This evening I sms IRIS for next bus arrival for SBST200 at bus stop 16019 (outside Haw Par Villa).
It was1901h, and the reply was NextBus 4min.
Looking at the approximate bus arrival time bus-plate, it says the next bus shall arrive at 1911h instead.
Anyway, IRIS is using GPS and I shall not doubt the the reply.
At 1905h and 1911h, I still see no sight of SBST200.
At 1913h, I request for another update, and this time it says NextBus 27min. Oops I have been waiting at the bus stop, and for sure I did not miss any SBST200 yet.
A minute later at 1914h, SBST200 finally arrives.
So I spent 10cents (5 cents per sms) and I did not get any useful reply.
How the IRIS had replied 4min (for my first first request)? I still wondering.
SMS query for NEXTBUS is a wonderful application, provided the reply is accurate. And for me, I shall probably not use that service again.
feedback to SBST
Originally posted by iamgoondu:This evening I sms IRIS for next bus arrival for SBST200 at bus stop 16019 (outside Haw Par Villa).
It was1901h, and the reply was NextBus 4min.
Looking at the approximate bus arrival time bus-plate, it says the next bus shall arrive at 1911h instead.
Anyway, IRIS is using GPS and I shall not doubt the the reply.
At 1905h and 1911h, I still see no sight of SBST200.
At 1913h, I request for another update, and this time it says NextBus 27min. Oops I have been waiting at the bus stop, and for sure I did not miss any SBST200 yet.
A minute later at 1914h, SBST200 finally arrives.
So I spent 10cents (5 cents per sms) and I did not get any useful reply.
How the IRIS had replied 4min (for my first first request)? I still wondering.
SMS query for NEXTBUS is a wonderful application, provided the reply is accurate. And for me, I shall probably not use that service again.
I don't usually IRIS that often if I know that particular service well. However, I do come across such problems where the results are inaccurate.
what is buay chun? learning hokkien.
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:what is buay chun? learning hokkien.
Buay chun = not accurate = �准
Originally posted by SBS7322B:Buay chun = not accurate = �准
oh..
My first reply says the bus shall arrive at (1901+4)h, however it arrived only at 1914h. It differs by 9 minutes. That's unacceptable.
Originally posted by iamgoondu:My first reply says the bus shall arrive at (1901+4)h, however it arrived only at 1914h. It differs by 9 minutes. That's unacceptable.
Over the months I calculated a 75% accuracy when using IRIS. Don't trust it too much.....
IRIS not reliable uh
there is a time i send IRIS at 28501 for svc 99, it returns me a "Connection Error" SMS.
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:there is a time i send IRIS at 28501 for svc 99, it returns me a "Connection Error" SMS.
Sometimes the IRIS infrastructure crashes la. Then also cannot access the website.... I don't use IRIS so often. I don't really recommend it until SBST really comes up with a programme that will provide very accurate arrival timings.
Happened to me that day while waiting for 162.
Next bus was 6 minutes, sub was 26 when I IRISed.
Waited for over 10 minutes, bus didn't arrive. Then did IRIS again, next bus was 15 minutes, sub was 26 minutes.
There was this once, late on the first day of Chinese New Year, where I used iris to check for the next bus timing of route 163 (I was intending to take route 163 from my relative's home to Upper Thomson Road, then transfer to route 167/980 to get home). I almost got an heart attack when the system returned "not operating now" to me; I had to keep asking several passengers and several passing bus captains (including this route 159 captain, if I remember correctly) just to make sure this was a system error. Much later, I checked again, and finally there was a timing, alongside a notice that the bus was delayed.
That has got to be the most unsettling error I got from it to date. ![]()
The timing for the first few stops just after terminal/interchange are usually not quite accurate. happen to Sv 76/268. timing can alway change at bus stop outside blk 641 amk ave 4.
anyway for this sv 200 case, i think it might due to the looping at the terminal? the bus might have reach Kent Ridge Ter early and was waiting at the terminal and thus the system tot bus will be moving off.. but then bus might actually move several mins later.. might be wrong though.. or the bus might be still travelling towards Kent Ridge Ter on pasir panjang rd, thus maybe the GPS data might be capture at the opposite bus stop (towards city) and thus results in this inaccurate reading..
anyway, if you are using SMS, the charge is S$0.05/outgoing sms (can be deducted from free monthly bundled sms) and S$0.05/incoming sms (cannot be deducted from free monthly bundled sms)..
The reason why it is sometimes not accurate is due to the traffic condition. Bus may be stuck in traffic jam or there is a long queue at the right turn of the junction and the traffic light changes very quickly. But there is once which was really unacceptable. I was at opposite Tampines Safra waiting for Sv 5. I GPRS iris and it shows that the next bus will arrive at 5mins. 10mins past and the bus has not arrive, so I checked again. To my surprise, it now shows that the next bus will only be arriving at 35mins!
If IRIS indeed so unreliable, then more tests should be conducted prior start charging for it usage. SBST should engage us to feedback the system reliability, perhaps SBST can refuse payment to its contractor for IRIS delivery.
And LTA should not blame the commuters for not technical inclined.
I used IRIS on eve of eve of christmas, 23rd December on a Sunday i think.
It was 24 December, 0015 hrs. I wondered if NiteOwl 3N is on service and queried using IRIS.They replied back saying there is. They said the bus will arrive within 5 mins.
At 0025 hrs, no sight of 3N, I msg again... and they said the bus would arrive at 0040 hrs.
At 0045 hrs, no sight of 3N, I msg again... and this time they replied saying the service is not in operation.
Ended up I took a taxi home.
Seriously, I waited close to an hour waiting for 3N for nothing.
Originally posted by Junyang700:I used IRIS on eve of eve of christmas, 23rd December on a Sunday i think.
It was 24 December, 0015 hrs. I wondered if NiteOwl 3N is on service and queried using IRIS.They replied back saying there is. They said the bus will arrive within 5 mins.
At 0025 hrs, no sight of 3N, I msg again... and they said the bus would arrive at 0040 hrs.
At 0045 hrs, no sight of 3N, I msg again... and this time they replied saying the service is not in operation.
Ended up I took a taxi home.
Seriously, I waited close to an hour waiting for 3N for nothing.
ALL niteowl services operates on Fridays, Saturdays and eve of Public Holidays.
Lolx IRIS is 50% Chun 50% not Chun ![]()
ya lor my fren got encountered once be4 , sms IRIS for Next Svc28 bus time to come, it did not sms back until svc28 come...
When going home from Vivo City, I SMS IRIS for Svc30 arriving timing , (the pro part), SMS mi back say next bus " 30 Min" Sus Next Bus "45 Mins" . I shocked sia..
that time say 5minute come, but 15min minute then come
THere are some busstops having the LCD Panel that display the bus arrival time.
Next time I will SMS IRIS and verify if there is any discrepancies between the two.