http://www.straitstimes.com/vgn-ext-templating/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=bf9714dd60c4f110VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=f9a0758920e39010VgnVCM1000000a35010aRCRD
| By Francis Chan |
SWEDISH truck and bus maker Scania opened a new corporate office and 24-hour service centre at Senoko Road yesterday.
The $6 million facility - officially opened by Swedish ambassador Par Ahlberger - has 16 service bays, workshops, and computerised alignment and repair systems. It replaces the firm's Joo Koon Road premises.
Scania Singapore's general manager, Mr Norman Koh, said at yesterday's opening ceremony: 'Our new Senoko service centre is not only much bigger - almost twice the size of our old centre - but also better equipped, with new hand and diagnostic tools as well as other value-added services.'
He said the expansion was needed to help the company handle the increase in orders for Scania-assembled vehicles in Singapore and Malaysia.
'For example, we have an order from SBS Transit for 900 buses, of which 400 still have to be delivered by the end of the year. And that is a major deal for us,' he added.
Scania Singapore was set up in late 2003, but business was so brisk that the hunt for a larger centre began just two years later.
'We did not expect that level of growth when we started in 2003, but we are happy that we can grow along with our customers,' said Mr Koh.
The company employs about 55 staff, including technicians, engineers and administrative staff. Its headcount is expected to increase by 25 per cent by the end of the year.
'We have put in a few new tenders and if we are successful, we expect to hire more this year...In any case, Scania Singapore has never retrenched any workers here,' he said.
He declined to reveal the value of the deals that Scania has inked in recent years, but a person familiar with the matter said that its contract with SBS Transit was probably worth at least $300 million.
Mr Koh disclosed that Scania is in the process of completing a
tender for a similar project. If the bid is successful, Scania will
build and supply buses that carry the latest Euro-5 certification - an
air pollution rating - to a large transport firm in Singapore.
Volvo or MAN Please?![]()
like what is highlighted in red..
the keyword is "if" the bid is successful..
Scania invasion and domination
Originally posted by tvcnq:http://www.straitstimes.com/vgn-ext-templating/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=bf9714dd60c4f110VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=f9a0758920e39010VgnVCM1000000a35010aRCRD
Scania opens new $6m service centre in Senoko<!-- headline one : end --> <!-- Author --> By Francis Chan <!-- show image if available -->
<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--> <!-- more than 4 paragraphs --> SWEDISH truck and bus maker Scania opened a new corporate office and 24-hour service centre at Senoko Road yesterday.
The $6 million facility - officially opened by Swedish ambassador Par Ahlberger - has 16 service bays, workshops, and computerised alignment and repair systems. It replaces the firm's Joo Koon Road premises.
Scania Singapore's general manager, Mr Norman Koh, said at yesterday's opening ceremony: 'Our new Senoko service centre is not only much bigger - almost twice the size of our old centre - but also better equipped, with new hand and diagnostic tools as well as other value-added services.'
He said the expansion was needed to help the company handle the increase in orders for Scania-assembled vehicles in Singapore and Malaysia.
'For example, we have an order from SBS Transit for 900 buses, of which 400 still have to be delivered by the end of the year. And that is a major deal for us,' he added.
Scania Singapore was set up in late 2003, but business was so brisk that the hunt for a larger centre began just two years later.
'We did not expect that level of growth when we started in 2003, but we are happy that we can grow along with our customers,' said Mr Koh.
The company employs about 55 staff, including technicians, engineers and administrative staff. Its headcount is expected to increase by 25 per cent by the end of the year.
'We have put in a few new tenders and if we are successful, we expect to hire more this year...In any case, Scania Singapore has never retrenched any workers here,' he said.
He declined to reveal the value of the deals that Scania has inked in recent years, but a person familiar with the matter said that its contract with SBS Transit was probably worth at least $300 million.
Mr Koh disclosed that Scania is in the process of completing a tender for a similar project. If the bid is successful, Scania will build and supply buses that carry the latest Euro-5 certification - an air pollution rating - to a large transport firm in Singapore.
erm, have some mercedes-benz oso leh..
its gd to have a mixture of makes rather than juz 1..
the end of the volvo era..
Originally posted by ftjj0298:NO! SBST is mad liao. 900 Scanias K230UB! I rather have 100 MAN 18.240 or 100 volvo b7rle.
Hey, friend,
B7RLEs are expensive, so SBST did not buy the demo straight,
Anyway, when did the B7RLE came to SBST fleet? 1 year already dunno wan buy or nod.
I am not sure about the KUBs's price for one chassis, but am sure that it is between $150,000 to $200,000.
Originally posted by AEW5001:but now e SBST MAN 18.240 somewhat does not look reliable now (to me)
to me oso, last time i will always catch a MAN 18.240 while standing at the Bus Stop outside tampines east cc at around 2pm+ , now no more le.
To me ah???
I think it is enough of Gemilang Scanias, maybe other bodyworks are still ok, but no more Gemilangs, please, as there are going to be at least 1,000 Gemilangs in singapore by 2012.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Hey, friend,
Anyway, when did the B7RLE came to SBST fleet? 1 year already dunno wan buy or nod.
I am not sure about the KUBs's price for one chassis, but am sure that it is between $150,000 to $200,000.
ya i know B7Rs are expensive but then it is really very good, compared to MAN 18.240. heard sumwhere that man's petrol tank not big enough or something. KUBs the worst. Vibrate and Jerks the most. If you are 'lucky' enough to sit on top of the axle, congratulations.
Hong Kong KMB is also buying 40 Scania K230
OMG
Old Buses : I think World War 3 has Started!
New Buses : Time to invade Singapore
After a year of fight
Old Buses: Shyt we lost lolx
New Buses : Hahahaha , Singapore are mine
Haiz Buy more Volvo Plz
Originally posted by ftjj0298:
ya i know B7Rs are expensive but then it is really very good, compared to MAN 18.240. heard sumwhere that man's petrol tank not big enough or something. KUBs the worst. Vibrate and Jerks the most. If you are 'lucky' enough to sit on top of the axle, congratulations.
Which axle? I sat at the engine there before, very cooling and nice scenery oso.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Which axle? I sat at the engine there before, very cooling and nice scenery oso.
lol? are you sure?? anyway the rear axle, though front axle also has the effect too.
lol? are you sure?? anyway the rear axle, though front axle also has the effect.
yes lah, the most back seat then can let you feel the jerking feeling, espicially when the driver does not use the raiser.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:yes lah, the most back seat then can let you feel the jerking feeling, espicially when the driver does not use the raiser.
no everywhere is the same, virbrating and jerky. are you sure you have took KUB before?
eh, pal, ur house outside the services is the same as mine leh, how can i NOT take KUB before???I even tried balencing on the floor itself without touching anything.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:eh, pal, ur house outside the services is the same as mine leh, how can i NOT take KUB before???I even tried balencing on the floor itself without touching anything.
sorry to the forumers out there, we will settle this via PM.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:Hey, friend,
came in on my 12th bday
18th December 2007
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:OMG
Old Buses : I think World War 3 has Started!
New Buses : Time to invade Singapore
After a year of fight
Old Buses: Shyt we lost lolx
New Buses : Hahahaha , Singapore are mine
Haiz Buy more Volvo Plz
Your jokes are getting more ridiculous than usual.
Singapore IS mine.
Originally posted by AEW5001:no no no..
enuff of Scanias liao..
Volvo or MAN Please?
MAN 16.284 LAERC can or not?
Originally posted by Scania:MAN 16.284 LAERC can or not?
it falls under the category Volvo or MAN leh ![]()
so can lor ![]()