I was sitting in Svc 72, SBS 7423 T Towards Yio Chu Kang at 11 40am on 11 Jan 09 at the intersection between Hougang Ave 3, Ave 2 & Upp Serangoon Road. The bus was waiting at the traffic light on the extreme right lane (Right turn only) along with lots of cars.
Then, a Svc 51 WAB DD 'cutted' our bus to go to the 3rd lane from the left (straight only)
The BC on that bus then 'turned hard right'. The car at the front horned at the BC when he turned.
I was like WTF? & I looked on the ground and saw that the lane marking was straight only.
When my 72 finally reached Outside Hougang Ctrl Int, I saw the 51 alighting passengers and saw the rego of the bus. SBS 7380 U.
Does this kind of BCs disobeying traffic lights/lane markings happen often?
Share your views.
Originally posted by TownLink 291:I was sitting in Svc 72, SBS 7423 T Towards Yio Chu Kang at 11 40am on 11 Jan 09 at the intersection between Hougang Ave 3, Ave 2 & Upp Serangoon Road. The bus was waiting at the traffic light on the extreme right lane (Right turn only) along with lots of cars.
Then, a Svc 51 WAB DD 'cutted' our bus to go to the 3rd lane from the left (straight only)
The BC on that bus then 'turned hard right'. The car at the front horned at the BC when he turned.
I was like WTF? & I looked on the ground and saw that the lane marking was straight only.
When my 72 finally reached Outside Hougang Ctrl Int, I saw the 51 alighting passengers and saw the rego of the bus. SBS 7380 U.
Does this kind of BCs disobeying traffic lights/lane markings happen often?
Share your views.
SBS 7380 H, not 7380 U.
I have seen some service 189 SLs exiting Kent Ridge terminal when the traffic light was still red but traffic at Clementi Rd was clear. But only service 189 SLs do that, I have never see service 10 and 200 BCs done that.
Service 975 also, turning out of Old LCK Rd into LCK Rd when traffic light was still red but no vehicles along LCK Rd.
Quite common lah, especially when the bus lambat and there is a long queue at the right-turn lane.
Frequent examples I've seen:
105/153 BC turning right from Toa Payoh Lor 2 to Toa Payoh Central.
177 SL turning from Upp Bukit Timah Road to Gombak Drive (since a few years back before the 2nd lane from the right allows right turn)
Last time when i took then-TIBS 185 (CCK/Jln Jurong Kechil) during my primary school days, the intersection at near the entrance of Bukit Batok Nature park the turn right lane for 185 to turn towards BB East Ave 4 always get jammed at the evening forming a long queue. The BC will just skip the whole queue and drive to the lane beside the right turn, then quickly turn right together with the cars...lol
sometimes is like tat one esp if form up long queue
but if no long queue go cut queue is not correct la or for tis case made a illegal turn
Originally posted by sbst275:sometimes is like tat one esp if form up long queue
but if no long queue go cut queue is not correct la or for tis case made a illegal turn
Yes, the Q is qutie long, gt some 10 cars & 1 bus waiting... the 2nd right lane gt no car.
Originally posted by TownLink 291:Yes, the Q is qutie long, gt some 10 cars & 1 bus waiting... the 2nd right lane gt no car.
wa liaoz.. 10 car and 1 bus is long?
you go see other junction
in late 90s, i took 21, a Volvo MK3, back home frm Geylang to Tampines.
Jln Eunos/Eunos Link/Bedok Reservoir Rd junction... turn right on straight only lane too... ![]()
it was quite a fast/sharp turn. people were screaming.
Originally posted by sinicker:in late 90s, i took 21, a Volvo MK3, back home frm Geylang to Tampines.
Jln Eunos/Eunos Link/Bedok Reservoir Rd junction... turn right on straight only lane too...
Lol... 1st time I hear abt ppl screaming when bus turning... They scared bus flip over?
Originally posted by TownLink 291:Lol... 1st time I hear abt ppl screaming when bus turning... They scared bus flip over?
yes. it was really fast.
Originally posted by tranquilice:SBS 7380 H, not 7380 U.
I have seen some service 189 SLs exiting Kent Ridge terminal when the traffic light was still red but traffic at Clementi Rd was clear. But only service 189 SLs do that, I have never see service 10 and 200 BCs done that.
Service 975 also, turning out of Old LCK Rd into LCK Rd when traffic light was still red but no vehicles along LCK Rd.
i taken a 48 before. 2707H. at farrer rd the bus just went straight through the red light.
The Svc 51 BC thought he can do with a bus what he does with a motorcycle.
Well...Sometimes even Service 72 do that....Coz the Hougang Ave 3/Upper Serangoon Rd Junction is very busy and the traffic Lights tend to turn very fast....
I took Sv 975 once during the night back home from my friend's farm. It tend to chiong through the traffic lights in the Lim Chu Kang Rd at the Armour camp and the Old Lim Chu Kang Rd there despite the traffic lights are showing red.
orchard blvd turn right to scotts rd. been there done that.
Orchard Blvd/ Scotts Rd tat one is classic w/ SMRT's bendies
turning right from e 4th lane though there's double parallel white line
or Sv 143's B9TL using 1st lane to turn right making middle lane car tio sandwiched
Oh please la long queue + bus lambat and driver drove so long + so near to interchange wouldnt he want to get to the interchange faster with a decent break?
he saved the hassle of cutting queue into the extreme right lane as that would mean another traffic cycle to wait.
To add on, what if the extreme right lane have an accident/breakdown? Still use that lane ah?
Originally posted by tranquilice:SBS 7380 H, not 7380 U.
Lols lambat mah hahas...
Got quite some of them do that... No passenger then do, but some heck care loh...
I rmb some even worse. I was onboard 30 and turn anyhow to Taman Jurong de.
Suppose the bus was to turn left after turning out of interchange, he turned right X3 then turn left then go to boon lay way. And then caught one 187 which is already long long time out of the interchange already coz Boon Lay Way got road Works?
Originally posted by sinicker:in late 90s, i took 21, a Volvo MK3, back home frm Geylang to Tampines.
Jln Eunos/Eunos Link/Bedok Reservoir Rd junction... turn right on straight only lane too...
Just a fast/sharp turn and people scream? lol![]()
Originally posted by service_238:Oh please la long queue + bus lambat and driver drove so long + so near to interchange wouldnt he want to get to the interchange faster with a decent break?
he saved the hassle of cutting queue into the extreme right lane as that would mean another traffic cycle to wait.
To add on, what if the extreme right lane have an accident/breakdown? Still use that lane ah?
was there any incident on e turning lane?
so wat if it's late and so on? the lane forming up is the basic traffic rule and anyway tat lane is only meant for proceeding straight, wun e bus in tis case is causing obstruction to smooth traffic flow? ![]()
The bus doing extreme ride right drifting ![]()
Originally posted by TIB537B:
The bus doing extreme ride right drifting
Lol... can create movie called Singapore Bus Drifting...
Originally posted by ftjj0298:Just a fast/sharp turn and people scream? lol
that junction is quite small leh....