Zaobao reported that more people prefer taking buses over trains:
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090129_522.shtml
I am one of the passenger who prefers taking buses over trains. I prefer taking:
a. bus 165 from Holland V to AMK,
b. bus 106 from Holland V to Orchard, City Hall, Clementi
c. bus 48 from Holland V to Bugis
However if going to Boon Lay or Expo, even if there is a direct bus option, I may still prefer taking trains.
Perhaps PTC and LTA should start to allow more bus competition, I would like SBST to ply another bus service from Holland Ave to Orchard. Waiting for SMRT can be very frustrating sometimes.
did u know that 106 was formerly SBST?
anyway bus 7 from the northern side of holland v (holland rd) also goes orchard
you know why?
cause most of stomps happened in the train
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:you know why?
lol
no leh. about half half
Originally posted by jayh272416:
no leh. about half half
50-50% of getting urself stomp for no reason is alot
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:50-50% of getting urself stomp for no reason is alot
er neblur mind
i'm an example of a person who scared to take train coz' scared kena STOMP for sitting down!
Originally posted by iamgoondu:
Zaobao reported that more people prefer taking buses over trains:
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090129_522.shtml
I am one of the passenger who prefers taking buses over trains. I prefer taking:
a. bus 165 from Holland V to AMK,
b. bus 106 from Holland V to Orchard, City Hall, Clementi
c. bus 48 from Holland V to Bugis
However if going to Boon Lay or Expo, even if there is a direct bus option, I may still prefer taking trains.
Perhaps PTC and LTA should start to allow more bus competition, I would like SBST to ply another bus service from Holland Ave to Orchard. Waiting for SMRT can be very frustrating sometimes.
just to add on, service 7/14/16/105/106/111 that skip orchard<->tiong bahru sector of the mrt lines are powerful competitor of the MRT.
then services that run along express way are also good, like service 5 between novena and ubi, service 23 between whompoa and bedok reservior, service 39, 161, 168, 965, 969 are all better than taking a train.
Originally posted by sinicker:i'm an example of a person who scared to take train coz' scared kena STOMP for sitting down!
yeaaah! saaame!
Originally posted by sinicker:i'm an example of a person who scared to take train coz' scared kena STOMP for sitting down!
thats why i always stand too.
anw sit down no wind sia, very hot
Originally posted by icky:
just to add on, service 7/14/16/105/106/111 that skip orchard<->tiong bahru sector of the mrt lines are powerful competitor of the MRT.
then services that run along express way are also good, like service 5 between novena and ubi, service 23 between whompoa and bedok reservior, service 39, 161, 168, 965, 969 are all better than taking a train.
59 from TPY to Kaki Bukit? that one is one powerful demand sector.
Originally posted by xstryker:thats why i always stand too.
anw sit down no wind sia, very hot
i cant be standing 2hrs a day..
Originally posted by icky:
sometimes buses would be a better option like 969. Taking to city hall then transfer to nsl? or 86 from amk to sengkang. not to forget 190
Originally posted by SBS7382C:
sometimes buses would be a better option like 969. Taking to city hall then transfer to nsl? or 86 from amk to sengkang. not to forget 190
700? 966?
Originally posted by jayh272416:
700? 966?
Service 966 is the only direct connection from Bukit Panjang/Woodlands to Eunos/Marine Parade.
Originally posted by SBS7382C:
thanks for reminding, all BKE buses count, 171/187/190/700/960/963/966, and 180 is quite a good option too
Originally posted by icky:thanks for reminding, all BKE buses count, 171/187/190/700/960/963/966, and 180 is quite a good option too
38 mins bt panjang to boon lay, rather than take the packed LRT to CCK, walk and walk and walk, take the NSL to JE, change, take the packed EWL to boon lay, den still got to go down.
LOL. That means PIE, CTE don't count la....... Service 985 and 857 also go on Expressway....
Service 985: Direct connection from Kallang to Bt Timah/Bt Batok/Choa Chu Kang
Service 857: Direct connection from CBD to Yio Chu Kang/Yishun
As a resident of Tampines. I like using Svc23 to go to Town. It saves a lot of time. If PIE jam then.... but still faster than MRT.
Originally posted by icky:thanks for reminding, all BKE buses count, 171/187/190/700/960/963/966, and 180 is quite a good option too
You should try svc 180 early in the morning between 6-7am towards Boon Lay... Although frequency can be 2 minutes per bus, but still (almost) fully packed by the time it reaches Jurong Town Hall Rd, shows that how many ppl actually rely on that...
Originally posted by TIB1062Y:You should try svc 180 early in the morning between 6-7am towards Boon Lay... Although frequency can be 2 minutes per bus, but still (almost) fully packed by the time it reaches Jurong Town Hall Rd, shows that how many ppl actually rely on that...
Fast bus services sure high demand one...
Just look at 969, another example.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:LOL. That means PIE, CTE don't count la....... Service 985 and 857 also go on Expressway....
Service 985: Direct connection from Kallang to Bt Timah/Bt Batok/Choa Chu Kang
Service 857: Direct connection from CBD to Yio Chu Kang/Yishun
985 is nice. personally one of my favourites with the lances =)
Originally posted by Oceane:
Fast bus services sure high demand one...Just look at 969, another example.
LOL. Service 966 isn't a high demand bus service during off-peak hours.....
From Pioneer Road North to Shaw House: 47 Mins
Total time: 47 mins
Feeder Bus to Boon Lay Interchange + MRT
From Pioneer Road North to Boon Lay Interchange: 10 mins
From Boon Lay MRT Station to Raffles Place MRT Station: 26 mins
From Raffles MRT Station to Orchard MRT Station: 8 mins
Waiting time between transits: at least 4 minutes
Total time: 48 mins
Both ways take about the same time, but I would prefer taking 502 as it's more convenient (don't need for constant transfers). I guess the reason why I prefer taking buses over MRT is not because buses take a shorter time to get to my destinations, but because travelling by buses is simply less troublesome and more convenient.