does anyone else think the suspension on the bus isn't that great? I find my ride quite bumpy.
you only pay 55cents or $1 only , you expect everything to be luxurious ? Premium Bus would suit you more (:
Originally posted by TIB930Z:you only pay 55cents or $1 only , you expect everything to be luxurious ? Premium Bus would suit you more (:
not all premium buses are good. ![]()
Maybe he sat near the articulator of the bendy bus. that area sometimes can get very bouncy as the artics go over humps.
Originally posted by TIB537B:Maybe he sat near the articulator of the bendy bus. that area sometimes can get very bouncy as the artics go over humps.
LOL , i like to sit at de back of de bendy , it's like Roller coaster ?
Originally posted by jayh272416:
not all premium buses are good.
Not to mention some of the MK IIIs on 579.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:what bus model?
probably on of the older models such as the double decker Volvo ones. Probably the B10M and Olympian
sorry for not being such a bus enthusiast or providing the wrong info
Originally posted by TIB537B:Maybe he sat near the articulator of the bendy bus. that area sometimes can get very bouncy as the artics go over humps.
talking about that i took TIB877U on 184 today... chiongster BC go over the bumps at clementi rd, i saw the articulator area going up down up down up down ![]()
bus suspension only cui when buses pass through humps without braking.
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:probably on of the older models such as the double decker Volvo ones. Probably the B10M and Olympian
sorry for not being such a bus enthusiast or providing the wrong info
I think you are talking about the Volvo Olympian as the B10Ms are single deck. I think Volvo Olympian's suspension is moderately good. However, the effects are multiplied when the bus goes over some bumps on the road.
Originally posted by SBS7322B:I think you are talking about the Volvo Olympian as the B10Ms are single deck. I think Volvo Olympian's suspension is moderately good. However, the effects are multiplied when the bus goes over some bumps on the road.
Not really most of de Volvo Olympian's have Suspension problem especially those in Hougang , worst experience i can say !
Originally posted by TIB930Z:Not really most of de Volvo Olympian's have Suspension problem especially those in Hougang , worst experience i can say !
Hougang is not maintaining buses well.....
Wah seh.....if you say VO suspension sux I think you haven't tried the really good one. The trident!
If you like it soft, now THAT's for you.![]()
see it this way
The Singapore roads are very buumpy. Even the F1 racers think so in Sep 2008.Allmost everywhere u see roads dug up for powerline and pipe maintenace or replacement. Roadworks abound everywhere. In other coountries, roads are less buumpy and bus suspensions work less.
In Siingapore, most bus suspension use air suspensions. This greatly reduces the bumps n joingz (is that even a word?) u feel on the road. The air suspension cannot totally eliminate all Singapore roads bumps.
recently even new bus model with offerings like 4 suspension pads 9comapred to two on msot older bus models) at rear cannot do much. This i refer to the MAN 18.240HOCL SBS80321J or i think the SMRTbuses OC500LE offerings.
In order to get a feeling of how a bus suspension REALLY reduces the bumpy and jerky ride, you have to go overseas. In malaysia roads are sometimes better. A ride on the old school Mercedes buses there through well paved village roads will show you the true power of a Mercedes Suspension.
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:see it this way
The Singapore roads are very buumpy. Even the F1 racers think so in Sep 2008.Allmost everywhere u see roads dug up for powerline and pipe maintenace or replacement. Roadworks abound everywhere. In other coountries, roads are less buumpy and bus suspensions work less.
In Siingapore, most bus suspension use air suspensions. This greatly reduces the bumps n joingz (is that even a word?) u feel on the road. The air suspension cannot totally eliminate all Singapore roads bumps.
recently even new bus model with offerings like 4 suspension pads 9comapred to two on msot older bus models) at rear cannot do much. This i refer to the MAN 18.240HOCL SBS80321J or i think the SMRTbuses OC500LE offerings.
In order to get a feeling of how a bus suspension REALLY reduces the bumpy and jerky ride, you have to go overseas. In malaysia roads are sometimes better. A ride on the old school Mercedes buses there through well paved village roads will show you the true power of a Mercedes Suspension.ZYX
Hi ZYX, as far as i know, starting from the B10M MKII, there were 4 airbags per rear axle, that includes the CRBs and O405s. Even the O305s have them.
Anyway, the airbags aren't there to absorb bumps. Its meant to absorb vibrations and small jolts. Bumps are absorbed by the shock absorber, which were placed side by side with the airbags. 2 per front axle and 4 per rear axle.
That said, the pressure inside the airbag also cannot be too high, otherwise it would become so stiff that its practically "no suspension". It has to work side by side with the shock absorber to produce a smooth ride.
Anyway, I've ridden an old sch merc at malaysia before, on both paved road and unpaved road. And yeah, its a great merc suspension, until my bus rode over a huge pot hole.
The entire goes "poom!" and shook everyone violently, but suprisingly tho, nothing of the bus suspension or axle is damaged. Still can cruise on highway smoothly like its brand new. ![]()
leave springs?
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:Wah seh.....if you say VO suspension sux I think you haven't tried the really good one. The trident!
If you like it soft, now THAT's for you.
we are talking about VO not Trident larh -.-
Originally posted by ZYX2005:see it this way
In order to get a feeling of how a bus suspension REALLY reduces the bumpy and jerky ride, you have to go overseas. In malaysia roads are sometimes better. A ride on the old school Mercedes buses there through well paved village roads will show you the true power of a Mercedes Suspension.ZYX
no matter how good de suspension is ? as long as the road is bumpy still will have the "poom" feeling
Originally posted by TIB930Z:we are talking about VO not Trident larh -.-
Its ok if you don't get it or choose not to get it.![]()
Originally posted by SBS0000B:leave springs?
i took a kinglong-higer KLQ6109Q in china. by the feel of it, it probably had leaf springs.
every single bump on the road had a "response" of at least 5 bounces from the bus.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:Wah seh.....if you say VO suspension sux I think you haven't tried the really good one. The trident!
If you like it soft, now THAT's for you.
OT: 9687K's rearmost axle's tyres are nearly shredding ![]()
this reminds me...how come people nickname the SMRT Scania Striders as bouncy buses? Defintely got one model from SMRT/SBST which called bouncy bus one..
Originally posted by TIB537B:this reminds me...how come people nickname the SMRT Scania Striders as bouncy buses? Defintely got one model from SMRT/SBST which called bouncy bus one..
SMRT Scanias are very bouncy. they have very soft suspension. but i wonder why are the suspensions for KUB so hard...
think in terms of common sesne.
A heavy bus weighs down on the suspension systems.whhat happens if u put a heavy weight on springs. it bounce less. Correct anot?
So if u put a lighter weiight above the suspension, it will bounce around more.
Then hor if the spring (or air) is stiff how..cannot really bounce lor. a spring become stiff once its reaches its end of some crtical value lah. like Hooke's law in physcis. Cannot bounce well any more. Wear and tear on poor springs (= air suspensions).
Where the wear and tear come from, the bouncy uneven singapore not so well paved road due to many maintainance of pipe and electric power cable roadworks abnd digs and cover ups . heck ytd i was in this taxi and we go bouncy bouncy over the roads of singapore. And its a hyundai for god's sake.
Hope it helps. And pls imagine spinrg = air. i cant imagine air in this post
ZYX