Originally posted by tintinspartan:I did spot the ez-link reader though. Maybe if you could zoom in to the picture and you'll see it hiding behind a pole.
For me, I really look forward for Yutong's demo. I want to evaluate whether the Yutong Buses could 'compete' with our current KUBs or OCs.
you evaluate?
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
For me, I really look forward for Yutong's demo. I want to evaluate whether the Yutong Buses could 'compete' with our current KUBs or OCs.
looking forward to the bus and your detailed evaluation! ![]()
Originally posted by TIB1062Y:Lolx... Sekali they come out with Mandarin version...
“dong... é—¨è¦�关了.. dot dot dot dot dot dot... ”
and all the other announcements..
No. Is:
"dong1, men2 ji4 shi2 guan1 bi4.. tu4 tu4 tu4 tu4 tu4"
Mandarin: 门关é—ä¸ï¼Œ 请站离开, du-du-du-du-du-du...
Japanese: 発車ã�—ã�¾ã�™ã€‚ 閉ã�¾ã‚‹ãƒ‰ã‚¢ã�«ã�”注æ„�ã��ã� ã�•ã�„
And just about any other languages...
if it burns down, due to smrt harsh conditions, don't be too surprised.
honestly, never been a fan of smrtb. neither am i anti smrtb.
Concerning some posts with questions like why are ez-link readers installed, there may be a simple explanation.
Yutong may have requested for either a dummy set or a real set to install on the bus before it is shipped to Singapore for SMRT to use or evaluate, as they may have like to showcase this in an exhibition in China or somewhere in their region.
Remember SBS2888T? That bus was used in an exhibition in Singapore before introduced into Singapore Roads.
How about way back in the 80's, our first (or was it 2nd) MB 0305 double deck with Alexandra Type R body? It was exhibited in UK before shipping to Singapore.
Originally posted by Raraken:Woah, awesome. Finally, a new make to try. Got sit before on Yutong, very comfy, unlike our KUBs........Quite smooth, hopefully in WLDEP?
I hope it goes to WLDEP as well. This bus could be a demo bus, specially to try out in WRI, base on the infrastructure. Still have to wait and see lah.
Originally posted by TIB1234T:
I hope it goes to WLDEP as well. This bus could be a demo bus, specially to try out in WRI, base on the infrastructure. Still have to wait and see lah.
give 966! :P
Now SMRT Buses have 3 breeds of buses.
European (Merc,Scania, Dennis,DAF), Japanese (Hino and UDs) and Chinese (Yutong).
Originally posted by TIB537B:Now SMRT Buses have 3 breeds of buses.
European (Merc,Scania, Dennis,DAF), Japanese (Hino and UDs) and Chinese (Yutong).
Jap and chinese can classify under asian lah.
Originally posted by TIB537B:Now SMRT Buses have 3 breeds of buses.
If this bus isnt a demonstrator but bought as bulk, then SMRT is also the first current public transport company to purchase 2 different bus brands at bulk at almost the same time.
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Mandarin: 门关é—ä¸ï¼Œ 请站离开, du-du-du-du-du-du...
Japanese: 発車ã�—ã�¾ã�™ã€‚ 閉ã�¾ã‚‹ãƒ‰ã‚¢ã�«ã�”注æ„�ã��ã� ã�•ã�„
And just about any other languages...
Dialect leh? ![]()
Hokkien: Meng ai kam liao. Siam zi zeh! Kam sia! ![]()
Originally posted by Oceane:
Dialect leh?Hokkien: Meng ai kam liao. Siam zi zeh! Kam sia!
more like singlish to me, rather than hokkien. there's no need for dialect announcements, english and chinese announcements are ok unless there are actually singaporeans who doesn't know how to speak, listen to and understand english and/or chinese (which may apply to few elderly people).
/facepalm, did we just lose our sense of humour.
Originally posted by BusSpeeder:more like singlish to me, rather than hokkien. there's no need for dialect announcements, english and chinese announcements are ok unless there are actually singaporeans who doesn't know how to speak, listen to and understand english and/or chinese (which may apply to few elderly people).
Actually, it doesnt matter what language it is. As long as some sound comes from the speaker, people will know that the door is closing. Haha.
That was until SMRT came out all those funny announcements.
i think overall if de depot maintain and give more attention to the bus , i think it won't be as jia lat as what u guys thought ..
At last, another new model for bus fans to critic about...haha...
WAB?
Originally posted by Stage:WAB?
Has to be. LTA..
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:It was shot in a Yutong China facility...
If it comes with a 290 horsepower Cummins (ISLe), it will be the fourth type of public bus in Singapore to have a Cummins engine (preceded by the Leylands, Dennis Darts and Tridents repectively). Cummins engines have great raw power and newer versions are all together environmentally friendly...
I see.great raw power is very suited for SMRT as their drivers all ram the pedal like crazy.![]()
btw,thanks for explaining.
Originally posted by Merczrox:
I see.great raw power is very suited for SMRT as their drivers all ram the pedal like crazy.btw,thanks for explaining.
If this bus is on 859/856/962, and it happens to be like any other Yutong I've observed, when driver gun engine, will be VERY, VERY loud.
let us wait for SPH official press release
wow! new bus!
has it arrived in singapore?
Originally posted by Merczrox:
I see.great raw power is very suited for SMRT as their drivers all ram the pedal like crazy.btw,thanks for explaining.
i may change rego soon again (: de more i look at it , de more i like it
With all this hype about the SMRT Yutong, out of curiousity, I decided to try out Bedok Transport's Yutong ZK6100H on Scheme B Service 621 and boy, how impressed I was =D =D
The build construction was very sturdy, no rattles, creaks or squeakes throughout the journey. The air suspension was also a definite plus over the many Japanese spring suspensions around, and the whole journey was very smooth. Engine performance was simply great - the fella flew on ECP with ease, the engine was smooth-running and the sound was well-insulated (not that it was very loud in the first place, as compared to King Long). And given the long express sector of the route (Maxwell Rd to Siglap Rd on ECP), it was definitely very worth the $2.30 =D
To those who still refuse to believe China buses are good, I'd seriously suggest you to try this bus.
Details
Service 621
Bedok Reservoir Rd - Shenton Way (peak hours)
via Bedok MRT, ECP
Fare: $2.30
Operator: a mix of Bedok Transport (3 buses including two Yutongs: PA 8163 R & PA 8242 X) and others
Some pictures (courtesy of ZYX2005 who was with me for today's ride)