Originally posted by SBS8533C:
I saw the yutong bus at Yio Chu Kang Rd, after AMK Ave 5 towards Yishun (1246 hrs).. ps. I sms u at that time. =)
Haha. tt bus departed BDK at around 12nn. Not 1213. :(
Originally posted by SBS8033D:It is on 854. And i am MAD on tt yutong.....
Hear out e story:
I went to bdk, and according to ben ong's sms for timings to yutong( i sms-ed last night for timings :( ) and found an OC instead of yutong. I took tt OC, and all the way to YSN the buses going down to BDK was either Habits or Carocerras. The go to YSN i saw e Yutong infront of me. My aunt went to deposit money, then we go YSN Int again. Yutong MISSING!!! I ended up taking back that bus which is SMB49X back to Bedok. That driver sure dumb one. Got one passenger ask him got go geylang(doubt to look for something...) He say Eunos. The bus go hougang already then he asked again, with a reply of " Got 51 go geylang, i think so la" from the SL. den reach Eunos MRT already, he nvr remind the passenger to alight. He end up alighting at the junction( which is NOT a bus stop) and walk back. Dumb rite? Reach BDK already. I sian la, yutong sleeping at parking lot. I dun wan take tt bus liao.
I think he sent you the weekdays timing. Weekend timings are different.
hi all
Before taking the yu tong , i knew a few things
1) i had taken Yu tong coaches in hong kong and Singapore. I expected a more neoMAn sound to the bus
2) Suspension and ride comfort and the occassional air breaking sounds will enthuse me
Both 1 and 2 were true for the citybus version
I will compare the bus now to a regular China Yu tong and explain some detials
Despite commenst on large windows, i feel the windows were short changed. Some Yu tong citybus in China have full length windows . these are full standee hopper window ala Chua heng bodywork styles. the glassed part above the windows reveals that the windows could had been extended to this height thus making the interior birghter. insetad we have glass peices there. drat.
the Chiense buses have flat EDS and the numbers are display in calculator LED digits. As such they need not have a big EDS. Becuase of this restriction, our Yu tong too has a flatter and smaller EDS.
Others comments + reviews :-
the air-con ducting and air-con panelling design is of European origin. in particualr , Neoplan buses use this style. the Chiense bus makers Dong Feng and Yu Tong have adopted this. the Yu tong bus windows too are of neoplan design origin.
the Yu tong bus front also has a neoplan style. but a disappointment here is that SMRT left the tapered front accentuation caved in insetad without the breat glass peice. With a black glass peice the front the bujs will look more of a regular Yu tong bus. in fact the front breast glass piece looks to me very Neo plan as well.
Suspension and parts:-
it comes as no surpise to me the bus has air suspension. the Chinese do pride themselves in using full European parts. All Suspension, and sterring and gearbox parts come from Zf. essentially the bus underbelly parts are all European orgin. as such the ride comfort is to be expected.
the bus uses the standard Cummins engine for Chinese buses. Some of u might thinkgthis sounds like Dennis. Dennis uses Cummins, thats why. However to me the bus sounds more of a Neoplan- Neo-MAN bus side. A pity was that the turbo sounds were not loud
ZF gearbox:
the bus works well with the ZF. catcalls are nice. When slowing down, the bus does not go into bursts of engine sounds unlike scania or merc with ZF6HP series gearbox. good diffrentilas were adjusted to the gearbox to give us a good fast accleration.
bad points
i need not elaborate on the EDS. the rear door is special. using a study constructiona nd method of using, the door plugs out using undereath opulleys, thus doors do not virbate. however the Yu tong bus comes porgram with door safety opening beeps. thats irritating. furthermore the bus rear door squeaks
1) clip the wire to the beep (lol) (Short it, if u will)
2) oil the door please.
the bus comes with the standard 2 step to rear design. the tapering of the sharp edges do not help. instead less leg room on step.
the bus interior is dull. except for the cool air-con panelling, the bus has no special astetic looks.
Sorely missing is the Yu tong branding all over Yu tong Bus. seats? nothing no bdage. SL did not lower down sun filter, maybe have Yu tong ke Che. only Yu tong logo i found was on the window pane.
Nor did i notice the Yu tong clamshell icon brand at front of bus
ZYX
i do not know if anyone has posted this info before
but always good to remind
the Chinese Chracters for Yu tong
first chracter is Space - in particular a asteriod belt of sorts
but with the "Tong" character, the two words combine to mean
"Milky Way" the most common asteriod belt nearest to us.
the word "tong" cna also mean trasnport and transit.
The clamshell logo origin i dunno. but it represents clamshell.
theoretically sea based bus logos may be based on Irisbus (two dolphin)
model no 61xx
China bus models numbers have been a puzzle for me. All bus brands all seem to follow a common pattern. Eg: King Long KL6120UI, Yu tong ZK6126
some cute guesses
first digit 6 to signify is a bus products
next two digit signify length of bus (eg 12m)
last digit is model mark. eg we have Volvo Mark 2. etc
if anyone has a clue as to what the model digits mean across all bus makers. pls post here
ZYX
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
Seems like a modern Nissan UD.
especially at nite it seems like a nissan ud with orange eds ![]()
Took a ride today, will take this one over a Dennis Lance anytime. Hot air leaking from the rear though.
