Originally posted by ZYX2005:think in terms of common sesne.
A heavy bus weighs down on the suspension systems.whhat happens if u put a heavy weight on springs. it bounce less. Correct anot?
So if u put a lighter weiight above the suspension, it will bounce around more.Then hor if the spring (or air) is stiff how..cannot really bounce lor. a spring become stiff once its reaches its end of some crtical value lah. like Hooke's law in physcis. Cannot bounce well any more. Wear and tear on poor springs (= air suspensions).
Where the wear and tear come from, the bouncy uneven singapore not so well paved road due to many maintainance of pipe and electric power cable roadworks abnd digs and cover ups . heck ytd i was in this taxi and we go bouncy bouncy over the roads of singapore. And its a hyundai for god's sake.Hope it helps. And pls imagine spinrg = air. i cant imagine air in this post
ZYX
No......actually heavy weight causes the spring to take a longer time to return to its original state.
How so?
Newton's 1st law. No?
What does this translate to? More bounces dio boh?
A lighter weight will do the opposite. No?
no wonder UD so bouncy , according to ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:think in terms of common sesne.
A heavy bus weighs down on the suspension systems.whhat happens if u put a heavy weight on springs. it bounce less. Correct anot?
So if u put a lighter weiight above the suspension, it will bounce around more.Then hor if the spring (or air) is stiff how..cannot really bounce lor. a spring become stiff once its reaches its end of some crtical value lah. like Hooke's law in physcis. Cannot bounce well any more. Wear and tear on poor springs (= air suspensions).
Where the wear and tear come from, the bouncy uneven singapore not so well paved road due to many maintainance of pipe and electric power cable roadworks abnd digs and cover ups . heck ytd i was in this taxi and we go bouncy bouncy over the roads of singapore. And its a hyundai for god's sake.Hope it helps. And pls imagine spinrg = air. i cant imagine air in this post
ZYX
u imagine a ride in a Toyota Crown and u will faint...
oh man dun remind me
i would say that a heavy load on a spring, when going over a bump, compresses the spring down to dampen the effect of the shock, as compared to a light weight over a spring. beacuse in some cases, (eg the KUB), the air bag has a certain pressure to it, and only beyond a certain weight, will the effect of going over a hump compress the spring. before this weight is reached, what will happen is that the axle goes over the bump, pushing the spring up aginst the bus. but as the specific weight has not been reached, there is minimal compression of the spring, and someitmes, like an empty truck with leaf spring suspensions, the vehicle body goes up along with the axle and the suspension.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:i would say that a heavy load on a spring, when going over a bump, compresses the spring down to dampen the effect of the shock, as compared to a light weight over a spring. beacuse in some cases, (eg the KUB), the air bag has a certain pressure to it, and only beyond a certain weight, will the effect of going over a hump compress the spring. before this weight is reached, what will happen is that the axle goes over the bump, pushing the spring up aginst the bus. but as the specific weight has not been reached, there is minimal compression of the spring, and someitmes, like an empty truck with leaf spring suspensions, the vehicle body goes up along with the axle and the suspension.
Yup yup.
That's what I meant.
Simply speaking you should expect a heavier load on the spring to cause the spring to work better.
But you cannot put a load so heavy that the spring deforms (Hooke's Law). Spring in this case refers to any means to dampen shocks and vibrations transmitted from the wheels to the body.
And I cannot resist but add that Hooke's law states that the extension/compression of a spring system is directly proportional to the force exerted on the system up to a certain limit. No offense, ZYX, but your explaination using Hooke's law left me ??.....
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
Yup yup.That's what I meant.
Simply speaking you should expect a heavier load on the spring to cause the spring to work better.
But you cannot put a load so heavy that the spring deforms (Hooke's Law). Spring in this case refers to any means to dampen shocks and vibrations transmitted from the wheels to the body.
And I cannot resist but add that Hooke's law states that the extension/compression of a spring system is directly proportional to the force exerted on the system up to a certain limit. No offense, ZYX, but your explaination using Hooke's law left me ??.....
too heavy a load merely causes the spring to bottom out
i just saying over time the spring may have met some really big force (or repetitive large forces) such that (see Hooke law)...
" extension/compression of a spring system is directly proportional to the force exerted on the system up to a certain limit."
such that this limit gets to be crossed and the "spring" gets :"screwed" .
ZYX
PS : this topic is becoming a revision / apply of the Physcis u learn in school..
its good to apply or analyse such that suddenly, learning about this spring stuff becomes more fun...
my opinion - learning always has its fun
hahah
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:PS : this topic is becoming a revision / apply of the Physcis u learn in school..
its good to apply or analyse such that suddenly, learning about this spring stuff becomes more fun...
my opinion - learning always has its fun
hahahZYX
lol zyx u very professional in phys leh. i now at sec 2 level still dunno what ur tokking about ![]()
orh all this is ard sec 4 or JC / poly level one.
next time u can come back here read for revision. Anyhow i am not a physcisist. Not a physcis major in uni. But I've always liked science. And yes science can even apply to bus hobby as well.
But naturally you can be curious and read up via google on springs and Hooke's law and stuffs. its always good to know some stuffs before sec 4.
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:orh all this is ard sec 4 or JC / poly level one.
next time u can come back here read for revision. Anyhow i am not a physcisist. Not a physcis major in uni. But I've always liked science. And yes science can even apply to bus hobby as well.
But naturally you can be curious and read up via google on springs and Hooke's law and stuffs. its always good to know some stuffs before sec 4.
ZYX
ok
for revision lol? By then i dunno this thread expire yet anot ![]()
I have learned by using google u can actually search threads out as far back as 2003 when this place started.
its a matter of typing " sgforums hooke's law "into google.
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:orh all this is ard sec 4 or JC / poly level one.
ZYX
force chapter can apply on buses too. like inertia(KUBs
), centre of gravity(DDs) etc.
Originally posted by nenepokey:u imagine a ride in a Toyota Crown and u will faint...
Imagine a ride on a MAN 16.284 LAERC, and you would probably vomit blood before falling unconcious.