drop, yes, we all know. Going to drop by how much? half cent? one cent? I don't think PAP will want to do kui ben business knowing how greedy they are.
The drop is a temporary measure to gain votes...as long as there is no discovery of major oil fields to meet the demands, oil prices will keep going up and transport fares too will go up
hannor wat poly student have to pay more.. knn... unfair ar... they better reduce the fare for poly student .... or increase the fare for jc student lor.. then fair what
v
Originally posted by Jianye:
The drop is a temporary measure to gain votes...as long as there is no discovery of major oil fields to meet the demands, oil prices will keep going up and transport fares too will go up
they will never do anything without motive. i guess for the election campaign, they have more to boast this time about how they help locals during this recession.
If the transport fares don't drop by at least 10 cents, they better don't boast they drop fares.
We can start having our own oil palm planatations to satisfy our own domestic needs...then oil price, transport fare should be cheaper
ooooh our own oil palm plantation....
may I ask grow where?
Originally posted by Fantagf:they will never do anything without motive. i guess for the election campaign, they have more to boast this time about how they help locals during this recession.
If the transport fares don't drop by at least 10 cents, they better don't boast they drop fares.
i think the fare will drop only between 1 cent to 5 cent...
Originally posted by 4sg:ooooh our own oil palm plantation....
may I ask grow where?
pulau ubin, tekong...
The oil palm plantation will be bulit on a giant floating platform that sucks nutrients from the sea as needed...
Aiya... is like cha-cha one lah.. ..
move back 3 steps... l8r step forward 3 steps... ..
but diff is... after moving forward 3 steps, it'll continue moving forward... =.=
could we expect 10 cent drop in cash fares?
hhaha
Busticket collector
ZYX
ADULT & SENIOR CITIZENS FARES
* 2 cents reduction for every bus, MRT and LRT trip
* 50 cents transfer rebate
CHILD/STUDENT FARES
* 1 cent reduction to 44 cents for every bus, MRT and LRT trip
* No change to transfer rebates (10 cents)
CONCESSIONARY PASSES
* $1 reduction for bus or MRT concession passes for primary and secondary students
* $2 reduction for hybrid oncession pass for primary and secondary students
* $2 reduction for bus or MRT concession passes for NSFs and tertiary students
* $4 reduction for hybrid concession pass for NSFs and tertiary students
CASH FARES
* No change
http://www.ptc.gov.sg/news28.pdf
1 cent 2 cent as well dun give.
All Bus,Train and Taxi companies is the same one.Regulated by who?The victims is still the users.Then after economy rose up increase by how much?
Originally posted by Manager433:1 cent 2 cent as well dun give.
Transfer rebate increase 10 cents mah
Next time can tell them also... 1 cents 2 cents might as well dun raise price ![]()
12 cents if you need to transfer, or 23 cents compared with before Oct 08.
1 cent 2 cent not money ah? I would rather want the 1-cents and 2-cents although they are less money
so it means aft 1st april 09 buy concession pass then will pay at discounted rate?
Originally posted by 28_29_293:so it means aft 1st april 09 buy concession pass then will pay at discounted rate?
ya... what then the "discount" can save on what? only a plate of chicken rice...
and the poly/uni students hoping for a big drop discount are fuming mad for a mere measly flimsy pitiful discount, despite the big hoo haa on tv n petitions to govt...
4.6% reduction in bus & train fares from 1 April 2009
As much as I want to avoid joining the crowd of those who feels that the government is often quick to raise the cost of living by leaps and bounds, while being more reluctant to lower them, and only by tiny bits when they do do so, I have to say that the government here showed this kind of behaviour in this round of fare revision.
However, thinking on the bright side, you must remember that this is an out-of-band fare adjustment, and that fares have also been adjusted upwards by the same rates before (can't remember when, but there was one time when fares were adjusted upwards by one to two cents). Also, child/student fares - which has been untouched for so many years I can't even remember when was the last time they adjusted it - has been given a one-cent discount, which I find really unprecedented (I suspect they were more "stingy" on reducing adult fares so they could give child/student fares this one-cent discount - do remember that adult fares help subsidise child/student fares here). At the same time, the transfer rebate has gone up to 50 cents, which is especially significant for those who make lots of transfers everyday.
Though I feel that, if they wanted to do more, they should had also brought the cash fare down to equal those enjoyed by ez-link card users, rounded up to the nearest five or ten cents, of course.
Overall, I think they did an OK-job with this, but I somehow feel that it's rather half-hearted, even though they went out of their way to adjust fares out-of-schedule. They could have done more, but it's better than doing nothing at all.
Originally posted by Rednano:
and the poly/uni students hoping for a big drop discount are fuming mad for a mere measly flimsy pitiful discount, despite the big hoo haa on tv n petitions to govt...
I think if the polytechnic students push hard enough, the government, no matter how stubborn, may had to make another move on this. It might also be that the government has not fully assesed their demands at this time, and couldn't make the appropriate adjustements in time. The slight downward adjustment here for their monthly fare concessions might hint either way - but I don't want to draw too quick a conclusion here.
tt time raise how much? 4 cts rite?
why cannot implement on 1 march?
Info From National Petition for Fairer Transportation Fares (Singapore)
Your Views? Concession Fares to be cut by 4.4%
In a joint news conference chaired the Public Transport Council, SBS Transit SMRT Corp, it was announced that concession fares will be cut by 4.4% from April 1.
Tertiary students will now pay $2 less for their Train Concession Pass and Bus Concession Pass and $4 less for a Hybrid Concession Pass. In real terms, this would mean that a Train and Bus Concession Pass would now cost $43 and $50 respectively. A Hybrid Concession Pass, after this latest fare reduction exercise would now be sold for $93.
Though fares are reduced as a positive first step, tertiary students are still unfairly made to pay as much as 72 - 81% in terms of transport fares than their peers in JCs and ITEs.
These fares will be effective till June 2010.
What are your views on this latest fare reduction for concession rates? The organisers of this campaign would like to hear from you.
You are welcome to post your replies on our website, http://petition4fairtransport.org or even email us @ petition4fairtransport@gmail.com
The organisers of this campaign will be making its formal response to the fare reduction in a few days time.
Thank you.
Wah. Fare decrease.
People are speculating election time soon. ![]()