Saw someone taking picture of the cockpit/dashboard for "personal collection" at Bedok Interchange today -.-"
Originally posted by SBS8533C:
I saw the yutong bus at Yio Chu Kang Rd, after AMK Ave 5 towards Yishun (1246 hrs).. ps. I sms u at that time. =)
Yap, thanks for the timing to. Quite accurate. Haha.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:It is on 854. And i am MAD on tt yutong.....
Hear out e story:
I went to bdk, and according to ben ong's sms for timings to yutong( i sms-ed last night for timings :( ) and found an OC instead of yutong. I took tt OC, and all the way to YSN the buses going down to BDK was either Habits or Carocerras. The go to YSN i saw e Yutong infront of me. My aunt went to deposit money, then we go YSN Int again. Yutong MISSING!!! I ended up taking back that bus which is SMB49X back to Bedok. That driver sure dumb one. Got one passenger ask him got go geylang(doubt to look for something...) He say Eunos. The bus go hougang already then he asked again, with a reply of " Got 51 go geylang, i think so la" from the SL. den reach Eunos MRT already, he nvr remind the passenger to alight. He end up alighting at the junction( which is NOT a bus stop) and walk back. Dumb rite? Reach BDK already. I sian la, yutong sleeping at parking lot. I dun wan take tt bus liao.
Oh dear... Maybe you missed it by a few moments.. Hmm, I took the bus for two rounds.. Yishun - Bedok & Bedok - Yishun. Saw some bus fans taking photos of the bus. Met nenepokey at HG Ave 3.
The thing I don't like is the door. The "teeeeeeeet" sound. It's very irritating. And I notice that the rear door, has this kind of screeching sound. Haha.
Originally posted by SMB66X:SMB135E Yutong might be perm for 854.
eh no leh
SMB135E Yutong might be perm for 106/190/any AMDEP svcs
wait till confirm perm la
-doublepost-
Originally posted by TIB1049L:I hadn't took the bus yet but watching the video I get the impression that the bus seems to be super loud in all ways ... ...
agreed. The engine idling, the "ochestra" from the beep and rear doors, and probably the cummins engine is the noise source
Originally posted by TIB537B:
eh no leh
SMB135E Yutong might be perm for 106/190/any AMDEP svcs
wait till confirm perm la
Hopefully perm on 190, so I can have a chance to ride it...
Looking at photos in earlier treads, I wonder whether if passengers who are short like me who seat at the 4 seats facing the wheelchair space will have their legs hanging in the air? Looks like the seats are a little too high - furthermore I suppose those are Priority Seats!
The bus should have been taller so that there wouldnt be low headroom problem. Just by putting signages to warn people of low headroom is not a good solution.
Originally posted by off_service:Ok. Yes, the bus did not do the first round trip but it was back in service by late morning. It is still in service in the evening. Which means the timing was changed for some unforeseen reasons.
i did saw this bus on sv 854 at around 8.22am with full pax at lentor ave towards Bedok on friday morning.. So it skip the earlier trip?
Originally posted by lemon1974:i did saw this bus on sv 854 at around 8.22am with full pax at lentor ave towards Bedok on friday morning.. So it skip the earlier trip?
Yes.
Just noticed something intersting on the yutong. Unlike all other sg buses, the yutong has a Seatbelt for the driver! Guess SMRT issnt really too sure if its safe enough anot too... ![]()
Today Yutong go which service to cameo?
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Just noticed something intersting on the yutong. Unlike all other sg buses, the yutong has a Seatbelt for the driver! Guess SMRT issnt really too sure if its safe enough anot too...
err.. everyone knows that.
"SMRT is rumoured to be considering 120 Yutongs for purchase"
Is it true?
(From Wikipedia)
Originally posted by The Soon:"SMRT is rumoured to be considering 120 Yutongs for purchase"
Is it true?
(From Wikipedia)
it's true! it's a true rumour!
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
it's true! it's a true rumour!
Originally posted by ahjack 77:Today Yutong go which service to cameo?
So far no Yutong spottings on service 854 today.
Originally posted by SMB32T:
So far no Yutong spottings on service 854 today.
maybe Sunday cut bus, Yutong resting in depot?
Originally posted by lifelikedrama:maybe Sunday cut bus, Yutong resting in depot?
If I am not wrong the Yutong replaced one of the full day Merc OC500LEs. Most probably you are right that the Yutong is sleeping inside the depot today, the OC500LEs covering the duty.
It's kind of a standard practice to keep demos in depot on Sundays, be it SBST or SMRT. So try not to find demos on Sundays...