DIVISION
VEHICLE & TRANSIT LICENSING GROUP
Interesting.....they basically side-stepped your question.![]()
If that's the case, then when SMRT's bendy bus r at the end of their end of lifespan, all buses will be SD?
Unless SMRT buy DDs... Wonder what model...
Originally posted by TownLink 291:If that's the case, then when SMRT's bendy bus r at the end of their end of lifespan, all buses will be SD?
Unless SMRT buy DDs... Wonder what model...
Makes absolute sense...but there's more pressing issue on hand now.... the replacement of Scania CRB, MB O405s, Nissan UDs etc....
Originally posted by tranquilice:I hope to see SBST purchasing more DDs. After 150 B9TLs, no more news on purchasing DDs, instead it bought 400 more KUBs. More than enough!
As for SMRT, will it purchases bendies? I don't think so.
It's 200 B9TLs. =)
Here is my new wish!!! Get more buses other than KUB. I am bored of it. At least SMRT got variety, SBS, same same all along. Sit until sian.
sbst has interest in purchasing 100 more doubledecker units
thats all i would say for now